Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Portnadoran Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Arisaig > Portnadoran Caravan Site Reviews

Portnadoran Caravan Site
1 Bunacaim
Arisaig
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
PH39 4NT
Tel: 07799 090403
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 31
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 37 Reviews
                8/10 from 37 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Tricksterjess 3 reviews from this member

Great location right on the lovely beach and great place to camp however facilities not great, particularly the one and only shower in the ladies and this wasn't cleaned over the entire stay and that was 4 nights!

I know this as the same hairs were there on the first night and still there on the last! The toilets and sinks were not as bad but we went for a swim at the swimming pool in Mallaig and had a shower there as I couldn't face it.

Also, having to put 20p in for a shower isn't great. What are you paying for when you book? Just the pitch? Was also 10p for hot water for dishwashing which is really nothing but again, included in the price at other sites.

I notice that previous reviews as far back as 2015 mention the cleanliness being poor which isn't really acceptable.

We visited two campsites before and after Portnadoran and both were clean and well maintained so this was noticeably worse. It doesn't take much to run a cloth around a shower and would have made such a difference.

Also, as previously mentioned in another review, we also felt the 'Cliqueyness' of the campsite where the long stay residents seemed to forget that the campsite wasn't just for them. A shame really.

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jehpesto 12 reviews from this member

Friendly owner, great location. However not great in terms of facilities. Ladies loos were OK, but hand dryer broken. Very poorly supplied with showers; the main big ladies one was broken with no signage so lots of people were losing their 20ps in it (and I only had one!)

The actual shower room is huge but spartan. One fixed overhead shower head, 1 chair, a couple of hooks a sort of clothes airer. No shelf or anything to put soap or shampoo on. I eventually saw someone pinning a notice on to say it was out of order. So that left just one shower in a small cubicle in the ladies (20p again)

No idea if gents shower room was working or not but husband said that there was a shower in the gents but only with a flimsy curtain to separate it from the actual loo area.

The washing up area was particularly unpleasant. A tiny dingy lean to at the side of the men's shower, one sink, no bin and a 10p meter for hot water! Never had to pay for hot water for washing up before. There was a fridge but I didn't investigate. Give me an airy, daddy-long-legs inhabited shed with at least 2 sinks and a bin any time!

And this is not a tiny site. There were quite a lot of pitches and it was pretty full so I hate to think how long the washing up queues can get.

The other thing here, as has been mentioned before, is that there seemed to be a lot of long stay residents, so caravans parked up for the summer and quite a few rather "proprietorial" people about, who were not actually the owners! So they talked loudly to each other and to cap it all on a lovely sunny morning, with views out across the sea, we had almost an hour of someone mowing and then strimming, with great attention to detail, around their caravan and the one next to them!

If this site had been cheap it would have been OK, but it was 23 for a sloping grass pitch (granted with EHU) which seemed quite a lot, though in this area, with so many camper vans about I think they can basically charge what they like.

Would I come back? Maybe, but I am afraid it would be rather a last resort.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Stevepluschris 6 reviews from this member

'Rustic' is probably the best description for the site, but it has one of the most enviable positions on the western highland coast than any site we have come across. Pitches are grass but that is basically on rock so there shouldn't be too problems. Some of it is sloping but not anything that can't be overcome. 16amp EHU, TV fair, Mobile signal good, free site wifi does the job. Very welcoming and helpful owners. Toilet blocks a bit grubby and a bit dated but they work. Excellent shower for 20p in a huge shower room/cubicle. The beauty of this place is the stunning location and fabulous sandy beaches surrounding rocky outcrops. Arisaig a couple of miles back is like going back in time and the Port town of Mallaig about 4 miles is fascinating. Embarking point for ferries to the Small Isles and also Skye, a thriving fishing and sea food fleet and also end of the line for a steam train journey from Fort William through some of the prettiest highland scenery we saw. Not the fanciest state of the art site but of all the sites in the area this is the must go to for views, beach, sunsets and more. Of course if the weather is bad you will get battered here but that goes for just about anywhere in the highlands. Try it you will love it.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: The Scale Man 3 reviews from this member

The site has a lovely location right on the shore line, we stayed for 3 nights, it was rather full during our visit and possibly some units parked to close for safety. The showers left a lot to be desired no privacy and the ladies toilets had a bad spell like the drains had a problem, even passing by without entering. In general they could do with a full upgrade

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Walters-world 13 reviews from this member

Carry on past the Sunnyside Campsite to find Portnadoran Campsite. A very friendly welcome from the warden, who gave us all the information for the site. Although the site seemed busy we were lucky enough to be given a pitch on the front edge of the site overlooking the sea, in time to witness the most amazing sunset over the sea towards the Western Isles.

The shower/toilet block was slightly dated, and the drains smelled badly just outside, but inside there was no smell and it was clean and serviceable.

The pretty beach was only yards away and if we hadn't been on the ferry to Skye the next day I would have loved to stay here longer, even though we usually prefer the small certificated Caravan and Camping Club sites (but there aren't many in Scotland).

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gallachers 6 reviews from this member

This is a great site to visit. We have been many many times both with children, and now grandchildren. Everyone who arrives is given a cheery welcome. Choice of pitch if not too busy. The site is clean and well maintained. The showers / toilets are spotless. Only 20p which is for 3 mins. A family sized shower is also available. There is a washing machine and tumble drier or clothes whirly if the weather's good. Good value at 2. (Some places charge 3. 50). Superb place !

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lady of the lakes 31 reviews from this member

The site can be a bit challenging to find, as the road appears to go no further than Sunnyside site but do continue along the road and you will come to it. I have to say, we have never received such a warm and enthusiastic greeting as the one we got here! We were offered a pitch so near the sea that even I could have thrown a stone and heard it splash, and they very kindly found a place next to us for a late booking from a friend who happened to be touring at the same time. The toilet block, about which much has been written, is more 'holiday camp' than 'hotelsville', but I found to be clean and decent, quite sufficient for purpose and we had no problems with the facilities. The beach is yards away, and when the tide is out, there is a lot of it, with space for kids to romp and enticing pools for dipping and splashing around in. Our dog gave it his seal of approval. It struck me overall as the sort of place you would go to have a good, old-fashioned, laid back family holiday. I wish my mum had found it when we were kids.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Joanne oxley 10 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of our two weeks away. The owner was very helpful and friendly. Everything about the campite seemed laid back and relaxed, no long lists of rules and regulations.

The position was brilliant for kayaking or small boats ( the weather was too bad for us to use ours )

The showers/toilets were a little basic and dated as mentioned before but they were clean and never busy so we were happy.

We are hoping to go back again in better weather to use our kayak.

17 a night for 2 people and hook up good value too.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mags0152 25 reviews from this member

We had a lovely weekend here. We loved it. Fabulous views, friendly owners, lovely relaxed atmosphere. It's true that the toilet and shower blocks are a bit dated but they are clean and well cared for. We took the motorhome a short drive up the road and then walked to Ben's beach from Local Hero on a wonderful sunny afternoon. If you haven't seen the film, watch it before you go. It makes the trip extra special.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Travellinglouis2014 6 reviews from this member

Superb location, wonderful views across to the islands as the sun set, lots of wildlife, very peaceful, excellent walks along the beaches at low tide.

But, there are one or two areas that prevent this from being an outstanding location.

The toilets and showers are in need of considerable modernisation, you have to pay for hot water for dishwashing, showers etc, and while it doesn't cost a lot it could be included in the price of the pitch.

It was the end of the season but the site does need sprucing up.

We were given a warm and friendly welcome, and would re-iterate it is a superb location and we hope to return one day.

Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Arisaig      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Inverness-Shire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6008 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019