Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Croft Caravan And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Arisaig > The Croft Caravan And Campsite Reviews

The Croft Caravan And Campsite
4 Back Of Keppoch
Arisaig
Highlands   (Browse area)
PH39 4NS
Tel: 01687 450200
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 20 Reviews
                8/10 from 20 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: JER24 1 review from this member

 Great wee location by the sea / beach. Nice and relaxing get away !

Would definitely return. Was last minute and managed to get in only place which had availability.

Would have been even better if prepared for it and got more supplies and had a plan but nevertheless is still great. Fantastic weather so made it that much more pleasant.

Tried to get somewhere with a bar too unfortunately too late in booking. Itís very basic here but still have everything needed beautiful location and views. Electric and water so survived just fine. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Fastbob 3 reviews from this member

 I camp here every year mainly because of the friendly welcome and the access to the beach and rockpools.

One time there was a terrible storm and my tent was being blown flat to the ground.

The farmer appeared and parked a JCB next to my tent to act as a windbreak. Now that's customer service.

He also loaned me his extensive tool kit when my Harley was playing up last year. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Fastbob 3 reviews from this member

 Apart from the friendly welcome all you get is a flat piece of grass, a clean toilet and a tap.

BUT none of this matters because of the absolutely idyllic location.

There are sandy beaches, rockpools, stunning views of the inner Hebrides, wildlife, loads to see and do in the area, a restaurant at the end of the lane.

This is my favourite place on Earth. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jonel 8 reviews from this member

 Everything was good. The owner was helpful and friendly.

The site had all we needed and was in a perfect location with a wonderful view over the white sands, sea and Inner Hebrides. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Veletron 1 review from this member

 At £15 per unit per night, this is one of the cheaper camp sites in the Arisaig area. Units pitch around the outside of a small field split by the access road which leads to the toilets. It did not feel overcrowded once on site, with the owners putting up a 'site full' notice in good time.

There are no showers, just toilets, tap, bins and chemical toilet disposal. Add £5/night if you need a hookup. Note that neighbouring Gorton Farm campsite at the road end is now permanently closed. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Fastbob 3 reviews from this member

 This is my favourite camp site in Scotland. Run by a friendly, laid back couple who always give a warm welcome. Facilities are absolutely basic, toilets, water and bins, that's it.

BUT, its right on it's own beach, has stunning views of Skye, Rhum, Eig and Muck ( Islands ) and there are walks and rambles among rocks and tide pools. Say hello to the friendly cows on the beach ! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ragdolly 343434 1 review from this member

 Have holiday on this site several times over the 40 years we have visited Scotland. Yes it basic with toilets only. But love this site. The owners very nice friendly people.

It's a good base for sight seeing other areas. You are right on the beach. Love paddling in the water. Fab Fab Fab 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stevep3997 1 review from this member

 I took my two boys camping at The Croft Caravan & Campsite in July 2017. They didn't have a website that I could look at, so I was going on the reviews others had left. What a fantastic place to stay! It is a working Croft, so expect an early morning alarm call from the cows in the fields next to the site.

The amenities are basic (no showers or dedicated washing area for pots and pans), but they were clean and serviceable. Mr & Mrs Macmillan are the perfect hosts, very helpful and always had a moment to chat or give advice on the area.

Arisaig village is only a couple of minutes drive, and there is a Post Office, Spar shop for most essential food stuff and a Cafe and Pub. Mallaig is 8 miles from the site and there are a few shops and cafes that you can stock up on provisions, but if you need something significant (I forgot to bring camping chairs) Fort William is your best bet, but it's a 70 mile round trip.

Despite a number of heavy downpours, the site remained solid underfoot. And the other big plus is your no more than 100 feet from the beautiful sandy bay. When the tide is out, it's a safe haven for kids to explore rock pools and collect shells.

There were a good number of canoes being used in and around the bay and inlets, I'd definitely be happy to see my kid's canoeing or swimming there. All in all, basic facilities but a superb place to camp and the scenery is breathtaking. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jelboy53 6 reviews from this member

 Exactly what it says on the sign by the entrance. A Croft. And a working one at that with a field given over to camping.

Nice flat level field with well packed soil and grass which drained well in the monsoon conditions I experienced on my 4 day visit 18th-21st Aug this year.

Very basic facilities which were adequate for me as a solo camper for a few days in a two man tent. Though a week or two might be a problem hygene wise. Plenty of space during my visit as there were only two other tents on the camping field. The majority of folk using tourers campervans etc way over on the other side.

Absolutely stunning views all around with a pure white beach a minute or so walk away. And if you wanted you could get yourself lost in all the wee sandy inlets that predominate on this coastline. Beaches seemed crowded when you saw someone else on them half a mile away!

Owner and wife both friendly and chatty and easy going over payment. My plans had to change given the weather I encountered and they were quite relaxed about the pay per day option I adopted. Took me 20mins to half an hour to pay them each morning as they seemed more interested in chatting than taking the money.

Managed two nights(between showers) on the beach with a fire to sit by and imagine that would be a big draw in the good weather. An abundance of Kayacks and inflatable rib boats dotted around the site so seemed a popular spot with the boating crowd.

Only one personal niggle about the place. Beachside pitches all taken up by some static vans and the tourers. Which spoiled the view from my tent somewhat.

All in all a very quiet remote site which would suit anyone wanting to wake up to the sound of the sea. The gulls. The oyster catchers. And the occasional MOO from the neighbouring cows.

I personally will be back. Hopefully in better weather 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Dawndon 2 reviews from this member

 This was our families 3rd visit to this site,

love the space allocated to each caravan/motorhome, not packed in like sardines like other campsites.

Very friendly owners, beach to die for, lots of people bring their own canoes which are perfectly safe to be left on the beach.

Lack of shower facilities may be a problem to backpackers, plenty of hot water in the toilets.

Would recommend this site to anyone. 


Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Croft Caravan And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is The Croft Caravan And Campsite dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Arisaig      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


209 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement