Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Lyons Pendyffryn Hall Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Conwy > Site Reviews

Lyons Pendyffryn Hall Caravan Park
Dwygyfylchi
Penmaenmawr
Conwy   (Browse area)
LL34 6UF
Tel: 01492 623 219
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03 To 10/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 25 Reviews
                7/10 from 25 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hughsan 5 reviews from this member

We stayed on the campsite with family and friends, there was a good welcome from the lady at reception, there is a good park for the children, the field itself is good, lovely views, some of the pitches are a good size but we felt the tents and caravans were too close together trying to cram everybody in. Having to fill up with water is quite a trek you need good walking legs. The toilet and shower facilities need upgrading a bit shabby looking not all toilets were flushing, the showers were ok but not enough of them, 3 wash basins is not enough for the size of the camp, there is a cleaner that comes in every morning trying her best but she has her work cut out believe me. You cant blame the site for the mess in the facilities some campers leave it that way I am afraid. If you like dogs it's ok as there are plenty of them. The children enjoyed themselves and the adults made the most of it all.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vickystewart 1 review from this member

Lovely site and the wardens are fab, helpful yet unobtrusive. Will be going back for sure. Yes the loos are a bit dated so is the pub but who cares, tbh they are clean and functional. Yes you can see the road but I liked that, was lovely at night. Thanks to all the staff especially Mark.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Earls1942 3 reviews from this member

Lovely site overlooked by mountains and woodland. Could have done with better weather to really appreciate surroundings but it is Wales!. Toilets/showers always kept clean despite some idiots abusing them. Down side here is they are rather a long way from far end of touring area. Could really do with another block. Nice club house and friendly feel to site. Would come again

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pedders1 4 reviews from this member

Just spent 4 nights at this site as we love visiting Wales. Receptionist was friendly, we had no problem changing pitches as we had at first been allocated quite a sloping one. We were on hard standing, take plenty of rock pegs, had great sea views(but also views of the A55) Some pitches are very small and oddly placed. The grass pitches are good.

Toilets. These weren't very clean, showers dangerous, there were broken tiles on the floor of one cubicle where you had to stand to shower, no-one moved them all week, the other the door would not close properly so would not lock. They are on a sensor so you have to be careful where you change. No temperature control, I thought they were quite hot for anyone with small kids.

We did not use the bar, nipped in one night but very quiet, no details of whats on if anything.

Good location for visiting Conwy/Llandudno area.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LesD 18 reviews from this member

We stayed 4 nights on the campsite and enjoyed our visit. The camping area is behind the touring caravan area. The ground is gently sloping but very hard. Hard ground pegs are essential as the soil is thin and the ground beneath very stony because it is at the base of a scree slope. The site is sheltered with a nice woodland and the mountain behind, a few trees to the front facing North and West. The camp site is 400m by 100m triangular in shape

We did not have any problems with midge that can affect some sites further inland.

It is about a 10 minute walk to the beach using paths and footbridge over the busy A55.

There is 1 toilet block with keypad codes on the doors. The Gents had 2 showers 2 urinals, 2 WCs and 3 basins. The Ladies 2 showers, 4 WCs and basins. Liquid soap & paper towels provided. The site was quiet when we stayed so nothing ran out. It is about 100 metres from the tents. The showers and lights worked on passive sensors but gave plenty of time and hot water. Outside is a washing up area under a covered porch. 3 sinks with hot & cold water. Some did not have plugs but we take our own.

We didn't use the bar or other rooms in the clubhouse but food and drinks were available with TV, quiz nights and other entertainment if you want it.

There is a small children's play area.

There are no set pitches. There are several electric hook up points and a tap for drinking water nearby.

In the village are a few shops, Post office, general store and Chinese take away/chip shop.

The Fairy Glen pub, good beer & food, is 1km away and there are 2 other restaurants near it. 1 Swiss the other Italian style.

We could have walked there but were too lazy after being out walking all day. There are many good walks in the area.

A good site close to Conwy. Best to phone and book in advance. The lady on reception was friendly and helpful. The site is mainly occupied by mobile homes/static vans all very nicely laid out with the campsite tucked away at the back.

We would happily return.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: KmarieL 3 reviews from this member

Very, very poor facilities!

There is a reason you will not find any photographs of the shower and toilet facilities as they are the worse I've ever seen. Dirty, not child friendly (as they do allow you to set the temp on the showers), tiles coming of the walls and black sludge coming out of the drains. On of my small bug bearers was there is no where to dry off, most opted to use the toilet cubicals.

The site is beautiful although we were eaten alive at night by the local midges, its very near to some beautiful beaches and places of interest.

Its a shame the touring and camping site doesn't have more facilities - one water tap, two showers (although I believe most people gave them a wide birth) central bins were emptied and removed not to be seen again, so we had to trek up to the toilet building (by the way it is a trek - especially in the middle of the night!). No information on arrival such as the location of the water taps etc and all the staff we met were a bit off'ish and generally unhelpful.

We didn't use the club facilities, but the children did enjoy the play equipment.

We would not return to this site due to some of the 'weekend' clientele - very nosey and screaming/singing/music very late into the night (past midmight!) but mainly due to the rubbish facilities. Its a real shame as its location is amazing the management need to invest in the day to day campers instead of focusing on static van sales.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Microbus1974 24 reviews from this member

The site on entering look very welcoming but our initial impressions soon went down hill to the hap hazard pitching arrangements basically left to where you like except the play area, fine you may think but the ground is uneven and with a fairly full site the was difficult until a camper offered to move there car. The ground quite frankly should be mentioned to you when you book, as I've a selection off pegs but not one penetrated the ground, with the tail off the tropical storm coming a visit to get rock pegs was needed.

There seem to constant evening abuse off the no Fires rule.

The loos / showers on several days ran out off either handwash or paper drying towel, to be honest not the most pleasant block I've come across with large amount off guests (spiders). It is some distance to the loo from the far end off camp field and can be costly if you forget the code for the loo block off which sometimes is open (so why have a code). Again as per poster in the toilets if the floor is wet please use the mop. Sorry no mop in the mens.

With such a large base building there's no shop maybe they should sell there own ice creams save the ignorant ice cream van arriving on site and driving above the speed limit and not acknowledging me when giving way.

The board Games as mentioned on the walls consist off many if not all INcomplete games and only managed to rustler up draughts from backgammon counters. The snooker table rare on a campsite seems to have hard cushions / the pool table had incomplete set off balls but were given a refund.

The entertainment listings outside the toilet were showing last weeks until the day off the next one on. The security gate down the front was broken the whole off our stay.

Bar prices seem ok But not overly impressed by being served out of date snacks in the bar.

Many faults for what could be a good site.

Disappointed.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Scorpiouk 6 reviews from this member

Easily accessible site just off main road and within a stones throw of the beach. Unfortunately there is road noise but not from inside the van. There only appears to be 3 touring pitches available as the rest are taken up by seasonals - a mixture of holiday lets and local workers. We were disturbed almost every night / early morning by worker/s being knocked up to go to work, not what you want when on a relaxing holiday. The pitches themselves are ridiculously uneven and impossible to make your unit level without a trolley jack and breeze blocks of which we had neither. It took approx 2 and half hours to set up with a curiously disjointed awning due to the van tilting at an angle and a selection of bent metal and rock pegs because of the rocky ground. Please note an owners review back in 2012 saying that these pitches would be sorted and/ or customers would be informed at reception - neither of these happened. There is a small 'adventure' playground near to the tent pitches. Fortunately the elsan point and toilet block is close by. Whilst not in the best of cleanliness due to client misuse, we found it ok. The problem is that the rather needed maintenance upkeep isn't done quickly enough so for the main part of our week 2 out of 3 toilets were unusable.

In the bar there was evening entertainment at weekends. The children's playroom was unfortunately a total tip - broken pool table / cues, board games strewn all over etc etc with kids running wild whilst parents stayed in the bar.

Access to the site is restricted due to the owners displaying static caravans for sale. The static areas are immaculate whilst touring / camping area isn't - some of the seasonal pitches are a mess.

There is a post office & general store close by. The site neither has a shop or serves food.

Would we return ? No - the pitches are the worst we've come across.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: PetRig08 2 reviews from this member

I spent many summer holidays as a child in Penmaenmawr and was delighted to find this child and dog friendly campsite just 5 mins drive away in Dwygyfylchi. On arrival you drive through the static caravan park to arrive at Pendyffryn Hall which houses the Reception and Bar with Family Room. There is a lovely exterior decking area with super views. Easy access to this site from the A55 which makes it ideal for visiting our favourite places in North Wales - Conwy & Betws y Coed / Snowdonia. We had booked an electic hook up pitch which dictated where we should pitch our tent (behind a large oak tree) as the pitches are not allocated, which could cause problems if site is really busy. It would have been helpful to know that there is rock about 2 inches below surface of grass (so you need to hammer in pegs at quite a sharp angle) as we did consider moving tent when we struggled to get pegs in ground, but a friendly neighbour came over to let us know the whole site is on rock! The upside of this, is that you are nestled at the bottom of 'our mountain', as the kids called it, which was covered in beautiful purple heather and there is a lovely walk (for the dog) along the base of the mountain to a magical dingly dell with small pond. The campsite is situated a good walk from the toilet block, as you have to walk through the touring caravan site to reach it. A security code is required for access which meant the kids couldn't nip to the loo on their own but 9 times out of 10 the Ladies shower/toilet block door had been wedged open anyway. There is a great playground for the kids and a few picnic tables. There is a good selection of takeaways in Penmaenmawr (who will deliver, although we never risked that option!) who offer discounts if you are staying at Pendyffryn. We also spent many hours on Penmaenmawr Beach, which is dog friendly, with the kids skimming pebbles, playing tennis, body-boarding and really convenient parking which is never full.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: XSASSx 16 reviews from this member

We're very sad to have just finished our short holiday at Pendyffryn Hall. It was a very last minute booking (on the day) but they were able to accommodate us despite being a site mainly for static owners and seasonal caravans.

First off, the location is ideal; straight off the A55 so just 50 miles / 45 mins from England (Chester) and easy access to Conwy / Llandudno. The surroundings are breathtaking; we pitched at the bottom of a mountain with a sea view that stretched for miles. The only downsides to this are that you only have about 3 inches of soil before you hit rock (which isn't an issue if, like us, you come prepared with rock pegs) and we had one windy day as there's no shelter from the coast.

The surrounding area is fantastic; all our day trips were less than 10 miles away. Conwy Castle is amazing, well worth repeatedly climbing towers and town walls for views of the area. There's an outdoor shop in the town for any camping equipment you may need (our airbed had a slow puncture) and a supermarket if the local shop does not suffice.

Facilities on site are excellent for the price of the site. The hall has a bar (and adjoining family bar with board games to borrow), a snooker room and games room. Unfortunately the games room was closed the whole time we were there, apparently for maintenance but there was enough to keep us entertained without it. My only grievance with the site is the shower in the facilities block. In the ladies there were two but one appeared to be permanently locked from the inside. Luckily the site is quiet and most units have their own facilities so I never had to queue. You have to press a button on the outside of the shower cubicle and then it runs for 10 mins. I only know this because my husband mentioned the information sign in the gents; there isn't one in the ladies. Once inside there is no curtain and no hooks to hang clothes or toiletries so you pretty much have to wait out the 10 mins in the shower to avoid getting wet whilst drying / dressing. This tiny improvement would make a massive difference to the shower experience.

My kids loved the adventure playground and there are nearby picnic benches which we occupied for our meals on the sunny days. The whole site had a really safe and family friendly feel to it.

Overall a fantastic site; it's not a 5* experience but it's a great value way to get up close to some spectacular scenery.

Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Conwy

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


200 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!