Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - White Bear Marina

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

White Bear Marina
Park Road
Adlington
Chorley
Lancashire   (Browse area)
PR7 4HZ
Tel: 01257 481054
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: Caravan Storage Only
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 13 Reviews
                7/10 from 13 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: January 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Please note that as from 2012 this site no longer accepts tourers or motorhomes, it is now just caravan storage only. No other facilities available to touring caravans.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Trikermum 3 reviews from this member

Really sad this site is not accepting tourers after the end of September. Will only be taking vans for storage, just informed by office staff as we left this weekend.

As previously stated nice and quiet in easy walking distance of village

Specially nice in the winter as no mud all hardstands,

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sheena44dunne 1 review from this member

I have read some of the reviews for white bear, and some don't give it justice, they have got a fantastic shower block [new] and free it's key coded. It's all electric hook ups.

It's a very secure site with a barrier which it's open from 8am till 5pm so if you need to go out after 5 you need a fob [20]deposit. Plus lockable double gates down side you need a key again[50] deposit. But you get this money back at the end of your visit.

Most of the time we are on our own, only because people don't give it a try, it's great as you over look the boats and at night it's lovely to smell the burning fires from the boats, everyone who lives there are friendly as well.

It's great for cycling down the canals to botanay bay. I try go once a month to the site because they have 3 pubs within 5min walk, they are all very friendly, small co-op on the corner if you run out of anything and it opens till 10pm. Only 14 per night and no extra charge at bank hols.

Down side is the road on the site could do with tarmacking but its not a big problem. Not much for children to do, no park on site but there's a big one across the road.

The girls at office are really helpful, there's a cafe on site only opened mon/fri but never used it. It is also animal friendly.

Date of Visit: February 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Silverwood 11 reviews from this member

This site has now got fully refurbished toilets and shower blocks all brand new, please don't let some of the very negative points put you off. I've been here all weekend & you can hear a pin drop, pitch area is now fully gravelled as stated by others, main access road does have potholes & puddles but I'm sure given time & money these will be rectified

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Glenalco 3 reviews from this member

A gravel circle with hook up. It is a fair walk to the toilet and shower block. The information pack is out of date and the staff were not helpful.

The barbecue had dirty utensils and rubbish lying around. The noise from the factory is a constant drone at night and the trains blast there horn till 11pm start again at 6am. The biffa bin gets emptied at 4am every Tuesday.

There is one shower for all the boat people and the caravans. The rates are more expensive than most.

Date of Visit: February 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Galaxyneo 3 reviews from this member

We also stayed in Feb2010 and yes it was very wet, it wasn't exactly muddy as its gravelled but big murky puddles where everywhere and no matter how hard you try you do walk the stones in.

This site is a very pleasant site but doesn't offer a holiday experience so to speak, we stop the night now and again as we have family in Chorley and we think its grand for that. Its 12 per night and you don't have to be off until 12 midday the next day which is great for a lazy morning & good brekky. Its right by the boats, the showers were hot and the toilet block lovely and warm with a code given when you get there so not everybody can use them. There's a nice cafe on site and a spar just round the corner along with 2 pubs and a pizza place, cant go wrong ! Across the road is a brill park for kids to play with swings, footy nets etc.

We will be going back again soon, I would stay a couple of nights but I think that's its limit.

Date of Visit: February 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cufcbarside 68 reviews from this member

The not so good bits.

The pitches are not in the best condition. I would describe what we saw on one pitch but this is a family website. This was reported to the on site team. The site was muddy. The showers are immersion heater types and go cold very quickly. The noise from the adjacent factory kept me awake

The good bits

It is a site with massive potential. The views over the marina are nice. Its ideally located for the very small town centre of Addlington. There is a big tescos direct in chorley about a 10 min drive

Overall.

It needs some overhauls and the pitches need a good sorting out. The site girls were very understanding to their credit

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Quixall 12 reviews from this member

We've just arrived back from spending a couple of days at this site & thoroughly enjoyed it. When I first tried to book it was closed for refurbishment & reopened 1st Sept. Each pitch has hard standing & EHU. There is also new fencing & what looks like new gravel paths. We were given the codes for toilets, showers etc on arrival as well as helpful info about the surrounding area & were made to feel welcome. The site is very well lit, no need for a torch & as has been previously said most amenities are within a few hundred yards of the gate which is ideal. The 12 p/n we considered really reasonable with EHU & free showers. We'll definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Skoota 12 reviews from this member

Arrived here at 10am and booked onto the site after being given an information pack with all you need to know in it, paid fees 12 P/N with EHU, site area is a slight sloping arc of hardstanding pitches at the end of the marina, it was pretty quiet too although at night there was a humming noise from nearby offices/units that ran most of the time.The toilets and shower block was coded (provided) so only those in the know could use them, also were clean everytime I used them,pity it's just the one shower though.

There's the Bridge Inn nearby where beer was reasonable and entertainment provided most nights, up the road is the White Bear Inn,also good beer and food available, a Bistro bar and The Spinners Arms, a real ale pub with an excellent range of cask ales but no Guinness.

The train station is not far away and there's a small late co-op-(10PM), post office and indian/chinese takeaways plus a chippy not open sat/sun,a pizza place and more pubs down the road we did'nt visit.

You can take a circular walk down the canal and back around the A6 back to the marina,there's also a park across the road.

Would stay here again.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mindermum 6 reviews from this member

Visited here over the weekend, very friendly people. Lots of local pubs, train to Manchester and Blackpool within 5 minutes walk.

There is noise from the nearby Bridge Inn pub (music) but it did stop at 11pm. It didn't affect our enjoyment of the site - just thought I would mention it.

Showers are powerful and adjustable and free. There was only 1 shower but I never had to wait.

We had a bike ride along the canal to Chorley town centre - the man in the shop said it was about 3 miles, it was actually more like 4 and a half.

I will definitely return as it was only 12 per night regardless of how many people are in the van.

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


349 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019