Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Shepherds Views Holidays Caravan Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Holmrook > Shepherds Views Holidays Caravan Camping Site Reviews

Shepherds Views Holidays Caravan Camping Site
(nr Wasdale)
(nr Ravenglass)
Holmrook
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1XU
Tel: 019467 29907
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 49
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 89 Reviews
                9/10 from 89 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  89 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mike 1878 2 reviews from this member

 As campsites go, this place has a lot going for it. Lets start with the owners ( Steve & Julie )Very friendly, helpful and work so hard, to keep us all as safe and as comfortable as possible and, in these most difficult of times.

As for the site itself, itís as good as your going to get. The tent pitches are very comfortably spaced, the showers and other facilities have constant hot water and are kept immaculately clean.

Location wise, the beach is a about a 20 minute walk, well worth it on a summers evening, as the sunsets are something special !

Itís also a fantastic base for hiking, the south western lakes, Eskdale valley, Devoke water, scafell pike, wastwater, coniston via honiston pass, and many many more, are all within a reasonably close scenic drive.

Well worth the effort to get here ! 🙂 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Monkeyb33f 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite. Staff were very friendly and helpful and always available for questions or advice.

The site is quite basic grass pitches, some next to gravel paths, some just in fields. When we visited the weather had been biblical, but every effort was made to keep the site from becoming a mud bath.

The facilities are clean and practical. The showers warm and we never had to queue long for either them or the toilets.

During the Corona virus pandemic, extra porta loos had been placed around site as well.

Area wise, there isnt much in Drigg, but there is a huge beach a 20 minute walk away (great for our little doggy) and it is ideally situated to visit the western lakes. I recommend a trip to keswick (about an hours drive) for the excellent market. If you get good weather the ratty railway is good fun, especially for the kids. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Amanda Peffer 1 review from this member

 Cute little site, loved being next to the stream. The facilities were modern and clean.

Nice to have a pub and cafe to walk to for food. Which both served lovely meals

Great location for walks and wasdale 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Barbar 1 review from this member

 Very friendly and helpful owners, site very clean and shower block immaculate and cleaned regularly.

Quiet site with plenty of space allocated for each pitch. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Karenrad 1 review from this member

 Very friendly and helpful owners. Lovely site and very clean.

If you wanted a fire pit (most did) these are available for those extra special evenings.

Recommend for young families and the older couples. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Sambr1 1 review from this member

 Arrived about 7 pm and map left on office door giving directions. Caravan immaculate and very clean, bedding clean but beds needed made up.

Everything we needed was in caravan apart from broom (struggle on knees with dustpan and brush) caravan was in very good condition. Slight funny smell in middle Twin room. Shower excellent. Was pet van but no evidence or smell of dogs.

Excellent stay but we didnít leave till about twenty past ten and a very rude lady came and spoke to one of the kids asking why we hadnít left yet because the cleaner was waiting. It did say ten am, caravan to be vacated which was a hard push on my own with two kids and there could have been a bit of give and maybe not have come across as so unfriendly and a bit more professional.

Other than that we had a wonderful stay & would happily return.

Lady during booking and payment very professional and helpful. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chris and debbie 2 reviews from this member

 Arrived to a lovely welcome by a lovely cheerful lady. Facilities very clean. Good sized pitch lots of room.

Fire wheel very good logs were seven pound (very reasonable ) and delivered to your pitch.

Quiet an exposed site in places we were there and it was blowing a gale. A few tents blown over and our new awning clasped but you canít stop Mother Nature. Lots of sheltered spots too.

Lovely play area for kids and we had a little peak at the calves in the barn so cute.

Seascale and ravens glass a short drive away beach would be a great day out. We will be returning.

All in all a lovely site we will be returning 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Roman_1 5 reviews from this member

 This was booked for a girls under 9ís football team that weíre playing in a tournament in Whitehaven. We were a group of 8 tents altogether.

On arrival the front desk was friendly and helpful and showed us to our pitches and helped with whatever we needed for the duration of our stay.

The site was clean, well kept and very peaceful. We had a campfire and the wood was delivered to our pitch by the owners. The site was quiet which allowed the kids to have plenty of space to run and play but I could imagine if the site was busy then the area to play ball games would be very limited.

Short walk to the near by beach but nothing else much around. We were able to get a takeaway delivered to the site in our first night which was handy.

A nice clean unisex toilet/shower block. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: LBBK 46 reviews from this member

 This site is a working farm with a campsite offering a variety of pitches including two mini pods. We had one of these booked for the weekend.

There was a warm welcome, plenty of local tourist info available and a map (50p) for walks straight from the site.

The mini pods are, in my experience, quite unique. There are two comfortable single bench beds, lights, power sockets & a small heater. The floor is covered in carpet tiles. Outside there is a rather nice 'patio' with a garden bench and a chiminea. There is also a small covered shelter for cooking in the rain. You can park, on grass, alongside the pod. So far so good but, there is a large but, the pods are very low! Even a short adult would not be able to stand up inside. This may not bother you but I would not recommend a pod for anyone with mobility issues or claustrophobia.

The site has communal shower/toilets. These would not be to everyone's taste but were clean with plenty of hot water. Three showers, 3 toilets & 3 washbasins will not be enough when the site is busy but it wasn't a problem whilst we visited.

Places to visit: well, the neighbouring Sellafield low level waste repository would not be high on many people's list but the coast is a lovely mixture of sand dunes & beaches with views across the western Lake District. Up behind the farm is a nature reserve with rare plants - essentially a large bog so take wellies.

Seascale village is a couple of miles away. There are small shops, a highly recommended ice cream parlour, beach, playground & large free car park.

Wasdale is best for the high mountains & Eskdale for the softer scenery & little steam railway. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Furry123 1 review from this member

 The site was very busy and although the pitch sizes are good the toilet facilities are not big enough at such capacity. Queues all weekend both in the morning and evening. Unisex facilities of 3 showers and 3 toilets with 2 privacy sinks. Unisex facilities not for us.

Really needs a sign to suggest children must be accompanied in the block lots on their own and one time 2 youngsters got water everywhere. I was in shower & they were playing with sink taps. (yes it was quick cleared up by owner but wouldn't have happened if parent with them) I have noticed these signs at other sites on a regular basis.

Difficult departure as no hot water in the morning. I expect as site so full and a busy departure day.

We expected more of a view and the farm is a little noisy as so close. Donkey lovely. Entrance & tracks round site very dusty. Dog walking field good size but at time of visit grass was very long.

No noise after 1030pm which was observed by all. Barrier locked at 10pm and opened at 8am.

Quite an exposed site with gusts of wind for both sea and fells.

Nice area good for the western fells and coastal beaches. Ice cream in seascale and a a coop and spar for basics. 


Previous     89 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Shepherds Views Holidays Caravan Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Shepherds Views Holidays Caravan Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Shepherds Views Holidays Caravan Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Holmrook      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3698 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement