Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Three Rivers Camping

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Suffolk > Geldeston > Three Rivers Camping > Reviews

Three Rivers Camping
Three Rivers Pitch & Paddle
The Boat Shed
Station Road
Geldeston
Suffolk   (Browse area)
NR34 0HS
Tel: 01508518638
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 26
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 18 Reviews
                10/10 from 18 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: 1Bilko 3 reviews from this member

 Well kept site with Canadian canoes, canoes, , paddle boards for hire. Spacious power showers with plenty of hot water.

Large grass pitches most overlooking a tributary of the River Waveney or a Cut.

With views across marshes and woodland and also The Locks inn and the charming Wherry inn up the road this site has a lot to offer

Also really good food shopping in independent Fishmonger, Bakery, Butcher and Greengrocer in Beccles and Bungay. 


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Peter Buck Rogers 1 review from this member

 This campsite suited us down to the ground, but it will suit many others with different preferences.

We went (on a recommendation) for a site that was good for canoeing from, and we chose what they call a 'wild' pitch, which means it has no hard standing, no power hook up, but is a nice space mowed out of long meadow grass, which gives you that privacy, feeling of really being in nature, etc. We didn't need 'power' or much 'facilities', we needed 'nature'.

It's a nice small site (small being a plus). I can't remember exactly but it certainly less than 20 pitches, maybe 16 or something like that? If you look at it on a map it's a sort of peninsula, a finger of land with the 'real' river down one side, and a 'cut' or 'canal' across the top and all the way down the other side. So it's really its own space, surrounded by water and by the willows (and others) that grow by water.

We stayed on two different pitches, because we only came for one night but decided to stay for two, and the first pitch had been booked already for the second night.

The first night we were on the 'premium water front' pitch (and I feel guilty sharing this as we'd sort of like to keep it for ourselves, but heck, let's share), it's fabulous and worth the little extra money, that's going to be our 'go to' pitch when we return. It's the very tip of the peninsula, ie water on three sides, so it's really secluded, your own private space. A massive circle of grass moved out of the undergrowth, (sure, you can pitch multiple tents), surrounded by riverside trees, we pitched looking out over the water, and it has it's own 'private' 'mini' pontoon to launch from if you want (unnecessary, they have a couple of pontoons but hey, why not!)

The second night we were on another wild pitch, called Kingfisher, nice, secluded, like the first night, a circle mowed into the long meadow grass, etc. , private, but not straight onto the water.

Every pitch, wild or not, has a pub type table/bench set up, which is a nice plus. We saw some folk had pitched a tent either side of the table and stretched a line and tarp over, they made their own weatherproof al fresco dining.

The 'wild' ones don't have power hook ups (that wouldn't be very 'wild' would it) and we didn't need that, we were in a tent and don't normally travel with a fridge (!), we wanted the feeling of nature, and we got it.

'Wild camping' it isn't (and that's not what we wanted), lets call it 'natural' camping. But natural with great shower blocks and loos and a neat kitchen very close by if you want. We didn't need the kitchen, we take a stove and our own stuff and cook by the tent, but the showers were brilliant, roomy, private, spotlessly clean (cleaned and checked a couple of times a day). When you get 'older' you don't necessarily want wild, you want 'faux wild', wild with showers and loos!

If you like nature this is definitely the place, we noticed of an evening quite a few people sitting out with binoculars watching the birds (we weren't prepared like that but you couldn't help seeing the sparrow hawks and kestrels hunting around the site). You can't help but see bunnies, rabbits come out of the long grass and hedgerows some time before dusk. This site lets you go straight onto the Waveny river which teems with Cuckoos (and we'd never heard one before, but passed one after another after another) and there's Kingfishers busy on the river at the right time, and if you're quiet.

The site is 'civilised', meaning not a 'rave' type site, it's for people who like nature, lots of people had a canoe, or paddle board, or bicycles with them, and on the water we met a few people who rented canoes from the site, (very reasonably) which saves the hassle (and fuel drag) of driving with one on the roof. We live close enough that bringing our own was a good option.

Last night walking down to the shower block most pitches had a little wisp of woodsmoke rising, lots of people had brought (or hired) fire pits, up on legs so the grass isn't damaged, and it felt as if we really were in a pioneer outpost. Sweet.

You can walk to the 'Wherry' pub in the village, very close, but we paddled down the river to the Geldeston Locks pub (you can moor safely outside the pub and have lunch or a pint before paddling back). If anything at 15 to 20 minutes it's a bit too close. But if you take the turn off to Beccles you can paddle for an hour and a half or two hours, depending on your pottering speed, or you could just keep going upstream past the pub heading towards Bungay, turning round when you want. I have the feeling people don't bother going off to the pub of an evening or going out for dinner, you go there to be secluded in nature and to sit outside your tent/mobile/caravan with a fire pit for the evening.

Oh, just because we stayed at a 'natural' pitch without power and so on, that doesn't mean that's all there is. We've capervanned around NZ and this site compares well to small sites out there, well set up for camper vans, with electric hook ups and hard standings, manicured grass, etc. The sort of place we'd have been happy to stay whilst travelling.

Honestly, if you would like a quiet, secluded site surrounded by nature, where the sounds you hear are birds and not much else, this is the one, but it's secluded rather than cut off, Beccles, which is a nice market town, is close enough to walk to (or paddle to, but who would watch your canoe when you arrive?) and is minutes by car.

The folk at reception are really charming and helpful, no question, and they're local so can 'point you in the right direction' if you need any help. Stella the reception dog is charming too.

A final point, you can check in at 13h00 (so you can really use the first afternoon) and don't have to leave til 12h00 (so you can have a lazy last morning). That's good.

Really, truly delightful. This will become a regular for us (as it seems to for many, chatting with another couple of 'paddlers' they said they come three times a year).

Now I'm going to rate the site and will explain the 'why' here, because some will not be 'intuitive, and arithmetic makes your question how can it be only 5/10 for child friendliness yet 10/10 overall?

Why 8/10 rather than 10 for 'facilities? Some places have undercover seating/dining if you need that sort of thing, some have built in gas barbecues so you don't need to take your own stuff, and so on. Not what we need but I figure some would like it. So I'm thinking more of 'general population' when I rate the facilities rather than 'what we need'. But what you get on the site is very clear from the website so no one will be surprised not to have a bar and restaurant and karaoke (heaven forbid!)

Why 5/10 for 'child friendliness'? I'm trying to think of other people, 'modern' people. Things have changed. I think it's a brilliant site for kids, but modern health and safety would say 'There may be some nettles by the wild pitches' or 'water hazards all around', 'the river is not fenced off' etc. For me that's nature, but for those with kids they don't want to watch over it might not score 10/10! For those with a 'My family and other animals' (Durrell) or 'Swallows and Amazons' (Ransome) approach to upbringing it's brilliant for kids. Once more it's very obvious from the website that it's a natural place for kids, not a 'kiddie camp' with entertainers, so no surprises.

Overall I give it 10/10, because for us it is, we don't need an undercover place, and we have kids in their late 30s, so water & nature all around is a plus. But when our kids were young it would still have been 10/10, they knew how to swim and learning about nature by clutching a thistle is part of the adventure of growing up. 


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jackie 1 review from this member

 We were very happy here as my husband thought it well worth the campsite fee of £40 per night to be at the water's edge and although elderly easily able to launch his canoe.

The site was very peaceful and everyone friendly.

The evening before we left lots of families arrived for half-term with children and expect facilities would be well used and possibly overstretched when site is full. He thought it rather a long way to carry toilet waste from caravan to disposal point located beyond reception.

A signpost to site would have been helpful. 


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: VStromNeil 7 reviews from this member

 I was looking for a nice quiet spot for an overnight on my motorbike, and I chose the right spot.

This is a really nice quiet site with excellent facilities.

Reception was still being built when I was there and I didn't see anyone from the site when I arrived at 4. 30pm mid week or when I left, but I was up and out early, leaving site at 7. 20am. However, email and WhatsApp communication was excellent with all questions and queries sorted quickly and very politely.

If you are on a pitch without elec then you may have a little walk for a wash or water, but it is a very pleasant walk. There is a tiny bit of road noise, but not enough to spoil the wonderful birdsong you can hear and the dawn chorus when I visited was delightful.

Be aware that the site has water on three sides, so I imagine the insect life can be both interesting and possibly troublesome in summer, there were just a few buzzers about when I visited.

My only gripe would be that the ground I camped on was very hard (not much to be done during the driest April in years) and was also pretty lumpy from rabbit activity, again almost impossible to control. Short answer, use a good air mattress.

An easy to find site that I would happily visit again. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Wardley17 7 reviews from this member

 Easy access to campsite with key coded gate and barrier. 3 shower rooms with toilet and washbasin and 2 toilets, closed for cleaning usually between 9am and 10am.

Canoes and paddle boards available for hire, plus cycles. 2 pubs in walking distance, both do food, the Locks pub is community owned and has good local ales, nearest shops in beccles.

Premium pitches have picnic benches and fire pits are available to hire if you donít have one, logs are available to buy. 1 sink for dishwashing. Only drawback is some of the bigger pitches can hold more than 1 unit, so when some pitches over the weekend had camper van and awning plus 6/8 berth tent and gazebo with only 1m between units on the pitch it can become a little busy and slow to quiet down at night.

Also non electric itches at end of site, which one camper said was much quieter than the electric pitches.

The coast is only half hour drive away and so the old is well worth a visit, especially the fish and chips and fish restaurants at the harbour.

Plenty of circular cycle routes of about 18 to 24 mile to do, one passes St. Peterís brewery worth a visit. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Snakesbutt 2 reviews from this member

 Clean site with cleaners twice a day, easy to cycle and walk there are 2 pub's in walking distance.

Plenty of hot water for showering etc Will be back!

The only down side is there is only 1 sink for washing up. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: DebbieSaunders 3 reviews from this member

 Great site, Jodi and all her staff are very friendly. Nice power showers - no constantly pressing a button for more water, the shower rooms also have toilets and there are 2 x separate toilets available.

We took our own kayak and SUP, but it's possible to hire them on site - the river is great too, very clear so easy to see the plants/fish.

Important stuff - there are two pubs within walking distance.

Will definitely return! 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Janinthevan 1 review from this member

 A dreamy place to stay. Perfect spot for peace & quiet in a natural setting.

Located right next to river and well organised for hiring or using own boat. Thank you! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Harpypaul 3 reviews from this member

 Great location, peaceful, well organised site with friendly and helpful owner.

Lovely spacious pitch in one of the 'camping bays' next to the arm of the river Waveney into which you can launch own or hired Kayaks, Paddleboards etc.

Good COVID precautions in place.

Would definitely recommend and visit again. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Barbar 1 review from this member

 Excellent site well run and very covid minded. Lovely to see the broads boats coming down the river and the amount of people using the "ditch" for canoeing, paddle boarding etc.

Just one thing I didn't understand was that the washing up facilities were unavailable but the showers were. On that point, the showers were really power showers, lovely for washing hair etc never been in a shower so powerful!

Jodi greeted us on arrival and called during the week to check everything ok and again on going home.

Cant recommend the site highly enough, very quiet and relaxing and will definitely stay again as and when allowed!

Keep up the good work Jodi. 


Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Three Rivers Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Three Rivers Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Three Rivers Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Geldeston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


44019 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Play our
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win an amazing 12V and 240V 21.5" Full HD Smart WiFi TV with Satellite Decoder worth £399 provided by outdoor superstore Towsure!

Play Here


Advertisement