Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Upper Portclew Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Freshwater East > Upper Portclew Farm Campsite > Reviews

Upper Portclew Farm Campsite
Lamphey
Freshwater East
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA71 5LA
Tel: 01646 672112
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/05/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 15 Reviews
                8/10 from 15 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Julesmorris 35 reviews from this member

 Basic hill-top site with sea views we used on a climbing trip.

Hot showers included, toilets with paper, torch needed as some don't have lights.

Plenty of hookups. Washing machines.

No shop, none in the village and the pub shuts by 8. 30. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Drjbc 66 reviews from this member

 Let me first correct some misinformation. There are about 30 electric pitches around the field edge and many more for tents in middle. Not all, but some cubicles do have lights.

There definitely is toilet paper, but at busy times 5 rolls per toilet can run out!

But absolutely true are the suberb views down to sea, the superb coastal walking in both directions, and the sandy beach accessible from the bottom of the field and steeply down.

If you enjoy walking there are more sandly beaches reached a few miles along the coast path in both directions.

We especially enjoyed Swanlake beach, well known for its popularity with naturists. Also Barafundle bay, a half mile over the headland from the National Trust teashop at Stackpole Quay.

The couple who run the site are very friendly and relaxed. But what isn't relaxed is the care with which it is run. The facilities are regularly cleaned.

We were there at the end of a bank holiday, departing campers had left a huge pile of rubbish. At 8pm a tractor arrived and promptly scooped it up. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Typete 2 reviews from this member

 A really lovely good value campsite. Great location to explore this amazing coastline.

We were blessed with fantastic weather with fantastic sea views.

The toilet and shower blocks are basic but were clean and provided hot water.

We hope to visit again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bradleybaskett 1 review from this member

 17th may 2021 2nd stage of lifting lock down. Very quiet only one other motorhome weather was fantastic very well kept grass field with ehu on the top of the field.

Showers are small and basic but hot and good pressure. If you are taking a lot of things to the beach then it is a bit of a mission or if you are walking/cycling the coastal paths it's great.

Good for families dog must be on a lead we will be going back lovely peaceful site 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Waggyfromderby 39 reviews from this member

 This is not a Camping and Caravan club site, as other reviews have said.

Positives Good Views, fairly good pub nearby, not too far from beach but difficult access especially if you need to take things for a day on the beach. Freshwater East is my least favourite Pembrokeshire coastal village, but I liove the coast around it.

Negatives

Toilet blocks need to be demolished. There are no lights in cubicles and no toilet paper provided.

Showers are concrete cubicles with not a lot of room, put your clothes in a plastic bag if you need to keep them dry. The showers are hot and powerful but the concrete cubicles are as bad as the toilets.

Water taps are too few meaning that depending where you park, you'll have to carry it and disturb those camping by the tap.

At 25 it is not value for money, I've stayed at so many sites in Pembrokeshire and although they charge the same, their toilets are usually spotless, heated and clean. At this site you have to leave the cubicle before going to the hand wash area which means that people are unlocking and opening doors with hands that have just wiped their bums.

They may say no toilet paper because of Covid but other sites supply it. They only take cash where others only take cards because of Covid. No WiFi and very poor phone signal(EE) at least. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Louweze 1 review from this member

 I camped at this site for 7 nights, with my family and would willingly recommend this site to anyone with children and/or dogs.

The owner is a lovely women and very accommodating. Although she was around if you needed anything, she left you to your own devices, which created a very relaxed atmosphere.

The field is well kept and tidy, bins at the top of the field were emptied regularly. The facilities are basic, but have everything that you need.

If you are looking for a relaxed site (away from the Jam Sandwich Brigade) then this site is the perfect place!

Freshwater East beach (which is again perfect for children and/or dogs) is at the bottom of the hill and can be seen from the field, if like us you are from an area in the UK where the nearest coast is over a 2 hour car journey it was lovely to get up in the morning and see the sea.

There is also a dog friendly pub called The Freshwater Inn within walking distance of the site, which serves lovely Homemade food and the owners and staff are very friendly.

We enjoyed our stay so much that we have booked to return again in the summer holidays.

We having been going to this part of Pembrokeshire for around 8 years now and this holiday was up there in the top 3! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mark Norfolk 1 review from this member

 My family and friends having been coming to this site every August for the last 10+ years.

The facilities have been upgraded this year, but it still does remain a basic and functional set-up. It won't suit everyone, but if you are the kind of person who likes a very short walk to an excellent beach, and want to return to a site where you have a lot of space, good views, and the freedom to let your kids and dogs roam, and eat around a fire in the evening, then this is one to go for.

We, like many families we see there every year, take a load of kayaks, windsurfers, boats and diving gear and stay a couple of weeks within a sprawl of tents and windbreaks - and are made welcome in a way which just doesn't happen at other, more formal sites. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Worldcamping 3 reviews from this member

 Filthy, dirty and very poor facilities.

The owners have obviously not upgraded since the dark ages!

With so many nice sites why on earth would one use facilities like this?

The grass is cut and not collected so you tramp it into you tent or vehicle.

Waste facilities are awful.

Expensive too - far better and cheaper sites locally, sadly it's a disgrace really and how it is 'certified' I do not know.

View are reasonable but not the best in the area.

Other things I won't go into. Needless to say wouldn't return.

I have tried to be constructive but having visited several sites over this last week on the Pembrokeshire Coast this site was by a very long way the poorest, and I'm afraid I have to comment.  


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tippo12 1 review from this member

 We have used this site for over 20 years, at least one visit a year, my kids now take their kids there. Superb for relaxed families with kids, no 'caravan club grumps' and the owner is a really lovely lady.

Basic site but clean and a fabulous location. No good for caravanners or motorhomes in high season as all the available caravan pitches with hook-ups are block booked by regulars for the season, so you need to take the tents to get on here. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Motorhometrips 22 reviews from this member

 We selected this site for its location as we wanted to walk westwards on the coastal path, towards Stackpole Quay and beyond, catching the Puffin bus for the return. These buses are superb and allow access to many walks. You can hail them down, anywhere on their route and ours dropped us right outside the farm's entrance when we returned. Also we were not prepared to pay the 10 non member supplement, required by the Caravan club for their Freshwater East site.

We received a very warm welcome from the owner who I had previously phoned and she said that we could just pitch up as she may be going out. We just love this flexibility and laid back approach which is not often available at the larger commercial or club sites. This is apparently a Camping and Caravanning certificated site but we were not asked for anything.

The site has magnificent seaviews and is about 15 minutes from the coast by a reasonably steep path. The toilet facilities are clean but remind me of those that I had at my primary school and I would guess were built at the same time. There is a disabled facility but I think it had the same door size as the main toilets. There was no motorhome service point and grey waste was emptied at the chemical disposal point. We paid 18 with EHU which for a certificated site appeared to be a bit high and bearing in mind that the facilities are fairly basic. Despite that I would return again as it is a great location. 


Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Upper Portclew Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Upper Portclew Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Upper Portclew Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Freshwater East      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2470 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement