Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wilcocks Farm Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lancashire > Rivington > Wilcocks Farm Caravan Site > Reviews

Wilcocks Farm Caravan Site
Deanhead Lane
Rivington
Lancashire   (Browse area)
BL6 7SJ
Tel: 01204 697339
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 22
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 19 Reviews
                9/10 from 19 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: October 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Thehanmersontour 2 reviews from this member

 A beautiful, quiet and well-kept site on a working farm. The toilets and showers were immaculate - free push button type fixed head shower. Hairdryer available for a nominal 20p. The pitches are well-spaced with EHU and water available. The surrounding area is wonderful, nestled right by Winter Hill. Good reception and free wifi.

This is a working farm and a joy to wake up to see the sheep!

Please follow the helpful directions given by the owner at the time of booking as the alternative "satnav" route is not suitable for large vehicles. Owners are very helpful and not obtrusive, check-in was self-service with a handy information leaflet - even included some local food deliveries!

The washing up facilities are basic - a Belfast sink with a very small lip on the side, however, the water was hot and as I had my collapsable drainer with me it was no problem just to pop washed wishes into the drainer on the floor.

All in all a very lovely site in a stunning location. Perfect for walkers and those just wanting peace and quiet. 


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Andrea 1 review from this member

 Quiet site with good size pitches and wonderful views.

Contactless check in worked fine, with welcome details and instructions left on a board with envelope to return registration details and final payment.

All communication via email with fast responses.

Toilets and shower immaculate with codes for entry.

Roads for access fairly narrow, but received instructions for the best route which were a great help to avoid potential problems. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: A18ghh 1 review from this member

 Excellent well maintained site, in a perfect location.

It was a real pleasure to stay there, and we will be back.

TV and mobile reception was no problem.

WiFi could be stronger these days, but we cant have everything ! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pj_skydog 9 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 3 nights. It's a lovely site, spacious toilet block with two loos and a very nice free shower with lashings of hot water.

We didn't see the owners but Julie was in touch via email and text, gave clear instructions on how to get there, and everything was clearly labelled and described in the welcome letter which was waiting for us.

Only thing I could not find was an elsan disposal point, but it was raining cats and dogs so I may have missed it.

When it isn't raining the site has beautiful views over Rivington, beautiful walks up to the Pike and lunch at the Barn, all most enjoyable. 


Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Julien 13 reviews from this member

 A very pleasant site, within walking distance of Rivington village. There are footpaths straight from the site into the western Pennines.

The site itself is in farmland so do expect the sounds and smells that you would associate with this. It is however pretty peaceful.

The pitches are sufficiently spaced so as not to feel on top of one another. Due to COVID not all facilities were open but there is a family and disabled wet room with toilets which were clean.

There is no dog walk and I didnít notice any dog bins either, which in itself isnít a problem due to the close proximity of footpaths immediately outside the site but a charge of £2 per dog per night was still made. I know this is becoming quite the norm and I donít mind if there is some sort of facility for the dogs but I do feel it is just an easy add on in some cases.

Anyway overall, I liked the site and would return. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Scek21 7 reviews from this member

 A really lovely site. Well cut grass and good views. Toilet block was immaculate. A nice warm welcome by Julie. Rivington is an excellent walking area for our dog. Drove in through Rivington Village no problems in our 8. 5m motorhome. Will be back again, just wish it was open all year. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Malk 4 reviews from this member

 We have been to this site a number of times.

Perfect hostess (thanks again Julie)

If you have not been here before do NOT approach the site via Rivington village. There are often many cars at a junction and we were stuck a couple of years ago as someone coming the opposite way in a car couldn't reverse !

Approach via Belmont and come down the Belmont Road towards Rivington and the site is well signposted on the right.

This is a small site with slightly sloping pitches.

Toilet/shower area is small but has a perfect addition of two large wet rooms, suitable for families with baby changing facilities.

The ratio of showers/toilets to caravans is very good. Never had to queue.

Beautiful views across the hill towards Blackpool. The Welsh hills can be seen in fine weather.

Walking all over the place.

Washing machine, but facilities for hand washing of clothes and dish washing could do with a being upgraded.

Little to do nearby other than walk or admire the scenery. The local bowls club (walkable)allows visitors to their bar, when it is open, and a cafe down the road is open during the day.

This is perfect for a walking holiday or to visit nearby places. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: BlueMallard 1 review from this member

 Site has nice, well drained flat pitches with a great view over to the coast. We could see as far as Blackpool. The other side has a clear view of Winter Hill.

Facilities are clean but ladies toilets were a bit smelly. Shower was nice and forceful.

Owner could do with enforcing dogs on leads policy as some campers let theirs wander and one fouled outside our awning.

Barking dogs kepSite has nice, well drained flat pitches with a great view over to the coast. We could see as far as Blackpool. The other side has a clear view of Winter Hill.

Facilities are clean but ladies did smell a bit. Shower was nice and forceful.

Owner could do with enforcing dogs on leads policy as some campers let theirs wander and one fouled outside our awning.

Barking dogs kept in one of the barns kept us awake and woke son up at 5am which was frustrating.

Nice area. Lots of walks and there is Go Ape locally.

Generally a good site with a few frustrations that could be easily solved. T in one of the barns kept us awake and woke son up at 5am which was frustrating.

Nice area. Lots of walks and there is Go Ape locally.

Generally a good site with a few frustrations that could be easily solved. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bertie from Bolton 1 review from this member

 We visited this lovely site for our first ever camping trip, having just purchased Motorhome. We didn't want to travel to far. The campsite was well planned out with excellent toilet/shower block. The campsite was very clean. The views were amazing. The surrounding area is lovely with the lovely village of Rivington not to far away. We would visit again no problem. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Arleyboy 1 review from this member

 Spent the early May bank Holiday here, it was blowing a gale, chucking it down and views were limited, you can see the Fylde coast on a normal day. We liked the site so much we left our caravan for £3 a night and came back the following weekend, The facilities were good, only complaint is that the showers were a bit hot. The management were really friendly and helpful. The site is ideal for walkers and there are some good shopping malls in the surrounding area. 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Wilcocks Farm Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wilcocks Farm Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Wilcocks Farm Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Rivington      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3818 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement