Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Dunbar Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Dunbar > Dunbar Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Dunbar Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Oxwellmains
Dunbar
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH42 1WG
Tel: 01368 866881
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 115
Open: 01/04/2024 to 02/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 83 Reviews
                9/10 from 83 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  83 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Pendywooley 45 reviews from this member

 First stop on tour around Scotland, chose this site/area in hope of less rain and it worked for us.

Site overlooking the sea with some more sheltered areas. Supervised entry on arrival, and help with choosing pitch.

Lovely views and sunsets from pitch, of Dunbar town and the sea/beach.

Dog walk enclosed and fair size.

Only one toilet block.

Didn't find much info leaflets (told about walk involving caves when at another site - pity didn't find this when there).

Waterpoints were fair distance from pitch, would have been good to have more.

Felt that site was run a bit for the convenience of wardens, not the visitors.

Summary: Lovely location and views, but too far to walk into town with dodgy knees. Lucky with weather, good for dogs. 


Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gerial 8 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed our stay at Dunbar and were lucky to have lovely weather and splendid views out to sea.

The site did not seem too crowded.

We took the coast path to Dunbar on one day, but found the close proximity of golfers and their balls a little unnerving.

However on our second day we walked the other way to the lighthouse and back along the rocks and beach which we thoroughly enjoyed. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fiznlil 42 reviews from this member

 Beautiful views, lovely walk to nearby beach.

Easy drive to Dunbar town and other tourist places.

Staff were helpful upon arrival and knowledgeable about local attractions

We will visit again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tob 63 3 reviews from this member

 Good site a bit further out from the town than we thought (wife has a mobility issue with her knee) but a nice location with lovely views.

The facilities are good clean and well looked after but can be a bit of a trek if you are at certain points of the site.

As mentioned before the water points can be a bit far away as well.

The staff are pleasant and well informed.

All in all a good site to visit. 


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jackie936 3 reviews from this member

 What a find this caravan park was. Beautiful views. Toilet facilities and grounds were so well

Kept and clean and tidy 10/10

Staff were so friendly and helpful nothing was any bother to them.

Lots of towns around area to visit.

Was our first visit but we will be back 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Spholl 3 reviews from this member

 Very Clean well run site, good location, comparatively insect free.

Easy to get to. Easy distances to lots of small interesting towns and other attractions.

Good views from the pitch that I was given whilst also having a bit of shelter from the wind.

Easy walk to the beach but not direct from the campsite, a surfing beach rather than for swimming.

The waves made plenty of noise which could be heard at night.

Walking to Dunbar is possible, but you do have to navigate the golf course, and be aware of golfers playing. 


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Happy Grandad 2 reviews from this member

 This campsite is a delight, a jewel int he crown.

The views out onto the Forth are stunning. The site staff where extremely welcoming and informative.

The facilities were all immaculately clean considering the amount of campers.

The dog walking routes are some of the best I have seen. The pitches were well laid out and tidy.

There is plenty of places locally to get groceries etc.

I would recommend this site to anyone who wishes a relaxing weekend. 


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: PonteJohn 10 reviews from this member

 Lovely site plenty of space view of bass rock. Good facilities helpful staff. Beware strong winds wind out awning was destroyed in the night !

30 mins walk to Dunbar nice little town and harbour- fresh lobsters for sail in hut near castle harbour. 10 mins walk to white sands beach and lighthouse- lovely.

Train 40 mins to Edinburgh also bus to north Berwick well worth a visit. Boat trip to bass rock brilliant. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ymecha 3 reviews from this member

 This exposed site is totally unsuitable for tents. We had our own tent badly damaged by incredibly strong winds. We witnessed caravan awnings and other tents being ripped apart and people driving away leaving their destroyed tents behind.

We are seasoned campers, having camped on most Scottish islands and the highlands but its fair to say this site is the worst we have ever stayed on.

The wardens did little to help newbies and a young couple whos tent was ruined said the experience has put them off camping for life sadly.

The facilities were clean and tidy. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Alronald 11 reviews from this member

 Excellent campsite experience, right from the moment we arrived. Great welcome, offered several pitches and shown the facilities.

One of the best dog walks on a site I've seen - an enclosed field for letting them run free and paths leading off towards the beach.

Close to Dunbar with shops and places to eat.

Overnight stop - reckon we could have spent a week here 


Previous     83 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Dunbar Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Dunbar Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dunbar      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2165 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement