Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Le Moulin Fort

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Chenonceaux > Le Moulin Fort Reviews

Le Moulin Fort
Francueil
Chenonceaux
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
37150
Tel: 00 33 (0)2 47 23 86 22
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 130
Open: 7 May To 27 September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 37 Reviews
                8/10 from 37 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 14+ Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Marywhitehead 2 reviews from this member

Have to add another review. This is our 10th year this year and we are lucky enough to be able to stay for 6 weeks.

This site is one of those where you really donít want to broadcast it in case you find it full when you want to come.

It is a site with a unique charm, peaceful, quiet, clean tidy. Run by a family along with an excellent team of younger people.

The bar is good and the food is also good at a reasonable price. The pate de jour is always good.

Lots of people come for a couple of nights whilst travelling north or south but we are finding each year more people are coming to stay for a couple of weeks or more. The river pitches are really popular and tend to get booked quickly.

Because of the increasing popularity of the site, we have now booked the pitch we like through to 2024. :-))

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Treglown 1 review from this member

Lovely pitch right on the river but be sure to take insect repellent, terrible bites and caravan covered in bugs. The staff were very helpful. The toilet blocks were very old and scruffy, as was the bar area. Quite an expensive site

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Marywhitehead 2 reviews from this member

This is our 8th year here. We come for 5 weeks and love it. Yes the site has had its problems in the past but these are addressed by John the owner and sorted quickly.

The shower blocks are clean and well cared for, if they are at any point untidy or dirty it is down to the users not cleaning up after they have used them. I shudder to think what their homes are like.

The food is good at a reasonable cost and John will go out of his way to accommodate any particular requests if he can. The plate de jour is always excellent and great value for money.

I can't say anymore in case I find we cannot get on one year due to its popularity. However we have booked for 5 weeks every year till 2020. Perhaps I should go and book a few more years.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Davidjw 1 review from this member

This is a beautiful site. Great location and visiting for our 4th year.

Its a campsite! clean! Cared for! And friendly staff and service! I should know as I am in and have been in customer services for over 35 years.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Juniemoon 12 reviews from this member

Well, what started as a really good camp ended with a bit of a bitter taste which is a real shame. The camp is lovely, the hosts very friendly and very hard working. Toilet/shower blocks - okay, they do get cleaned each day but lots of cobwebs (look up as well as down when cleaning) and could do with a mat inside the door to collect the campsite debris. Not enough toilets in the block (1 normal, 1 disabled and 1 child - which was out of use) - I can't say I particularly enjoyed having a shower when someone was in the next cubicle having a poo! As I said it's a very nice campsite but I think the owners need to keep on top of it a bit more, some areas are a bit slap dash. For example, on our penultimate day a family of buskers moved in next door to our pitch. Within half an hour, saxophones, ukuleles and drums were blasting their way through our peace and quiet. We asked the guy cleaning the toilets if he could have a word and ask them to either be quiet or move. He said he would leave it to the owner who would be returning about tea-time (it was about 2. 30pm), I said that that wasn't good enough and I did not like hearing 'When the Saints go Marching in being played over and over again'. We moved on the very next day, reluctantly because it is a very nice site, but no one wants that sort of noise.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chrisinhove 8 reviews from this member

Whilst most of the issues listed in other reviews are correct to a greater or lesser extent, this must surely be one of the best located campsites in the Loire region: Chenonceux is on the doorstep, Amboise & Chaumont are both only a short hop, Loches, Zoo de Beauval, and Cheverney are not very far, and Blois, Chambord, Villandray, Azey Le Rideau, Cheverney and Usse are within ready striking distance!

The site is on the south bank of the Cher, and so also has wonderful cycling along the flat riverside footpaths on its doorstep, plus boating/canoeing opportunities nearby.

We found the staff friendly and helpful. The modern service blocks are fine, sufficient and cleaned daily (the sandy soil gets tracked in quickly when damp however, and some people don't squeegee up after themselves, in the same way they don't toilet train or supervise their kids, but that's camping for you). The central loo roll is not a problem, unless people use it all up for hand drying (so isn't a hand dryer needed?)

The trains periodically rumble past, a few hundred metres away on the far side of the river, but we didn't find it an issue using earplugs, sometimes waking, no doubt sometimes not, and the hot air balloons taking off nearby or passing overhead were much more delight than nuisance. You can hear the classical music from the Chenonceaux son-et-lumiere at night.

The site has a thriving mole population, which churned up our pitch (and others), adding to the dirt tracked into the facilities, but caused no other problems than the dirt and an extra 10 minutes of cleaning the tent footprint - we use motorbike stand pucks under bed feet etc anyway to protect our groundsheet.

The low speed limit on the site is just sensible (grow up, Clarkson!) The shop is just a fridge and a few shelves of essentials but sufficient for its purpose and there are big supermarkets at Amboise (15 mins) and Montrichard (10 mins).

The swimming pool is cool, but fine. It's deep, and so unsupervised kids are not allowed (<13, on pain of being thrown off the site. This also seems fair to me, observing the carelessness of some people).

Pitches vary in size (ours fitted our Indian Lake, tarp, car, and left big gaps to chase the sunshine or shade around) and most have tree shade, but are not demarked by hedges, so privacy seekers have to use windbreaks.

We saw no evidence of pitch maintenances during our stay (unlike many sites), so the mole damage remains, and the leaves unswept. Site signage, pots/planting, paintwork etc are shabby in places, and the cobwebs in the service blocks are untroubled. These let the site down a little in my opinion, and elsewhere would lead to a star or two less rating, but here the location is just so good it's no big deal. A slightly transient feel was also noted at times, with some visitors only stopping over for a night or two, but so what?

This was our 4th camping holiday in this area. No campsite is perfect; this one certainly isn't, but it does have some tremendous advantages. Oh, and on the morning of our departure I had a staring match with an otter on the riverbank!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cello 2 reviews from this member

This camp site is in a wonderful location right beside the river Cher. It is flat and well kept.

BUT the pitches are ridiculously small and close together. There are no means of telling where one pitch starts and the next finishes as there are no marking or hedges. We were so close to our neighbours that we could hear one lot snoring at night and the other side talking in the night. A large camper van near us could not turn around. I feels like greed to cram everyone in so close.

The site is run by Brits and most of the campers were British too. The food in the Restaurant was awful an omelette fine herb was as flat as a crepe, rubbery and tasteless. Everything came with chips not even proper French Frites. The owner had a very sarcastic way of talking to campers who asked questions. The swimming pool had no shallow end for adults who cannot swim and one non swimming lady was told to use the children's pool!

It is a shame that a few considerations for the camper could make this a fantastic site.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Anton36 8 reviews from this member

We have been to Moulin Fort a few times but this year it was very busy and the layout of the riverside pitches is very crowded when almost full as it was. As a previous reviewer mentioned packed with Brits. A good place for a stopover but for a holiday you need to look at the site plan and book a large pitch near the river. Alternatively, don't book but don't try to be near the river on a small pitch. Otherwise faculties good and clean.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Derekcbr 67 reviews from this member

A lot of good words have been written about this site and I have got to agree with most of the comments. The site has a wonderful situation right on the banks of the river Cher and when we were there we enjoyed the setting very much. But, the swimming pool was very close to a mossy infected stagnant pool which really put us off. There seemed to be a lot of English on the site, understandable when you realise the site is owned and run by an English man. All the staff speak excellent English and it made me feel I was in an English enclave rather than in La Belle France! Oh boy I am being churlish ain't but I came to France to experience France!

The toilet blocks are really good and no complaints from me and it really is a very good site

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Two Terriers 20 reviews from this member

Beautiful site next to river Cher although riverside pitches soon get picked over. Might be best to reserve one of those if it really matters to you. Walking distance approx 30mins of the Chenonceaux chateau but make sure you cross the bridge first & walk down the far side of the river otherwise you won't be able to get in!

You possibly need long electric cable. Facilities good.

Super little bistro with very friendly & helpful staff. Also a nice bar over on the opposite side if you fancy a walk & a drink.

Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Loire Valley

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2611 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019