Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Camping And Recreatiepark Klein Strand

Campsite Search > Europe > Belgium > Jabbeke > Camping And Recreatiepark Klein Strand Reviews

Camping And Recreatiepark Klein Strand
Varsenareweg 29
8490
Jabbeke
Belgium   (Browse area)

Tel: +32 050 811440
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 200
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 10 Reviews
                7/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor57 48 reviews from this member

We used this site twice on a journey to and from The Netherlands because it is only a few minutes’ drive off the motorway. On entering the town of Jabbeke you get to an S-bend and then take the left hand turn down what is a narrow residential road but it is quiet and there are places to pass.

The site has two receptions and if you are arriving outside the main holiday period (July/August) you have to use the Mobile Home Reception which is the first one you come too (on the left). There is a very large parking area so parking is not a problem. Once booked in you drive about another 150 metres down the road to the touring site entrance (on the right) and enter using the barrier card (€25 deposit) obtained at the reception.

With regard to the barrier card if you want to use the showers or any hot water you have to top up the card with more money to use them. There are also top up machines at the shower block. An unusual system which we have not come across before and you get any unused money and the deposit back when you leave.

The shower block itself was of a very good standard and was cleaned on a regular basis and kept very warm which is good because this site is open all year. The block however we felt would struggle to cope in peak periods. The Chemical Waste Disposal is also at the front of the shower block. The motorhome disposal point however which is towards the top of the site is totally inadequate as it is hard to get on it without blocking the road.

The pitches are all on grass with a tap and drain shared between 4 of them. We were allowed to choose our own pitch as it was out of season which was handy because some of them were very muddy. Electricity is rated at 10 amps with the standard blue connection. The touring side also has static/residential caravans so we would imagine at peak times the site would be very busy. The mobile side of the site also has a small number of touring pitches which personally we would not use they are very rutted and a hotel (Ibis) and holiday homes are also currently being built here.

We would use this site again for stopovers or a short stay as Bruges is a short bus ride away but would avoid the peak periods.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paulontour 2 reviews from this member

Site is situated just off the motorway so is ideal for a night stopover which we used it for. We arrived mid afternoon and made our way to the second entrance which is used for touring vans. We were greeted by a very pleasant young lady who spoke really good English. You get a keycard which you load with money and that lifts and lowers the security barrier and money is deducted when you use the showers and other amenities. Strange having to pay for the use of the showers though. Any way when we arrived at our pitch it struck me how tight it was to get parked. Now if every pitch around you was occupied you wouldn't have the room to reverse your van in and if you didn't have a mover you would struggle to push the van especially if your van was on the heavy side. Any way once pitched we realised we were pitched among not seasonal caravans but permanent residential caravans. Now the view from our front window was of an old caravan with a permanently erected awning that was saggy and covered in green moss. His plot was fenced off with three dogs running around pooing as required among an old mattress that was thrown in the corner wet through and rotting away. Rubbish was strewn all around his garden and to be honest looked a right eyesore. We were booked for another one night stay on the return leg of our holiday, we never showed up. Also if you don't want kids running about avoid.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 253 reviews from this member

An OK site, with a peculiarity, it's divided into 2 parts. One is mostly statics, with a few tourers and this is where the reception is situated, so upon arrival you have to go here, book in, pay €25 for the key for the entrance and showers, turn around and go back down the road to the other part. There is a 2nd reception there, but it is only open in July and August. The toring part also has some statics.

The site itself is fine; there are trees, but not too many so a Sky signal is quite easy to find. The pitches are adequate in size. Water is available at each pitch.

Make sure you have your ACSI ID ready for booking in, if the date applies, otherwise you will be threatened with paying the full amount. We were not offered the (free) Wi-fi details, had to go back and ask. The supermarket was shut, assume this is also open only in high season.

It's very handy for the motorway, as said. The garage in the village would accept neither Saga Platinum nor Halifax Clarity credit cards, but if you turn left out of the site, then straight on and over the motorway, there is an Esso garage which does take these cards.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Onetengrant 4 reviews from this member

Spent our second Easter here. Staff on reception were excellent. Spoke very good English and were very helpful. Road is a bit noisy but site is perfectly located to cycle to both Bruges and Ostend on a very quiet canal path where we had some excellent meals.

Showers are operated on a pay as you go key but we found them to be plenty hot enough and clean. Supermarket is walkable and very well stocked but they only take cash payment.

I will certainly be returning.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Brookside 7 reviews from this member

Klein Strand is a nicely laid-out and relaxed site, very convenient for stop-overs or visits to the beautiful city of Bruges, or to the WW1 sites around Ypres. We got lost trying to find the site after taking the wrong motorway exit - take the correct one and it is very easy to find, within 5 minutes of the motorway ! We stayed for a long weekend in mid-september, so benefited from ACSI card prices, and found the site very quiet after the summer holidays. Many of the pitches are very typical Belgium and Dutch permanent set-ups, which were generally unoccupied during our stay, however there are plenty of good-sized touring pitches, giving plenty of space for caravan, awning and car, and still leaving some free space. The site is a little tired in places, but well looked after, and laid out in a grid with good tarmac access roads, and most pitches are screened with hedges and trees, and have a nice mixture of sun and shade. All of the pitches that we saw were on level grass, and all had electric hook-ups and individual water and drainage points. The washing and toilet facilities are of a good standard, comparable to caravan club sites, and were always spotless during our stay. The showers are operated using tags, which were credited with a reasonable amount of time for our stay, and which can be topped up using a coin machine near the shower block. The main feature of the site is a man-made boating and recreation lake and beach across the road from the site, which also has a well-stocked shop, and a bar and cafe. The site is located on the edge of the town of Jabbeke, a small pretty town, with plenty of supermarkets within a short drive. The route to the site from Jabbeke town centre is a down a narrow residential road where some care is required, but fortunately it is generally fairly quiet. Overall a very nice, clean, and relatively quiet site, ideal as a stop-over or for short breaks in the Bruges area.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: J Hodgson 11 reviews from this member

The small lake and sand beach with a water slide make this site quite distinctive and a useful stopover if you have young children, though it's hard to know how clean the water could ever be in a man-made small lake next to a motorway.

Easy to find from the E40 A10, take junction 6b, then it's signposted. Handy for Bruges or Brugge, it's easy to take the local bus, but it's cheaper and easy to drive to the station car park in Bruges, a couple of Euros or so all day, with a free bus ride into the historic centre.

The touring part of the site is in the most distant part from the Chinese restaurant and lake.

The touring hedged pitches part, with electricity, has decent sized pitches, big enough - but feels pretty busy when full, so a little bit noisy if you are in a tent, though all settles by midnight. Any city dweller would not find the motorway noise to be that intrusive, but it is audible.

We did not need electricity so were directed to the most remote part, which in wet weather was pretty depressing. The open field was quite small, backed by in-construction tall industrial buildings, a skip and a large patch that had been used by the site to dump soil and brush wood. This was our view. Some full rubbish bags were also there. This was cleared later leaving a broad strip of mud. When it rained the camping field pooled water and remained soggy and muddy.

We found the toilets to be clean early in the morning, if you can negotiate access with the cleaner.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Addle12 10 reviews from this member

Agree with most of the other reviews. We stayed 5 days, with 2 teenagers, to visit nearby Bruges. Pitches were a little cramped. Lots of trees so satellite reception difficult. Wi-fi costs a few Euros but was very intermittent and very slow.

Location great for visits to Bruges however so we put up with things.

In particular we were very disappointed to find that all the lighting and water in the toilet block was paid for by token, even to wash up pots and pans, and the showers were just a trickle, cooler than lukewarm and cost nearly 1 Euro each minute.

There was no soap, no hairdryer, it was not clean. There was only one washing machine and dryer. The whole place seemed badly managed, a bit downmarket and run down.

The other section of the site was for statics where we spent a hot day on the gorgeous sandy lido, swam in the lake and ate a lovely meal at the family run restaurant for a very reasonable price.

Overall we give it 2 out of 5 stars, but 5 stars for location.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hoedown 42 reviews from this member

We found this site to be an excellent location for stopping off on the way to/from the ferry at Dunkerque as well as visiting Bruges, or the coast, by bus (stop in town a 10 minute walk away, a trip to Bruges for 2 of us cost 10euros and took about 20 minutes).

The showers/toilet were quite adequate, although not kept as clean as we would like, especially as the local schools / nursery used the site every day for sport and games, and crocodiles of children made regular visits to the toilets.

Due to the proximity of the motorway there is quite a lot of road noise at times, and there are a lot of down-at-heel static caravans around.

As mentioned in a previous review, the pitches are a very good size and easy to get in to. However, there is virtually no shade and our folding camper achieved temperatures of over 30'C on quite a few days.

We had a lovely meal in the restaurant overlooking the lake and had a free drink courtesy of the voucher we were given on arrival

Unlike David, we had to book in at the Reception on the main site on the left before going along to the touring section on the right, as it was not open. There were some evil speed humps going in and out of the car park, our car grounded each time we crossed them.

We were given a 10hour wi-fi voucher for free and could access the internet in our unit comfortably.

The supermarket in town was a reasonable size and well-stocked. We did not even need to make a trip to France to stock up with wine etc. As prices were comparable. There was also an excellent homewares boutique in the town, just made for gifts to take home.

We would use this site again, but only as a stop-over.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MadFrank 21 reviews from this member

This site has a great location from the transport side of things - just over 65 miles from Euro-Tunnel and half a mile from the E40 at Jabekke. Downside is the the motorway passes the site and you can ALWAYS hear it.

That being said you use this site to visit Bruges, Ghent, Ypres etc so will spend most of the day away from the site and not notice the noise. Brussels is only an hour away which is also worth a trip.

The site - mixed opinion here.

The main reception area, shops, restaurants, and facilities in general including the pool and sides are all looking tired and in need of updating. There are a large number of owner occupied static caravans on this site and some of them look incredibly old - if you ever wondered what happened to old static caravans in the UK once they were past their sell by date - well I can tell you - they're at Kelin Strand :).

The site is being re-developed in some areas with brand new vans.

The touring area is across the (small) road from the site and is MUCH better. The pitches are separated by small 1m high hedges - they are quite large - even for a 7.8 twin axle - and the access roads are wide and well made. There is one water/waste post per 4 caravans on average.

The toilet block is not a par with CC sites but still clean and good condition.

There is a quite good play area for the kids - including a small water play area overlooked by the terrace of the bar.

The bar is by the site entrance and unfortunately (depending on your point of view) still allows smoking inside. The bar is only open weekends in off peak as is the small take-away attached to the bar - can't vouch for food or bar because we didn't go in - the smoke !

There is one reasonable supermarket in the town and a couple of bars - nothing to write home about but perfectly adequate.

Would I go there again - probably but not to use as a relaxing place - more of a base to visit the area.

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: David Klyne 220 reviews from this member

To find site:- From the direction of Dunkerque follow A18 motorway, which merges with the A10. Leave motorway at junction 6, signed for Jabbeke, and keep right (don't follow signs for Jabbeke Services) Whilst initially it seems confusing you are travelling away from Jabbeke but after a couple of hundred metres you arrive at a roundabout which you go round and head back towards Jabbeke. The campsite is signed from here but just watch for a left turn in the town of Jabbeke and follow the narrow road to site on the right. Some directions suggest going through the main site (entrance on left) but I don't see any advantage in this. From the Gent direction you leave at the same junction which exits onto the roundabout mentioned above.

Klein Strand is a large Recreation Park which combines a large area of static caravans with a separate tourist area. The centre piece of the site is a large lake which is used for swimming, boating and fishing with its own sandy beach. The pitches are of a good size, being, on average, in excess of 100 sq metres. The are set out on a grid system with some in groups of six. When the site is full it can feel slightly crowded. All pitches have easy access to electrics (a useful 10amps) water and waste points. There is a single main toilet block in the touring section which are a to a perfectly acceptable standard. When you check in you pay a €30 deposit for a key which operates the barrier. It also is used to take showers with the €30 balance reducing per shower. On a long stay the key can be recharged with more money. The site has a shop selling essentials and there are two restaurants, one being a Chinese. The site has a WiFi facility which can be accessed in the touring area for €1 and hour. For children, apart from the lake and beach, there is a good adventure playground near the entrance. Klein Strand is open all year. One side of the site, the opposite side on the lake is adjacent to the motorway so there is often a hum from the traffic but not too intrusive. My one gripe with this site was the general state of some of the pitches with many no more that earth because of excessive use of groundsheets. The weather here is similar to the UK and when its wet the pitches become very muddy.

This site is ideally located to visit Brugge which is about 8 miles away. You can drive in although at popular times the many car parks get full. Alternatively there is a bus service from the stop outside the church in Jabbeke.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Jabbeke      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Belgium

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5242 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019