Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Balinoe Campsite Tiree

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of Tiree > Balinoe Campsite Tiree Reviews

Balinoe Campsite Tiree
Burnside Cottage
Cornaig
Isle Of Tiree
Hebrides   (Browse area)
PA77 6XA
Tel: 01879 220399
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 12 Reviews
                7/10 from 12 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Izzy444 1 review from this member

Well placed site inland. Only campsite on the island. We just turned up and chose our own pitch as no one was there when we arrived in the afternoon. The facilities are basic compared to other sites we’ve been on. If you’re used to wild camping then this is one stage up but it needs investment. There’s a kitchen area with one small sink and a cooker and a few fridges but it’s old and tired. There’s a toilet shower room right beside it - too close for comfort for me. There’s two portoloos and two Porto showers outside that have seen better days and don’t feel particularly clean. It was a struggle to brush your teeth somewhere clean? We used the wild diamond outdoor centre (brilliant!) and bought stuff in the shop and I’m amazed they are owned by the same company as both are immaculate. This could be a great site if a decent shower toilet block was built and the kitchen was fitted with new facilities. Our blow up bed died and we found it impossible to buy another on the island, the young women who helps out on the site managed to borrow one for us which was lovely!

We had a great time on Tiree - it’s a beautiful island and the children had fun with other kids on the site - something you wouldn’t get in a holiday home but a site with better cleaner facilities would have been much better. The price wasn’t really any cheaper than elsewhere.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Robnixon 21 reviews from this member

Just returned from a fanastic week on Tiree where I stayed at this site.

The site was very good and with spacious pitches (numbered). If the owner was not around when you arrived, there are clear instructions to find a pitch yourself. There is hard standing for both caravans and motorhomes and plenty of tent pitches on the right as you drive in and at the back which have a better view of Mull, Iona and on a clear day Jura.

The weather was perfect when I was there. It was quite breezy when I arrived and there is little shelter apart from a couple of trees. However as Tiree is so flat and known for its wind, this was to be expected.

The site is around 15 mins away from ferry. Head for Balimoe. The nearest beach is 5 mins away by car (20 mins walk), but the site is perfectly located for exploring this beautiful island. Would recommend taking a bicycle or hiring when on site.

There is a great building with facilities including, kitchen (owen, kettle, microwave, fridge), toilet and shower and two separate rooms for eating with table and chairs if the weather was not good. There is wifi on site, hosted in the facilities block and you just about get this from the pitches too. There are adequate fresh water taps and recycling bins. A barn is available to store bikes, kayaks in whilst on site.

There were some portable toilets and showers, but I was there in July (School holidays) and as the site is quite small, never had an issue queuing for facilities.

Will definitely return to Tiree and definitely stay here again.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: IAM67 2 reviews from this member

We (two adults, one teenager from Germany) spent 10 days at the Balinoe campsite with our campervan. We had a wonderful time there! If you do not expect party and wild nightlife, but a quiet, peaceful place then you are in the right spot.

The indoor toilet and shower was always clean, the hot shower was wonderful after a day of kite surfing :-) The two outdoor showers and toilets have no heating, but were clean and very spacious. The kitchen and the two rooms where you can sit and eat are great for travelers with tents when it´s raining or a bit cooler in the evening. Electricity always worked. It is a basic campsite, but wonderfully quiet and very charming.

The owner William was very helpful. We also booked a kite course for a day with him. And it was the best kite lesson I ever had! William is not only very friendly, but also very competent. If you are interested in kite or windsurfing on Tiree, contact William. He is the best. (His shop with kite and windsurfing equipment is very good, too!)

We will definitely come back.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ching123 2 reviews from this member

I would only recommend this campsite to people that are happy wild camping and not too bothered about facilities. We paid £24 for the two of us to camp here each night. That was including electricity. The electricity is in a barn so cables are dragged across the site to reach your tent. The toilets were constantly filthy. The two showers and two toilets in the portacabins do not have lights and the shower and toilet in the building, as reported in a review from 2011, has a latch that is broken or at the very least not sufficient. There is a kitchen area which is very useful and two rooms each with a table and chairs. I think the price charged for this campsite is excessive and perhaps we were spoilt having come from 3 spotlessly clean sites on barra and harris which charged much less. If you are a family visiting tiree I would recommend that you look into b+b to enjoy your holiday more or just wild camp. There are much more scenic wild camping spots than the location of this site. Also as the campsite is part of wild diamond we tried to organise the hire of kayaks with them. When we asked about hiring kayaks in the shop the response was 'why'. And then after spending ages organising times and places they didn't even bother to turn up. We now wish we had tried one of the other hire places.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: LesleyandPeter 35 reviews from this member

Possibly the friendliest campsite we have ever stayed on.

All down to the owner and his Wife and their two adorable boys.

The owner has limitless knowledge of the Island and is on hand to offer assistance no matter time of day.

Yes the electric did trip out, but this site is an on going project which fully deserves to continue to grow, and develop. The owner is passionate about his business, and we wish the family every success.

The facilities are basic but very clean.

The local beach is just a twenty minuet walk away, as with all Tiree's beaches it is glorious. We didn't have great weather, however even grey skies and rain cannot detract from the beauty of Tiree. One full days sunshine out of four.

We enjoyed a great meal at the Cobbled Cow café next to the airport. A local business in which Peter had the best Sirloin steak ever, cooked to perfection.

The residents of Tiree are the most friendly we have ever come across. We hope to keep in touch with the others and others we met on Tiree and who made our visit all the special.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andy75 45 reviews from this member

Spent a single night here over Easter weekend arriving on bicycle.

The site is fairly remote, typical flatland Hebridean location with very familiar Machair grassland not unlike the neighbouring Uists out to sea. The bird life here is striking and would be a haven site for those alike. It is probably worth pointing out however for a family visit the nearest shop/pub etc is six miles away.

The owner was fantastic and local knowledge of the island was bottomless. This campsite has been built up from nothing with backbreaking work involved and improvements planned for the future whilst keeping with the nature reserve, I wish him best of luck.

Current facilities are rustic but kept superbly clean, there is a combined toilet/shower inside the building and a newly supplied selection of outdoor shower blocks/toilets. There is a large kitchen with two fridges, a microwave, cooker and kettle. Also there are two small dining areas if the weather is bad, all in all very well kitted indeed.

If looking for food and drink there is a restaurant within two miles of the site which is highly recommended with good views over the west coast, I would strongly avoid the Scarnish Inn six miles away where the ferry docks, food potions are small and just two courses will set you back £22 made worse by the fact the building looks terrible - that said if it's drinking you are after then this is the place as it has a small separate bar.

Tiree is a superb beautiful island with a warm welcome and stunning coastline. Would I return to this site? No hesitation at all.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dotcee 1 review from this member

Our stay at balinoe was brilliant and I would gladly go back,

If its camping your after but don't know where to go take a ferry to Tiree and head for Balinoe

Your man is the owner with whom you discuss your rent. Then when you agree on your length of stay, pitch up your caravan or tent

The amenities there are great. There is toilets and a shower. Cooking facilities, a washing machine and electric hook up power

I went there with my kids who said the site was great. They want to go back again next year and even bring a mate

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nelly12 6 reviews from this member

My self and my stepdad decided we wanted to visit Tiree and found the campsite online. Our first impressions weren't bad apart from the shock of the two porta loos and two porta showers.

At around 9 30pm the owner came to visit us in his van, he just sat there and waited until we all went to him. He charged us £8 per person per night and also told us that there was free Wi-Fi in the kitchen area and that the shower in there wasn’t working, it was only throwing out cold water. My stepdad asked if there were lights in the toilets and showers to which he was told no.

The day after we arrived, I noticed there was no toilet roll in any of the toilets so I phoned the owner and left a message. He called me back a few minutes later and told me where to find the toilet rolls. I did go and get them but to be honest, I was paying for my stay, shouldn’t he have come and got the toilet rolls and restocked the toilets? He turned up that night and just sat in his van, he didn’t even come and ask if we were ok or thank us for getting toilet rolls.

The same night, we went off to get a shower only to find that there was no hot water at all. As the showers had gone off that night, my stepdad thought maybe he could help so he followed a wire into the barn where four young girls were using their tents only to notice that the electric was to say the least very dubious with four caravan hook ups running off 1 x 13amp four point multi point adapter, also one of the showers was also plugged into the same socket, I also believe there was a tumble dryer plugged into the same socket.

My stepdad called the owner the next morning and told him, he said he would probably be up later to sort it out as it would probably be a tripped switch. He did turn up and sort the showers out and he also made a point of coming to tell us all that the showers were sorted and that he had put masking tape over the switches as somebody had been messing with them.

Then a campervan arrived that wanted a hook up, the cable was dragged across a car park with 3' loose ballast on it, if a car had run over the cable it could have cut the cable and possibly caused very serious injury. Needless to say we touched nothing and got off the site asap.

We would definitely visit Tiree again but would not camp on this site. We will be wild camping.

Tiree is a beautiful place with so many places to visit. I highly recommend visiting Tiree just don't go to this site.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Colski 2 reviews from this member

I have to second Vagabond's review

We found the welcome warm and the facilities good. The kitchen area is a total bonus.

However - I have to say that the showers are completely inadequate, and we were very disappointed with the level of 'maintenance' toilet paper was not replenished, for example.

The free wifi is a bonus and the oven, and the fact that the site was not overly busy was good for us.

Overall we felt that the stay was pretty poor value, but the location is great.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Campcookie 28 reviews from this member

A campsite offering a lovely location and the facilities are adequate for what you need and in some ways go beyond the minimum.

There is an indoor kitchen with hot water, 2 kettles and a cooker, all free to use, also plenty of fridges; off the kitchen are two smaller rooms with table/chairs so you can use these if the weather is not so kind. Ideal for tenters.

Electric sockets are in this building too where you can plug in items to re-charge. There's free Wifi too. In same building is a shower/toilet room. It's not the best shower in the world, but it provides you with hot water.

Outside are two portaloos, and a shower.

Throughout our stay the facilities were cleaned each day and toilet paper replenished.

We found the owner to be helpful and friendly. A barn on the site was available for use for storing bikes etc.

There's pallets and logs for tabling and seating around the site and a picnic table/bench. A substantial washing line is provided too which is useful for drying kit. The barn is also useful for this.

This is not an all singing, all dancing campsite; it provides honest facilities at a very reasonable price in a beautiful location. I would recommend it and we plan to return this year.

Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Isle Of Tiree      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5882 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019