Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Dunbar Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Site Reviews

Dunbar Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Oxwellmains
Dunbar
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH42 1WG
Tel: 01368 866881
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 115
Open: 01/04 to 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 63 Reviews
                8/10 from 63 Reviews

Photos (17) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  63 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: VenessaR 8 reviews from this member

Love this site! Looking out over Firth of Forth, magnificent views of Bass Rock, Isle of May, Dunbar. Lovely sunsets.

Clean facilities, well up to CCC standards.

Particular attraction is enclosed dog exercise area.

Don't bring your awning!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dartgirl81 23 reviews from this member

We really liked this site, big pitches, plenty of grass and lovely sea views from virtually every pitch.

Staff were friendly and the site is kept clean and tidy.

Be warned it is very exposed, we were there for a week and every day it seemed to be blowing a gale.

The only sort of minus is we thought they closed the facilities a bit early for cleaning. These are closed at 10. 30am-12. 00. So don't think you'll be having a shower after your lay in!

Would definitely return if we're ever up this way again.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paulmold 40 reviews from this member

Great location with fabulous views out to see and Bass Rock and Isle of May. Site is tiered so everyone gets a view but be warned, can be extremely windy coming straight off the sea. Facilities immaculate. Great playground for kids. The town of Dunbar is about 2 miles away. Not a great selection of shops but necessary teashops and a lovely walk along the sea front with its harbour. Provisions can be obtained from large Morrisons just out of town and next to a good garden centre with good cafe.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MalcolmR 33 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a week, Facilities first class faultless, great showers with hooks and a stool. Spotlessly clean, and everyone seemed friendly. During our stay we had a few nights of 20mph winds and 40mph gusts, its an exposed site, has easy road access many nice local places to visit or walk. Lovely flat pitches great views, superb dog walk areas, hard standing need rock pegs grass easy pegging. Town and supermarket 2 miles away. Drying area could be better, poor lighting to the toilets and dustbin area quite a trek in the dark. We did not see a daily weather reports posted up or not advised by the Wardens of high winds. They closed the washing up and main toilets for about 2 hrs for cleaning, instead of closing one at the time.

I would certainly recommend this site and return if visiting the area, the Male Warden was a bit of a Jobs worth but his wife was very friendly and extremely helpful like most club wardens are.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Adamedwardsteather 25 reviews from this member

A superb site. Fab see view.

Warm welcome. Refund given as we came by bike. Escorted to our pitch. Apology for the nearby wedding and possible noise, not their fault. Spotless facilities. Even a burger van on site so could get food without having to go off site.

Very easy to get to off National Cycle Route 1.

Usual great standards expected of the Camping and Caravanning Club. Did not disappoint.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dinx 11 reviews from this member

Hi just returned from five nights at this site, site very easy to find straight off the a1m well signposted access road which was very smooth with lots of passing places. The site itself was immaculate from the grass the flowers to all the facilities. All of the pitches were nice and wide plenty of space in between units the staff very pleasant and helpful. Must say that the toilet block is the cleanest I have used power showers lots of hot water wide cubicles. I would recommend this site and will go back. Not a lot on site for kids other than small play area but that's the norm for club sites as we were group of adults only did not affect us.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The Mitchell4 1 review from this member

First trip to Dunbar Camping and Caravan site. Lovely place, great play area for the kids at the far end of the site, shower/toilet/washing up facilities all very clean and well maintained. Great addition of a family washroom which is ideal when travelling with toddlers/preschoolers. A bit further to the beach than anticipated, if heading down with small children it's really too far to walk. 5 mins in the car though. It was a very quiet site despite being busy on the May bank holiday weekend. Although there is nowhere to plug in hair straighteners etc, the hairdryers which are 20p are quite powerful and the 20p lasts ages. The only thing that would improve the site for those like us in small tents would be a covered cooking/ eating area. We had thunder, lightning and heavy rain late afternoon til quite well into the evening. Had to decamp to the Chinese restaurant in Dunbar for dinner (the food was very nice though!) Hope to be back soon!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Zackyboy 13 reviews from this member

Stayed here for three nights in lovely weather. The site was not too busy. The site is large and spacious with elevated grass and hard standing pitches. Most pitches have great views out towards Dunbar and the sea. The toilet and shower block was always clean and tidy and cleaned every morning. (Not too sure if it is suitably large enough if the site was busy) There is a large children's play area towards the bottom of the site. There is a reasonably well stocked shop on site. The staff were always found to be helpful and friendly.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alexwood146 3 reviews from this member

Quick summary: one of the best sites we've visited. Picturesque location. Truly immaculate facilities. Very helpful wardens. Pitches may need rock pegs. Rubbish bins located outside the campsite entrance.

We stayed in our Camplet Classic, arriving to pitch up in ridiculously windy weather. This later ended up with gusts of 70 mph through the night in what is a very exposed campsite.

The site location is down a single track road. There are plentiful, large, passing places so the final two minutes getting to the site entrance won't be a problem - even for the largest units/trucks.

You'd be hard pushed not to get a sea view from your pitch! They are level, large and well drained. While there I was told that it was originally a lime quarry and then had been in filled to reclaim the land. For this reason you may find that a few centimetres below the surface you'll hit bits of stone and gravel. Although you could probably hammer in straight pegs with a heavy hammer, some rock pegs would be far more secure. Again, this site is quite exposed.

There is only one amenities block for the site. We never had to queue but you may find that morning rush hour would be best avoided. The block and surrounding grounds are really well looked after. The accessible room was large, clean and well equipped.

There are two dog walking areas, one was large and open. Access to the beach is either a two minute car journey or a ten minute walk.

Definitely be back; one couple had been there six times.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mischka 47 reviews from this member

We have just had a good weekend at this site. It is well laid out on terraces, so everyone gets a fabulous sea view. Staff were welcoming and the toilet & shower block was spotless. Hairdryers needed 20p, which is a bit daft these days, when everyone is consuming limitless electricity at their pitches. During the day, this was a peaceful site.

However both the Friday and Saturday night we were there, there was lots of noise coming from a nearby venue, so we could hear loud disco music and speeches using microphones. This went on beyond midnight on the Saturday. We were in a van with our windows closed and still found it disturbing and intrusive. I appreciate that this is outwith the control of the CCC, but it did reduce our enjoyment of an otherwise lovely site.

Previous     63 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Lothian   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3286 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019