Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Wigrams Canalside Certified Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Warwickshire > Site Reviews

Wigrams Canalside Certified Site
Tomlow Road
Stockton
Southam
Warwickshire   (Browse area)
CV47 8HX
Tel: 01926 810303
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 Vans Only + Tents
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 21 Reviews
                9/10 from 21 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Canalside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Hannick 5 reviews from this member

We absolutely loved this campsite. The owner was very pleasant and accommodating. We stay at the big caravan club type sites when we have no other choice, but gems like this campsite are our preference for their simplicity and environment. We will return.
via mobile

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sammiboo 1 review from this member

Just spent 3 days at this lovely campsite with my 8 yr old daughter, can't say enough as to how nice the owners are, well kept grounds, flat well mowed grass, ground perfect for awnings, shower is nice & hot, clean and well maintained. Some friendly chickens & ducks. Dogs are welcome if well behaved and kept on a lead. One of those gems, I'll be going back next week although I did clip my lights on a post on the way out which was my fault. Take a wide angle if turning left over the bridge

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: ML60BAR 15 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site at the junction of Grand Union and Oxford canal, so plenty of canalside walks and boating activity to watch. A large field with no hardstanding and hookups around the edge gave a very spacious feel to the site. We feared there might be bitey things, being by the water, but need not have worried!

Facilities were very clean, but might prove inadequate if many campers there, only one shower.

Bridge pub in walking distance along the canal, but restricted opening times when we visited.

If you are after peace and quiet, an excellent choice.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Charlene78 1 review from this member

Just returned from a four night stay at wignams and have to say it was amazingly relaxing.

Very quiet and peaceful nice and level site with rural views over fields right alongside canal.

Owners very friendly and helpful lots of things to see and do in local area and a abundance of country pubs around.

Toilet block was very clean and modern (my ocd wife even liked them)1 shower 2 toilets but due to being a quiet site there was no waiting.

On a personal preference there wasn't any children there during our stay which we liked but there would only be a field to play in if a family camped here.

At 12pound a night with no ehu the price was amazing for such a beautiful site.

Would highly recommend to anyone who is after a quiet relaxing stay.

Good point/Bad point phone signal struggles during day but at night time is fine might be a problem to some but not us.

We will be returning

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cessie 5 reviews from this member

Ended up here by mistake (long story) but had a lovely time. The owner was very friendly and obliging and the site quiet, level, attractive and well kept. This is a very interesting area; one can walk straight onto the extensive canal network with all the birdlife and boat life that goes with it. There are good pubs and a delightful cafe/shop nearby in Napton on the Hill which does a tasty lunch.

Facilities new and clean though possibly a little small to deal with peak season numbers…

A delightful couple of days. Recommend highly.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrs Vanderkamp 3 reviews from this member

Peaceful, spacious well kept site with clean toilets and shower.

The field is large and level and offers electric hook up.

Situated by both Oxford and Grand Union Canals with easy access to both, it offers a good starting place for canal walks.

Ben, the owner, is very friendly and accommodating.

Really enjoyed my two night stay here and would definitely come back.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Weggy1976 1 review from this member

In 4 years of caravan bing with our young family we have stayed at great sites. I have however, never felt the need to leave a review. Until now. What a great site (our first 5 van site) and what a benchmark any others have to live upto now. Whether it was the site, the new experience or a combination of both then who knows. Anyway, Wigrams is set in a rural location with the towpath and aplenty of boating activity. A short walk to the locks and pub's. We took a day out at the nearby Draycote Water, which at 5 miles around it was just right for a 5 and 7 year old. The owners of the site were very welcoming and you sends their satisfaction of knowing people have a pleasurable stay with them. Some great blackberry picking in their field adjacent. The toilet block was spot on, clean spacious and more than adequate. Thanks and yes we will be back. My first review purely because too many happy customers probably forget to praise when they should!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mrwhippy1954 26 reviews from this member

We were only to stay the one night, a Sunday and arrived down the lane which although not wonderful was OK. The owner was out cutting down vegetation. What surprised us was that we were the only people on site, perhaps the adverse reviews had put people off?

There was an enormous field where there are about 4 pitches which didn't look to have been used as long grass had recently been cut and looked ready for baling! But we were on a well mown flat grass part running alongside the Grand Union canal, for which a gate on site took you to the towpath.

The shower and the toilet looked pretty new and were clean and the shower wonderful.

The owner stated he would be off early in the morning so we didn't see him again.

On our short visit we loved it and would like to have spent more time in the area and the canalside pubs.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jules9851 10 reviews from this member

Such a shame that a site with so much potential just didn't offer what it promised.

The good points are the pitches are enormous and in a vast field! The downside being unkempt grass which should and could have easily been cut. The toilet block is beautiful or again could be. But it was filthy infact one of the other campers took her own cleaning materials and proceeded to clean! More than I would have done. We were told it had been cleaned by the owner but not whilst we were there. Surely this should be done every day?

The owner was away for the 3 days we were there. ? Not what you would expect.

At £15 per night we felt a little expensive and complained to Ben. He did refund us but sad as could be a super place.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Hoseblanco 1 review from this member

Great location on canals, portacabin block clean and tidy, £15 for pitch and hookup.

I used hard standing next to toilet block, but others in field. Joined up with a lovely couple who hitched a lift to the pub. Owner Ben was friendly. Recommend BUT the road down to site off Tomlow Road is a nightmare of deep pot holes which the owner says a neighbour is due to fill in. I hope so soon, that is the only thing stopping me going back. I would check before booking.

Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Warwickshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1489 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019