Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Huttopia Versailles

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Ile de France > Versailles > Camping Huttopia Versailles Reviews

Camping Huttopia Versailles
31 Rue Berthelot
Versailles
Ile de France   (Browse area)
78000
Tel: +33 01 39 51 23 61
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: 05/04 To 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 25 Reviews
                7/10 from 25 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wiggy010 5 reviews from this member

Read all of the reviews before booking and wondered what we would find for our €40 a night. Tight roads to gain access but ok, pulled through the gates and on the barrier read, please park in the car park to check in, so had to reverse out and park. Given a pitch number but advised we could pick any comfort plus that was empty and I am glad they did. Our unit is 6. 35 mts long but some pitches we would struggle to get on and level as we do not have a motor mover. If you are used to neat cut grass and immaculate pitches this is not the site for you, it is in a forest and only the roads are tarmac. We had 24hrs of heavy rain with water everywhere but it soon dried up so was not a problem.

Negatives over, I loved the site in its very natural state, the showers were always spotless all the time and I just do not know how they managed it, the water was hot, in fact I had to turn it down every time plus showers that stay on, no pushing buttons every 10 seconds. Swimming pool looked ok but probably small at peak time and only had coffee in the cafe but this site is all about Paris and Versailles and the ease of getting to both places.

Our stay was in May and the site was only ever half full so that should be taken into consideration and don’t forget the A86 2mtr height restriction to the north of the site.

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Richard0805 2 reviews from this member

Just a short review, much has been said before.

The site is very convienient for Vesailles and Paris.

Some pitches could be difficult to get on without a motor mover and they do get muddy when it rains.

Only chemical toilet/waste water and fresh water point is the motor home service point which is at one of the lowest points of the site, so unless you fancy dragging water back up hill then you'll end up using the car to fill and empty your fresh and waste water.

The site is on the edge of town and approached through some narrowish residential streets, so care is needed.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Steph D 2 reviews from this member

We stayed for 3 nights, in a tent. Some reviews complain about cold water and queuing for showers but despite the site being almost completely full, the showers were HOT and I only ever saw one person queuing at a time, so not long to wait at all. You could regulate the temperature of the water by turning the on/off button, so either previous reviewers did not realise this or the facilities have been updated (I assume the latter). Our shower block was certainly new.

Positives:

- excellent access to Versailles and Paris

- nice pool area (with child-proof lock) and restaurant/cafe with WIFI

- staff at reception very helpful and spoke English well, lots of information on Paris/how to travel there etc. Available from reception

- shower block was always clean, there was always hot water, hardly any queues at all

- very woody, so nice and shady

- lots of families, relaxed atmosphere, quiet, no rowdiness/partying.

- 2 table tennis tables, bats and balls free to use

- table football (cost 50cents)

- playground

- pitches not too near each other due to terraced outlay

- barriers closed between 7am and 11pm, so no traffic at all during the night

- you can order baguettes/croissants from reception or choose from one of the two or three bakers within a 5-10min walk

-City carrefour supermarket within 10 mins or less on foot

Negatives:

- some pitches were smaller than others, some not very level; we saw quite a few motorhome/caravan owners struggling for a while to get their vehicle level

- a lot of cabling running along the ground as the electricity feeder blocks were quite far apart. Might be a bit hazardous in rainy weather

- It could get very muddy in heavy rain, I imagine

- no extra water points apart from in the shower blocks (not that I saw, anyway)

We had a very pleasant stay among many Dutch, British, French and German campers.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mckince 2 reviews from this member

We had stayed here for a week in April a few years ago, and liked the site; spacious and well presented. We thus used it as a stop off last night on the way home. A completely different experience. We were given a pitch that was the size of the caravan pretty much exactly; we were able to fit in a pup tent for the kids outside the front door - but no space for a table to eat off!

I chose to spend a while walking around to see what had changed. It was clear that in peak times the campers are crammed in. For the caravans, at least 50% of them did not have enough space for an awning. OK for a night, not for a week. The pool was overrun, and whilst it is lovely to have children playing, did not make for a quiet meal at the restaurant.

I had an average and overpriced entrecôte, the kids had burgers which were actually quite nice.

Back to our pitch; since booking I had swapped 'vans to a Lunar Delta Ti - so a biggish beast - and I would never have fitted it in without a mover. Then again, I would never have got my old Swift Challenger in either.

All OK if the price had been reasonable, but over 80 Euros for a night! I found out today that the twin axle supplement would have been another €50 a night! €130 a night for a small patch of dirt.

Bathrooms and toilets OK. Chem toilet disposable flush hose doubled as Campervan water fill hose (yuk. )

So a terrible review from me, but I would go back off peak as it is an easy way to do Paris

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sarahlouisehughes78 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 2 nights. First a warning. Approaching the site with a caravan is quite tricky. On the perifique shortly before the exit for the site on the A86 is a low tunnel that you can't go through. You therefore have to divert through tight town driving.

The site is very attractive. Lots of trees, nice cafe area near the pool. Good atmosphere with a real mix of nationalities. In a safe neighbourhood of Paris so you don't worry about your kids.

We had a very small, sloping pitch which was difficult to get on and off. V tight for a caravan. Water was a long way from pitch.

Loo blocks nice but more showers and loos were needed because its a busy site.

Playground nice and the pool was by an attractive cafe.

A good place to explore Paris from. Easy links to the centre.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Beccapj 4 reviews from this member

I have read so many negative reviews I was dreading staying here ( husband had booked it) for three nights at the end of three weeks in France. We arrived in the pouring rain and as the site is very tight and pitch numbers difficult to find I got soaked running ahead to find our pitch the mud was incredible. We unlike others were able to drive onto a fairly level pitch when we saw how steep and small our neighbours pitches were I breathed a sigh of relief. Great location for train to Paris and visiting Versailles. Lots of shops nearby and bakery goods available in the mornings if you order the night before, we did and they weren't the best we'd had all holiday. This was the only campsite we stayed at where I had to queue for the showers and yes they were cold. Also beware motor home service area the fresh water filling hose was being used by people to clean their chem toilets, yuk!

On the whole the stay was better than I expected and I would stay here again for the location.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Spamette 3 reviews from this member

There is no doubt that the location of this site is the big selling point. It is in a pretty little town with a train station which makes getting around very easy. Now for the negatives. The pitches are atrocious, even with levelling ramps I spent the whole night sliding to the top of the bed, and the units are absolutely rammed in and far too 'intimate' for my liking. Thankfully it didn't rain otherwise the place would have been a giant bog. We stayed for four days and no matter what time of day I tried to have a shower the water was cold. And I mean cold! Pressing the water button was the showering equivalent of asking someone to punch me in the face every 20 seconds. The site is in desperate need of someone to love it. It is tired and run down and just basically milking it's location. At €40 a night it is by far the most expensive site I've stayed at and with less or substandard facilities. Also you are firmly locked in at night. There is a number you can call if you need to leave before 7am but I didn't like having to depend on somebody answering it when my return crossing was booked. It all depends what you're after of course. If its just location then it is perfect but if you want your cup of coffee to stay where you put it after 20 minutes of pointless ramp adjustments then l would look elsewhere.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Birthdayboy60 8 reviews from this member

Having read other reviews we were a bit concerned over what we would find, however our worries were unfounded. It is a good site 20 mins from Paris centre by RER. I'ts unusual in that it is in woodland. Yes it's expensive 40 Euro a night, but what do you expect that close to Paris? Standard pitches were small but adequate for medium sized campervan, no problem with hook up our 25m cable was more than long enough. Pitches were a bit close together but it is a very friendly site. Did not use pool or snack bar although did have a drink, again not over expensive for the area. Showers etc very clean and well maintained, had to wait a few minutes one morning for a shower otherwise no queues (even in August). Reception very helpful, Although no shop on site village is only a 5 minute walk away as is train and bus stops - 10 minute bus ride to Palace of Versailles.

PS as mentioned in other reviews A86 has 2m height limit so approach via A13.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nickdales 1 review from this member

Huttopia Versailles is excellent for quick and easy access to the Palace of Versailles and the sights of Paris. End of the good stuff. It is incredibly expensive for what it is. A very average campsite. The pitches are small, mostly uneven and very unsuitable for medium sized caravans and larger ( beware your clutch ). Good shower blocks but in all only 12 shower cubicles for the whole site which is mostly tents and small campervans, so the showers are in big demand. No waterpoints except the one campervan drainage/waterpoint. An open to the sky chemical disposal point with no flush. A small snack bar with a menu that is 80 per cent pizzas. Expensive drinks. Over 5 pounds for a pint of beer. A tiny pool for a largish campsite. Noisy at night from trains nearby. No Wifi except at the bar. We booked a pitch for 3 nights all paid in advance ( 146 Euros ) and we were shown an atrocious pitch. Take it or leave it. We demanded another pitch which was found but with no spare electric hook-ups. The nearest one was too far for my 25 metre cable. We asked to borrow an extension from the office which was provided against surrender of passport. Turned out to be a domestic cable, so no good anyway. There are very few campsites in or near Versailles/Paris. So that’s why you get what you get. PS don’t try to use the A86 motorway as it’s limited to vehicles under 2 metres.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Skittlegirl 2 reviews from this member

This is the WORST site I have stayed at. We booked in for 10 days but left after 7. There was only one shower block open, the others open in August and not a drop of hot water, we turned up at 6am cold, 10pm cold, we were warned by an English couple camped opposite who were also leaving early.

A slippy mud bath when it rains, small difficult to manoeuvre pitches, full of pot holes and tree roots, awful to level we had to use large stones, extra blocks not available. You will need solar lights for the outside of your van and a strong torch to find your way to and from the toilet block. The take away from the café is awful, small portions large price, the pizza was so poor we photographed it and showed it around to the other English couples. DON'T GO to this site unless you like being ripped off.

Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Ile de France

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4689 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019