Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Pilgrim Fathers Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Doncaster > Pilgrim Fathers Caravan Site Reviews

Pilgrim Fathers Caravan Site
Saracen Lane
Great North Road
Scrooby
Doncaster
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
DN10 6AS
Tel: 01302 711031  or  07413 272733
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 15
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 39 Reviews
                9/10 from 39 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hankwaddo 9 reviews from this member

Our first time trip to pilgrim fathers site which is under new ownership, we were met by a guy called lee who showed us to our pitch and because the site is still on 6amp he did his best to get us on to full power from a building with electric points.

We later met the owners shane and marlena and what a nice young couple of people. Nothing was too much trouble.

Nice flat fields, great views and walks. Will be back p. S nice pub down the lane

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Terry+Linda 39 reviews from this member

Two visits here in the space of two weeks, the first stay was a "one night" after picking our caravan up from its yearly service at Yorkshire Caravans at Bawtry [as we did last year, see my June 2018 review].

We enjoyed the short break this year so much that we made a last minute decision to book a two night stay the week after.

Having recently changed hands, the site has been improved by the addition of a security gate, a small children's play area [swings & a slide] and what looks to be [intended] as an "Information Office" as you drive in.

I've given 10/10 for child friendliness, because although we did'nt have our grandchildren [aged 5&6] with us, I know they will love it here, and I would feel relaxed knowing that they could play safely on the field within sight, without wandering off, getting lost or worse. I'll have no hesitation bringing them in the future.

The new owners seem very friendly & helpful, as on our second stay all the EHU points were taken, and as I had my spare battery with us they offered to charge it up if need be until the site emptied a bit, and an EHU unit came vacant on the sunday afternoon.

Our first break here was a Tuesday night, and the second was two nights on Saturday/Sunday nights. And whilst we were pleasantly surprised by how well behaved & polite the other campers were [dogs on leads, no loud music, no late night BBQ's etc] we could'nt help but notice how quiet & restful the site is after sunday morning. When everyone else has gone home.

ON arrival, we took a trip into Bawtry for Fish & Chips for dinner, as the local pub, "The Pilgrim Fathers" wanted to charge us £10 for a burger.

AS I listed in my review last year, there is lots "to do" in the area. This year we took a trip into Retford, a drive to Torksey [this included a walk down the bank of the River Trent with a visit into Torksey Caravans. Who's shop seems cheaper than the one at Yorkshire Caravans at Bawtry]

WE will definitely be returning here. Its only 25 minutes drive from our home, but for a quick, easy, local break, I cant think of a more peaceful & relaxing site.

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Imnogeek 7 reviews from this member

Having left a review before for this site I thought it was due an update. We have now visited this site around 8 times in the lat few years and as other reviews state it is a lovely quiet site which is well looked after.

There are now new owners who when we visited had only been there a few weeks and they have already started work on improving the site; there is now a keypad operated security gate on the main entrance and a picnic bench, slide and swing to keep the little ones happy. The new owners came across very friendly and eager to improve the site.

I look forward to returning soon

Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DaveTracy 2 reviews from this member

It's a little gem of a site and the owner can not do enough for you. The two fields are well kept and the site is peaceful.

There's plenty of place's to visit Sherwood Forest, Rufford Park, Thoresby Hall & Clumber Park are all a short drive away.

Bawtry is a 15 min walk (or 2 min drive) and Retford is just a 15 drive away.

If your just after a stop over the A1 is not that far and makes it ideal if your travelling north or south.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Terry+Linda 39 reviews from this member

We chose this site because although we live 'fairly locally' [18 miles away] we wanted a quick overnight stay before taking our caravan into nearby Yorkshire Caravans [at Bawtry] for its annual service. I might as well add here, that we knew the site, as we have stayed before in our Trailer Tent [I did a review then, back in 2011]

WE found the owner quite friendly, the grass is neatly cut, the toilets are clean & adequate, there are showers [but I cant comment on them, because we did'nt use them] EHU is available, but there doesn't seem to be many points around the two fields.

It was a week day [Monday] during school 'term time', and we were delighted to note that we were the only occupants of one of the two fields the site consists of.

Arriving around 1pm, and leaving first thing the morning after [10am] we didn't really have time to do much else other than pop along into the nearby town of Bawtry for a few supplies for our evening BBQ [necessary as it was a last minute decision to go to a site prior to having to empty the caravan for its service].

However, I can say [from knowing the area well] that there are a good few things to do in the area [Edwinstowe, of Robin Hoood & Sherwood Forest fame, Rufford Park, Thoresby Hall & Clumber Park are all well within an easy drives distance, the town of Retford [allegedly] has a good market and there is a 'Trolley Bus' Museum at Sandtoft {and if you don't know what a 'Trolley Bus' is, I suggest you Google it}

The site would also be good for an overnight stay for anyone travelling any distance up or down the A1, as its only a bout a mile from the A1.

'Robin Hood Airport' [aka Doncaster Airport] is fairly close by, as is the East Coast Main Line railway line, and to be honest there is a little aircraft and train noise, but its in no way obtrusive enough to be a nuisance.

Cost was £16, for caravan, awning, two adults, and our dog. Oh, and there's a farm track peaceful enough to walk the dog along, although keep him/her on a lead, as there were sheep in the adjacent field, and [what looked to me] to be an electric fence!

I said in my last review [seven years ago] that we would be returning, hopefully it wont be as long before we're back again as TBH, its great for a quick one night break for us

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Twintens 3 reviews from this member

Having just returned from a weekend break here thought I would leave a review of the site. It's a lovely little site. The toilet and shower block is OK little cold but it is October. Nice and quiet. A few mention the aeroplane noise, we saw plenty of aeroplanes an the noise wasn't as bad as I was expecting.

The site has only 6 amp on electric and it will trip out if you have heating and the kettle on at same time. We have a low wattage kettle and still tripped out, but these are things that when we go again we will be prepared for.

The chap who owns the site is very nice. We had a meal at the pub at the top of the road, probably the worst rib eye I've ever had and at £18 expected better and the price of alcohol was a bit expensive, a pint of peroni was £5. So the second night we went into Bawtry itself about 25 minutes walk, but plenty of pubs and places to eat. We went to lancers Indian restaurant, was fantastic and reasonably priced. All in all a nice weekend and will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Imnogeek 7 reviews from this member

I have reviewed this site before and it still stands true.

There was no watering in the field next door this year so very peaceful nights.

I would recommend this site to anyone who wants a quite relaxing break with only 35 mins to pop to the local town.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DaveTracy 2 reviews from this member

Been coming to the site for over 14 yrs now, started with a tent then a trailer tent now a caravan.

It's a little gem of a site and the owners, Ken and Moureen can not do enough for you. The two fields are well kept and the site is peaceful.

Ideal if you traveling up or down tha A1 for a stop over.

There is a pub at the bottom of the lane a little up market and a little bit expensive so we travel down to the BlueBell in Ranskill (just a few miles towards Redford) for sunday lunch just under £7

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Robbe35 1 review from this member

Excellent site. Owners very friendly. Excellent facilities. Lovely location. Site lovely. Quiet perfect weekend retreats. Easy to set up. Level site. Easy access. Highly recommend it for tents caravans and motorhomes.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gazzab1969 2 reviews from this member

Excellent site not far off a1 we've been going for a few years now takes us around 35 to 40 mins to get there nice pub at top of road. Good walk in to bawtry owners are brilliant very helpful nice well looked after site and great price we'll keep going back

Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Nottinghamshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4990 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019