Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Dunbar Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Dunbar > Dunbar Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Dunbar Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Oxwellmains
Dunbar
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH42 1WG
Tel: 01368 866881
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 115
Open: 01/04 to 02/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 66 Reviews
                8/10 from 66 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  66 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Wagglwdance 1 review from this member

 A friendly welcome from the very helpful staff, wonderful views of Dunbar and the Firth of Forth, good pitch condition.

Strong pegs for tents essential as quite stony ground underneath the grass.

Child friendly play area with climbing frame/wall, slide, swings, grass area for ball games.

Small shop on site but only emergency supplies. Asda supermarket is 2 miles down the road with everything you forgot.

Perfect holiday on a wonderful site

10/10 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Dawsa 1 review from this member

 A very pleasant site Owners very helpful Well kept pitches very clean toilets and showers and other facilities

Wonderful views of coast, Bass Rock in particular. Pity access to beaches was not within easy walking distance but beach one mile away was lovely and very select.

We will visit here again soon. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Astral weeks 10 reviews from this member

 Being a fair weather camper the forecast looked good for the Easter weekend. Other people thought the same and this was our 4th choice, (the others being full) but this turned out to be in our favour.

Booked online, arrived and escorted to our semi sheltered spot by the ruined tower. Decided to walk into Dunbar along the golf course. Many warnings about stray balls but the golfers were all friendly. The walk takes a bit longer than expected due to following the meandering coastline. Took a taxi back with our fish and chips (not recommended).

Next day, excellent dawn chorus and then managed to get burnt to a frazzle, followed by an easy walk to the lighthouse.

The site is astonishingly clean, kept in immaculate condition and there is a lot of planting taking place to act as wind breaks. If I have to find a criticism it was the lavatory and shower block being shut for cleaning for 1 1/2 hours in the morning. Mind you, they were the cleanest loos I have ever seen on a campsite.

We would certainly return especially if the weather is the same as this weekend however I do understand it can get pretty windy. 


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: VenessaR 8 reviews from this member

 Love this site! Looking out over Firth of Forth, magnificent views of Bass Rock, Isle of May, Dunbar. Lovely sunsets.

Clean facilities, well up to CCC standards.

Particular attraction is enclosed dog exercise area.

Don't bring your awning! 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dartgirl81 23 reviews from this member

 We really liked this site, big pitches, plenty of grass and lovely sea views from virtually every pitch.

Staff were friendly and the site is kept clean and tidy.

Be warned it is very exposed, we were there for a week and every day it seemed to be blowing a gale.

The only sort of minus is we thought they closed the facilities a bit early for cleaning. These are closed at 10. 30am-12. 00. So don't think you'll be having a shower after your lay in!

Would definitely return if we're ever up this way again. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Paulmold 57 reviews from this member

 Great location with fabulous views out to see and Bass Rock and Isle of May. Site is tiered so everyone gets a view but be warned, can be extremely windy coming straight off the sea.

Facilities immaculate. Great playground for kids.

The town of Dunbar is about 2 miles away. Not a great selection of shops but necessary teashops and a lovely walk along the sea front with its harbour.

Provisions can be obtained from large Morrisons just out of town and next to a good garden centre with good cafe. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MalcolmR 35 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a week, Facilities first class faultless, great showers with hooks and a stool.

Spotlessly clean, and everyone seemed friendly. During our stay we had a few nights of 20mph winds and 40mph gusts, its an exposed site, has easy road access many nice local places to visit or walk. Lovely flat pitches great views, superb dog walk areas, hard standing need rock pegs grass easy pegging.

Town and supermarket 2 miles away. Drying area could be better, poor lighting to the toilets and dustbin area quite a trek in the dark. We did not see a daily weather reports posted up or not advised by the Wardens of high winds. They closed the washing up and main toilets for about 2 hrs for cleaning, instead of closing one at the time.

I would certainly recommend this site and return if visiting the area, the Male Warden was a bit of a Jobs worth but his wife was very friendly and extremely helpful like most club wardens are. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Adamedwardsteather 29 reviews from this member

 A superb site. Fab see view.

Warm welcome. Refund given as we came by bike. Escorted to our pitch. Apology for the nearby wedding and possible noise, not their fault. Spotless facilities. Even a burger van on site so could get food without having to go off site.

Very easy to get to off National Cycle Route 1.

Usual great standards expected of the Camping and Caravanning Club. Did not disappoint. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dinx 11 reviews from this member

 Hi just returned from five nights at this site, site very easy to find straight off the a1m well signposted access road which was very smooth with lots of passing places.

The site itself was immaculate from the grass the flowers to all the facilities. All of the pitches were nice and wide plenty of space in between units the staff very pleasant and helpful.

Must say that the toilet block is the cleanest I have used power showers lots of hot water wide cubicles. I would recommend this site and will go back.

Not a lot on site for kids other than small play area but that's the norm for club sites as we were group of adults only did not affect us. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Mitchell4 1 review from this member

 First trip to Dunbar Camping and Caravan site. Lovely place, great play area for the kids at the far end of the site, shower/ toilet/ washing up facilities all very clean and well maintained.

Great addition of a family washroom which is ideal when travelling with toddlers/ preschoolers.

A bit further to the beach than anticipated, if heading down with small children it's really too far to walk. 5 mins in the car though. It was a very quiet site despite being busy on the May bank holiday weekend.

Although there is nowhere to plug in hair straighteners etc, the hairdryers which are 20p are quite powerful and the 20p lasts ages. The only thing that would improve the site for those like us in small tents would be a covered cooking/ eating area.

We had thunder, lightning and heavy rain late afternoon til quite well into the evening. Had to decamp to the Chinese restaurant in Dunbar for dinner (the food was very nice though!)

Hope to be back soon! 


Previous     66 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Dunbar Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Dunbar Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dunbar      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4970 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020