Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Le Moulin Fort

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Chenonceaux > Le Moulin Fort > Reviews

Le Moulin Fort
Francueil
Chenonceaux
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
37150
Tel: 00 33 (0)2 47 23 86 22
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 130
Open: 07/05/2024 to 07/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 44 Reviews
                8/10 from 44 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  44 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Ina 33 reviews from this member

 We arrived on the Friday of the Whitsun BH weekend, but rang before to check there were pitches available, which we were assured there were. On arrival check-in was a little slow; we had the impression the young lady checking us in was fairly new to the job and being trained up.

The previous English owners have left, and it seems so have some of the English customers who we have seen on the site on our 2 previous visits. The site certainly was never full over the BH weekend, nor at any time during our 5 night stay.

We were told to choose a pitch and come back to reception. Plenty to pick from, there are no chalets at all on the site, there are only touring pitches. There are 2 toilet blocks, which appear a bit dated now, but we both found them to be clean during our 5 day visit, in contrast to a previous reviewer. Toilet paper is on a huge dispenser at the entrance to the block, not in each cubicle. There is a hairdryer in the ladies'.

Pitches varied a bit in size, most have some shade, the pitches directly by the river Cher appeared rather on the small side; there are quite a few people who use the site as an overnight stop. Bread etc can be ordered at reception for the following day. There is a pool, which was a bit chilly when we were there, but very welcome as we had some hot weather. There is also a restaurant, which is open to people from outside the site, but we didn't try it this time; it has a good reputation.

On our first night there was some sort of disco from across the river, presumably from the campsite which is more or less opposite this one. This site has musical entertainment on Saturdays, finishing at 10pm.

There are good cycl eroutes directly from the campsites along the river Cher. There are some waymarked routes as well. We cycled a long way in each direction, and also to Amboise, by following part of a waymarked route and a different route back. And of course there is Chenonceaux very close to the site; we didn't visit as we've visited before, but the view of it from the riverpath is lovely.

We enjoyed our stay here very much, had intended to stay just 3 nights but extended it to 5. The site was quiet during our stay, apart from the first 2 evenings as mentioned above there was no evening entertainment at all and no noise. The site accepts the ACSI discount card during the off-peak season. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Booketta 55 reviews from this member

 A large campsite with two toilet blocks. Large pitches. Very popular for cycle campers as the site is next to good cycle routes. The campsite is on the river Chere.

You can order bread from the epicerie daily. There is a large restaurant open to the public as well as campers. Live music every Saturday which finished at 10pm.

Within walking distance of the Chateau at Chenonceaux, book ahead, but well worth the visit as it's one of the best.

A nice outdoor swimming pool.

The let down for us was the lack of cleaning in the facilities. My husband found that both the urinals and chemical disposal areas were dirty. Dead insects on shower cubicle walls aren't removed.

A shame as the restaurant has a good reputation, it's a shame the same care cannot be taken in the camping facilities.

However, we would visit again if travelling in that area. 


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sjr66 8 reviews from this member

 This is our first visit and we love this site. Everything about it is excellent.

The pitches are big, the surroundings are lovely,

The staff are extremely obliging and the restaurant prices are good.

It is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and bread and pastries can be ordered in reception for the following day.

We will certainly be back. Booked through the Caravan Club at a very reasonable price.

Nothing negative to say about this site! 


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: KevinMac 3 reviews from this member

 It is sad that John and Sarah have moved on, we've always very much enjoyed our many visits.

But the ownership has passed into a very safe pair of French hands. Our stay was as good as ever. Very good large pitches. The toilet facilities remain a little dated but we can easily live with that.

But the restaurant is now superb. We had a excellent meal, probably the best one ever on any of the campsites we have visited in France in the past.

Do book the restaurant early, it can get busy. And if you can't get in any night then there is a very good restaurant, les Chemilles just 5 minutes walk away over Le Cher 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Wanderer 69 reviews from this member

 Reasonable size pitchís on grass (quite worn in places), pick your own pitch but ones beside the river go quick.

Very tidy site, toilets and showers were clean and OK while we were there. People in reception were English and very welcoming and majority of Camper were also British, many are longer stay.

Swimming pool, bar and food all available plus a small shop but did not use but prices looked very reasonable.

Short walk to Chenoceau Chateau, views from the site side of river are really good.

We used ACSI discount card and was good value. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Looby Loo 5 reviews from this member

 Well, very mixed feeling about this site! We had a fabulous but very small pitch overlooking the river Cher, which was beautiful.

We were very close to neighbours on either side but the view of the river and the fact that we had sun in the morning and the evening ( plus shade when needed in the afternoon) made up for some of the pitch shortcomings.

Hot air balloons floated over the site each evening which was rather nice. However, there are several negatives about the site in general eg the electricity is only 6amp which when you are paying 30 euros a night is not great.

The toilet blocks are tired, a bit smelly and could be cleaner. There was a notice asking campers to write in the book if they found the toilets to be very clean & the cleaners would get a bonus.

I initially thought that was rather nice but on reflection it should be a given that the toilets & showers are kept spotlessly clean ( as many municipal sites are) & cleaning staff should be paid a decent wage & not rely on comments in a book.

There was a pool & bar/restaurant which we did not use. We did play mini golf which was only 9 holes & cost 3 euros each it was rather old & quite expensive for what it was. Wi-fi was available to buy but it would only work near reception/ bar area.

We bought some & it didnít work, I went back to reception & was told laughingly, oh that happens sometimes, we donít know why & I was given another code to try, fine, but an apology would have been nice.

THE BIGGEST NEGATIVE OF ALL.

There is a small gate by the side of the toilet block which brings you onto the approach road so that you can walk into town or by Chateau Chenonceau, however it is not locked & there does not appear to be any cctv monitoring it.

There is no key or code needed for the barrier to enter the site either & I do not think there was a nightwatch. All this is surprising considering the problems this site has with thefts from tents.

As far back as 2009 until the present time I have found reviews mentioning thefts. I saw some before we went but you hope it is a one off that could occur anywhere.

Unfortunately that does not seem to be the case as we now know from experience. Our Dutch neighbours on the pitch next to us were ROBBED overnight. The thief/ thieves slashed a hole in the tent & took trousers from out of the tent which contained a wallet & money.

They also robbed another tent on site the same night. Our neighbours were very shook up as where the tent had been slashed was very close to where their faces were sleeping. The police were called but were not really able to do anything & it just seemed to be a regular occurrence for the camp site staff.

Our neighbours left that day as they did not want to stay any longer. Although we were in a caravan we left the next day as the whole thing left us feeling vulnerable & took the shine off the stay.

Yes, it might have some nice views over the river, although there were many more pitches which didnít, but nice as the views were they do not make up for the appalling experience of people being robbed.

What we cannot understand is why security is not improved given that it is an expensive site, & given the number of thefts which have occurred here, because of this WE WILL NOT BE RETURNING. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rob Burton 26 reviews from this member

 Hugely disappointing for a site in such a splendid location. With a wide range of facilities the site promises much but from our point of view was let down by what seemed total indifference on the part of the staff.

For a reasonably expensive site some pitches were barely accessible (including ours). The toilets and showers were hardly adequate.

All this paled into insignificance when compared with the lack of security on the site. The dear Dutch couple on the next pitch to us were robbed overnight causing them to curtail their holiday.

This seems to have been an ongoing problem on this site for years. The best the site could offer was a sign in the toilet block saying Ďlisten carefully at nightí. Thatís not something I go on holiday to do!

A full site that costs over 30 euros a night really ought to run to more security, especially given that it is protected by a river on one side. We intended to stay longer but left because of our neighbourís experience and the sense that customer safety wasnít an issue for the owners.

Very sad because in spite of being cramped our pitch was beautifully situated, hot air balloons floated over each evening and the weather was perfect. Customer safety however must take priority and didnít seem to here. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Marywhitehead 2 reviews from this member

 Have to add another review. This is our 10th year this year and we are lucky enough to be able to stay for 6 weeks.

This site is one of those where you really donít want to broadcast it in case you find it full when you want to come.

It is a site with a unique charm, peaceful, quiet, clean tidy. Run by a family along with an excellent team of younger people.

The bar is good and the food is also good at a reasonable price. The pate de jour is always good.

Lots of people come for a couple of nights whilst travelling north or south but we are finding each year more people are coming to stay for a couple of weeks or more. The river pitches are really popular and tend to get booked quickly.

Because of the increasing popularity of the site, we have now booked the pitch we like through to 2024. :-)) 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Treglown 1 review from this member

 Lovely pitch right on the river but be sure to take insect repellent, terrible bites and caravan covered in bugs. The staff were very helpful. The toilet blocks were very old and scruffy, as was the bar area. Quite an expensive site 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Marywhitehead 2 reviews from this member

 This is our 8th year here. We come for 5 weeks and love it. Yes the site has had its problems in the past but these are addressed by John the owner and sorted quickly.

The shower blocks are clean and well cared for, if they are at any point untidy or dirty it is down to the users not cleaning up after they have used them. I shudder to think what their homes are like.

The food is good at a reasonable cost and John will go out of his way to accommodate any particular requests if he can. The plate de jour is always excellent and great value for money.

I can't say anymore in case I find we cannot get on one year due to its popularity. However we have booked for 5 weeks every year till 2020. Perhaps I should go and book a few more years.  


Previous     44 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Le Moulin Fort child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Le Moulin Fort have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Le Moulin Fort?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Le Moulin Fort dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chenonceaux      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Loire Valley

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


56113 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement