Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gruinard Bay Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Wester Ross > Gruinard Bay Caravan Park Reviews

Gruinard Bay Caravan Park
Laide
Achnasheen
Wester Ross
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV22 2ND
Tel: 01445 731556  or  07972 614532
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 35
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 23 Reviews
                8/10 from 23 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jemcollie 14 reviews from this member

This site is in a stunning location on the edge of a beach with lots to watch. When we visited, there was a variety of birds, seals, islands, hills, boats and ferries. We were relatively lucky in that the weather was squally and breezy, keeping away any midges.

There is a mixture of hardstandings and grass and most pitches overlook the sea. Because it was June, we saw both sunrise and sunset from the front of our van.

There is only a small beach even at low tide so the walking opportunities are limited, especially if you have a dog. The shop, fuel station, PO is only a ten minute walk away - well stocked and with Calor Gas but this is along the main road with no footpath.

We had a really friendly welcome from the owners who were very informative about the area. There is a new shower block with 4 large unisex cubicles. The toilets are in a separate building, dated but spotlessly clean. There are several water points and refuse bins.

Yes, we would stay again because of the location but be prepared to move the van for any decent beaches or walking.

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

Right on the NC500 route, despite this plenty of free pitches.

New showers are housed in a wood cabin by reception, 4 unisex cubicles, plenty of hot water. Loos are in older blocks by the entrance - they are old but kept clean and again plenty of hot water in the sinks.

Pitches are either on grass or hardstanding, all with ehu. The pitches along the front have glorious views. When we stayed one caravan pitched right to the edge blocking the views of others - maybe owners could note where pitches are so everyone has good views.

As the site entrance is on the A832 its not the best fo walking, even into the village you are on a very busy road with no footpaths (by early evening it quietens down).

There is wifi on site but its not the sites own, Highland Wifi costs £5 per day - we found it ok but late evening started dropping out.

We did notice that the rubbish bins weren't emptied from the day we arrived until we left 48 hours later - that meant we were pushing down the rubbish to get more in.

A peaceful and quiet site, not ideal for walking but for relaxing and looking at the great views it is worth staying. We paid £23 with ehu for 2 adults.
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Wayfaring Stranger 1 review from this member

Lovely site with pitches almost on the beach.

All facilities are clean and functional and Lorraine is very friendly and helpful.

We stayed an extra night for the joy of watching the seals and the sunsets. Local shop is useful.

One beach along is stunning Mellon Udrigle - donít miss it.

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Louissa 9 reviews from this member

Brilliant little site, right on the shore at Gruinard Bay.

Though there are a number of statics on site, we were the only guests on the whole site so it was blissfully quiet.

As others have said, the toilet block is dated but spotless; the showers are bang up to date and immaculate. Lots of water points around the site.

The owners are very friendly and helpful. Pitch was good value for money too.

But the main selling point to us was the shore! If I'm honest, the seaweed can be a bit. Aromatic in the sun but the sound of gentle waves? The sight of smug seals basking on the rocks? The sunset? The birds? All delightful.
via mobile

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Estweyn 15 reviews from this member

Lovely site, brilliant views. Seven seals basking on nearby sand spit. An otter was spotted but not by us unfortunately. Thereís a little ruined church nearby of interest and walks. Local post office shop is very close and has quite a good selection.

Motor home point a bit difficult but manageable. The toilets were old but spotless. The new shower block is lovely, itís unisex but private.

We loved it here and would visit again. We were pitched right on the sea front, really quiet and peaceful. Owners were lovely.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Pam H 12 reviews from this member

Fabulous location. Some pitches right on edge of beach so very noisy when we were there with sea crashing on stony shore then ebbing away. Other pitches further back if you don't want that.

New unisex shower block with massive cubicles, excellent. Clear glass to outside made it nice and bright though perhaps a little exposed for some. The toilets are a bit more of a trek.

Very few people were staying when we were there, I don't know what it would be like in peak season.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: LouLiz 15 reviews from this member

We were touring the highlands of Scotland and came across this site as part of our trip. Hadnít booked in advance but the lady was very welcoming and sorted a pitch for us.

We had a sea view which was amazing. All facilities were clean. Lady in the office was very helpful and I would recommend this site.

We only stayed one night but have good memories.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kate2901 1 review from this member

We stayed here for a weekend to visit family who were up in the area on holiday. What a fantastic site! It was great to get up in the morning with your cuppa and watch otters and seals.

Facilities were great and so was Lorraine, she made us feel very welcome. Donít think weíll manage back this year, unfortunately but we will be back next year!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Franhg 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 2 nights and didnít want to leave.

There have been a few posts which did make me question staying at Gruinard Bay but Iím glad I ignored them. Those posts relate to a time when it had previous owners. A couple took over the site last year and have just had a new shower block and reception cabin built and are gradually improving facilities. Very friendly owners

There are a handful of static caravans and some touring pitches (some are new hard standing) and also a small area for tents.

What sells this site is itís location, 20 pacesand you are on a lovely sheltered beach and on a sunny day you could be stood on a Barbados beach. Itís beautiful. There is a small shop in the village which includes a post office and petrol pumps.

The toilet block still looks dated but is very clean. There is an Elsan emptying point and a motorhome grey waste drain. Fresh water taps dotted across site and ehu supplies two pitches.

You donít stay here for state of the art facilities but you do stay here for the tranquillity, location and great views (and if youíre lucky, like us, you will see the seals just off shore. This site is on the NC500 route.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fionagh1 3 reviews from this member

Camped last night at our favourite campsite. If you are looking for tranquillity with fabulous scenery for miles then come here. Campsite is small, right beside the sea with good facilities.

Pitches first class. Thanks and we will be back soon.

Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4629 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019