Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Het Rietveen

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > Holland / Netherlands > Site Reviews

Camping Het Rietveen
Noordeinde 130
1121al Landsmeer
Amsterdam
Netherlands   (Browse area)

Tel: 0031 20 4821468
    Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 10 Reviews
                8/10 from 10 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: McCarron 13 reviews from this member

Easy drive, approx. 30mins from Ijmuiden ferry port, easy access to site, we have a 7. 5m motorhome, come straight off A10 motorway through Landsmeer town centre, site is sign posted, turn left into site access road, go straight ahead to end & turn left over wooden bridge into site.

This is a lovely small site (approx. 50 pitches), located in woodland area on the lakeside within Landsmeer town. There is no campsite reception so you just pick a pitch and the owner comes along later to collect your payment (cash only)- 6 euro adult/ 4E children <12 pppn & 15E for motorhome/caravan/ large tent per night. No extra charge for awnings or pets.

All grass pitches with GB type electric hook-up points, 10Amp, shared water/grey waste drain & picnic benches between pitches.

There is one toilet block near site entrance, which has all individual male & female toilets (toilet paper/ hand dryers not included) & separate individual shower cubicles, the showers have mixer tap & piping hot water but no heating in cubicles. These are not kept very clean but were ok. There are 2 dish & 1 clothes washing sinks with piping hot water, along with a small communal freezer and mains sockets for phone charge points. There is also a motorhome service point with water & grey waste empty drain including a separate cubicle for chemical toilet waste. No WiFi on site, good 3G coverage for all UK operators using Dutch partner networks. Dog walking around site is ok, locals seemed to come into site to walk their dogs, there is not a dedicated dog walk area but you can get to parklands in 15 mins walk.

Landsmeer town is very pretty & has plenty of shops, 2 supermarkets (which for some strange reason one of them called DEEM doesn’t accept credit cards), banks with cash machines, restaurants & take aways, which are all 10/15 mins walking distance from the site. The bus stop for Amsterdam central (Route 319) is 5 mins from site (turn right at main road and 2nd left) & only takes 15mins into Amsterdam, ticket costs 10 euro pp for all day return & you can use your ticket, only on the day of issue, to other locations offered by this bus company.

We were here in early October & the site was pleasantly quiet & mainly had Dutch & German tourers. There are some seasonal pitches located & mainly grouped at one area of site.

Great cycle paths around town and to /within extensive parklands opposite site on other side of lake, links to Amsterdam and other villages near by, all an easy cycle. Would not hesitate to come back, recommend for anyone visiting Amsterdam.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Beltie 4 reviews from this member

This site is all about location. Its lakeside situation and laid back atmosphere overlooking Het Twiske nature reserve is lovely, and it's the perfect antidote to the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam. All of the city's attractions, however, are only twenty minutes away by the frequent bus service which runs until midnight. Alternatively it's easily reached by bike.

The cyclng potential is huge, with literally miles of cycle paths within the reserve and well marked routes throughout the surrounding area and beyond.

There is no denying that the facilities are basic, but they are well kept and functional. There is always plenty of hot water, including in the CDP!

We didn't spend a lot of time in Landsmeer itself, but it looked very pleasant indeed.

We would certainly use the site again if visiting Amsterdam.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paul+julie 54 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site over easter and loved the laid back feel to it. There is no reception and no wifi. Just find a pitch and set up and the lady Calls later for your money. We paid 27 euro per night. I think this is the all year round price. Most pitches have lake view. Electric hook up and water tap between 2 or 3 pitches. Hot showers controllable and plenty of water. Amsterdam is an easy off road ride about 4 miles, 25 mins at wrinkly speed. Free ferry across the harbour runs every 5 mins to central station. Also cycled to The Hague and around the nature reserve adjacent to site. This has a beach and lots of picnic areas. The pub in Landsmeer serve decent pub grub and the italian takeaway is good. The cafe Kiko near site has free wifi but was closed mon to wed.

We would definitely visit this site again.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rainbowfamily 11 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a week in August 2014 visiting Amsterdam and surrounding areas. It was a very pleasant site and what just what I was hoping for.

There are many other Amsterdam campsites some of which were memorably pleasant when I stayed some years ago as a single young person. However returning now with children in tow I wanted somewhere a little more family-orientated rather than aimed young travellers intent on getting stoned and staying up into the early hours drinking and socialising! Het Rietveen with its 'No Drugs' policy was exactly as I hoped, full of mainly Dutch families and quiet by 11pm.

The campsite is on the very attractive lakeshore just opposite the Het Twiske nature reserve / recreation area. The prime pitches front onto the lake but long channels have been dug to allow other campers to moor boats next to their tents so plenty of people have a waterfront view of a kind. We enjoyed watching the ducks and swans and our children swam in the lake on a couple of occasions.

There are about 70? pitches but it was pretty busy the whole time we were there with a 'FULL' sign outside the gate all apart from the first day. Although the pitches were large enough, when surrounded by a lot of caravans it did feel a bit crowded at times - not much space for children to run around and play independently. Definitely do book ahead in the summer months - the owner leaves out a little yellow pitch markers to reserve certain pitches for named visitors - although I must add that although we did book ahead, there didn't seem to be a yellow marker for us so we just took a free space - so perhaps wise to follow up your online booking with a personal email to confirm your intended arrival. Coming straight off the overnight Harwich ferry as many British visitors will do, we arrived by 9am and found that it gave us a better choice of pitch than we might have had later in the day.

I would strongly recommend that visitors to this site bring bikes with them (we didn't and regretted it!) - Het Twiske is made for cycling and indeed can be reached much more easily by a ten minute bike path than by car for which the only access is 20 minutes drive away (and parking is charged). You can also apparently cycle along paths into Amsterdam which would save money on the very regular and efficient but not cheap buses into Amsterdam Central Station. At €10 return for adults and €3 return for 4-11 year olds the cost of travelling into town by bus does mount up.

The site felt very friendly and safe - don't be alarmed by the idea of no reception as this is all part of its laid back charm. The owner lives very close by and comes round a couple of times a day.

There is no wifi on site so do your internet research before arriving and bring some good maps with you as it will help you visit local villages etc without resorting to always travelling on the boring and crowded main roads. Local cycling maps are available from the info centre on Het Twiske - we found other local info hard to come by, though there is a noticeboard (all in Dutch!) outside the campsite toilets.

There were five toilets per sex and a total of four unisex showers plus two washing up sinks and a laundry one - with free and plentiful hot water they were busy all day but never too much so. All fairly clean but basic with no toilet paper or soap provided in the loos which was a bit of a pain until you got into the swing of having to take it with you!

The location, just 10 minutes pleasant walk from shops, restaurants and services in the quiet and pleasant town of Lansdmeer, was good. Two very good supermarkets, Jumbo and Deen, in town (both with a shelf of veggie alternatives, soya burgers etc) made cooking at camp very easy and we saved a lot of money by doing so.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Asfc70 21 reviews from this member

The site is very will situated on the edge of a lake. It is within walking distance of some lovely pubs in Landsmeer, where the staff are extremely welcoming, De Driesprong in particular, we were made to feel like guests of honour. A couple of supermarkets and other shops are also within a five minute drive. Het Twiske, across the lake, by Bike is a must. Kayak and Boat hire available and there is a small beach and Pavillion restaurant/bar. Zaanse Schans is a 20 minute drive away, and Enkuissen just under an hour, with a brilliant open air museum of the olden days.

Het Rietveen is a lovely site with a laid back atmosphere, Toilet and shower block is suffice. Not many English campers, mainly Dutch and German. Be prepared for the Mosquitos.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tripper99 15 reviews from this member

This is a nice small site about 5 miles north of Amsterdam. It is easy to get to and well signposted once off the motorway. Access from Purmerend (to the north) is very fiddly and a sat nav is very useful. There is no reception and the owner comes to you. If the site is busy she is around a few times a day.

There are about 60, grass only, pitches in quite a small area. The site has many trees and is by a large lake. Across the water is the nature reserve 'Het Twiske' which is geared up for walkers and cyclists. There are car parks around the perimeter.

The toilet facilities, on site, are very basic, but clean. There is always lots of hot water for showers and washing up.

For a caravan and 2 adults we paid Euro 25 per night which we thought expensive. The bus, 4 an hour, is a short walk away and it goes into Amsterdam Central Station. Buy the ticket on the bus Euro 10 return per person. Landsmeer is a 15 minute walk away it has everything you will want here. There is no Wi-Fi on site, but the nearby library has free internet access.

We stayed 11 nights here and found it to be in good position for visiting many of the nearby picturesque villages e. G. Marken, Edam etc.

We would be happy to come here again.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Grapefruitmoon 23 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a few nights so that we could visit Amsterdam. There are regular buses to central Amsterdam. The site was convenient and easy to reach from the ferry port at Imuigen.

Landsmeer itself is a pleasant town with very friendly people, shops, a good supermarket, and cafes. There is a large lake with park areas around. The campsite, just being a short walk to the centre of the town, is quiet and secluded.

The toilets and showers at the campsite are basic but clean. The site is quiet and our kids had nothing to do but (carefully!) kick a ball about and watch the swans.

The water/showers at the campsite are free which is unusual in Holland and the campsite rates were very reasonable for this area also.

Lovely lady who appears every afternoon to collect fees. Very trusting.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gray333 4 reviews from this member

This attractive site is beautifully located on the shores of a small lake. Narrow inlets coming into the site grounds give the impression that many pitches are on the water's edge.

Landsmeer town is within walking distance; it has a good selection of shops and places to eat, and is surrounded by interesting Dutch countryside. Landsmeer is also a good base from which to visit Amsterdam, either by car or cycle. We used the excellent bus service but found it to be a little expensive.

Pitches are reasonably sized, and site facilities are good and well maintained. There is no site office - the owner visits during the day but lives nearby - and payment is by cash only. There are no play facilities for children but part of the lake shore has been turned into a small 'beach'.

We would happily visit this site again if in the area.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Louloveswheels 1 review from this member

It was busy during our 10 day August visit but never felt crowded and there were always a couple of pitches available. Supermarkets and banks are a 5 min walk away in the town (Landsmeer). The facilities were clean and the water was always hot, but there were no washing machines or driers provided which could have been a problem if the weather had not improved - enabling us to dry clothes in the breezy Dutch climate!

The location suited us perfectly; 7km from Amsterdam meant that our family could easily cycle into Amsterdam on the cycle route and on the days we wanted to avoid bustle we cycled around the huge recreation area next to the site, Het Twiske. Here we discovered the best playground equipment ever(!) and took a Kayak out on the water (6. 50 euros for 1/2 hour).

Frequent buses leave for the city from just around the corner of the site but they are costly and children over 4 are charged full price, however the drivers think this is wrong and they generally let youngsters travel for free! We didn't drive and use the park and ride service but 'neighbours' told us it was very good value.

If you are cycling into Amsterdam make sure you use a good chain to lock bikes up (not a cable lock) as we were warned by many about bike theft. There is a good cycle shop in Landsmeer with helpful and friendly advice. We had a great holiday and want to go back to explore more. A great family cycling experience with city culture and green space.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: KimC 5 reviews from this member

We have stayed on this site 3 times now out of season. The views from the site and the sunsets are superb! There are marked pitches which are of a generous size and no chocks are needed (no surprise there!) The toilets on our first visit were draughty, but now the draughts have been filled in and the showers and toilets are warm and clean. No soap or toilet paper provided so be sure to take your own.

There is no booking so you just turn up and set up and the lady rides round in the evening and takes your pitch fees.

It has always been really quiet when we have been there, no road noise or from other campers.

It does seem quite popular with motorhomes, though it takes all units. The pitches by the lakes edge do get a bit windy so guy ropes and tie down kits are useful.

There is an excellent Oriental takeaway in the town and a good supermarket (Deen) and banks and shops just down the road.

The bus that goes every 15 mins into Amsterdam is just across the road, and for a family of 5 it cost us around £10 return trip.

Looking forward to our return visit!


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Netherlands

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3986 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019