Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pondhead Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Lyndhurst > Pondhead Farm Campsite Reviews

Pondhead Farm Campsite
Beaulieu Road
(new Forest)
Lyndhurst
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO43 7FZ
Tel: 02380 282003
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: Summer Weekes A Bank Holidays Only

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 14 Reviews
                8/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: KenDB 2 reviews from this member

 Great location, close to Lyndhurst and forest walks.

A basic, simple, campsite, which is what we expected. The real downside was the toilets - I should pay attention to previous reviews! Fine if they are basic, but they should be cleaned regularly!

We did not see any owner or staff during our time there - the shop was closed with a sign saying to pitch tent ant they would come round.

Booked through Pitch Up and 16/night, although not a lot, is overpriced for what you get. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Robsu1 1 review from this member

 A basic site but that's what we like. Richard the owner very nice and friendly guy.

Toilets could do being updated they had hot water for washing up and a freezer and fridge you could use useful if you are in a tent. No showers.

A very quiet site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Andrew 1 review from this member

 Excellent rural camping in the middle of a running-live farm.

Real value for money camping and the best eggs, bacon and sausages this side of heaven from the farm shop.

Highly recommended.

The one and only reason I did not give Pondhead Farm Campsite 10/10 all the way through is because I would have liked to have a shower. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rhian30 1 review from this member

 Lovely area and a nice, back to basics site.

The small shop was well stocked (lovely sausages!) and the portaloos were clean with hot water. No showers but great for a short, cheap stay.

No playground so fine if your kids are good at entertaining themselves or you're only planning on being there to sleep but wouldn't recommend it if your kids like lots to do and you're planning on hanging out on site. Friendly, helpful owners.

This is a working farm with animal noises and smells to match but you get used to this very quickly and when we stayed the noise from other campers out-weighed the animal noises.

All in all a good value option for a short term pitch. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Addictedtotents 3 reviews from this member

 A group of 5 ladies spent a night here back in July 2010 for a night away.

Basic site with a portaloo style toilet only when we went. Farm shop with excellent produce from the farm. Owners polite and helpful.

Woken by the noise of pigs being fed but this is what camping is all about!

The site is walking distance to Lyndhurst but remember no street lighting as in the middle of the forest!

Great walks. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Happy -Campers 24 reviews from this member

 This campsite is very close for anyone wishing to cycle or walk in the New Forest.

We were fitted in when other campsites were full, we were bluntly told it was 3 nights only as she hadn't got the time or energy to be doing anything else. So after paying for 3 nights we were then told that there was 2 toilets for the whole site. When I asked where was the showers we were told 'there aren't any showers'

These 2 toilets are portacabin toilets each toilet had a hand basin. They weren't cleaned out at all over the whole Bank holiday weekend although sometimes there was toilet tissue and other times there wasn't. The toilets were smelly and rubbish on the floor which was still there on Bank Holiday Monday.

We witnessed the lady owner replenishing the toilet tissue in the morning on Bank Holiday Monday but making no effort to clear or clean the toilet.

People were even filling pots and pans from the toilet area which isn't a good idea.

As mentioned we were told 3 nights or nothing but other people stayed for one night only and another couple were told by the son yes 2 nights is ok.

We were told to go through the main camping field which looked ok and into the next through a stunt gateway - unfortunately a couple of vehicles caught their bodywork on the metal gatepost one looked like it made a nasty mess of their camper and left a stripe of paintwork on the post.

When we got into this field there was lots of horse muck still in the field and cows had been in there as well. You could not walk in the field without getting horse muck on your boots.

We were told the animals had been cleared out only an hour before we arrived by others who were then when this took place and one camper had to wait for the horses to be moved before pitching her tent.

We estimate there was well over 200 people on site as there was well over 60 units pitched so 2 toilets for over 200 people is well under the ratio needed.

We made the best of the site by clearing the horse muck (using our childs sand rake)and then using our own toilet tent and portapoti.

There was no grey waste or chemical disposal areas and the rubbish was put into open wooden crates (good for rats and rodents!)

The site was fairly quiet the first and last night. The second night people were enjoying music but it was turned down at a reasonable time.

There is a farm shop on site where you can buy local meat.

I'm sure this site would be much different when it isn't so packed and using just the main field.

Lyndhurst is a nice place to visit with lots of lovely shops and tourist/visitor centre. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: JoeHorner 2 reviews from this member

 This was our first trip to the New Forest, having been given an old trailer tent by our neighbours and hastily bolting a towbar to my old Triumph 1300. The site was easily found, with Beaulieu Road clearly signed as you come out of Lyndhurst.

On arrival for a 6 night stay we had a choice of pitches in the 'quiet' field by the farmhouse (with toilet and shower block) or the top field with portaloos. Because we have 2 dogs, we opted for the top field to be sure we didn't inconvenience others.

The field was reasonably flat and decent ground for pitching, with an amazing feeling of openness because of the lack of hedges. Forest ponies and the farm's cows were happily grazing within a few yards of our tent with only a wire fence between, which gave a real sense of freedom!

The owners were pleasant and helpful, without intruding at any time. The farm shop does a wonderful range of meat products, from sausages and burgers through to steak. Unfortunately, we couldn't fit enough in the car to stock our freezer when we got home so had to make do with barbequeing it while we were there.

The site did get quite busy over the Beaulieu Autojumble weekend but they opened an extra field before it became too crowded so we never lost that feeling of freedom.

The surrounding area is ideal for exploring the edges of the forest while staying on flat, easy to manage, ground and the ponies are everywhere!

We would have loved to return this year but, unfortunately, the site is currently only accepting weekend bookings outside the high season because of a 'days' limit that's been imposed on them by the local authorities. That's a great shame for potential visitors and for the New Forest itself as it risks limiting choice for exactly the sort of quiet-loving visitors that an area like this should be welcoming and that sites like this encourage.

We would love to return to Pondhead but driving from North Wales for a weekend isn't really feasible so, unless things change, we can only recommend it to others who might be better placed to take advantage of this wonderful site. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lucyfurr2001 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely, basic campsite in a beautiful setting.

As it is on a working farm, there was a lot of animals for our children to look at but beware of the over zealous cockerel who woke us up at an ungodly hour and continued for many more hours! We only stayed for one night though and was informed by a fellow camper who had been there for 3 nights that you get used to him & sleep through it! That was the point of us choosing a farm location anyway so that the smaller children could experience that exact kind of thing.

There are two portaloo toilets in the lower camping area which had cold water sinks and two proper toilets in the top field which have hot & cold running water & mirrors. All of the toilets were kept supplied with soap & toilet paper at all times and must have been cleaned regularly as they were pleasant every time I used them. It was very busy on the site the night we visited but I hardly had to queue to use any of the toilets.

The owners were very helpful & friendly and the rates are excellent value (5 per adult & 2 per child).

The only downside for me was that we were quite packed in and there was not a great deal of space but we did visit on 31st July/1st Aug weekend so we did expect it to be busy.

We are definitely visiting this campsite again as it was just what we were looking for. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bramble08 3 reviews from this member

 We came for the Bank Holiday weekend, having failed to book anywhere else in the New Forest, and had a good time. This is a working farm, which turns several of its fields into a campsite for the summer, so the facilities are basic. The toilets are of the 'Porta-cabin' variety. We were in the field nearest reception as we had pre-booked, and so had the luxury of hot water in the basins of the toilets, but I think the other toilets just had cold water / chemical toilets. There were queues at times for the toilets with hot water. There are no showers, or washing-up basins. However, there was lots of space, the site was clean, not muddy, and the toilets were cleaned regularly. No play-area, but 1 rope-swing on a tree.

It was a great area for cycling straight from the site

We would certainly go back for a short break 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Charliesmum 3 reviews from this member

 This is a nice basic site with lots of animals around for the kids to chat to. It's by far the cheapest site we could find in the area (my sister in law spent twice the amount a night for her site). There's no showers so not a great site for longer stays but there's plenty of hot water and toilets.

The shop sells lovely sausages and cooked breakfasts are available whih is handy!

Pros: cheap, pretty, quiet, relaxed, lots of hot water, animals on site, sausages!

Cons: will only accept cash for your pitch (we didn't realise this till we got here), no showers, toilet floors got very muddy 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pondhead Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pondhead Farm Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Pondhead Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lyndhurst      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/03
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4397 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement