Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Club Camping Perroquet

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Bray Dunes > Club Camping Perroquet Reviews

Club Camping Perroquet
Perroquet Plage
Bray Dunes
Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais   (Browse area)
59123
Tel: 0033 0328583737
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 11 Reviews
                8/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Curleywurley 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for one night on the way to the channel tunnel. Reception staff very friendly both on booking via email and on arrival. We had a quiet pitch near the sports facilities. I'm sure it wouldn't have been so quiet in peak season.

There were a few practical difficulties in finding drinking water ( near the washing up facilities) and no motorhome disposal point that we could find. We weren't told about paying for the showers and didn't find out until the following morning.

The site is easy to find and is very popular with French and Belgium holiday makers. Enjoyed a walk to the beach which is about a kilometre away.

Out of main season, the site was peaceful but not all facilities were open. We were prepared with food for an evening meal and breakfast as the supermarket was too far away for a trip by bike if you don't want to go in your motorhome once you are set up.

There appeared to be work in progress to upgrade pitches to service pitches which will be really helpful when complete. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ReginaldMolehusband 3 reviews from this member

 We stopped here for one night at the beginning of our holiday. Only 30 to 40 minutes drive from Calais, it is well placed and easy to find.

The site is huge and has a large number of statics. It is well cared for and well organised. Tents and caravans are located in amongst the statics, near the entrance tourers are in small cul de sacs of about 6 places, each place enclosed by hedges. There was a generous amount of space. Facilities are clean and good. A road of about a kilometre through the dunes will bring you to a second part of the site by the sea. More statics are here with some touring sites imaginatively placed in amongst the sand dunes. There is a bar, restaurant, take away etc.

I would recommend the site, but with reservations - it didn't really feel like a campsite! It's more of a holiday village with space for some tents and caravans. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dawath1948 21 reviews from this member

 Superb site. We arrived early evening on a Sunday having pre-booked, checking in was simple and we opted for the fob for the showers.

We were shown to our pitch in a cul-de-sac with four delimited spaces, a little bit of a slope nothing to get excited about.

Toilets are cleaned twice a day, both morning and evening, the cleaner taking at least two hours each time, lack of seat not a problem, either take your own or buy toilet seat covers, the majority of visitors (French) on this and other sites we have visited in France ALL take their own toilet paper, even if the site does provide it.

The bar/restaurant at the entrance served excellent food, pleasantly served. The small supermarket across the road stocks almost anything you could need, and next door is a camping supermarket, for fresh bread there is a small patisserie down the road that opens before 07:00.

We could not find fault with the site the facilities or the staff we encountered.

The only problems were caused by English tourists arriving trying to use main electrics and being surprised the site had European sockets. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stefano 6 reviews from this member

 We used this caravan site for one night before our ferry from Dunkirk. It is a massive site, mainly for static caravans, many shops/restaurants close by, close to the beach (large but not nice) and just 30mins from the ferry terminal.

The toilet block and washing facilities aren't great: cleanliness just acceptable, no toilet rolls and the lukewarm showers work with 1/4-5 mins (you can't stop the water flow!.

At 8pm the electricity stopped working so I went to the warden, who without a word of english said that it couldn't do anything as the reception closes at 7pm so I should have waited until the following morning! Result: I had to use the gas for the fridge and torches all night. The electricity was put back to order at 9am!

When I went to pay the bill, despite my complaints about the poor service, I received no discount at all as they kept saying that after 7pm the caretaker goes home! Definitely not recommended. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Yvonne B 17 reviews from this member

 This site is pretty basic, cheap & cheerful. It is fine for an overnight stop to break up long travel times.

The reception staff were helpful & there is 24 hour security on front entrance.

The shower blocks were clean & tidy, but they do not provide loo roll & shower is 1 euro. The launderette is locked overnight.

There are a few shops, garage, bars & cafes nearby. Some are closed on Mondays.

There is a nice dog walking area, via which you can get to the sand dunes/beach, if you are feeling fit. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jonnmedds 69 reviews from this member

 I'd say this site is OK! But for us, nothing special.

It is a holiday park and can get busy at weekends as most of the site is occupied by Statics, as such weekends are noisy though weekdays were ok.

We turned up at around 4pm after a leisurly drive up from Rouen. Reading the other reviews here we were expecting a lovely hedge lined pitch a la french stlye. Unfortunately we were given an uneven patch of grass next to the road that leads from the top of the site to the bottom. Come late night this road can be quite busy and noisy as people drive their cars from the bar near the coast to their caravan/tent.

The site itself is well looked after, the toilets and showers were very clean and the on site shops stock enough for emergency vists.

Being close to the sea was great, once on the beach you're only a two minute walk from Belgium.

Would I recommend this site, probably, but make sure they give you a pitch closer to the reception area. Although this part of the site is further from the beach, it's much quieter and the pitches are fantastic. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ma+Pa Clampett. 12 reviews from this member

 We had pre-booked a pitch at Club Camping Perroquet, so when we arrived, after we had booked in we were shown to our pitch. Surrounded by hedges about five feet high on three sides, for a largish pitch, it was quite private, especially when we put the breeze blocker up across our tent door. Wi-Fi is free, (but I could not use it as the wireless on my lap top is playing up), but the showers you have to pay for. This is done on a token basis, or, a pre-pay fob, not knowing how long the money on this would last(we had a fob) we put 7. 5 euro on it for six days. When we handed it back, there was still 4. 5 euro left, and that was both of us showering every night in lovely warm showers, it was working out around 50-60 cents a shower.

This is a very large spread out site, we were 1500 metres(about 1 mile)from the bar, shop, friterrie(chippy), Pizza City and the children's club, as we were at the reception end of the site. There are two small bars, and a tobacconist shop just outside the gate, but they were closed for about 8pm most nights. A small super-market is five minutes away, in Belgium, as this site is right on the Franco-Belgian border. The other end of the site is very sandy, as it is on the edge of the sand dunes and most exceptional beach beach which seemed to be endless. The prices here seemed to be more reasonable for drinks and food than the first place we stayed, see our review for Croix-Du-Vieux-Pont. Also this site was quiet at night after 10pm.

The sanitary facilities were kept spotless by a team of cleaners, although the toilets have no seats on them(maybe they got fed up of replacing broken loo seats, and changed them for a seatless type), and you have to provide your own toilet roll.

We found Perroquet to be an ideal place from which to travel around, as you have a choice of going into France or Belgium, Iepers(Ypres) is about 20miles away. This area is full of history from WW1 and WW2. Bray Dunes itself is a pretty little town which has cash points in it, a few souvenir shops, and a promenade which is pleasant to walk along

Would we go back to Perroquet, most definitely as there is so much to see and do around there and the bonus of being half-an hour away from the Dunkirk ferry terminal. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Deva7 3 reviews from this member

 We used this campsite from your reviews as a stopover from Amsterdam to spend a couple of days touring around before heading home. It is not what I would consider a traditional campsite, but an ideal setup for what we wanted. Toilets and such like are spotless, free hot water (we had to pay in Holland) showers are done on a key charge, we used a euro so far. Plenty for older children to do if they are interested in tennis and ping pong, archery crazy golf seems to be lots of things going on. The beach is huuuuuggge fantastic beach. There is a sauna in the middle of the park which is free you just have to leave a 30 euro deposit and book in advance with reception. The Carrefour is a 5 minute drive its not a huge one but more like a smallish supermarket for locals, but more than adequate to supply the provisions for glampers LOL:)

The receptionist we dealt with spoke very good English, she gaves us the option of pitching on grass or on sand, we chose grass which is further to the beach. We had a lovely spot with marked off pitches and ample space for our needs.

Eating out during Low season, in the evening after 5 o/c Bray-Dunes is shut, so we went to De Panne in Belgium and ate moulles and frites which were fantastic at a marvellous restaurant.

Wifi is free, access by card which you can get from reception.

Electric hook up is 2 pin connection.

We will be coming here again. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Linwolf 6 reviews from this member

 Not much change from the 2008 review already given here. We also used the site for a night stop before a morning Norfolkline ferry.

As said before this is a huge site of mostly statics. We were given a very large hedged pitch not far from the entrance. 30.10 for 2 adults and 2 children (but both charged as adults) with electricity, but this also included use of tennis courts, archery and mini golf.

Large bar and restaurant at rear of site near beach but over 1km away from the front of the site. Decent shower facilities but token required from reception, we didn't realise. Arrived at 1.30pm and didn't book, there seemed to be more than enough space. Note care required over some speed humps.

There is a decent Carrefour shop in town with fuel. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tony_brown 9 reviews from this member

 We booked this site after searching for a French campsite close to the ferry ports and located on the beach for the first week of our French holiday.

We found booking to be helpful and friendly via email without a deposit being required.

We arrived late afternoon on the Friday having found the resort of Bray Dunes and the site itself quite easily and well signposted from the autoroute, some 40 minutes drive from Calais.

The ladies in reception spoke very good English and soon booked us in, having our email reservation to hand. We were quickly shown to our pitch which was grassy and enclosed within tallish hedges in a small cul-de-sac of four pitches in a quiet part of the site close to reception and toilet facilities.

The site is located right on the Belgium / French border but is split into two specific areas divided by the protected dunes, the top part being located close to the entrance with soiled / grassed areas and the bottom part located just to the rear of the beach amidst sandy dunes.

Positive aspects about the site:

Amazingly clean toilets / showers and washing up areas - cleaned in rotas throughout the day. We were well impressed.

Landscaped areas and hard landscaping well maintained and clean.

Facilities were excellent, bar, restaurant, shop, library (with free wifi), animation, table tennis, take-away, pony trekking and water sports available. Activities and entertainment most nights but these were all based at the bottom of the site. At the top of the site is a fantastic tennis court, crazy golf course, bmx track and MUGA (closed at teatime though) and a small park area.

Site Location - 10 mins from Bray Dunes resort (France) and 15 mins from La Panne (Belgium) both within walking distance of the site along the beach. Beach is large and clean with planted sheltered areas close to dune. Sand shelves gently out to sea in banks (can walk 50m out and still it is up to your knees !).

Staff - friendly and helpful - we were one of just two Brit families camoing and they looked after us both well. 24 hour security on the gate and site the is covered by CCTV.

Supermarket 100 yards away (in Belgium and was cheaper than France for shopping), restaurants/bars close to camp gates.

Electrics - 4amp and 10amp - our pitch was Negative Earthed and needed a Euro Converter as well - bought on ebay with a supply checking unit for about 15 delivered.

Pitch sizes - generally large (our tent was 7 x 3 metres) and we had play space and parking space left.

Cost is reasonable in my opinion (check the tarrifs on their website)

Negative aspects:

Distance from top of the site to the beach/beach side facilities about 1,2oo metres away in part up and down steep hill).

Small groups of French kids, whose parents owned statics, wandering around making too much noise .

Little to do at night at the top of the site if you didn't want to go outside the site gates (but this could be a positive point as it was quiet). There is some latish noise at the beach part of the site but nothing bad.

Overall rating - 8/10 and we would go back but only as a short break/stopover. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Club Camping Perroquet child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Club Camping Perroquet?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Club Camping Perroquet dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bray Dunes      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7220 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements