Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Waterside Lodge Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Southport > Waterside Lodge Campsite Reviews

Waterside Lodge Campsite
Marine Drive
Southport
Lancashire   (Browse area)
PR8 1RY
Tel: 01704 510900
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 vans plus tents
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 17 Reviews
                8/10 from 17 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Maz9999 31 reviews from this member

 The site itself is situated near town ( 15 minutes walk ) £20 per night, plus and extra £1 for showers which we didn’t think was on taken it’s quite expensive anyway and the showers were dirty and smelly.

Lovely location by the lake so not good for kids as no barrier between site and water

Electric cables all along the main walkways and you will need a long cable if on the back. Very uneven and all grass but drainage seemed ok. Would stay again as near town but needs improving for the cost 


Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Audreystrawberry 2 reviews from this member

 What a treasure of a find! Wonderful site, ideally located for the beach and central Southport! The warden ‘Jimmy’ made us so welcome, and proved so helpful with his advise and knowledge of the area. Everything was spotlessly clean, and we came away wanting to return.

The location so near to the marina gives a real feeling of space, even if the site is small and cosy. Children will need to be monitored due to the close proximity of the marina, but camp sites like this are few and far between, and we shall definitely look forward to our next holiday at Waterside Lodge! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jncrowe 4 reviews from this member

 Our favourite site. Its very popular In fact the only complaint is how booked up the site gets It is on Marine drive and a very short walk to all the shops and visitor attractions

The campsite is within the grounds of the Southport Scout HQ and adjacent to a large lake where the children do various aquatic badge challenges Its lovely watching all the sail boats catching the breeze

There is no fencing around the lake which is why the site lost points on ‘ child friendliness ‘ But the Ocean Plaza shopping center across the road has KFC MacDonalds Pizza Hut so maybe I was a bit mean with the score

It would depend how sensible the children are ?

We love this site and I really don't know why I am telling anyone else about it 😳

Ps It was Very cold in the shower and no toilet rolls in the loos which lost points on the facilities 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jezport 2 reviews from this member

 Great location, well cared for site.

Hard standing is great during the wet months as the grass area is prone to getting waterlogged. Very clean toilet facilities. Easy access for large units.

As it is situated on a lake I would advise families with children to bare this in mind. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: CBDR 5 reviews from this member

 We chose this site for its convenient location when attending the Open golf. We would not visit again. First, I wanted to book for two nights mid week and got an email reply back that we had been booked in for four nights because everyone stays for the weekend. Some weird rule of theirs? But when on the site we met people who had paid for one mid week night only. I had difficulty getting anyone on the phone, but people were helpful when I got through. Second, the site is badly designed and has no signs to say where to enter the grassed area. In fact, my husband was directed to wooden boards up the kerb in the car park when there is a proper concrete ramp making access much easier on the way in to the car park area. There were about 10 pitches with electricity but some vans had connecting cables trailing across the ground, and other vans drove over the cables too. Poorly placed electric hook ups lead to unsafe practices. The toilets were clean enough but the shower was awful and required an old pound coin to get water. There was no information about how long the water might last. Overall, it was adequate but I don't know how it has been given a certified rating. For the Open golf it was very close to the shuttle bus and only a short walk into town for shopping and restaurants. We ate at the pub/restaurant nearby - basic but good value for money and very convenient. The site itself was expensive for what it offered at £18. 00 per night for one motorhome, two adults and no awning. I realise it might be run by volunteers but this is no excuse for poor communication, unsafe electrical hook up and poor shower facilities. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Stripedjeans 1 review from this member

 Have stayed at this site before and its location is fantastic, easy walk to the town. The beach is just over the road, but it's not a fantastic beach, OK for a walk along the prom. The site is directly onto the lake, so watch out with small children, they could just run straight in! Cannot comment on the toilet facilities as I have never used them here. Motorhomes are permitted to pitch on the carpark which is great in wet weather, the only downside being the grey waste disposal point is on the grassed area - not so good when it's wet (I had to abandon trying to get anywhere near the drain as my wheels were slipping in the mud, and had to drive all the way home with a full waste tank instead). One difference I noticed on this stay was the number of people who buy food at the McDonald's drive-through then come into this 'Private' car park to eat, resulting in a fair bit of coming and going of cars from about teatime until quite late. I'm sure when I've been here before they closed the gate (or at least pushed it to) at night, but this was not the case this time. I think I would go back, but not keen on the evening diners! 


Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Steve1300 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 2 nights last weekend, arrived after 6pm so no one on site.

the only problem we had was that we didn't have the code for toilet block, but no big deal.

The location is very good. Only a 10 min walk into southport.

The site is very clean. And situated at the side of the lake

We will definitely be going again.

We cant rate toilet block as didn't have the code but mains water and recycling bins are good. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ruthie2 4 reviews from this member

 Visited this site in July for a couple of days, we really enjoyed it. Close to all amenities, handy for beach, shops and pub. Lovely setting over the marina. Toilet and shower facilities are clean. Spacious site for caravan or camper. Only drawback you need a long lead for your electric hookup. Will definitely be going back. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jaeson 10 reviews from this member

 Just back from a few days at this site. We thought the location was great, a bit of a problem is no wash up point and the 1 shower is a £1. 00 for a luke warm 3 mins !

Met by temporary warden who was lovely and helpful as was his wife.

Easy access to shops, sea front, restaurants etc. Busy on some evenings and days due it being the scout head quarters.

We parked quite close to the bushes and were over run with earwigs in the awning, our own fault but note this when putting up your awning ! Will go back again as we like the location 


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chrisl65 2 reviews from this member

 The site itself is in a beautiful location, in easy walking distance to the town. We found the people very friendly. BUT, We stayed for 10 nights and the toilets and shower were not cleaned once. There was a sign to say they were cleaned by volunteers, in fact one day I cleaned them myself. Surely they should have at least been checked by the wardens. ?? For that reason alone we would not stay there again. 


Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Waterside Lodge Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Waterside Lodge Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Waterside Lodge Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Southport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6448 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement