Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of New Forest View Campsite (was Odd House)

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Leicestershire > Snarestone > New Forest View Campsite (was Odd House) Reviews

New Forest View Campsite (was Odd House)
Bosworth Road
Snarestone
Leicestershire   (Browse area)
DE12 7DQ
Tel: 07917 055169
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 25
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 9 Reviews
                8/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Susiex 3 reviews from this member

 Nice welcome as we arrived on site (although there was a bit of a mix up caused by the booking agents) and we were shown to our pitch.

The site is small, but is very well kept. We couldn't use the showers/toilets due to Covid19, so I can't remark on those. There looked to be good laundry facilities though, and the site has an elsan disposal point. No shop or eating place on site, although there is a pub next door, that serves food (not tried it though)

The site is very family and dog friendly, and due to a couple of groups of families, it was a wee bit noisy for us. Having said that though, it's not a complaint, just that if you want a quiet getaway it might be best to go elsewhere. The children were all having a whale of a time, though, and there is a play area on site.

The pitches are spacious, flat, and all are equipped with hookups. The water taps aren't far away.

All in all, a lovely little site, out in the countryside, but not too far from nearby towns and villages 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alan Sear 2 reviews from this member

 Like others we booked this site without seeing it and when we got here like others we thought o dear. There`s not much room for many more units as seasonal and full time residents fill it up however the owner took us in moved his motorhome and we had a site.

We did not use the facilities but the pub toilets were fine so we thought the others would be too.

Like others we ate at the pub and found the food really good and we thought good value, owners and staff very friendly and made us very welcome but beware if you go over late they close if no one in the pub.

To sum up not perhaps the venue for a week break or for kids but if you want a friendly place for a couple of nights its worth a try and I found the fishing great the lake is full of carp of all sizes. We would go again for a short visit and the pub is worth a visit just to eat. 
Management response: Please note this site is under new management and is now known as New Forest View Campsite (was previously known as The Odd House Campsite which is the name of the pub next door)


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stewart010 31 reviews from this member

 Arrived At The Odd House to book in and was told 'take your pick, have which pitch you want', thought this was brilliant, drove through the gates to the site and thought Oh my God what have we booked into.

The site was made of seasonal and residentials, which was fine but the pitch that was left for us to park on was like a quagmire, thankfully the residents helped us to park up in the mud (Hard Standing).

The residents were more than helpful.

Now the Pub, well I couldn't find two bad words to say about the Odd House, we were made very welcome, the food was out of this world and the staff bent over backwards to help you, I notice somebody said food was over priced. Well it certainly wasn't.

Would I go there again only if somebody tidies the site up a little. Oh and if you want to boil a kettle turn everything off in the van electrical so that you just have the kettle drawing electric. 
Management response: Please note as of 2019 this site is under new management and is now known as New Forest View Campsite (was previously known as The Odd House Campsite which is the name of the pub next door)


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bellmactom 1 review from this member

 Chosen as a last minute night away in a 2 man tent we literally called 2hrs before arriving.

A small field with a fishing lake in the middle, the majority of pitches are taken up by permanent residents. Initially we were met by quite a miserable resident who was very concerned we might pitch too near him, we didn't. However the residents we did pitch near were lovely people, as were everyone else we met.

The fishing lake seems to be stocked with lots of small carp and some ornamental goldfish, but we enjoyed it. There was a competition on the Sunday which was won with 15lb.

When we went to the pub we were met by the landlady, who was absolutely lovely, nothing was too much trouble. We booked in to the restaurant, ordered our food while in the bar, where we stayed having a drink until we were told our starters were ready, and were taken through to our table. I have read a review on here which says the food was over priced, I think you get what you pay for and our meals were excellent, worth every penny ( I had the lamb tower and my wife had the chicken with haggis, both of which I would have again).

The service was excellent, the atmosphere friendly and the facilities clean and functional.

We will be using this site again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: N88dle 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for one night as it's fairly local, to try out our new tent. The site's fairly small with mainly permanent caravan units but everyone was friendly. There's a small fishing pond in the middle with very noisy ducks at night! This means there's not a great deal of field space for children to play.

The pub is great though and really child-friendly. Full of toys and a great outdoor play area, my toddler had a ball. The owners even let my son borrow a toy which we then returned the next day. The food was also great.

The camping toilets were clean and the shower looked OK but we didn't use it. The site was really quiet at night (except for the ducks!) and we didn't notice much road noise.

Went to visit the Battlefield Train Line for a day out with Thomas the Tank Engine which is just a few miles up the road, a big hit with my son! All in all, a great couple of days. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hopkins 1 review from this member

 I was arranging a get together for a group of old friends, some with young families: a total of 8 adults and 5 young children. This camp site was chosen on the basis of some rather tight criteria:

- it needed to be located pretty much in the middle of Newcastle, Ipswich and London

- there needed to be the option of B&B accommodation, potentially at the last minute

- a family friendly restaurant should be on-hand for breakfast and perhaps other meals, especially given the time of year and proportion of children

- a children's play area would be nice but not essential

There really is not a lot to choose from to match all of these criteria, the killer usually being a place with enough B&B accommodation to make it unlikely that it would be fully booked! However, this place matched everything, including the children's play area (albeit located on the other side of the main building, so not accessible directly from the camp site).

With the exception of the other review here, I had only found fairly negative reviews on the internet, but also they were quite a few years old. It turns out that the place changed hands three years ago after having been neglected, and the new owners have apparently been working hard to change things - everything certainly seemed to be in good condition.

Being the only people arriving on Friday, my family and I stayed in the B&B for the first night and on the camp site for the second. The B&B was great value for money. There are around a dozen recently decorated and kitted out rooms, each with a double and a single bed, and ours was very clean and very cosy. The next night was spent under canvas with the rest of the party (bar one couple with their 18 month old child, who opted for the B&B) and, again, no problems there. I have to say, I didn't notice any traffic noise! The road is a country lane, although most of the time we spent on the site we were busy and chatting away, so it is perhaps not surprising that we were oblivious to the odd car.

Both mornings we had their cooked breakfast, and it was excellent! They had a carvery planned for Sunday which, sadly, we did not stay around to sample. Apparently they have the Food and Drink company visiting them soon based on the growing popularity of their restaurant, so you might want to keep your eyes open for that review.

To wrap it up, and to stop myself from rambling on, I will mention that the owners are very friendly, relaxed and accommodating, and they also seem to know how to store and serve their beer (and this is coming from a real ale fan).

All in all, highly recommended! 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Msol 1 review from this member

 We decided to camp at the site for one night and book a meal in the pub restaurant. We found the owners very friendly and accommodating. However the downside for us was the camping area as it was mainly taken up by permanent camping residents, who called it their home.

The man-made lake is small but there are fish in there so good for fishing I would think. The food is lovely, with a good choice of wines, however a little overpriced for what you received. Unfortunately we wont be returning for camping, but would maybe consider the restaurant. 
Management response: Please note as of 2019 this site is under new management and is now known as New Forest View Campsite (was previously known as The Odd House Campsite which is the name of the pub next door)


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: L,Woodings 2 reviews from this member

 Visited this site for a long weekend. The kids loved it, as it had a large fishing pond in the middle of the site which enabled them to do some fishing, giving the adults some free time.

The play area within the pub area was also brilliant for the younger children.

The toilet was clean and not to far away. The food and staff in the pub was brilliant, nothing was to much trouble.

We visited a nearby bird sanctuary which was a brilliant day out highly recommended.

There are shops about a 5 minute drive away including a Tesco's & Co-op in the nearby town. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Miche36 1 review from this member

 Mixed feelings about this one. It's set in a field next to the Odd House Inn. The nearest shop is a short drive about 10 mins. The pub seemed popular but as we had dogs and they were not allowed in pub we found this disappointing as we could not visit it.

The camping and caravanning site was pleasant enough although some traffic noise could be heard from road side pitches. There seemed to be lots of pitches that were for permanent or seasonal use. There is a fishing lake in the centre of the site, a fishermans haven and seemed to be well stocked.

The toilet and shower facilities looked in need of a clean and we did not use them. The pitch was 10 per night and 5 per night for electricity - 15 in total per night I thought was too expensive; In comparison to some nearby campsites that only charge 10 with electric included. We did enjoy the tranquillity of this small site and the owners were friendly and helpful on arrival. Overall I felt it was 'nice' but overpriced for what it offers. 
Management response: Please note as of 2019 this site is under new management and is now known as New Forest View Campsite (was previously known as The Odd House Campsite which is the name of the pub next door)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is New Forest View Campsite (was Odd House) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to New Forest View Campsite (was Odd House)?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is New Forest View Campsite (was Odd House) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Snarestone      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Leicestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4659 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement