Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Blair Drummond Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Blair Drummond > Blair Drummond Caravan Park Reviews

Blair Drummond Caravan Park
Cuthil Brae
Blair Drummond
Stirlingshire   (Browse area)
FK9 4UP
Tel: 01786 841208
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 88
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 42 Reviews
                9/10 from 42 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Gone on holiday 30 reviews from this member

 Another nice stay at Blair Drummond. We were advised what pitches were available & chose pitch 73 which was a large hard standing pitch with afternoon sun.

All the pitches looked a good size, we were inside the walled part of the site. There was room to park caravan/awning & car side by side.

The toilet block was nice, lovely showers 4 for the ladies, the showers also had a sink as well. The temperature of the showers were controlled by either making hotter or colder whichever suited you, and were on a timer, push button.

The only thing my hubby did not like was the arrangement for emptying the loo, I'm sure it must be legal but there was no cover for the waste, you tipped the waste into the whole which had a grill over the top so toilet paper etc collected on the grill.

Obviously some people don't clean up after themselves, there was a brush to clean down after you empty your loo but some people just walk away & leave a mess. Other than that a nice site which is a half mile off the main road, so no noise.

There is nice walks from the site to the Smithy, the local farm shop through woods to the back of the site, also walks down to the river.

I think if you want to visit the zoo you can get discounted tickets from reception but we didn't want to go.

There is a park & ride in Stirling about 4 miles from site, or you can catch the local bus at the end of the half mile lane.

We visited some nice places, Culross, Alloa, Stirling, Wallace Monument, Callendar, Doune castle etc, etc.

Fish & chip van calls to the site, hubby was 3rd in queue, ordered fish & chips (fish supper) they deliver to your van, took over 1 hr to arrive, he had the fish + a few chips I had the chips which were warm & soggy. His fish was nice but the batter was the worst he'd had, very soogy, not worth the £7, so next visit it wont be a fish supper night!

If we were to return to the area we would happily stay at Blair Drummond again. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: NMack 15 reviews from this member

 We pitched ourselves in the walled area of the site. Nice and tidy throughout the grounds with the added bonus of walks through the woods or further afield. Useful map supplied when you check in, showing the various walk.

Staff are friendly and helpful.

Toilet block is good although only 4 showers can mean a wait if you hit at the wrong time. TV signal is poor without the borrowed box which you have to pay a deposit for.

Friday nights, a Fish & Chip van calls to the site, we didn't use it, but it was popular. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Chalky9 29 reviews from this member

 Interesting set-up, most pitches in walled garden. Sanitary facilities pretty good but poor wi-fi and no TV without borrowing freesat box.

Lovely walking without leaving the estate. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Katymg 2 reviews from this member

 A repeat visit to this super friendly site. Always a lovely welcome and a choice of pitch for your tent down the side of the outer wall. No pitch numbers for tents - people just use their discretion and it all works really well. As usual, met some lovely people to pass the time of the day/night with.

Clean toilet/shower facilities right opposite tent area.

Fish & Chip van comes Friday and Saturday nights.

Kids were off from the minute we arrived, making friends in the park, hanging in the giant tree or cycling round the site.

A calm, tranquil park with loads of beautiful trees, a well stocked shop (kids love the freedom to pop in to buy sweeties) that will freeze your ice packs for you and multiple entry tickets to Safari Park.

What's not to love about this place?? (The camping area tbh is a little bit of a strip down the side of the walled garden but in reality the pitches are wide enough, the wall is nice to look at, there is plenty space for your car, the toilets are close by and it's sheltered! I have been to larger camping areas in other sites and they aren't sheltered, they are a bit mobbed and noisy and not as beautiful so I can live with this). 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Gonnate 16 reviews from this member

 Excellent, recommended. A return visit on the strength of last time we came here. Very helpful & friendly welcome from the warden, well maintained facilities, good showers.

Pleasant enough site, in walled garden area. Adequate space for pitch, and pleasing layout means you're not in serried ranks.

If we're passing that way again we'll happily return again. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Adedevon 2 reviews from this member

 Really nice site. Tent area split into two areas electric and non electric. Toilets and showers great quality.

Close enough to Stirling but far enough away from the noise of the city. No road noise. Mostly caravans and motorhomes so booking a pitch essential. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Lianne1978 8 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic site. We stayed for a couple of nights during half term - as part of an 8 night tour of Scotland. One of the best sites I have ever stayed at. I am only sorry it is almost 4 hours from home, if it was closer we would use this site a lot. It is set in the gardens of the old Blair Drummond estate and the main part of the site in within and surrounding the old walled garden. The safari park is a few miles away (although we did not go there)

We chose a pitch near the children's playground - which was quite substantial and both of my boys (8 and 3 1/2) played in the playground and in the woods beside it for hours - we were positioned so we could keep a good eye on them while playing. There were quite a lot of kids of mixed ages and all played well together. They also enjoyed riding bikes around the paths of the old estate gardens.

There are a couple of walks right from the site, from 30 mins to a couple of hours. We took the short walk, through the old estate gardens/woodland to the Smiddy (farm shop/café) and back again. The carrot cake and scones are recommended'. The walk took us past an old private cemetery which was quite interesting. You can order BBQ packs from the Smiddy which are quite reasonably priced.

The toilets/showers were clean and fairly modern, no issues there. There was also a family bathroom which is handy when you have small children.

The site was almost full but there was never a wait for showers. My only minor niggle would be that there are no stools in the showers and not enough hooks to hang your things on.

A fish and chip van comes on Friday and Saturday nights and we did partake, while the food was very good and reasonably priced - there was over an hour wait from placing the order to actually getting our dinner. There is a small shop on site but they close at 6pm which I thought was a bit early - especially as the kids wanted ice creams after dinner!

The TV reception is poor but there are free connections which you can plug into for a deposit to hire the cable. There is also a washing machine and drier on the site that we did use with no issues. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Bungalowfishing 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site at the end of may into June. Very clean and tidy. Sensible showers. The pitches all seem quite large [6mx4. 6m folding camper with awning]. Grand kids loved the play park.

Easily accessible from the motorway about 5 miles. Safari park few minutes away. Stirling has a tesco, macdonalds, kfc. Will definitely be staying here again. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 82 reviews from this member

 We spent two nights here on our way south and had a friendly welcome. There were only a few pitches available and ours was a grasscrete hardstanding with a fair bit of mud around, though the full gravel pitches looked fine.

It was very busy over the weekend with lots of families, whose kids were cycling all over the place. As cyclists ourselves we were glad to see them getting the exercise, though our hearts were in our mouths as they hurtled round the one way system the wrong way and came into the walled area without looking, continuing to do so even when dark.

The shower block was excellent with lots of hot water, but there was a considerable wait for the dishwashing sinks.

We were given a walking map and chose the short walk, which somehow took us over two hours, though we did manage to detour to the excellent Smiddy's farmshop down the road.

We also cycled over to Callander; once off the busy main roads, the B-roads were lovely, though Callander itself was choked with heavy traffic.

The fish and chip van was late arriving on the Friday and despite ordering early, ours weren't delivered until well past 8 o'clock and the fish was what I can only describe a anorexic.

Despite all of the above, we enjoyed our two nights! 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mischka 58 reviews from this member

 We have just spent a pleasant 2 nights here. It is a peaceful and level site within a walled garden, with some other woodland pitches outside the walls.

Toilet block clean and tidy. Small shop in the reception office. Children’s playground looked good.

Fish and chip van visited on both the Friday and Saturday evening. Easy off road walk to Doune, which is a pretty town with 2 cafes, some pubs and various small shops. 


Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Blair Drummond Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Blair Drummond Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Blair Drummond Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Blair Drummond      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Stirlingshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6275 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement