Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Du Lac

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Midi - Pyrenees > Site Reviews

Camping Du Lac
29 Cami D Azun
Arcizans Avant
Midi - Pyrenees   (Browse area)
65400
Tel: 0033 562970188
    Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here

Pitches: 73
Open: May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 14 Reviews
                9/10 from 14 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: J + J 17 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 6 nights in Aug and can't fault the site. Location, Location-Location the views are brilliant.

The shop is handy for a few bits-tourist info, pastry's and small reception. There are two pools one for children the other for adults both slightly heated which is good when the temp is in the 30's. There is a covered clean pot wash area with washing machines-dryers, even a separate hand wash area. The toilets were always clean.

Supermarkets (Carrefour, Aldi) were in Argeles-Gasost about 10 mins down the road.

Places to visit are: the zoo Parc Animalier des Pyrenees get to feed the Marmots, goats and some parrotts for the children, and see brown bears a very good day out. All the animals are European-ish.

For scenery head to Gavarnie for a large waterfall be prepared for a long walk- an hour and a half or so each way but you can see it from the village. Also drive through the village to Col De Tentes watch out for Marmots by the ski lifts and further up the road when you get to the top you can take a short walk into Spain-didn't get time to do that. Pont d'Espagne for large lake with a cafe and stunning views again a good walk. Give Lourdes a miss its crowded and full of Tat shops. There are lots of other things to see and do but not enough time.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cathleenbarnes 1 review from this member

My wife and I chose this site for its location and reviews.

We stayed here for 7 nights and enjoyed every last minute. The site is peaceful, clean and very friendly. The owners are very helpful and information in the office is excellent.

Because of the design it did not seem to be too crowded, and it had a lovely relaxed atmosphere.

The site is well laid out, very good size pitches catering caravans, chalets and large family tents like ours. Electric and water points at the front of each edge. The toilet and washing blocks were excellent Free WiFi also available

Great site shop with a lot of basic provisions and local produce available In terms of supermarkets there is a Carrefour and Aldi (5 minutes).

A naturally beautiful environment - the panorama of surrounding majestic mountains is constantly changing in its colours and appearance.

A lovely site for couples and families.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Georgesdiana3 1 review from this member

We spent 8 nights here at the beginning of August and really enjoyed the peaceful nature of this campsite. The pitches are very generous in size and nothing is a long walk away. The facilities are very good. The owner was very helpful and was always around.

Place your order for chips for your evening meal if you are so inclined the lady makes them for you. Great little pool and lovely and quiet. You can also order bread and croissants for the following day.

I can highly recommend this site it's a great and I would definitely spend more time here. What can I add. It's a great site!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Amandabrooke 1 review from this member

“Wonderful 10 days, brilliant site!”

Having just spent 10 days here, all the good reviews are definitely true! Beautiful shady pitches of really generous proportions, immaculately clean facilities, (showers, the best we have seen)

Very peaceful when we went, although I believe it is a little different during peak season. The site insists on quiet between 2 3. 00 and 07. 00

Booking is easy and the arrival process is similarly trouble - free, the staff speak perfect English, French and Dutch and offer everything you could possibly need.

The nearest town Argeles, is about 5 minutes away where there are all the usual supermarkets etc. And a very busy market in the main street on Tuesday, (get there early if you want to park!)

I certainly recommend this site without any hesitation.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lesnoless 2 reviews from this member

Have just arrived back from Camping du Lac and had a wonderful time. When we arrived on the 26th June there were only about 6 other placements being used so we had the pick of where we wanted to pitch. We chose a quiet corner spot overlooking the reservoir. We stayed until the 9th July and it was still quiet when we left. The site was scrupulously clean as was the toilet and shower block. Above the shower block was a games room, TV room and drying/ironing room. Views from the site were beautiful. We often were the only people using the pool which was lovely just to cool off. There is a small shop and bread was delivered daily. Also a laundry. We had mixed weather, including a few thunder storms ( mostly at night) and sun (when it was boiling) and cloud when it was still warm.

We went mostly for the walking and polished off a few mountains! Lac de Gaub and refuge Oulettes was one of the better ones as was walking into Spain via Pic de Tents. The Cirque de Gavarnie (not the popular route)was also very rewarding.

We visited Lourdes but not very impressed. The caves of Bethurran ? worth a visit if it rains as was The Aquensis spa (discounts from reception)

La Rochers hotel just down the road in St Savin (run by an English couple) did very good evening meals at a good price. We cooked in most nights, a bbq if fine and in tent if not. Local Netto seemed a good price for shopping.

We had a very nice time and the owners were always very helpful and spoke good English.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dargy 34 reviews from this member

We had a wonderful time here. The site was busy yet never felt overcrowded and our well sized corner plot was peaceful with a view over the water. The facilities are kept in good order and the walk to the chemical disposal definitely kept me fit! But even the view from there was worth it. Driving out we went every where including Lourdes (way too busy), Col de Tourmalet (brilliant), Biarritz, Pau, Zaragoza, Huesca and Pamplona to name a few. This site is perfect for touring and there are plenty of places to eat locally. We will certainly go back.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andyscott 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a two week stay at this lovely campsite having booked a pitch on the strength of the reviews we read here - we were not disappointed. Excellent site. We were made very welcome by the lady at the reception. The site is quiet and peaceful, but extremely family friendly. Very good sized pitches and the toilet block was immaculate & well maintained. WiFi was free but only seemed to work around the reception, this wasn't a problem as you could use the seats and tables.

Lovely villages in the area. Delightful, 'real' France.

We will return to this site and recommend everyone to try it.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Marlow8 1 review from this member

We stayed in mid July on a '5 nights.

We arrived at 11am and the owners allowed us to pitch. Owners very friendly and helpful, reception full of tourist information.

The site has a touring field that is reserved for caravans and tents only, this comprises of a mixture of hard standings, grassed pitches with gravel strips for wheels and totally grassed pitches. The grass is cut nice and short, the borders are well maintained, ideal for campers.

On site there is a heated shower/ toilet block with free hot showers which is well maintained and kept clean and well stocked. The block also houses a wash up area with an abundance of free hot water.

Locally here is plenty to do, the national park is a couple of miles away.

The site is away from the main road and is promoted as a quiet site and indeed it was very quiet.

We would visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Shannonmiller 1 review from this member

We stayed here for two weeks in August and it was excellent.

Very helpful and friendly people who are willing to spend time to answer your questions.

The pitches were excellent - 100 square meters which provided shade or shelter during wet weather (the locals said it had been a poor summer this year. )

Onsite facilities include a shop selling basic provisions, bread delivered each morning.

Toilet blocks, showers and dishwashing all clean and we never had to wait long. Good pool area, with water heated to a pleasant temperature; which makes it good for families

The location of this campsite was great - really easy to find. Access is OK for larger vans.

We really enjoyed our stay.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Suzannmary2 1 review from this member

We stayed in mid July on for 5 nights.

We arrived at 11am and the owners allowed us to pitch. Owners very friendly and helpful, reception full of tourist information.

The site has a touring field that is reserved for caravans and tents only, this comprises of a mixture of hard standings, grassed pitches with gravel strips for wheels and totally grassed pitches. The grass is cut nice and short, the borders are well maintained, ideal for campers.

On site there is a heated shower/ toilet block with free hot showers which is well maintained and kept clean and well stocked. The block also houses a wash up area with an abundance of free hot water.

Locally here is plenty to do, the national park is a couple of miles away.

The site is away from the main road and is promoted as a quiet site and indeed it was very quiet.

We would visit again.

Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Midi - Pyrenees

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2058 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019