Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Shepherds Views Holidays Caravan Camping Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Shepherds Views Holidays Caravan Camping Site
Holmrook
(lake District)
(nr Ravenglass)
(nr Wasdale)
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1XU
Tel: 019467 29907
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 49
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 81 Reviews
                9/10 from 81 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  81 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: LBBK 40 reviews from this member

This site is a working farm with a campsite offering a variety of pitches including two mini pods. We had one of these booked for the weekend.

There was a warm welcome, plenty of local tourist info available and a map (50p) for walks straight from the site.

The mini pods are, in my experience, quite unique. There are two comfortable single bench beds, lights, power sockets & a small heater. The floor is covered in carpet tiles. Outside there is a rather nice 'patio' with a garden bench and a chiminea. There is also a small covered shelter for cooking in the rain. You can park, on grass, alongside the pod. So far so good but, there is a large but, the pods are very low! Even a short adult would not be able to stand up inside. This may not bother you but I would not recommend a pod for anyone with mobility issues or claustrophobia.

The site has communal shower/toilets. These would not be to everyone's taste but were clean with plenty of hot water. Three showers, 3 toilets & 3 washbasins will not be enough when the site is busy but it wasn't a problem whilst we visited.

Places to visit: well, the neighbouring Sellafield low level waste repository would not be high on many people's list but the coast is a lovely mixture of sand dunes & beaches with views across the western Lake District. Up behind the farm is a nature reserve with rare plants - essentially a large bog so take wellies.

Seascale village is a couple of miles away. There are small shops, a highly recommended ice cream parlour, beach, playground & large free car park.

Wasdale is best for the high mountains & Eskdale for the softer scenery & little steam railway.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Furry123 1 review from this member

The site was very busy and although the pitch sizes are good the toilet facilities are not big enough at such capacity. Queues all weekend both in the morning and evening. Unisex facilities of 3 showers and 3 toilets with 2 privacy sinks. Unisex facilities not for us. Really needs a sign to suggest children must be accompanied in the block lots on their own and one time 2 youngsters got water everywhere. I was in shower & they were playing with sink taps. (yes it was quick cleared up by owner but wouldn't have happened if parent with them) I have noticed these signs at other sites on a regular basis.

Difficult departure as no hot water in the morning. I expect as site so full and a busy departure day.

We expected more of a view and the farm is a little noisy as so close. Donkey lovely. Entrance & tracks round site very dusty. Dog walking field good size but at time of visit grass was very long.

No noise after 1030pm which was observed by all. Barrier locked at 10pm and opened at 8am.

Quite an exposed site with gusts of wind for both sea and fells.

Nice area good for the western fells and coastal beaches. Ice cream in seascale and a a coop and spar for basics.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Davedutton 1 review from this member

Yet another Wonderful stay at Shepherds Views. This is a gem of a site on the edge of the Lake District National Park, with Eskdale valley to one side and the coast on the other.

A brilliant place to be active or just chill out.

We always get the warmest of welcomes from the owners Stephen and Julie, who are always on hand and happy to help with info or even the odd spanner to do a rolling repair.

The reception has a massive amount of tourist information and also local info with places to eat or takeaways. Seascale has two small supermarkets, an excellent Chinese takeaway and not forgetting the BEST Ice Cream Parlour in the UK.

What could be better a pub to the left at Drigg Station and an Ice cream Parlour to the right in Seascale.

Give it a try you will not be disappointed

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sterlingsop 7 reviews from this member

Spent a brilliant week here on this site. A party of 2 caravans, we booked fairly late but were able to get two adjoining pitches and one with a firepit. Great facilities, very clean and well maintained. Grass pitches well drained (this is the Lake District and there is a LOT of rain, but we didn't get muddy once), and tons of space. Plenty of hot water for pot washing and showers. Easy access to local beaches and amenities in Drigg and Seascale as well as having spectacular landscapes on the doorstep. If there are any negatives it is that I wasn't overly keen on the piped music in the toilet block during the day and evening but I can see that others wouldn't find it a problem. Apart from that, fantastic site, great owners, fantastic location. Will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Claire Redrobe 1 review from this member

I cannot give enough positive feedback to do justice to this lovely site and it's amazing owners.

I contacted them at the last minute of the August Bank Holiday weekend for Saturday and Sunday nights. They replied immediately to say that they had a space for us.

On arrival, they did their absolute best to juggle things around so that we could have a grass pitch with a fire pit for our VW campervan. The pitches were huge with tons of space for our van and a two person tent.

For a small fee, wood was delivered to our door and a fire starter kit.

The toilet and shower block was kept meticulously clean and although there were only 3 showers, toilets and sink cubicles, we never had to wait to use any of them. Lovely to arrive at a place with free showers too.

The site is excellently maintained and in a great location for mountain lovers and beach lovers alike. It is only a short walk to Seascale with an amazing beach and excellent ice cream parlour/cafe.

I had an amazing 2 nights as did my two 14 year olds. We will definitely return.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Smiffyz 8 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site, nice and quiet with great owners. The only minus is they only have 3 showers & Toilets and it really could do with another 3. Access to the surrounding area is good and there's walks directly from the site with choices of 4 & 8 miles. If you go, don't set your tom tom to fastest route or you'll end up driving own some very very narrow roads if your towing. EHU's are 10amp and some hardstandings have almost private garden areas which is great. I'd return again without hesitation.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alymitch 1 review from this member

Another brilliant weekend at the site, (5th time). Brilliant clean facility's. Short walk into Drigg or Seascale. Friendly owners and staff.

We have stayed on site quite a few times now, everything is always spotlessly clean, the reception area has loads of ideas about what to do in the local area. The touring pitches are level and ours had it's own grey waste.

Any problems we have had, always with our unit Steven has had a solution and helped us sort it!

No problems with the site or facilities at all.

Defiantly be back.

Thank you to 'Shep' and the family.

See you again soon.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jujon03 5 reviews from this member

We had a lovely week here, great little site, we had plenty of space for our large tent & even at its busiest point it didn't feel crowded.

The toilets/showers were always clean, the dog walking field was great, we stayed in the top field, which worked out well as we had a lot of rain & the lower fields did flood a bit.

Would definitely recommend this site.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Catnip 7 reviews from this member

Second visit to this fantastic site, owners are super friendly, nothing is too much trouble. Very quiet despite it being Easter but it was a pretty dreary weekend weather wise! Glad we opted for EHU and fire pit! nothing to fault here, facilities always spotless, water always hot and lovely views although the lingering fog spoilt that a little this time round. The owners took us on a tour of their farm this time which was great, adults and children alike loved it. We will be returning again soon.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jemmby 15 reviews from this member

This is a very nice site. The very friendly, helpful lady owner met us on arrival and showed us the layout of the site. The facilities are very good, heated toilet and shower block with very spacious shower cubicles. The caravan / Motorhome pitches have their own electric, water and drainage and the hardstandings are level, and the view from our pitch was beautiful. The dog walking area is an enclosed field which will allow the dogs ample room for playing (although when we were there the dog walking field was inhabited by sheep but the owner said that we could exercise our dogs on the campsite itself as it was quiet at this time of the year, naturally as long as we cleaned up after them). There are a few walks from the site. A nice beach can be reached by walking down the road for about quarter of a mile before turning down a track by the side of a cottage and then across a field (it took us about 15mins to reach the beach itself, I doubt that Usain Bolt could do it in 5 mins!). Seascale and Drigg are both within walking distance and I believe that there is a nice pub in Drigg but we didn't go, so I can't comment. The reception has quite an extensive amount of information about attractions, bus times, restaurants etc and there is free Wi-Fi available. Overall, an excellent base from which to explore the Lake District. I highly recommend this site.

Previous     81 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3514 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!