Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Municipal Du Chateau

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Falaise > Camping Municipal Du Chateau Reviews

Camping Municipal Du Chateau
3, Rue Du Val D Ante
Falaise
Normandy   (Browse area)
14700
Tel: 0033 02-31-90-16-55
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/05/2022 to 30/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 11 Reviews
                9/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Crwydryn 79 reviews from this member

 Stayed on this excellent site for 2 nights some 45 minutes away from Caen.

ELeclerc store and fuel station in Falaise on the way to the campsite.

Friendly welcome on arrival.

Easy access to the pitches and motorhome service point.

There is a very modern facilities block and while the showers are unisex the toilets arenít.

The Wifi flies

The town of Falaise is very interesting and just a short walk from the campsite. The castle where William the Conqueror was not only conceived but also born out of wedlock is worth a visit as is the adjacent Museum and Church.

Sadly Falaise suffered badly during the Normandy landings. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bigart 20 reviews from this member

 Used this site in early June for a couple of days, the site is now In private hand's

On our visit there was quite a bit of work going on in the facilities, and portable toilets were in use, although the showers were in use, the portable toilets were kept very clean and also the showers.

On our visit there was a temporary reduction in the tarif also there was quite a few hardstanding pitches under construction, all in all a very clean and tidy site and would use again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mickcoleman427 20 reviews from this member

 Second visit here - difficult access but absolutely stunning setting dominated by William the Conquerors castle. Five minute walk to lovely town centre. Choose your own pitch which warms my heart, free wifi in reception - facilities decent and very clean. Love this place. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Derekcbr 79 reviews from this member

 I have to agree with all that has been said before. The pitches are a little small especially by the little river. Facilities are very good and reception us very helpful. Quite close to the town but a bit of a haul up hill for the unfit! i. E. Me! There is a pool just below site and you can fish for free if that's what floats your boat.

One word of advice, tho, if you are using this site for a 'ferry stop' and you have an early crossing, the main gate is locked until 7:30am not enough time to get to Ouisterham for an 8:30 sailing. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Camp chaos 26 reviews from this member

 I'm pretty much 100% sure that this campsite is the same as Camping Municipal de Falaise.

It was a wonderful site: the location (the view of the chateau was amazing), the cleanliness, the simplicity, the cost, the townn of Falaise. Everything was lovely and it's now one of my all time favourites.

We had an end pitch with a stream at our side and a shady tree, it was ample for our campervan and awning.

The toilets were admittedly old but were clean and had enough showers/hot water along with the all important plug sockets.

The reception man was very friendly as were all other campers. There was a tennis court next to the site and the town of Falaise was very close up a steep hill. We were lucky enough to visit when there was a fete on at the castle so this just added to our trip but the castle was well worth the entrance fee regardless. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Robinsnorman 2 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to a campsite in Normandy and we used it as a base to explore the region including Bayeux and Arromanches. The campsite is situated in a 'bowl' beneath the castle and is a fantastic setting with a wonderful view. I particularly liked the night-time view when the moon was behind the castle giving a different aspect to the architecture.

The town of Falaise is fairly large with a good range of amenities including a E. LeClerc hypermarket as well as smaller boulangeries etc within a 10-minute walk. However be ready for an extremely steep climb to reach them. There is also a beautiful lake within 5 minutes of the campsite where many people were fishing.

The campsite itself is kept spotlessly clean but we did struggle to fit our tent onto the pitch which was also very sloped (although our Croyde 8 is large) not so for the motorhomes towards the centre of the site. The showers and toilets are serviceable but the showers and washing sinks are closed and locked at 10. 00 each night. In addition one of the ladies' cubicles ran out of toilet paper on day 1 of our stay and still had not been replaced by day 4 when we left. The free WiFi in the TV room was also a bonus, on some days this also reached our tent.

All-in-all this was a very enjoyable stay in the area and we would visit there again if we wanted to see that part of France. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Mickcoleman427 20 reviews from this member

 What a truly beautiful setting and a well maintained and value for money site. We arrived when reception was closed but there was a note on the door saying 'today is a good day - choose your emplacement and come and see us when we are open' Every emplacement is a decent size and has mature trees providing shade. The views of the Castle towering above the site are really spectacular - I loved it. A five minute uphill walk into Falaise for all you require bars /restaurants/ shops /boulangerie /great fishmonger. Absolutely loved this place.

Only downside - a couple of the gents loo's were a la Turque but generally facilities were shared so no problem. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Felicity73 15 reviews from this member

 Arrived at this beautiful site mid afternoon. The reception was closed but what we could understand was to go and pitch up and pay later. We found a large pitch. A slight kerb to get to it but no problem. Lovely views of the castle and the site is surrounded by houses, river and tennis court. A very quiet, friendly comfortable site.

Facilities are basic but clean. Inexpensive site

Short walk into town. We didn't have time to visit the castle but it looked impressive. The town is lovely, and the church well worth a visit

Wish we could have stayed longer 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lecomteuk 6 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, we intended to use it as a stop over on the way down to the Loire but thought it was so nice we'd stay an extra night. Small site with nice sized pitches, great view of the castle and a short (but steep) walk into the town. Tour of the castle was interesting and a nice market Saturday morning. Has motorhome service point, lounge with TV and wifi. Showers and toilets are a bit small and basic but that is really the only slight criticism. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Barb n Barney 14 reviews from this member

 We stayed here in June - lovely weather and a very nice site indeed. It was our first visit to France with our camper and this was one of the nicest sites we stayed at. You are in a very peaceful grass area at the base of the hill on which the castle stands - well worth a look around. The pitches are a fair size and you are also next to the tennis courts and a small river. You wander through the old streets either past the lake and up into the town or straight up past the castle. The town is very nice with good shops but it is a working town which we prefer - not very much touristy tat!

The site has free WiFi in the large library/games room. We would very much recommend it and this beautiful area of Normandy. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Municipal Du Chateau child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Camping Municipal Du Chateau dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Falaise      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Normandy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3522 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement