Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of New Forest View Campsite (was Odd House)

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Leicestershire > Snarestone > New Forest View Campsite (was Odd House) > Reviews

New Forest View Campsite (was Odd House)
Bosworth Road
Snarestone
Leicestershire   (Browse area)
DE12 7DQ
Tel: 07917 055169
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 25
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 14 Reviews
                8/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Daviddyson 1 review from this member

 Lovely site, small but neat, smart and clean, staff very helpful and friendly.

I would rate it 9 out of 10, saying that, the site was small a little cramped. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: T07zombie 22 reviews from this member

 Entrance to the site ok slightly tight but manageable. You are greeted at the main gate by the warden who is very helpful. Warden explains everything about the site and shows you to your pitch and will even help you pitch up if needed.

Good points

Nice helpful wardens

Clean and tidy site

Pitches are around the side of the fishing pond

Clean toilet block

Nice pub next door

Bad points

Only one toilet in the men's 2 in the ladies not good when there's 25 caravans.

Advertised as 16amp ours was 10amp and kept tripping

Advertises wifi. I wouldn't bother.

Would I go back? may be, but the price for 3 nights was 130 wow. Hogs down farm in Gloucester is 20 a night includes 2 adults, dog, awning. 


Date of Visit: April 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Darrel 2 reviews from this member

 Friendly owners nothing to much trouble,

Clean and tidy site,

Open mic on Friday nights

Nice fishing on site,

Food cooked fresh on site very nice

Definitely going back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Steveand babs 14 reviews from this member

 We had a fantastic welcome - even an offer to reverse our caravan for us! - and were given a lovely, spacious, level pitch. Such a pretty, tidy, clean and well-maintained site.

Definitely a must for breaking up the journey which we will be doing again, and we'll be sure to book this site.

Reasonable price for a grass pitch 23. 50

Showers expensive at 1. 00

Local shops approx 2 miles away

It would be helpful to have more showers/toilets and introduce recycling. 


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Neilj5 8 reviews from this member

 What a beautiful site ?.

We arrived to be met by the wardens Gerald and his lovely wife.

We were allowed to choose our pitch, which was great as we chose a sun trap.

Gerald gave us all the local knowledge so we had our bearings.

Thank you 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Susiex 6 reviews from this member

 Nice welcome as we arrived on site (although there was a bit of a mix up caused by the booking agents) and we were shown to our pitch.

The site is small, but is very well kept. We couldn't use the showers/toilets due to Covid19, so I can't remark on those. There looked to be good laundry facilities though, and the site has an elsan disposal point. No shop or eating place on site, although there is a pub next door, that serves food (not tried it though)

The site is very family and dog friendly, and due to a couple of groups of families, it was a wee bit noisy for us. Having said that though, it's not a complaint, just that if you want a quiet getaway it might be best to go elsewhere. The children were all having a whale of a time, though, and there is a play area on site.

The pitches are spacious, flat, and all are equipped with hookups. The water taps aren't far away.

All in all, a lovely little site, out in the countryside, but not too far from nearby towns and villages 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alan Sear 4 reviews from this member

 Like others we booked this site without seeing it and when we got here like others we thought o dear. There`s not much room for many more units as seasonal and full time residents fill it up however the owner took us in moved his motorhome and we had a site.

We did not use the facilities but the pub toilets were fine so we thought the others would be too.

Like others we ate at the pub and found the food really good and we thought good value, owners and staff very friendly and made us very welcome but beware if you go over late they close if no one in the pub.

To sum up not perhaps the venue for a week break or for kids but if you want a friendly place for a couple of nights its worth a try and I found the fishing great the lake is full of carp of all sizes. We would go again for a short visit and the pub is worth a visit just to eat. 
Management response: Please note this site is under new management and is now known as New Forest View Campsite (was previously known as The Odd House Campsite which is the name of the pub next door)


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stewart010 31 reviews from this member

 Arrived At The Odd House to book in and was told 'take your pick, have which pitch you want', thought this was brilliant, drove through the gates to the site and thought Oh my God what have we booked into.

The site was made of seasonal and residentials, which was fine but the pitch that was left for us to park on was like a quagmire, thankfully the residents helped us to park up in the mud (Hard Standing).

The residents were more than helpful.

Now the Pub, well I couldn't find two bad words to say about the Odd House, we were made very welcome, the food was out of this world and the staff bent over backwards to help you, I notice somebody said food was over priced. Well it certainly wasn't.

Would I go there again only if somebody tidies the site up a little. Oh and if you want to boil a kettle turn everything off in the van electrical so that you just have the kettle drawing electric. 
Management response: Please note as of 2019 this site is under new management and is now known as New Forest View Campsite (was previously known as The Odd House Campsite which is the name of the pub next door)


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bellmactom 1 review from this member

 Chosen as a last minute night away in a 2 man tent we literally called 2hrs before arriving.

A small field with a fishing lake in the middle, the majority of pitches are taken up by permanent residents. Initially we were met by quite a miserable resident who was very concerned we might pitch too near him, we didn't. However the residents we did pitch near were lovely people, as were everyone else we met.

The fishing lake seems to be stocked with lots of small carp and some ornamental goldfish, but we enjoyed it. There was a competition on the Sunday which was won with 15lb.

When we went to the pub we were met by the landlady, who was absolutely lovely, nothing was too much trouble. We booked in to the restaurant, ordered our food while in the bar, where we stayed having a drink until we were told our starters were ready, and were taken through to our table. I have read a review on here which says the food was over priced, I think you get what you pay for and our meals were excellent, worth every penny ( I had the lamb tower and my wife had the chicken with haggis, both of which I would have again).

The service was excellent, the atmosphere friendly and the facilities clean and functional.

We will be using this site again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: N88dle 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for one night as it's fairly local, to try out our new tent. The site's fairly small with mainly permanent caravan units but everyone was friendly. There's a small fishing pond in the middle with very noisy ducks at night! This means there's not a great deal of field space for children to play.

The pub is great though and really child-friendly. Full of toys and a great outdoor play area, my toddler had a ball. The owners even let my son borrow a toy which we then returned the next day. The food was also great.

The camping toilets were clean and the shower looked OK but we didn't use it. The site was really quiet at night (except for the ducks!) and we didn't notice much road noise.

Went to visit the Battlefield Train Line for a day out with Thomas the Tank Engine which is just a few miles up the road, a big hit with my son! All in all, a great couple of days. 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is New Forest View Campsite (was Odd House) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to New Forest View Campsite (was Odd House)?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is New Forest View Campsite (was Odd House) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Snarestone      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Leicestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2806 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement