Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Walton Court Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Presteigne > Walton Court Caravan And Camping Site > Reviews

Walton Court Caravan And Camping Site
Walton
Presteigne
Powys   (Browse area)
LD8 2PY
Tel: 01544 350259
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 10
Open: 24/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 10 Reviews
                9/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: TonyHarris 5 reviews from this member

 This site is a real find ! Two very flat fields part of a farm with a beautiful old farmhouse and a lovely pond with its own water supply.

Jean the owner is delightful and has a fantastic site shop with lots of homemade goodies. Fantastic pub 1/2 a mile way but you need to book for food.

Awesome authentic farm site, loved it and will be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cat27 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely relaxed site and the owners are delightful. I've stayed here twice and I'm local! Its just good to get away. If you, like me, are not keen on caravan 'villages' this is the site for you! There's a fabulous (apparently) Inn nearby but BOOK WELL IN ADVANCE (I can never get in) and other good eateries in Presteigne, Kington and 100 House. The site shop stocks the stuff we tend to run out of. If you have dogs there's a HUGE meadow you can walk them on. I always feel safe here (as a solo traveller) and the atmosphere is chilled (they don't give you a hard time if you park a bit skew whiff)! I'll be back!

Only downer? Showers run a bit hot - fine once you know 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Heatherturner 1 review from this member

 This site is amazing, its a working farm so you get to see the sheep and cows and there are chickens running around. We got to choose where we wanted to camp its very flat and sheltered so you don't get blown over.

The toilets are the best we have ever seen camping and at night as you approach they light up for you. Everything was so clean and organised. Most things run off an honesty box and the shop was wonderful the crafts and the owner supplies milk and bread and many many other things.

Only £10 a night with no electricity bargain !

Will have to come back here ! 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Teamsqueak 4 reviews from this member

 We chose this campsite after reading other's reviews and weren't disappointed.

You can miss the entrance (as others noted) but it's easy to turn around along the road if you do. This is a working farm so if you will need to keep an eye on any children with you who like to explore.

The owner was very helpful and let us choose where we wanted to park. There is a choice of 2 fields but we chose the first smaller one nearest the toilets. The price was fantastic value at £12 per night for the pair of us (plus dog) including EHU. We only stayed 2 nights as we were going elsewhere for our short break.

We didn't find the noise from the nearby road a problem unlike others have commented.

We wouldn't recommend walking along the roads near to the campsite as the traffic is quite fast and there are not a lot of pavements. However, there is a bus-stop at the entrance to the site should you wish to explore by local bus!

The toilet/shower block was immaculate and the extra touch of a hairdyer in the ladies' block was very useful. There are 2 toilets and 2 showers (these are free which was a nice surprise - no mad scrabble for the right change for once!) for the ladies and the same number for the men. In the middle of the block there is also use of a washing machine and hot running water for doing the dishes. This is all under cover so if the weather isn't so great it's not too much of a problem. The owners request a donation towards the cost of use of the washing rather than using a pay-slot like on most campsites.

We particularly liked the helpful touch of plenty of leaflets on show in the washing up area giving details of what attractions are available locally - we went to the 'Water-break-its-neck' waterfall site and also the Forestry Commission site at Warren Wood where we saw some Nuthatch fledglings being fed outside our camper! (move over Springwatch!) We liked the amount of FC sites in this area where parking isn't a problem (especially for a motorhome) and you can spend hours just enjoying walking in the woods and wind down with a picnic and spotting different types of wildlife.

There seemed to be a lot of static caravans and mobile homes on site but at the time we were there, there were only two other families on the whole site. No play area for children but I would think you could set up swingball or have a 'controlled' game of footie without causing a problem for other campers? If you want to be entertained then this isn't the place for you but if you want to 'chill' and make your own entertainment then you'll like it here.

Despite our labrador's best efforts (!) - the 3 free-range hens which live here were an added amusement as they seem to be fearless and come right up to you! We didn't make use of the small on site shop that the owner runs but it was handy to know it was there if we needed it.

So YES we fully intend to go back and stay here again, but this time for a bit longer! 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Klcd12 12 reviews from this member

 Booked this site for 4 nights and ended up staying an extra night due to the pleasant surroundings and the lovely weather. We actually arrived the day before they opened so maintenance was still being carried out but completed when we got there. A super welcome from Jean and we had the place to ourselves! Slight issue with the showers as they weren't working but this was fixed straightaway. We also wanted to use the washing machine (honesty box provided) and had to turn the power on at the wall and the water underneath but I guess these would have been done eventually anyway. Only really three, very small gripes : 1 - no mat to wipe your feet on as you enter the toilet/shower block so you end up walking grass in to the cubicles; 2 - automatic light does not stay on for long enough in toilets/showers so you end us showering in the dark! and 3 - the closeness of the site to the A44 means that you occasionally hear the traffic (especially motorbikes). That said, I would definitely recommend this site. It is on a working farm and the farmers two sheepdogs and the three chickens (Milly, Molly and Mandy) run around freely - delightfully behaved. Beautiful setting next to the farmhouse and gorgeous scenery. Delightful and useful shop selling bacon, sausages, free range eggs, gifts etc with honesty box. Be careful if accessing the site from the English side of the A44 - the brown and white sign looks like it points down the side road but carry on 50 yards and the site is directly off the A44. Will definitely be going back. Just need to work out when we can fit it in! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Talularose 1 review from this member

 If you are looking for peace and tranquillity this is the one for you. Level site, spotless loos and shower, includes use of a washing machine. Outstanding views and lovely walks. Small shop on site selling all the stuff you may have forgotten and more. The shop stocks a beautiful selection of home made crafts, patchwork items, cushions and fab shabby chic items all at very reasonable prices. The owners could not be more helpful, they not only arranged for a wheelchair for my husbands use but also got it delivered to site for our arrival. There is a pub at the end of the lane and everyone is friendly and helpful. The local towns and villages are full of interest and the whole area is one of outstanding natural beauty. First time to this area but certainly not the last!Hook ups were modern and plenty of them. There was lots of space for everyone didn't feel like other outfits were on top of us. Whilst we were there we were able to experience the birth of a calf (now that's not something you can do every day)Our dogs were welcome and there are plenty of signs about cleaning up after your dog. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jon Powell 7 reviews from this member

 We booked on to this campsite last minute for the extended bank holiday weekend. The few reviews that it had made it appear to be the sort of campsite we were looking for. It was.

Being on the A44 was a bit disconcerting but it proved not to be an issue. On the short bit we walked along there was a pavement

The facilities were good if a little limited. There was only one gents WC and shower. However only on one occasion did I have to wait for a shower over a 4 night stay so there was not really an issue.

There was only one washing up sink but we preferred to wash up at the tent to keep an eye on the kids anyway. The on-site shop had the essentials – bread, milk bacon, matches etc and had some locally made trinkets that went down well with my 7 year old daughter.

Although not always manned the door was often open with an honesty box.

Kington is a short drive away; apparently it has a co-op which we didn’t find. Unusually most of the town’s shops were closed on Saturday afternoon! We found a little shop in a back garden in New Radnor which sold the majority of the fruit and vegetables that we needed.

The main attraction of this campsite, despite the location and everything else, is the owners. They are pleasant, easy going and the type to bend over back-wards to help make your stay enjoyable. They have print-offs of local walks for you to borrow which we found invaluable; they often stop to chat making you feel like a welcome friend; they brought a lamb over for the kids to pet; and they even opened up their caravan, which wasn’t let at the time, so that my wife and daughter could watch the royal wedding.

When it came to paying we had a very pleasant surprise. We have a big tent (Outwell Vermont XL with side extension), 2 adults, 2 kids and a dog. We had electric hook-up. One campsite in Rayader we looked at would have cost us £26 per night. Walton Court cost us £36. For 4 nights.

The big test of a campsite is would you go back. Before leaving we were already trying to work out when we could get a free weekend to return. 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Taz58 13 reviews from this member

 This is a very basic site but the facilities are clean and the site was quiet but as someone said before there is background noise from the road but I didn't notice it at night-certainly never kept us awake!

The site is about 5 miles from Presteigne which is a nice little town and the Judges Lodgings Museum there is definitely worth a visit. Also watch out for the literature at the site which tells you how to get to the local waterfall as it's a lovely walk. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BushBabyJane 25 reviews from this member

 Good base for touring this lovely area.

Toilets are basic but kept nice and clean - just 2 for each sex plus a shower each. Also a hairdryer. There is a microwave and a washing machine but no tumble dryer.

There are two fields available, both with electric hook-ups. When we visited, the grass in the smaller one was mown short but the larger field was unmown.

There is some background noise from the road and from the nearby quarry but its not obtrusive.

Recommended. We'll be visiting again later in the year.

Incidentally, there is a cottage, caravan and yurt available to rent. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jonnmedds 78 reviews from this member

 This site is definitely worth a visit.

The site is fairly basic compared to some around, however the toilets and showers were always clean and even though there's only one shower for each gender I never had to queue.

The site is very level and is attached to a farm, though there was never any noise from the farm. The owners are very friendly.

The site has a washing machine to use and it's free.

The cost for 2 adults and 3 kids and a tent with EHU was only £7.50 per night. 



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Walton Court Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Walton Court Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Walton Court Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Presteigne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


42008 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement