Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping St Nicolas

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Le Bec Hellouin > Camping St Nicolas Reviews

Camping St Nicolas
Rue St Nicolas
Le Bec Hellouin
Normandy   (Browse area)
27800
Tel: 0033 0232448355
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 90
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 18 Reviews
                9/10 from 18 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Derekcbr 67 reviews from this member

The site is situated in the countryside but is well signposted and the directions in the ACSI book are spot on so I would say that it is easy to find.

I guess we were there in a busy time because the pitches were I’ll defined with no laid out spots, this put us off because all you could see was caravans sited in all directions.

Very quiet at night which was good for a good nights sleep. There is a bar and restaurant on site which served good food and drink and the facilities overall, including the toilet block were very good.

We chose this site as a ‘sort of’ half way stop from Calais to the Loire as an alternative to Les Andelys. If I were to compare the two I think Les Andelys would get my vote.

Don’t let this observation put you off, camping St. Nicolas is a good site with friendly and helpful owners.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tobyleeds 16 reviews from this member

We stayed for one night on our way south as it was just off the Rouen to Le Mans motorway (first exit). A very peaceful, relaxing site set in an old orchard. It is quite a sunny site with some shade (not really needed this far north) yet close to woods with plenty of tracks to explore or walk the dog.

The site is well maintained, hedges trimmed and grass cut. The toilet block is modern, push button pre-set temperature showers have a plentiful flow of warm water. There is a swimming pool and tennis court. Wifi is good across the whole site.

The price (2 people with electrics in high season was 19 euro but out of season its in the ACSI discount book so is excellent value for the money.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Martin1010 14 reviews from this member

I picked this site for an overnight stay re-route from Calais to Vendee and was really close to the main route. I was a little nervous as it was an ex municipal site but the reviews here convinced me to try. It turned out to be a really good decision.

We arrived hours late due to the mayhem of migrant invasions of the Eurotunnel and were worn out. We drove through a couple of picturesque villages to get there and on arrival, the site looked lovely just driving in. We were given a warm welcome by a lady who I think was Barbara. We pitched very near the main reception and a small restaurant that was a large hut and veranda with the sides enclosed.

There were open seats alongside in the sun. We had brought stuff to eat that night but the food looked and smelt so good we walked over to the restaurant and each had a huge portion of mussels with 'frittes'. Absolutely lovely and just what we needed after the day we had. The kids voted it as a winner as well.

The toilet block was large and clean, tennis court available and also part of the site had some statics. I think it is well worth a visit either as an overnight stop or staying a few days as I may do next time. Highly recommended and all for 28 euro for 2 adults and 2 children

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Johnylou 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 3 nights on our way south and also on the way back 3 weeks later. Plenty of showers and toilet facilities which were good. Pool was covered and warm which we used a few times.

Small bar/cafe area which was popular. Wifi available by bar.

Lovely village down hill from site with restaurants and beautiful abbey which is well worth a visit. Cycle track in village which goes for miles. You need to go to Bernay for shopping as village doesn't have any shops. Bread available to order on site.

Very good site in a beautiful setting. Narrow roads getting to site so care needed. Would definitely use again.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Viv brodie 2 reviews from this member

An absolute gem of a site. We only stayed overnight en route for the ferry from Dieppe. A lovely welcome from the site manager/owner. A drink of his home made cider was great. He said there was no rush to leave the site the following day (our ferry not till 1800) we therefore had the opportunity to visit Brionne.

The swimming pool was closed which was a shame but understandable as the site closing shortly for the winter. The shower block was clean, water hot. We played a game of boules on one of the pistes and had a long chat with lovely French couple who were taking their awning down and packing up for the winter whilst leaving their caravan in situ. We will definitely return next season for a longer stay.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Morepints 37 reviews from this member

We stopped off here for a couple of nights on the way back to the channel crossing. Set in an orchard, with bags of apples being collected for the cider, the site is at the top of a wooded hill on the edge of forest.

Services are clean and modern; the covered pool was a good place to unwind. Unusually, reception is in a wooden cabin at the entrance; there's another which acts as bar and snack bar, serving up those huge portions of moules-frites. (Honestly, one between two really is enough).

Fuel and shops in Brionne, just beyond Le Bec with its beautiful abbey - you can hear the bells from the campsite. For a hypermarket, its a little further to Bernay. There are two main routes to the site, both quite narrow. The easiest is from J13 on the A28, while the other winds up the hill from Le Bec Hellouin. I'd happily spend a week here, given the right weather.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Roskers 1 review from this member

This is an excellent, friendly site. The covered pool is good (initially it seems a little cold) and the croissants/pain in the morning all good value. It's worth trying the owner's cider - very good indeed. The pitches are generous and we were allowed to choose our own, which was refreshing.

There is a good mix of mobile homes, tourers, tents and caravans, many staying just for one night as the site is well-placed for breaking the journey from the south. But the site is worth a longer stay, as Le Bec Hellouin (Abbey) is 1. 2km away and if you have cycles, there's a wonderful route down the old railway nearby.

Thoroughly recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CarrieF 11 reviews from this member

We returned to Camping St Nicolas after 4 years with some trepidation having read about the recent changes. We needn’t have worried. Ok it’s bigger, busier, and not quite as quiet as it used to be but the site still stands head and shoulders above many others we have visited.

As before the main camping field is a mix of tents, caravans and motorhomes. The pitches are large and well marked out with good access to electric and water points. The centrally located toilet and shower block is still very well maintained and cleaned regularly. There’s a small number of static caravans available to rent on the main site; other privately owned ones are in a separate field. The new pool, snack bar etc are located near the entrance to the site and we didn’t hear any noise from them at all.

We normally avoid campsite snack bars but decided to try the ‘moules frites’ here one night, not expecting much. Turned out they were absolutely delicious, the best we had in a fortnight across Normandy and Brittany where they were absolutely everywhere! €11. 50 including a glass of wine.

The owners are pleasant, sociable people who are on site from morning til night. It was nice to see the previous warden of the municipal site still there, although she told me this would be her last season. Yes the prices have gone up slightly, we paid €18. 60 per night for two adults in a tent with electricity, but this still represents excellent value.

What used to be a small epicerie in the village is now a creperie/tea room. It wasn’t much of a shop to start with but there’s now nowhere that I could see in the village to buy basics. We mainly shopped at the Carrefour supermarket across the river in Brionne. The restaurant opposite the entrance to the abbey is also now a creperie where we had a good lunch.

We were very glad we had gone back to Camping St Nicolas and will certainly do so again.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: SGThomas 112 reviews from this member

This is a very pleasant, clean campsite which has a considerable throughput of stopover traffic. The on site catering is limited but of excellent quality. The moules frite at €7. 50 was too much for two people who had spent the day cycling and were starving!.

There is a start of a 42km voie vert in the village which goes right through to Evreux. However I would advise you to drive to the start rather than cycle from the campsite. There is a long, long hill down into the village which is wonderful except when you are returning home.

If you are staying more than one night then places like Port Audemer and Honfleur are within striking distance. Get a blue parking disc from the tourist offices in order to get 1. 5 hours free parking in the blue zones. Normal parking spaces are like hen's teeth.

Well worth staying here and it is part of the ACSI scheme.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jg73 28 reviews from this member

Lovely little site which sadly we only used for an overnight stop but would like to return in the future to explore the area. We were made welcome by the friendly owners and clean facilities. Bread available to order.

We used ACSI card so it was only 12 euros for two, excellent value. There were some statics in the adjoining field and it looked as though the ground was being prepared for more. There is a new covered swimming pool which looked very nice although we didn't use it.

Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Normandy

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3623 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019