Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Le Brasilia

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Languedoc Roussillon > Canet Plage En Roussillon > Camping Le Brasilia Reviews

Camping Le Brasilia
Bp 204
Canet Plage En Roussillon
Languedoc Roussillon   (Browse area)
66140
Tel: 0033 04 68 80 23 82
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 14 Reviews
                9/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Di+Glyn_W 17 reviews from this member

This was our first visit this far south, in search of sun, sea and sand. This site is just cracking.

We did the 700 mile drive from Calais over three days: 200 miles on day one after an early Dover-Calais ferry; 300 miles on day two; last 200 miles on day three. I've reviewed the two stop overs we used; Camping du Pres de l'Eglise and Roche Murat. We used the same sites in each direction so that the journey was fairly relaxed. It was well worth doing.

To access the site with a caravan, use A9/D83/D81, but go past the exit and up to the roundabout at the junction with D617, then go back on yourself, then take the exit. Otherwise, you'll be trying to go through a very small pipe under the main road to get to the site! Google Earth shows a road, but don't be fooled.

Book in at the site was slick. The reception staff were very welcoming, with plenty of information given by a French lady speaking excellent English. We were escorted to our pitch by a chap on a pedal cycle. Access to the area in which our pitch was situated was a bit tight, and necessitated us unhitching and using the motor mover to negotiate the hedges. Speaking to other caravanners, those with larger outfits had similar problems. Looking around though it doesn't seem to be a problem all round. Getting out was fine when we left.

The toilet facilities are second to none; best we've ever used and plenty of them. Exceptionally clean, and of a good size, with loo roll included!

The shopping village on site is fantastic - all the essentials and more, although a bit more expensive than the nearby hypermarket. There is also an on site launderette, with 12 machines plus three tumble driers. These are proper commercial machines; you pay your money and detergent is added by the system.

The restaurant and bars are ideal, although again maybe a little expensive. But hey! You don't have to drive anywhere.

The swimming pools are brilliant (speedos required). No food allowed round the pool, and towels used to reserve beds is strictly 'policed'; if you're not using a bed, they'll remove your towel. The nice bit about this is that it frees beds up at lunchtime when everyone gets up to get lunch. It means everyone gets a go round the pool! The beach however is amazing. A private beach with fine sand and a warm sea. Busy in the afternoon, but is quite possible to sit there without feeling crowded. Plus it's only a 10 minute walk back to your pitch for lunch. Or take lunch with you!

Access to the nearby town is simple. Either walk into the port and catch the water taxi across the harbour into the town proper, or catch the trainbus into town from the campsite. Either way, it's cheap and means you don't have to worry about parking.

There are plenty of shops nearby for main groceries. The nearest one is the Casino Hyper; turn right out of site, to T junction, turn left, then left at next T junction. Down to roundabout, first exit, and follow the road. There is also a McDonalds Drive Thru there, but only use it if your French is tip-top! We did, ours isn't, and the experience wasn't amazing for either party involved!

Evening entertainment is pretty good; there is usually noise in the form of music or singing from the adjoining site, but it never went past 1130pm.

One thing we did like was the work by staff to keep the site in top condition. For example, one of the tumble driers broke down one evening, but was fixed by next morning. One of the outside handwash basins was damaged one afternoon, and was also fixed by next morning. It just kept the site looking like it's actually cared for.

The only issue for us was bird poo! Some of the pitches suffer from large amounts of pigeon poo, as they roost in the pine trees. There's not a lot the site can do. We bought a cheap gazebo locally to protect our daughter's tent; many people staying used either cheap gazebos over tables and chairs or washing lines, or sheets of clear plastic over their awnings to protect them. It's not on every pitch, but a nuisance on some of them. If we get a pitch next year we'll be taking some large sheets of decorators sheeting to protect the awning.

This is the south of France; it's darned hot! So the pitches are just dust really. Many people take tarpaulins to put down to keep the dust down, but again we weren't fussed by it. The pitches are mostly of good size, and we were more than satisfied with ours. We usedboth rock pegs and some decent grass pegs to peg out the tent and awning.

Every now and again a fairly strong windpicks up, but this doesn't cause too much of an issue, other than to make you forget your suncream as it takes the sting out of the hot sun. It can pick up umbrellas and shelters on the beach, and will make awnings and gazeboes flap about, but we just put plenty of pegs out in the first place so didn't worry too much!

Finally. If you do nothing else, make sure you visit Carcassone (about 90 minutes away); walk right to the far side of the town (about 15 minutes) for the best, un-crowded restaurants. Make sure you have a go at the jetskis in the local harbour. And go into Perpignan and spend a day walking round the smaller shopping streets. Head for the Rue de Verdun, for some nice little cafes and restaurants.

Already getting ready to book for next year.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Grandad Kenny 23 reviews from this member

Stayed twice this year, both times in the Florida area of the site which happens to be the furthest away from the entertainment (by choice). This is a large site but never seems to be overwhelmed. Excellent staff in the reception and in all the facilities of which there are a lot, a plaza of shops, brand new swimming pools, sports pitches and a large dog walking area. The toilet facilities are excellent, immaculately clean all day long and lots of them. Lots of dog pooh bins with bags around the site and near the beach which was only 50 yards away with dogs allowed at all times, there were people fishing in the early morning and late at night. We cycled into the local town which seems to have a market every day, we also walked taking in the harbour area and the promenade. If you are a family looking for a site with lots to do this is it, but on the right pitch it is also very pleasant and quiet. Only experienced noise late into one night and that was coming from somewhere else. Security is excellent with one and all wearing site wrist bands at all times.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nitnat 10 reviews from this member

We stayed here for two weeks on our large twin axle caravan which we were able to access the site with ok, just a little tight on the junction the the actual road for it pitch, but we managed.

The sit itself is lovely and very well kept, toilets and showers etc are immaculate and the best I've ever seen. The site has everything you could need a boulangerie, hot roasted chickens, cashpoint, hairdressers, grisery shop, fruit and veg shops, meat and cheeses shop. Fantastic.

Beach access from the site, not the greatest beach ever but serves the purpose of having a beach within walking distance, approaching the far side of the beach leads to a naturist area which may be of interest to some and certainly amusing to our children!

I don't particularly think much of Canet, but again nice to have a walk around and possibly a meal. We also have a drive down to Barcelons, just over 2 hrs away which was good.

A word of warning we were in caravans ing area pitch 66 the bird poo was horrendous our caravan and awning was caked in loads of thick purple bird poi, took forever to clean off, so be cautious about where you pitch. We had no real sun on this pitch, but it was a welcome relief from the sun.

The noise of an evening was mainly from the campsite next door but usually quietened down by about 12 which suited us as that's when we went to bed.

We didn't use the pool area much, very overcrowded and pt really much space to actually swim in the way the pools are set out. It was too busy in its design too. And much smaller than it looks online. The loungers in the water are in an adult area only too where you can have just 15 min access at certain times of the day. The water slides are only open at certain times of the day too which isn't good in our opinion.

Would we return. No, despite being a family of 6 the site itself was too big for us and we realised we never use the entertainment and don't make much use of any activities during the day like kids club etc and felt the prices very expensive for what we would utilise.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mickwithdoodle 23 reviews from this member

Large commercial site with direct access to beach. Large pitches with water/electric/waste on each pitch. Toilet block facilities, which were spotless at all times, were excellent, although some of the cubicles were on the small side and you have to continually press the shower button. Waterpark /supermarket/ laidry/ breadshop/ butchers/bar/restaurant (everything)on site. All staff very friendly & helpful & most spoke good English. The site is full of colourful flowers & very well looked after. Only downside I could think of is the restaurant is pricey but I cannot think how I could improve this site.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mikebzley 6 reviews from this member

A huge and extremely well equipped site.

Right on a very unpopulated wide sandy beach and with a full range of activities for families and kids.

It was full of German families on half term holiday when we stayed there en route to Spain. But it was very quiet at night in spite of that (well behaved German campers!).

The bar/restaurant was large and a bit impersonal. The food was OK and the service was good.

The shops were excellent.

The pitches were large and grassy with good shade.

The toilet facilities were spotless and excellent.

Quite expensive.

The site isn't easy to find - it's on a new development North of Canet harbour.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Harleymlb 15 reviews from this member

A large commercial site that has everything you could possibly need. The pitches are surprisingly large and there was water and drainage and electric on most of them.

We went out of season as it would not be for me in high summer as I can imagine it would be rammed with children and teenagers. There were a lot of people with nursery age kids during our stay but that was no problem.

The weather was brilliant while we were there so with immediate access to the nice beach and the large pool complexes we were very happy!

It has been said before that it is expensive (60 per night in high season) quality always costs more.

Would recommend and will come back but not in July or August.

Check out there website!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Johnjo1927 1 review from this member

We stayed at this site for 2 weeks in August, we had a tent pitch with a sanitary unit ( shower, toilet and a hand basin with an additional sink outside for washing dishes).

On arrival at the site the staff seemed a bit abrupt and made no attempt to speak or understand our English but with our poor French we eventually got our pitch number but only after handing over a further deposit for the sanitary unit.

The pitch was a bit on the small side our outwell 6 with awning only just squeezing in on the angle and then our car was half on the road.

The site itself was totally French but that was ok all the entertainment that went on (every night but saturday) was good but all in French and very loud, the kids club was also in French and our children (3&7) had no consideration, thier was fresh bread available each morning if you order it, the pools were great and clean and there were water slides and a pirate ship for them to play on there was two large play areas one a wild west town and the other was a swing park with slides and a climbing frame and a bouncy castle that was inflated all day up till midnight.

The bars were pleasant and the restaurant good for snacks. There was a laundry that worked well but don't leave your clothes alone in the machine as they will be dumped out onto the machine when done if you are not there at the end.

Around the area there is loads, the beach is a drive of 10 mins (quite a walk if you take things with you to the beach) but there is lots of free parking, there was a funfair near by a bouncer castle area on the beach, a market that was on 3 times a week, an adventure high wire park was 20 mins away, a safari park was about 40 mins and it was spectacular, we also went to Barcelona which was about 2 hours all in all a good base for an active holiday.

The bad points the entertainment went on every night and most nights past 12 and was very loud (you didn't need to be at the entertainment to be part of it) we were about in the middle of the site and it was like being at the stage it was so loud and if you were sat at the bar it was hard to talk.

The pitches, some were a bit on the small side and maybe because of the time of year it was not possible to move to a bigger one, it's potluck as to what you get even though we told them in advance the size of the tent.

Our holiday. We had a great time in France and at this site when we say it was very French all we mean is it catered totally for the French market there was only 3 family's that we're not French and because of this (I think) there was no attempt to try and understand English and lots of shaking of heads when we spoke French but we got most things sorted in the end.

Would we go back there again? To the region yes it was great with loads to do, to the site no I think there were better in and around the region.

I hope this review helps happy camping.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Simbacat_uk 7 reviews from this member

As with most types of holidays and reviews, you have to consider each to their own! For some people this would be their worst possible holiday - for us it was outstanding. I have never returned to a holiday destination (plenty to see in the world) but this site has me wanting to return as soon as possible. This was our first time motor-homing in France for two weeks and we

Choose La Brasilia for the second week. Stopping at an Aire on the journey to and from the Eurotunnel. This is definitely a deservedly 5* campsite - but you do pay for the privilege, as it is not cheap!

On arrival security directs you where to park as you check in at reception. Very relaxed and friendly check in. You are then escorted to your pitch by a staff member on an electric scooter - you will probably grin when you first see your pitch.

Pitch

The site is huge, as is the variation in pitches but all are of a good standard. We paid for a super pitch with 10A EHU, which was a bit larger and had waste and fresh water on your own bollard on the pitch. The pitch was divided by neatly trimmed hedges. You are free to setup on your pitch any way you wish, no aligning with white pegs etc. In August the pitches can be a bit dusty so a large groundsheet(s) would be useful.

Ablutions

We were located in the Florida section but checked out most of the other sections - all of the blocks were of the highest standard. Extremely clean and fresh smelling, quite often decorated with flowers. Plenty of hot water at all times.

Showers, sinks and toilets were all modern and in their own separate privacy cubicles. There were sinks reserved for dish washing and even sinks reserved for hand washing clothes with an in built wash board.

General Site

It is a large site but you don't really notice how many people are there, as there is a feeling of space and not overcrowding.

All the areas are well looked after and are constantly being cleaned and pruned. The pool area was really nice, but some people may dislike the amount of strictly enforced rules - remember to pack budgy smugglers gents as shorts are not allowed in the pool! Entertainment is OK if you like that sort of thing - typical holiday club atmosphere. All the shops on site were reasonably well stocked, but you'll need to look elsewhere for bargains!

The wine shop is great for refilling your empty bottles to enjoy whilst sitting outside on a warm evening. Plenty of access to the long sandy beach from the site, where well behaved dogs are permitted. There is a very large dog walking area on the campsite with bags and bins supplied for you to pick up and dispose of your dogs presents! Most people seemed to do this.

Location

The site is in a really good location for beach access. There is a fair walk or easy cycle to Canet Town to sample all of the facilities there - very nice ice creams, Mmmm! In peak times there is a frequent road train that takes you there and back for 3 Euros. There are two large supermarkets within an easy cycle distance so you can pick up all your essentials.

There is a friendly VET within walking distance to get your pet passport stamped and your pet checked before you return.

Summary

This is not a site for those seeking small, intermit France. It is a large very European high quality site offering premium facilities. You do not have to leave the site as everything you require is there, but there is more to be seen by stepping outside the gates. Everything from the first booking on the sites website to the final departure was easy and professional.

My only gripe - I should have stayed 2 weeks! We will be back again next year!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ShaunmKelly 2 reviews from this member

Came here 30 years ago and was a good site then.

Lives up to its claim as been in top 6 sites in Europe.

Pitches are shaded with trees and hedges and even though the site was rammed you still felt like you had your own little space.

Plenty of entertainment and shopping, you do not actually have to leave the village, they have enough supplies. Beach is clean and sea is very shallow for at least 100m out, great for kids.

Pool complex was the best we have been on, very strict and opened at 10am which was great as no one could put towels on beds and leave, one did this while we where there and at 11am the lifeguards took the towels away, she came back at 1pm, all flustered because her towels had disappeared, served her right!

Like anything in life you get what you pay for and Brasilia is no exception, expensive but worth it.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Clareanddave 18 reviews from this member

This is probably the best campsite we have ever been to. We booked through the Caravan Club, and got a larger pitch which easily accommodated our large caravan, the awning and the car and there was still lots of outside space. There are excellent facilities, as detailed by other reviewers. The Florida sanitation block was exceptional, with individual showers with their own sinks, plenty of hooks to hang towels etc. At night, all the blocks are lit up with coloured lights. There is imaginative planting throughout the site, with gardeners working everyday, and this provides a riot of colour, and there are some really unusual plants and flowers. In one of the beds we found a large clump of mint growing, so we were able to use it for one of our meals.

The beach is within easy walking distance from anywhere in the site, and is large as it extends on the north to join the river Tet. The sea had some large stones in it, which made the adults a little cautious when going in, which didn't bother any children, but was well worth it.

The entertainment programme was good and imaginative. The restaurant was not cheap, but the food was very good. The drinks in the bar were expensive. All staff were very pleasant, helpful.

Mass is celebrated on the site in July and August.

We took a boat trip from Argeles Port to Collioure and Port Vendres, which we would recommend. Only 14 euros each.

We went to Collioure for the day, which is a really pretty place, and well worth a visit. There is a new park and ride on the outskirts of the town which has frequent buses into Collioure and was, from memory, 4 euros for 6 hours.

Le Brasilia lives up to the label of being one of the best campsites in Europe. Recommended.

Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Canet Plage En Roussillon      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Languedoc Roussillon

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5444 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019