Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Crugan Farm Caravan & Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Pwllheli > Crugan Farm Caravan & Camping Reviews

Crugan Farm Caravan & Camping
Llanbedrog
Abersoch
Pwllheli
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL53 7NL
Tel: 01758 740273
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: March - October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 14 Reviews
                9/10 from 14 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (12)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   Wild Swimming 1 mile   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Christopher James 2 reviews from this member

A working farm so some farm activity, which we loved. A family run site and they will give you a warm welcome. Only 5 touring pitches the rest of the site is made up of seasonal pitches.

We were here during the week and almost all of the seasonal pitches were vacant so it was just us. The facilities are a little way from the touring pitches but again hardly anyone else to use them and they were spotless.

Only a field away from the coast path and a fabulous beach. Well placed for touring the Lleyn peninsula.
via mobile

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Belle 18 reviews from this member

We have just left this site after a 6 night stay, to my knowledge there are only 4 touring pitches the site is full of Season pitches whose owners arrived at the weekend, the site rules are dogs must be kept on a lead we saw one season pitch owner exercising his 2 collie dogs on the site off lead chasing a tennis ball right in front of our caravan, there was a little staffie running loose without a collar or lead.

The toilets block looks to be new, a few little touches are required - somewhere to put your toiletries, a curtain to stop the shower water wetting the dressing cubicle maybe a duckboard to stand on, a plug for your hair dryer.

The website says 13amp but the on-site brochure said 10amp and we did have it trip out once.

It's a 10 minute walk to the garage for a paper or milk, five minutes on is a pub and londis shop up the hill the beach is across the road after a walk through the farmers field, the site is just off the A499 so some road noise and quite a lot from the farm you have to drive and walk through the farm yard it could be a great site it needs a few tweaks and separate entrance for caravans.

Will we visit again no it's not a site for us.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hilary C 30 reviews from this member

We were given a lovely welcome at the farmhouse and lots of advice was freely given about walks, shop, local beach and pub. When my Husband asked about emptying the grey waste the farmer said he could drive into the farmyard and empty over an open drain. Our pitch was grass with electric, there are no hard standing. It is a fair walk to the toilets which are nice and clean as are the showers and wash basins but it was quite chilly in there. The dishwashing facility is one sink in the open on the edge of the farmyard and not particularly clean, there is disinfectant provided. The chemical disposal is also near the toilets and so a fair walk. I would suggest that this site may not be suited to some disabled people because you have to walk on grass and a shingle type surface which is quite uneven. There is a lovely play park for children. The birdsong is lovely, I heard an owl at night. The biggest downside is the close proximity to the A499. We went to Abersoch where we parked the motorhome in the car park in Lon Gwydryn. We had a nice walk around the village and some excellent fish and chips.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Djbowwow 3 reviews from this member

Arrived at the caravan site which is part of a working farm. To book in you must call at the farm house which is the owner residence. The owners were lovely. A lovely warm welcome and a chat about the local area and its attractions they had plenty of time for us. The caravan site is on nice level pitches, the facilities were decent. The beach although it looks close to the campsite is quite difficult to get to, across a busy A road though a feild and down a steep slope to the beach were I think the stairs have washed away. All in all a good, pleasant and peaceful stay just as we like it and the dog was happy too, dog walking area was good.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: CarterD 1 review from this member

Just had 6 days at Crugan Farm. Really lovely place. Ideally situated for Pwllheli and Abersoch. Close to Llanbedrog beach. Walking distance to a pub which we visited. Very friendly owners of the site. Toilet and showers nice and clean (though ladies toilets often without loo paper - however no problem I don't feel it should be provided anyway - we take our own).

Toilets and showers are a bit of a walk from the touring field so if you need the loo in a hurry it could be a problem!Well kept tidy working farm run by a lovely family. We will definitely be back. Richard (owner) said they are replacing the toilet block for next season. Though as I mentioned the showers were clean and plenty of hot water. There are other tourer caravans on 2 other fields which appear to be permanently sited and all pitches beautifully kept. Thankyou for lovely 6 days wonderful days. We will be back!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mrsbumble 1 review from this member

Just home from a 5 night stay at Crugan Farm. I chose this campsite as when I was emailing various sites for availability I felt that Gwenno was the most enthusiastic and helpful in her reply. I was concerned about the distance from the pitches to the facilities and Gwenno emailed me a map fully explaining the layout of the site.

We were allocated pitch 48 which was right next to the walk through from our field to the next one and also one of the water taps, we had a windbreak up so still had our privacy despite the amount of people that passed by our tent. I was very happy with this pitch, it was a great size, very flat and with having 3 children (14, 11 and 5) it was only a cock stride through to the play area for my youngest and I could easily keep a check on her.

There are 4 toilets (2 male/2 female)and 4 showers. These were kept impeccably clean. My first thought when I saw them was that there wasn't enough for the size of the site but there was never a wait for the showers and we rarely had to wait for the toilets. There was 2 washing up sinks but again we didn't have to wait. There was freezer that we could use for our ice blocks free of charge. The owners also sold their own eggs (which were amazing) and they also sold some delicious meats for barbecues, we tried burgers and belly pork and they were amazing.

The site was within easy reach of Abersoch with it's beautiful beach, Pwllheli and Porthmadog. I would highly recommend anyone stay at Crugan Farm, we'll definitely go back in the future.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ian Bot 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from having an excellent 5 nights stay at Crugans Farm, We have never been to this part of Wales before and what a lovely place it is. On arrival we were booked in by the owner a very lovely lady who gave us a leaflet which had the site plan and rules and reg's and told us which pitches we could choose from, also a swipe card so you can get through the electronic barrier, we chose Pitch 26 which was quite a large pitch as all the others seem to be too, it was next to the children's play area but we didn't mind. The shower and toilet block was near to us and always clean when we used them, you can buy fresh eggs from the farm and also bacon sausage burgers and other meats which are all local products. There is a really nice Beach across the road and a Pub within walking distance which does good food at reasonable prices, there is also a Bistro on the Beach as well. So I would just like to say a big thank-you to the owner and everyone at Crugan's Farm for making our stay so enjoyable, Recommended.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lyndseylola 1 review from this member

I'd pre-booked this site due to the excellent recommendations on UKCampsite.co.uk and wasn't disappointed. I'd had a few questions for the location and had rang Gwenno who was very informative and helpful. I'd rang around a few campsites and Crugan Farm was the only one in the area with such a happy telephonist, everyone else I'd felt like I'd disturbed their day, however with Gwenno I felt welcome right from the word go.

On arrival to the site we turned onto the turn off on the main road to be greeted by a reception at a lovely farm house. It is a working farm so we had to call the number listed at the entrance for help but we didn't mind as the owners were so pleasant and gave us our pick of the pitches as they were quiet and even offered to let us stay later on out departure day (due to availability, not always allowed if in busy periods. )

We set up our tent nicely protected by a hedge on a nicely flat field, well maintained and with plenty of space around the tent. The ground was very hard so I'd recommend bringing a mallet for your pegs however it had been hot all weekend so it couldn't be helped.

There was a small children's' play area and ample playing space for children, a well maintained shower block and toilet block, a freezer to re-freeze freezer blocks and food.

We liked the fact that it was a working farm (with sheep in the next field and guinea fowl running round, but not in the camping area mind. ) and we even bought some ribs and chops from the farm for our BBQ which was delicious, they even provided a block for us to put our disposable BBQ on so we didn't ruin the grass.

We got chatting to some guests who were staying in camper vans who said the electric hook up is good, strong wifi connection and good disposal for the chemical toilets.

The location is a nice 15 min walk from Llanbedrog village and about a 15 min drive from Abersoch and Phewelli. It is about a mile from the Wakestock festival, an ideal location for any festival goers, and directly across the road to the farm you cross a field and you are straight away on the coastal path leading to a gorgeous little cove of Llanbedrog beach.

We had a lovely time, made even more special by Gwenno and the team at Crugan Farm.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Justine752 1 review from this member

We stayed here for a long weekend and yes, the site was clean and had level pitches, but we were actually very disappointed and came home a day early, Our pitch was on the small side and only just took our Outwell Montana tent (luckily, we could park the car outside it) and backed onto an extremely busy A road (the main road out of Abersoch). You were very much squeezed in and the caravan next door had a constant stream of visitors so we were forever facing onto 3 or 4 cars. Sorry, but we won't be visiting again. The owners are lovely though and it was great being on a working farm.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Minardifans 1 review from this member

Visited Crugan Farm for 3 nights in June 2014.

The site is very tidy. Even though dogs are welcome (we took ours) there is no dog mess to be found as there are signs everywhere telling campers to clean up their mess. As it was during term time the site was very quite although this is a working farm so there is some noise from the cows but you soon get used to this.

All the pitches are level and clearly spaced with a small fence. There is hedging and trees between the sea and the site which provides shelter from the wind. The only issue with the pitches when tenting is that out pitch was quite rocky underneath so we had quite a few bent tent pegs.

The toilet blocks and other facilities such as showers are spotless and cleaned everyday and there are sockets at the facilities for charging a phone and a freezer to freeze any cool blocks you have. There is also a play area for the kids. Lots of what look like seasonal caravans mainly taking up most of the rear of the site.

A great location too with great views of the mountains behind and not far from Criccaeth, Pwllheli and Abersoch. The owners are very friendly too!

The only big downside is that the toilets are a fair walk from the camping field and near the seasonal caravans so a bit of a walk which is ok during the day but a right pain during the night.

Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5317 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019