Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Shepherds Views Holidays Caravan Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Holmrook > Shepherds Views Holidays Caravan Camping Site Reviews

Shepherds Views Holidays Caravan Camping Site
(nr Wasdale)
(nr Ravenglass)
Holmrook
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1XU
Tel: 019467 29907
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 49
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/11/2021
           01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 92 Reviews
                9/10 from 92 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  92 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hoedown 55 reviews from this member

 We paid £26 per night for a 4 night stay. This included showers/toilets which were adequate for the few occupied pitches as well as hook-up.

Gravel pitch was slightly sloping with plenty of grass alongside to sit on. The owners were friendly and helpful. As there are no shops around you do need to be fully stocked up prior to arriving.

We arranged a taxi to take us in to Ravenglass for an early ride on the Ratty train to Dalegarth, but we found later that we could have parked at the station. 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: J+bbutler 1 review from this member

 The site is well maintained and the pitches are a generous size.

The toilets however leave a lot to be desired.

There are only 3 for the whole site

( yes there are portaloos positioned around the site but the one nearest to us became very smelly and this wasn't dealt with over the weekend)

The toilets wouldn't flush Saturday night into Sunday morning and there was no toilet paper. And this wasn't a particularly busy weekend.

Bins were overflowing and reception doesn't offer any basics. Ice packs, milk etc 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Haarstadt 5 reviews from this member

 This is an outstandingly good site. We've been visiting this site on and off for a number of years. This was our first visit without the kids and we had a great time.

Steve and Julie are really helpful and friendly, run a clean and tidy site that has been carefully and thoughtfully developed over the last few years. Pretty much every pitch has its own hard standing, so you can park your vehicle handily close to your tent.

There is a carefully controlled and marked one way system around the site with sensible speed limits. Many of pitches with EHU capability. There are a few handily placed PortaLoos, so a long trek to the Shower/Toilet block at night isn't necessary. Lots of stands with alcohol gel dispensers (regularly topped up) so really hygienic and COVID safe.

We were lucky to get some outstanding weather and timed our visit so it corresponded with the end of the half term break, so the site got quieter during our stay.

Lots of 'new' campers giving it a try due to the restrictions imposed on travel by the COVID situation, which was great to see. Most were fine and used common sense and had the courtesy to consider others on the site. One or two were being inconsiderate with music and noise but the site warden, or Steve & Julie were quick to politely ask them to tone things down, to the relief of everyone else.

I've read reviews on other websites and have had to laugh at some. One person observed that it was a long way from the main lakes (it's about 12 mins drive to Wastwater and 15 mins walk from some stunning beaches). I wasn't sure if they wanted Steve and Julie to move the site or the Lakes! SatNav is great, but don't forget about those other things, available also on Google, called maps!

If you are a new camper, fantastic, I hope you enjoy camping as much as we do, but please.

1. If you want to listen to loud music/radio, please do, but through your headphones/earbuds.

2. If the people next to, across or behind you have loads of extra space on their pitch - it's because they are paying for a big pitch, not so your kids can go there to play ball / run around screaming!

3. Rubbish - goes in bins. Not on the floor/grass/road.

4. Swearing out loud, in public, is never acceptable.

5. A 7m tent with a two meter extension is a 9m tent! Don't be surprised if it doesn't fit on a 7m pitch. Pay the extra couple of quid, it's worth it!

6. If you need help/advice, ask. Site owners are friendly and helpful and will happily help you out.

7. If the people next door/across from or behind you are keeping to themselves, it's because they want to. They aren't necessarily being unfriendly, they are just having a quiet break. If you nod and smile and wish them a 'good morning/evening' whatever then I'm sure they will respond, but they aren't there necessarily to extend your social circle.

8. Follow the site rules, they are there to help everyone have a good time.

I'll apologise now if this comes across as 'preachy', it isn't meant to be. 97% of the people reading this (if you are still with me) will think that all the above is obvious and just common sense. In 3% of cases, sadly not.

It's a great site, check out their website. Give it a go, you won't be disappointed. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mike 1878 2 reviews from this member

 As campsites go, this place has a lot going for it. Lets start with the owners ( Steve & Julie )Very friendly, helpful and work so hard, to keep us all as safe and as comfortable as possible and, in these most difficult of times.

As for the site itself, itís as good as your going to get. The tent pitches are very comfortably spaced, the showers and other facilities have constant hot water and are kept immaculately clean.

Location wise, the beach is a about a 20 minute walk, well worth it on a summers evening, as the sunsets are something special !

Itís also a fantastic base for hiking, the south western lakes, Eskdale valley, Devoke water, scafell pike, wastwater, coniston via honiston pass, and many many more, are all within a reasonably close scenic drive.

Well worth the effort to get here ! 🙂 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Monkeyb33f 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite. Staff were very friendly and helpful and always available for questions or advice.

The site is quite basic grass pitches, some next to gravel paths, some just in fields. When we visited the weather had been biblical, but every effort was made to keep the site from becoming a mud bath.

The facilities are clean and practical. The showers warm and we never had to queue long for either them or the toilets.

During the Corona virus pandemic, extra porta loos had been placed around site as well.

Area wise, there isnt much in Drigg, but there is a huge beach a 20 minute walk away (great for our little doggy) and it is ideally situated to visit the western lakes. I recommend a trip to keswick (about an hours drive) for the excellent market. If you get good weather the ratty railway is good fun, especially for the kids. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Amanda Peffer 1 review from this member

 Cute little site, loved being next to the stream. The facilities were modern and clean.

Nice to have a pub and cafe to walk to for food. Which both served lovely meals

Great location for walks and wasdale 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Barbar 1 review from this member

 Very friendly and helpful owners, site very clean and shower block immaculate and cleaned regularly.

Quiet site with plenty of space allocated for each pitch. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Karenrad 1 review from this member

 Very friendly and helpful owners. Lovely site and very clean.

If you wanted a fire pit (most did) these are available for those extra special evenings.

Recommend for young families and the older couples. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Sambr1 1 review from this member

 Arrived about 7 pm and map left on office door giving directions. Caravan immaculate and very clean, bedding clean but beds needed made up.

Everything we needed was in caravan apart from broom (struggle on knees with dustpan and brush) caravan was in very good condition. Slight funny smell in middle Twin room. Shower excellent. Was pet van but no evidence or smell of dogs.

Excellent stay but we didnít leave till about twenty past ten and a very rude lady came and spoke to one of the kids asking why we hadnít left yet because the cleaner was waiting. It did say ten am, caravan to be vacated which was a hard push on my own with two kids and there could have been a bit of give and maybe not have come across as so unfriendly and a bit more professional.

Other than that we had a wonderful stay & would happily return.

Lady during booking and payment very professional and helpful. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chris and debbie 2 reviews from this member

 Arrived to a lovely welcome by a lovely cheerful lady. Facilities very clean. Good sized pitch lots of room.

Fire wheel very good logs were seven pound (very reasonable ) and delivered to your pitch.

Quiet an exposed site in places we were there and it was blowing a gale. A few tents blown over and our new awning clasped but you canít stop Mother Nature. Lots of sheltered spots too.

Lovely play area for kids and we had a little peak at the calves in the barn so cute.

Seascale and ravens glass a short drive away beach would be a great day out. We will be returning.

All in all a lovely site we will be returning 
via mobile


Previous     92 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Shepherds Views Holidays Caravan Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Shepherds Views Holidays Caravan Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Shepherds Views Holidays Caravan Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Holmrook      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the countryís leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4086 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Get a Reminder