Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Wang

Campsite Search > Europe > Switzerland > Interlaken > Camping Wang Reviews

Camping Wang
3803 Beatenberg
Interlaken
Switzerland   (Browse area)

Tel: 0041 338412105
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 20
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 13 Reviews
                9/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kinoulton Campers 2 reviews from this member

A beautifully situated campsite at over 1, 000 metres high, with the most stunning views of the mountains Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau, an amazing backdrop, especially in the sunshine, 35+ degrees. We experienced the wildest thunderstorm during the night, you have to peg down firmly and be prepared for changeable conditions. There is no shade or shelter on any of the pitches so you are exposed to the weather. The sanitary facilities were clean and well maintained, the barn with fridges/freezers and space to escape the rain/sunshine/wasps was very useful. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. Public transport is free and the guest card also entitles you to reductions at local sights. We took the cable car up the Niederhorn and rode down on 'Trotti bikes', great fun, explored the James Bond Schilthorn mountain, went on a steam boat trip on the Brienzersee and visited the Trummelbachfalle water falls. Travel beyond the campsite does involve a winding journey down the mountain and Switzerland is expensive, it is worth shopping at Lidl in Interlaken and taking picnics with you. A fabulous stay, would recommend highly.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hobart0406 11 reviews from this member

We picked this site based on the reviews we'd read. It did not disappoint on the views - stunning - and also the local village of Beatenberg offered all the supplies we needed and some souvenirs at much better prices than elsewhere. This is a relatively small site, with various levels, but our pitch was a bit small for our tents. We felt a bit cramped. But other pitches were bigger. On our return to the site at night, it was a bit difficult to find a place for our van. It would have been nice if there were a few more car parking spaces especially as we got told off by a 'local man' about parking (I guess, cos it was all in German) in his space or access!

The site is about 15-20 minutes outside of Interlaken up steep winding roads. Lovely views open up as you travel up, but this journey adds time to anything you wish to do. It made us feel a bit 'out of it'. However, the guest card from the campsite allowed us free use of the excellent village indoor pool (very nice - with stunning view from the glass windows). It also allowed free use of the post bus and discounts elsewhere. (The bus goes into Interlaken (we didn't use this), and we used the discount to go up the Niederhorn).

Tourist Information in the village was very helpful. The site owners were warm and friendly too. Toilets and showers were kept very clean.

Had a terrific storm on the night before we left. Wow! But everything fine, though a little scary to have such loud thunder right overhead when you're at 1100 metres or so already.

Children would have liked a bit more to do, and perhaps more explanation on the site about where to find table tennis balls etc, the fact we could use the small plunge pool. Overall a good experience, but I think we'd stay nearer the centre of this area if we were to return to Switzerland.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: GILL FENNAH 1 review from this member

We visited this site mid May to amazing views of the mountains and lake and was warmly greeted by the owner and her dog. We pitched our tent and although it was wet, we were blown away by the views, unfortunately the weather wasn't very kind to us that night and we got a bit flooded out, it would have made for a miserable week because the weather continued to be very wet but the lovely owner gave us a room in the barn, proper bed and heating, which saved our holiday.

The facilities were spotlessly clean, hot showers always available[more than adequate for a full campsite]. There is also a communal room in the barn with wash up sinks and a huge heated room to cook sit and eat if needed. We ate at a local restaurant in Beatenberg which was in easy walking distance[also good bus service from here] Chilche Pintli owned by Sami & Erika again a fabulous warm welcome and good food [our first fondue, very yummy]. We visited lots of local attractions the main one being a train ride to The Spinx observatory the owner again was very helpful keeping an eye on weather reports so we would get the best day to go up as it is very expensive and you need to go when it's quite clear, amazing, [my advice though is to go on the early morning train as it gets quite busy] it was made even more special as my partner got down on one knee in the ice and snow and proposed. I did say yes. So apart from the weather our spirits weren't dampened we were over whelmed by the warmth and kindness we were shown by the owner who rescued our holiday. Thank you.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Surfbike 1 review from this member

Great site. Stunning views, great location near beautiful lake. Lots for kids to do, inc feeding the rabbits, playing with the dog and various games in the barn. Stayed in a small pod-like room which was very nice. The owners were extremely nice and helpful. We turned up late at night and they still asked if we were hungry and gave us some food. Great place, wonderful people, highly recommended. All campsites should be like this!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Harrodsfree 4 reviews from this member

Many of the previous reviews are accurate. The most notable feature of this site is the mountain view - it is first rate.

The site is very small (only about 30 pitches), and the facilities are simple too (eg shared toilets, showers). For example the men's urinal is behind a curtain in the wash/toilet area. And the sinks for personal washing are also behind curtains - and are in pairs. However there are toilet cubicles too, and most people shower rather than wash.

There are 2 fridges, both with freezing compartments for ice blocks if you prefer. And there is a large eating area in the barn (very clean, warm and useful). Also two table footballs and a table tennis table in the barn (bring own bat and ball). Kathi will lend you a sun shade for a returnable deposit.

The pitches are flat on little terraces down the hillside. The top ones have stunning mountain views, the lower few are sheltered by the trees. There is a little play area in the woods. Buses in the village of Beatenberg are free (it IS a mile long though!), and you get one free visit to the indoor swimming pool (VERY nice). After that you would pay approx £20 for a family of 4.

Travelling to Interlaken takes about 15 minutes by car. If you really want to be in Grindlewald or Lauterbrunnen then don't come here as you'll waste too much time travelling. We wondered if we'd be cold at 1100 metres, but this was never a problem. However the weather can be very dramatic so don't bring a big flimsy tent - we saw one get temporarily flattened in the sudden gusts.

There is heaps to see and do, but be prepared to pay through the nose for cable cars and trains. If you do only one mountain trip do the Mannlichen and walk to Kleine Schiedig and then Alpiglen. Gobsmacking.

We brought all our own food with us from the UK (Heinz beans £2 locally). We also did mainly walking, sitting around playing games or reading and swam in the lake. We drove down from Belgium in 1 day easily. A wonderfully memorable 9 day holiday for about 1 grand!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Minimoos 23 reviews from this member

Breathtaking - our favourite campsite in Europe so far!

The facilities are simple but clean, that was fine, there was an indoor shared eating area and also some food made on site at weekends. Kids LOVED feeding the rabbits and playing in the woods.

Nothing can beat the views here absolutely gobsmacking, and not a bad way to start the day! We spent the first day sat in our chairs with jaws dropped while taking in the views. Not only the mountain but also a pair of golden eagles who swooped about for the entire stay, they were nesting further down the mountain. Cows walked about behind us with the famous bells on and you could get the furnicular (?) to the top and bottom of the mountain.

Interlaken was great fun lots to see and do, and of course you have the big 3 to see jungfraujoch will need to wait till we return which I would LOVE to.

So cheap too which is unusual for Switzerland!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Geeby 1 review from this member

We can only endorse the view expressed by another reviewer. This campground could easily be the best in the world. The facilities are excellent.

The pitches are spacious and well separated. The views are stunning, with a truly amazing panorama of The Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau from your tent door.

The hosts Kathii and Reudi could not be more helpful and the village of Beatenberg has everything you need in terms of bars and restaurants and there are a couple of small shops to meet basic needs.

A great place to enjoy the best that Switzerland has to offer.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Farnham16 7 reviews from this member

Wow, wow, wow.

A view that you felt guilty not to be looking at every minute ! We opted for grade 'a' when booking this site, meaning a location at the top of the site with uninterrupted mountain vista - eiger, monch and jungfrau and it was worth every franc. Interestingly, when you first arrive of course you are overlooking other campers and we weren't overly thrilled - but within minutes you realise you look out not down so everyone else was, in the nicest possible way, irrelevant !

Switzerland remains eye wateringly pricey - but actually we found France felt dearer this year too - and 45 CHF a night for 2 adults, 2 kids, tent and electricity is not cheap. But we'd pay it again - and plan to next year.

A small site, with about 20 spots but excellent - always clean -facilities. My other half comments it was all so good it deserved a dyson hand drier. But who wants the noise ! Lots of hot water, wash machine, tumble drier, communal area with fridge/freezer.

Little adventure playground down in the woods provided endless fun for our 7 and 9 year old kids with zip wire and den building galore. You can't see them from your pitch though which may concern some.

We had a tremendous storm one evening/night - the clouds were literally in the site with us and the thunder, rain and wind were something else. Certainly tested the waterproofness of our tent !

Bread man visits every morning - 8am car horn wake up call

Mind you, the cow bells probably will have been stirring you anyway.

All in all, a delight. We headed on to the French alps - haven't found the site there yet to match this one !

Lovely owners, very welcoming - and made a point of saying goodbye too - but not in your face. Helpful on suggestions for trips, pointing out about free buses etc etc

Can't wait to go back !

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SunnyBallynewry 2 reviews from this member

We visited this campsite for 12 days in July. We had a great time and would really recommend it! Having set out from Northern Ireland two days previously, we all tumbled out of the car to enjoy the most amazing views of the snow-capped Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau mountains. While there we only met one other couple from the UK, and found that most of the other visitors were from the Netherlands with some from Switzerland. We were the poor relations as everyone spoke with us in great English, even the younger children did very well.

As a family with 3 young children, we were really pleased that the campsite was small, with cars rarely moving about. Everyone was very friendly and neighbourly, you could let the children play further from the tent and know they would be safe. There is a great area in the woods at the bottom of the site with a zip line and a couple of swings. There's also a place there for having campfires. It was a perfect place for the children to play.

Located in a central block is a room with four sinks for washing dishes. The water was always piping hot. There is a large room with tables and benches for eating meals, as well as a fridge and freezer. We used this a lot for cooking and eating during wet weather, as did other tent campers. This room also had a lot of leaflets with information about things to do in Beatenberg and the Jungfrau region. To the front of the central block is a room with 3 toilets, 1 urinal, shielded by a curtain, and 2 sets of 2 wash-hand basins that could also be curtained off for privacy. Adjacent was a room with 3 showers and a washing-machine (5 francs per use) and tumble dryer (also 5 francs). There were washing lines available under the eaves of the central block and also inside, in the dining area.

You might find a little wait to use the facilities at busy times, and I found the shower block a little draughty! Not a big problem though. Wireless internet and EHU is available. There are couple of powerpoints in the shower-room and dining room for recharging mobiles etc.

To the front of the block was a large noticeboard with information about the weather (in German, although anyone would be willing to fill you in, it was always a topic of discussion!)

We witnessed an awesome alpine storm on our second day, it was truly ferocious and memorable! Some tents got completely flooded and the occupants were invited to sleep in the hayloft above the central block until their gear dried out. This is beside a ping-pong table. The rabbits are nearby too, they were a big attraction!

The owners organise a meal each week that one can choose to attend, this was good fun, there was a great atmosphere at the 'raclette' (toasted cheese) evening we joined in with. Bring your own eating utensils!

The village of Beatenberg is great, it's sleepy and very friendly, it's not packed with shops aimed at tourists like Interlaken, but there is nonetheless a surprising range of shops and good quality restaurants, we heartily recommend the house wine of the Alpli restaurant, adjacent to the Niederhorn cable car station. The staff at the tourist information were brilliant. We went to the swimming pool with its amazing views a couple of times, you get one completely free entry with your visitor's card, then after that a discount I think. We also went to the swimming pool's hall for a free concert evening, we just caught the end but wish we'd got there earlier as it was a fantastic evening.

There's so much to do in the Jungfrau region, although it really is eyewateringly expensive with the steady decline in the sterling exchange rate set to continue! Still camping does help to offset a lot of the expense.

For us it was a great experience and I would whole-heartedly recommend Camping Wang to both tent campers and caravanners. Chalet accommodation is also possible.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Eurotrek 1 review from this member

Well, we were getting ready for our first trip in our new van, but hadn't booked anywhere. Three weeks before the off I contacted Camping Wang by Email, they were prompt getting back to me and a phone call followed from me. We stopped at St Die, France on the way down for a night just on spec no problem.

Camping Wang is so clean and views to die for, there's a family area for eating if it raining, a washing up area for dishes, toilets are spotless, and very, very nice people, a lot of Dutch, very friendly and so much to do. Rudie the owner has a little tractor for positioning your van for you, and when his Wife Kathy found out it was my Wife's Birthday, she gave us a bottle of champers.

I would highly recommend this site.

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Switzerland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4429 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019