Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Globe Inn

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Leicestershire > Snarestone > The Globe Inn Reviews

The Globe Inn
6 Main Street
Snarestone
Leicestershire   (Browse area)
DE12 7DB
Tel: 01530 272020
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: 01/04 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 24 Reviews
                8/10 from 24 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bryandavies1962 1 review from this member

We actually love this place -- but agree that price versus facilities are pretty poor -- not nice using an outside sink to brush teeth in -- however most caravans have full facilities -so that is choice -- massive concerns about space between caravans - it's a Pub - drinkers sometimes don't think -- so distance needs to be sorted - plus vans so close together you can hear neighbours snoring - if this sorted -- top site -- top pub/restaurant

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Maria1720 1 review from this member

We booked this campsite at last minute as a stop over on the way home. Having read some of the reviews as was a little worried about the size of the pitch but I needn't have worried although not massive they are fine The food in the pub is fantastic and the staff were brilliant could not have been more helpful we will definitely visit again

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mary999 2 reviews from this member

This site used to be lovely -- sadly it has changed for the worst - only due to units being far too close together, there is barely room for an awning, the pitch sizes are soooo small you can hear neighbours tv. I would question how legal the distance between units are -. Imagine one catching fire, the whole site would go up -- the shame of this is -- there is a lot of space ---- I suggest the new owners think again as the Odd House looking far better now

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ollywright 1 review from this member

Awning within 1 metre of neighbouring caravans awning, Way way too close and unacceptable. There is loads of space on the back field which when we went was not cut. If the landlord made use of it and spread the space out then this site would be fantastic.

The pub was great and the park was great but do not use this site if you intend to put up an awning until the pitches become a size that is acceptable as you will be sadly disappointed if you have a unit next to you.

As another reviewer wrote I'd be concerned if this site met the legal requirements for space between caravans. We won't be going back until the space issue is sorted.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Aupduck 4 reviews from this member

We've not stayed here again since last year, however I understand from friends that things haven't got any better!

This used to be a great site with plenty of space, however it is now chaotic. The spaces are far too small and don't comply with the guidelines for min distances between caravans. In fact you can't pitch a standard 2. 5 mtr awning without it touching the van next door! It was also £18 / night last weekend which is expensive for the type of site.

It's such a shame that a site that we really enjoyed in the past has become a site I wouldn't recommend to anyone due to the size of the pitches. Surely if it was inspected by any caravan organisation /council / fire brigade they wouldn't be allowed to hire pitches so small!

The scores are a reflection of the caravan site, not the pub / restaurant

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Scotsjockuk 1 review from this member

We are a nomadic family who enjoy spontaneously going out for the night or weekend in our campervan. On the spur of the moment we decided to visit a steam railway in Leicestershire and looked for a campsite, preferably with a pub attached.

We found the Globe Inn and decided to book in, it being about an hour's drive from home.

The new landlady, who had taken over about a month before, welcomed us with open arms and was delighted to see us. Nothing was too much trouble for her.

As the weather had been pretty awful of late we decided to park up in the car park rather than risk getting bogged down in the grassy campsite.

The menu was inviting so we came in for a pint and meal which was excellent and, although not bargain, was good value and well cooked and presented.

The campsite facility of one unisex toilet and one shower were a little basic for the size of the site, but of good quality. With a little investment, which I'm sure the new landlady will see too, this could be a 5 star site.

In all a very pleasant experience and, only 10 minutes from the M42, this is a great stopover for anyone on your way North, South, East or West.

We will be back!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: W99lly 7 reviews from this member

A good stopover but there were units using it for longer periods. The campsite us in a field behind the pub car park which sounds as it could be noisy but it was ok. The site is fairly flat so it is easy to set up with plenty of space between units.

There are separate toilet facilities for the campsite which includes a toilet and shower. They are basic and could do with an update but were adequate for an overnight stop.

The pub was an 'old world' pub with excellent food and friendly service.

Recommended for a stopover close to M42

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rainbird 3 reviews from this member

Used this site as a one-night stopover on the way back from a two week tour of Devon & Cornwall. Not really much to add to previous reviews but I thought an update would be a good idea. We found this site to be everything we wanted, great pub, good food, good beer and good company. The cost (with EHU) was just £11:00 which more than adequately reflects the somewhat basic amenities - not a problem for us. Would definitely use again.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Leighton1271 1 review from this member

What a fantastic find! I happened along this place after searching on this site, as I wanted a place to stay overnight in my tent without taking everything else with me.

The Globe Inn is a lovely old pub with real ales and home cooked food. It has an open fire and a warm atmosphere where you can converse with the friendly locals and other campers. It's situated by an old canal where you'll find long boats moored and a nice path running alongside for a quiet walk after lunch.

I found the staff to be very helpful and polite and food service is excellent. They have free wifi, the password can be obtained from the bar and there is a choice of seating from sofas to table and chairs. It has a nice beer garden with nice views over the canal. There is a toilet and a separate shower at the rear which are more than adequate. Overall I had a wonderful nights stay, good food, good beer and a great atmosphere and I wholeheartedly recommend a stay at The Globe.

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Helsmark2011 5 reviews from this member

Visiting for the first time. A little disappointed by lack of friendliness from member of staff. Site basic and a little too pricey ( 15 per night ) for the available amenities, a toilet and unwelcoming shower!

Didn't eat in the pub but did enjoy the friendliness of the locals who gave us a warm welcome later on in the evening. A nice glass of wine available!

Electric hook ups available but pitches didn't look very pleasing to the eye as there was rubbish behind each one. Def needs some TLC.

Wouldn't rush back but it's ok for a stopover site.

Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Leicestershire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4374 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019