Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Shepherds Views Holidays Caravan Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Holmrook > Shepherds Views Holidays Caravan Camping Site Reviews

Shepherds Views Holidays Caravan Camping Site
(nr Wasdale)
(nr Ravenglass)
Holmrook
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1XU
Tel: 019467 29907
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 49
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 85 Reviews
                9/10 from 85 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  85 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Karenrad 1 review from this member

 Very friendly and helpful owners. Lovely site and very clean.

If you wanted a fire pit (most did) these are available for those extra special evenings.

Recommend for young families and the older couples. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Sambr114148cug 1 review from this member

 Arrived about 7 pm and map left on office door giving directions. Caravan immaculate and very clean, bedding clean but beds needed made up.

Everything we needed was in caravan apart from broom (struggle on knees with dustpan and brush) caravan was in very good condition. Slight funny smell in middle Twin room. Shower excellent. Was pet van but no evidence or smell of dogs.

Excellent stay but we didnít leave till about twenty past ten and a very rude lady came and spoke to one of the kids asking why we hadnít left yet because the cleaner was waiting. It did say ten am, caravan to be vacated which was a hard push on my own with two kids and there could have been a bit of give and maybe not have come across as so unfriendly and a bit more professional.

Other than that we had a wonderful stay & would happily return.

Lady during booking and payment very professional and helpful. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chris and debbie 2 reviews from this member

 Arrived to a lovely welcome by a lovely cheerful lady. Facilities very clean. Good sized pitch lots of room.

Fire wheel very good logs were seven pound (very reasonable ) and delivered to your pitch.

Quiet an exposed site in places we were there and it was blowing a gale. A few tents blown over and our new awning clasped but you canít stop Mother Nature. Lots of sheltered spots too.

Lovely play area for kids and we had a little peak at the calves in the barn so cute.

Seascale and ravens glass a short drive away beach would be a great day out. We will be returning.

All in all a lovely site we will be returning 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Roman_1 5 reviews from this member

 This was booked for a girls under 9ís football team that weíre playing in a tournament in Whitehaven. We were a group of 8 tents altogether.

On arrival the front desk was friendly and helpful and showed us to our pitches and helped with whatever we needed for the duration of our stay.

The site was clean, well kept and very peaceful. We had a campfire and the wood was delivered to our pitch by the owners. The site was quiet which allowed the kids to have plenty of space to run and play but I could imagine if the site was busy then the area to play ball games would be very limited.

Short walk to the near by beach but nothing else much around. We were able to get a takeaway delivered to the site in our first night which was handy.

A nice clean unisex toilet/shower block. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: LBBK 43 reviews from this member

 This site is a working farm with a campsite offering a variety of pitches including two mini pods. We had one of these booked for the weekend.

There was a warm welcome, plenty of local tourist info available and a map (50p) for walks straight from the site.

The mini pods are, in my experience, quite unique. There are two comfortable single bench beds, lights, power sockets & a small heater. The floor is covered in carpet tiles. Outside there is a rather nice 'patio' with a garden bench and a chiminea. There is also a small covered shelter for cooking in the rain. You can park, on grass, alongside the pod. So far so good but, there is a large but, the pods are very low! Even a short adult would not be able to stand up inside. This may not bother you but I would not recommend a pod for anyone with mobility issues or claustrophobia.

The site has communal shower/toilets. These would not be to everyone's taste but were clean with plenty of hot water. Three showers, 3 toilets & 3 washbasins will not be enough when the site is busy but it wasn't a problem whilst we visited.

Places to visit: well, the neighbouring Sellafield low level waste repository would not be high on many people's list but the coast is a lovely mixture of sand dunes & beaches with views across the western Lake District. Up behind the farm is a nature reserve with rare plants - essentially a large bog so take wellies.

Seascale village is a couple of miles away. There are small shops, a highly recommended ice cream parlour, beach, playground & large free car park.

Wasdale is best for the high mountains & Eskdale for the softer scenery & little steam railway. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Furry123 1 review from this member

 The site was very busy and although the pitch sizes are good the toilet facilities are not big enough at such capacity. Queues all weekend both in the morning and evening. Unisex facilities of 3 showers and 3 toilets with 2 privacy sinks. Unisex facilities not for us.

Really needs a sign to suggest children must be accompanied in the block lots on their own and one time 2 youngsters got water everywhere. I was in shower & they were playing with sink taps. (yes it was quick cleared up by owner but wouldn't have happened if parent with them) I have noticed these signs at other sites on a regular basis.

Difficult departure as no hot water in the morning. I expect as site so full and a busy departure day.

We expected more of a view and the farm is a little noisy as so close. Donkey lovely. Entrance & tracks round site very dusty. Dog walking field good size but at time of visit grass was very long.

No noise after 1030pm which was observed by all. Barrier locked at 10pm and opened at 8am.

Quite an exposed site with gusts of wind for both sea and fells.

Nice area good for the western fells and coastal beaches. Ice cream in seascale and a a coop and spar for basics. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Davedutton 1 review from this member

 Yet another Wonderful stay at Shepherds Views. This is a gem of a site on the edge of the Lake District National Park, with Eskdale valley to one side and the coast on the other.

A brilliant place to be active or just chill out.

We always get the warmest of welcomes from the owners Stephen and Julie, who are always on hand and happy to help with info or even the odd spanner to do a rolling repair.

The reception has a massive amount of tourist information and also local info with places to eat or takeaways. Seascale has two small supermarkets, an excellent Chinese takeaway and not forgetting the BEST Ice Cream Parlour in the UK.

What could be better a pub to the left at Drigg Station and an Ice cream Parlour to the right in Seascale.

Give it a try you will not be disappointed 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sterlingsop 7 reviews from this member

 Spent a brilliant week here on this site. A party of 2 caravans, we booked fairly late but were able to get two adjoining pitches and one with a firepit.

Great facilities, very clean and well maintained. Grass pitches well drained (this is the Lake District and there is a LOT of rain, but we didn't get muddy once), and tons of space. Plenty of hot water for pot washing and showers.

Easy access to local beaches and amenities in Drigg and Seascale as well as having spectacular landscapes on the doorstep.

If there are any negatives it is that I wasn't overly keen on the piped music in the toilet block during the day and evening but I can see that others wouldn't find it a problem.

Apart from that, fantastic site, great owners, fantastic location. Will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Claire Redrobe 1 review from this member

 I cannot give enough positive feedback to do justice to this lovely site and it's amazing owners.

I contacted them at the last minute of the August Bank Holiday weekend for Saturday and Sunday nights. They replied immediately to say that they had a space for us.

On arrival, they did their absolute best to juggle things around so that we could have a grass pitch with a fire pit for our VW campervan. The pitches were huge with tons of space for our van and a two person tent.

For a small fee, wood was delivered to our door and a fire starter kit.

The toilet and shower block was kept meticulously clean and although there were only 3 showers, toilets and sink cubicles, we never had to wait to use any of them. Lovely to arrive at a place with free showers too.

The site is excellently maintained and in a great location for mountain lovers and beach lovers alike. It is only a short walk to Seascale with an amazing beach and excellent ice cream parlour/cafe.

I had an amazing 2 nights as did my two 14 year olds. We will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Smiffyz 9 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site, nice and quiet with great owners. The only minus is they only have 3 showers & Toilets and it really could do with another 3.

Access to the surrounding area is good and there's walks directly from the site with choices of 4 & 8 miles. If you go, don't set your tom tom to fastest route or you'll end up driving own some very very narrow roads if your towing.

EHU's are 10amp and some hardstandings have almost private garden areas which is great.

I'd return again without hesitation. 


Previous     85 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Shepherds Views Holidays Caravan Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Shepherds Views Holidays Caravan Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Shepherds Views Holidays Caravan Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Holmrook      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4186 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements