Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Acomb Grange Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > Acomb Grange Certificated Site Reviews

Acomb Grange Certificated Site
Grange Lane
Acomb
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO23 3QZ
Tel: 08712 884763
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 CCC Only
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 14 Reviews
                6/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: February 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Louise2612 4 reviews from this member

 I rarely leave reviews on sites but the visit we had this weekend was so bad I feel others should be advised.

We received a very cold reception on friday afternoon. I had called two days before to check the situation with the flooding in york and advised it wouldn't be a problem as york hadnt flooded in over 150 years (?!) But that anyway we would be able to pitch on the car park. On arrival the owner was quite rude and asked are you stupid caravanning in this weather, which given we had rang 2 days before I found quite insulting.

We had explained how large our caravan and tow vehicle was and there was no whay we could have pitched on the car park which was actually the end of the drive and already had an old caravan and 2. Cars on it. The owner was very disgruntled at us pitching on the grass and made no hesitation in telling her husband in front of me that she had warned us she wasn't happy.

We were told to pay the 2nd night fees by posting cash through the letter box, not to knock with it. I asked to pay via paypal. As I had with the deposit and she wouldn't take this form of payment, she wanted cash. This attitude made us feel most unwelcome, we couldn't go home though as we were there to visit family on the saturday evening.

We were given a key to the toilet block. This is also where the owner has a working business office in the same building as the toilets and shower which made for an uncomfortable visit to the toilet to say the least. There are 2 toilets and one shower and all unisex. One toilet is also in the same small room as the pot wash area which I think is totally unhygienic.

The path leading to the toilet block is covered in green slime and I slipped and fell on the first evening.

Then the chemical disposal unit. This is a septic tank and when my partner lifted the drain cover to dispose of our toilet waste the stench hit him. It was an open sewer rammed with raw sewage (faeces) drain rods were next to the drain

There was a water but and pipe to rinse our toilet but as the water but was empty we couldn't even rinse it out so had to bring it home to clean.

I have reported this site to the camping and caravan club for it's unhygienic facilities so I do hope they visit and make recommendations for improvements before allowing more guests to stay.

I have also emailed the site direct to advise them of my actions. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Lisabaker 2 reviews from this member

 We booked last weekend to come and stay, and on arrival we were very pleasantly surprised by just how attractive the camping field was.

This really is a tiny, rural site, with wild rabbits skipping around in attractive gardens. The toilets and showers are immaculate.

On arrival, we were greeted by Phllip, who kindly showed us to our pitch and gave us a personal tour of the grounds and explained some of the history on this unique little site.

Unfortunately, on starting to pitch, having driven 300 miles, we got our groundsheet down, opened the tent and found the poles were missing from the bag, my husband had forgotten he had packed them separately on our previous trip.

We went to explain to Philip and he could not have been more helpful, searching online and offering to ring round to find us a place to stay.

We will visit Acomb again, to actually camp and WITH poles this time, but I just wanted to say thank you. Definitely worth staying here and one of the cheapest sites in York. 


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sledger 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a 2 night stay at this site. On arrival there was no one to meet my wife and myself so I rang. The owner came out of a house and just told me to pitch up there just pointing. No hello or warm welcome. She didnít show us where the water or waste disposal was. There wasnít any clean water to rinse the toilet cassette out. Very unhygienic!

Sorry to say the owner wasnít very helpful (Iím trying to be polite here)

The road to the site is very narrow though a housing estate with lots of speed humps not ideal for caravans.

Wonít be returning

Only plus was 3. 5 miles from York 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Maxine and ja 1 review from this member

 My brother lives-in acomb so needed a local site new by, on the off chance of ringing was happy to be welcomed on to a lovely quite site everything was perfect, the location, the peacefulness and well cleaned facilities. Our little dog loved it as had the run of the field, very polite owners and the neighbours chatty and loved our dog. I usually go to brothers once a month, but I'm happy to say this will be our stop off point from now on. Left alone, it was our perfect break. Thankyou peter 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Ybom10 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site in one of their self catering converted stables. The decor was a little bit 1990's but is very clean, well kept and comfortable. There is a double bed in the bedroom and the owners will supply a cot or pull out bed for your child/children. It states that the accommodation will suit a family of three but in my opinion you could fit four in easily and the owners were happy with this when I asked them if we could come as we are expecting another baby next year!

The owners are very friendly and helpful and the campsite looks very nice too and as we have a camper van we will probably come back to this site again when we are visiting our relatives in York. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Josey60 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed At Acomb Grange for 2 Nights while visiting Friends Nearby. The site is situated down a long Lane. Other reviews have said it was full of potholes but these seem to have been filled in as we did not see any. The site took some finding as there are no signposts at all and we only found it by flagging down a passing police car and asking. However once on site we were impressed, there is a stone built building containing one shower with nice warm water and two toilets, one on its own and one with a toilet and sink, which I presume is for pot washing. The Elsan disposal is via a manhole which you take the cover off. There are 7 EHU Points. York is only a short drive away and there is a Morrisons less than a mile away. The site does not have kiddies play area. They also do self catering cottages. All in all a good little site and we would use it again if visiting the area. The only comment I would make is the site could do with decent sign posts. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DLevers 3 reviews from this member

 Visited this small tidy site for 2 nights 28 and 29 June 2013. Lane to the site is full of potholes. I was given good instructions on how to find the site when booking. Cost was £30 for the 2 nights which included electric.

On arrival I reported to the house when a very nice lady explained where my pitch was and pointed out the toilet / shower room and drinking water location. She also gave great instructions on which bus to use for York City centre.

First night was very quiet.

The site has 2 unisex toilets which although basic but clean. The shower is a power shower which was a great temperature and free.

Second night was a very noisy with loud music. I am unsure if the music was coming from the house or the surrounding houses. It sounded like a live band was playing. This went on until around 1am. After a busy day in York I was very unhappy about this. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Amnewton 3 reviews from this member

 Absolutely disgusting facilities. The website gave us the impression we were visiting somewhere special. This is so not the case. Firstly the grass badly needs cutting and some of the pitches desperately need reseeding as they are mud patches.

The shower needs deep cleaning, the hair needs removing from the plug hole daily and the mats and towels need changing more regularly than once a week. The washing up facilities are in the same room as one of the toilets, there are doors missing from the units under the sink and a tub of grout which is rock solid. According to the people in the next pitch that grout has been there for at least a year!

The waste disposal is also the chemical toilet disposal point and is just a manhole cover that you lift and tip straight into the drain.

The pitches are far too small and I suspect break regulations as they are too close together, particularly the three just inside the gate to the right.

At £15. 50 this is not a cheap site and not worth the price we paid. We left early as we were lucky enough to get into Rowntree Park for a night.

As with other reviewers, we saw the owner when we first arrived and then nothing else, not even an acknowledgement as they drove past.

Avoid at all costs. We will definitely not be returning. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: E Maydew 9 reviews from this member

 The driveway is approx 300yards long and is full of potholes, large and deep ones you cannot miss them and one has to travel along this driveway every time one goes out and returns. The place where one empties the toilet is a manhole which one has to manipulate the lid off first it is approx two feet down, and when I was there, there was no water to rinse the toilet out with afterwards. Also the grass did need cutting. The weather was bad but I did notice locals had managed to mow their lawns. I did see the owners on arrival to pay our fees, but after that nothing, even on the morning I was leaving, they did drive past, but no good morning, not even have a safe journey or have you had a nice time. £15,50 a night, but I will not be returning 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chelseagang 10 reviews from this member

 We pre booked and paid months ahead using this as a couple of nights stop off on way back from Scotland. We arrived around 6 pm to a packed area and could not see anywhere with room for us to pitch! Obviously we would expect to see a clear pitch free but there wasn't and being as advertised as a CCC certified location for 5 pitches we were surprised to find a mixture of 10 tents, vans and motorhomes already there squashed onto 2 small areas either side of the main driveway to the house area.

The website and write up looked really nice so we were somewhat disappointed. The lady came from the house when we knocked to try to sort us out a pitch. She perched us on a very small area (only tiny space left that was only big enough for a tent) let alone classed as a caravan pitch, as you came in the gate, but we had to put our van a different way round to how it would normally go she said due to the lack of space and it was the only way we could fit in. To be able to put up our awning we had to block the caravan next to us in, so we hoped that they were not leaving before us as we would have had to take everything down to let them out. Luckily they went the day after us.

We were crammed in like sardines and no one had any privacy you could all see what everyone else was doing. Most campers as we did, just put our chairs etc all together in the small space left. The owner made the excuse they had been away and the person looking after the site had just let everyone pitch all over the place but think was just a case of get as many in as can and make as much money as can.

The approach to the site was up an unmade road on the edge of a council estate, we did wonder at one point where on earth we would end up!. There is a chippy, costcutter and newsagents on the estate and further into the village a few other shops.

It is just outside York and a very quiet location. There is a couple of good park and rides if don't want to drive in, but an ideal base from which to explore the area.

There is a couple of water taps on site but with the amount of us there the facilities were stretched. Only one sink but its a washing up sink and in a loo! which was a bit strange. The chemical disposal was just a manhole and not a pleasant experience! This is the first and only site we have ever had to wait for showers and loos as always someone in there. We wouldn't return. 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Acomb Grange Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Acomb Grange Certificated Site dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5923 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement