Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Le Moulin Fort

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Chenonceaux > Le Moulin Fort Reviews

Le Moulin Fort
Francueil
Chenonceaux
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
37150
Tel: 00 33 (0)2 47 23 86 22
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 130
Open: 7 May To 27 September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 40 Reviews
                8/10 from 40 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Wanderer 52 reviews from this member

 Reasonable size pitchís on grass (quite worn in places), pick your own pitch but ones beside the river go quick.

Very tidy site, toilets and showers were clean and OK while we were there. People in reception were English and very welcoming and majority of Camper were also British, many are longer stay.

Swimming pool, bar and food all available plus a small shop but did not use but prices looked very reasonable.

Short walk to Chenoceau Chateau, views from the site side of river are really good.

We used ACSI discount card and was good value. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Looby Loo 5 reviews from this member

 Well, very mixed feeling about this site! We had a fabulous but very small pitch overlooking the river Cher, which was beautiful.

We were very close to neighbours on either side but the view of the river and the fact that we had sun in the morning and the evening ( plus shade when needed in the afternoon) made up for some of the pitch shortcomings.

Hot air balloons floated over the site each evening which was rather nice. However, there are several negatives about the site in general eg the electricity is only 6amp which when you are paying 30 euros a night is not great.

The toilet blocks are tired, a bit smelly and could be cleaner. There was a notice asking campers to write in the book if they found the toilets to be very clean & the cleaners would get a bonus.

I initially thought that was rather nice but on reflection it should be a given that the toilets & showers are kept spotlessly clean ( as many municipal sites are) & cleaning staff should be paid a decent wage & not rely on comments in a book.

There was a pool & bar/restaurant which we did not use. We did play mini golf which was only 9 holes & cost 3 euros each it was rather old & quite expensive for what it was. Wi-fi was available to buy but it would only work near reception/ bar area.

We bought some & it didnít work, I went back to reception & was told laughingly, oh that happens sometimes, we donít know why & I was given another code to try, fine, but an apology would have been nice.

THE BIGGEST NEGATIVE OF ALL.

There is a small gate by the side of the toilet block which brings you onto the approach road so that you can walk into town or by Chateau Chenonceau, however it is not locked & there does not appear to be any cctv monitoring it.

There is no key or code needed for the barrier to enter the site either & I do not think there was a nightwatch. All this is surprising considering the problems this site has with thefts from tents.

As far back as 2009 until the present time I have found reviews mentioning thefts. I saw some before we went but you hope it is a one off that could occur anywhere.

Unfortunately that does not seem to be the case as we now know from experience. Our Dutch neighbours on the pitch next to us were ROBBED overnight. The thief/ thieves slashed a hole in the tent & took trousers from out of the tent which contained a wallet & money.

They also robbed another tent on site the same night. Our neighbours were very shook up as where the tent had been slashed was very close to where their faces were sleeping. The police were called but were not really able to do anything & it just seemed to be a regular occurrence for the camp site staff.

Our neighbours left that day as they did not want to stay any longer. Although we were in a caravan we left the next day as the whole thing left us feeling vulnerable & took the shine off the stay.

Yes, it might have some nice views over the river, although there were many more pitches which didnít, but nice as the views were they do not make up for the appalling experience of people being robbed.

What we cannot understand is why security is not improved given that it is an expensive site, & given the number of thefts which have occurred here, because of this WE WILL NOT BE RETURNING. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rob Burton 12 reviews from this member

 Hugely disappointing for a site in such a splendid location. With a wide range of facilities the site promises much but from our point of view was let down by what seemed total indifference on the part of the staff.

For a reasonably expensive site some pitches were barely accessible (including ours). The toilets and showers were hardly adequate.

All this paled into insignificance when compared with the lack of security on the site. The dear Dutch couple on the next pitch to us were robbed overnight causing them to curtail their holiday.

This seems to have been an ongoing problem on this site for years. The best the site could offer was a sign in the toilet block saying Ďlisten carefully at nightí. Thatís not something I go on holiday to do!

A full site that costs over 30 euros a night really ought to run to more security, especially given that it is protected by a river on one side. We intended to stay longer but left because of our neighbourís experience and the sense that customer safety wasnít an issue for the owners.

Very sad because in spite of being cramped our pitch was beautifully situated, hot air balloons floated over each evening and the weather was perfect. Customer safety however must take priority and didnít seem to here. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Marywhitehead 2 reviews from this member

 Have to add another review. This is our 10th year this year and we are lucky enough to be able to stay for 6 weeks.

This site is one of those where you really donít want to broadcast it in case you find it full when you want to come.

It is a site with a unique charm, peaceful, quiet, clean tidy. Run by a family along with an excellent team of younger people.

The bar is good and the food is also good at a reasonable price. The pate de jour is always good.

Lots of people come for a couple of nights whilst travelling north or south but we are finding each year more people are coming to stay for a couple of weeks or more. The river pitches are really popular and tend to get booked quickly.

Because of the increasing popularity of the site, we have now booked the pitch we like through to 2024. :-)) 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Treglown 1 review from this member

 Lovely pitch right on the river but be sure to take insect repellent, terrible bites and caravan covered in bugs. The staff were very helpful. The toilet blocks were very old and scruffy, as was the bar area. Quite an expensive site 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Marywhitehead 2 reviews from this member

 This is our 8th year here. We come for 5 weeks and love it. Yes the site has had its problems in the past but these are addressed by John the owner and sorted quickly.

The shower blocks are clean and well cared for, if they are at any point untidy or dirty it is down to the users not cleaning up after they have used them. I shudder to think what their homes are like.

The food is good at a reasonable cost and John will go out of his way to accommodate any particular requests if he can. The plate de jour is always excellent and great value for money.

I can't say anymore in case I find we cannot get on one year due to its popularity. However we have booked for 5 weeks every year till 2020. Perhaps I should go and book a few more years.  


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Davidjw 1 review from this member

 This is a beautiful site. Great location and visiting for our 4th year.

Its a campsite! clean! Cared for! And friendly staff and service! I should know as I am in and have been in customer services for over 35 years. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Juniemoon 12 reviews from this member

 Well, what started as a really good camp ended with a bit of a bitter taste which is a real shame. The camp is lovely, the hosts very friendly and very hard working. Toilet/shower blocks - okay, they do get cleaned each day but lots of cobwebs (look up as well as down when cleaning) and could do with a mat inside the door to collect the campsite debris. Not enough toilets in the block (1 normal, 1 disabled and 1 child - which was out of use) - I can't say I particularly enjoyed having a shower when someone was in the next cubicle having a poo! As I said it's a very nice campsite but I think the owners need to keep on top of it a bit more, some areas are a bit slap dash. For example, on our penultimate day a family of buskers moved in next door to our pitch. Within half an hour, saxophones, ukuleles and drums were blasting their way through our peace and quiet. We asked the guy cleaning the toilets if he could have a word and ask them to either be quiet or move. He said he would leave it to the owner who would be returning about tea-time (it was about 2. 30pm), I said that that wasn't good enough and I did not like hearing 'When the Saints go Marching in being played over and over again'. We moved on the very next day, reluctantly because it is a very nice site, but no one wants that sort of noise. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chrisinhove 9 reviews from this member

 Whilst most of the issues listed in other reviews are correct to a greater or lesser extent, this must surely be one of the best located campsites in the Loire region: Chenonceux is on the doorstep, Amboise & Chaumont are both only a short hop, Loches, Zoo de Beauval, and Cheverney are not very far, and Blois, Chambord, Villandray, Azey Le Rideau, Cheverney and Usse are within ready striking distance!

The site is on the south bank of the Cher, and so also has wonderful cycling along the flat riverside footpaths on its doorstep, plus boating/canoeing opportunities nearby.

We found the staff friendly and helpful. The modern service blocks are fine, sufficient and cleaned daily (the sandy soil gets tracked in quickly when damp however, and some people don't squeegee up after themselves, in the same way they don't toilet train or supervise their kids, but that's camping for you). The central loo roll is not a problem, unless people use it all up for hand drying (so isn't a hand dryer needed?)

The trains periodically rumble past, a few hundred metres away on the far side of the river, but we didn't find it an issue using earplugs, sometimes waking, no doubt sometimes not, and the hot air balloons taking off nearby or passing overhead were much more delight than nuisance. You can hear the classical music from the Chenonceaux son-et-lumiere at night.

The site has a thriving mole population, which churned up our pitch (and others), adding to the dirt tracked into the facilities, but caused no other problems than the dirt and an extra 10 minutes of cleaning the tent footprint - we use motorbike stand pucks under bed feet etc anyway to protect our groundsheet.

The low speed limit on the site is just sensible (grow up, Clarkson!) The shop is just a fridge and a few shelves of essentials but sufficient for its purpose and there are big supermarkets at Amboise (15 mins) and Montrichard (10 mins).

The swimming pool is cool, but fine. It's deep, and so unsupervised kids are not allowed (<13, on pain of being thrown off the site. This also seems fair to me, observing the carelessness of some people).

Pitches vary in size (ours fitted our Indian Lake, tarp, car, and left big gaps to chase the sunshine or shade around) and most have tree shade, but are not demarked by hedges, so privacy seekers have to use windbreaks.

We saw no evidence of pitch maintenances during our stay (unlike many sites), so the mole damage remains, and the leaves unswept. Site signage, pots/planting, paintwork etc are shabby in places, and the cobwebs in the service blocks are untroubled. These let the site down a little in my opinion, and elsewhere would lead to a star or two less rating, but here the location is just so good it's no big deal. A slightly transient feel was also noted at times, with some visitors only stopping over for a night or two, but so what?

This was our 4th camping holiday in this area. No campsite is perfect; this one certainly isn't, but it does have some tremendous advantages. Oh, and on the morning of our departure I had a staring match with an otter on the riverbank! 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cello 2 reviews from this member

 This camp site is in a wonderful location right beside the river Cher. It is flat and well kept.

BUT the pitches are ridiculously small and close together. There are no means of telling where one pitch starts and the next finishes as there are no marking or hedges. We were so close to our neighbours that we could hear one lot snoring at night and the other side talking in the night. A large camper van near us could not turn around. I feels like greed to cram everyone in so close.

The site is run by Brits and most of the campers were British too. The food in the Restaurant was awful an omelette fine herb was as flat as a crepe, rubbery and tasteless. Everything came with chips not even proper French Frites. The owner had a very sarcastic way of talking to campers who asked questions. The swimming pool had no shallow end for adults who cannot swim and one non swimming lady was told to use the children's pool!

It is a shame that a few considerations for the camper could make this a fantastic site. 


Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Le Moulin Fort child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Le Moulin Fort have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Le Moulin Fort?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Le Moulin Fort dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chenonceaux      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Loire Valley

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1645 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement