Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Les Etangs Du Moulin

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Suzy > Les Etangs Du Moulin Reviews

Les Etangs Du Moulin
Etangs Du Moulin
Suzy
Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais   (Browse area)
02320
Tel: 0033 3 23 80 92 86
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 31
Open: 01/04/2021 to 30/10/2021
           01/04/2022 to 30/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 6 Reviews
                9/10 from 6 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <10 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Awfuldriver 12 reviews from this member

 Liked: Hilly site but with flat pitches, very quiet remote at night, duck ponds, scenic setting, food available - albeit not Michelin standard.

Affordable rates. Reasonable access - 85 minutes from Channel. Hot water in showers - a rarity in our experience. Swimming pool.

Good sanitation. Ideal for weekend fishermen/cowboys. Uniquely strange but give it a try.

Disliked: A bit scruffy and unkempt - they plonked us opposite the dustbins despite ample other plug-in pitches elsewhere. Showers a bit tight - clothes / towels may get a wetting.

No heating. Awkward access to/from the wonderful city of Laon. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cluskey Clan 12 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite. Big pitches with plenty of space & water on the pitch. Beautiful surroundings & views over farmland. Our pitch was up a steep track but all terraced, flat pitches so perfect for tents. Washroom facilities were always kept clean. Showers were hot. Well lit at night so easy for the children to use the toilets.

The kids went swimming every day, they love the pool & stayed in there for ages.

We didn't do fishing but it looked good.

The bar, restaurant facilities are very good & popular.

The campsite staff were very friendly & helpful. I had a flat battery & they started for me.

Plenty of different places to visit. We went to Axo Plage which is a lovely sandy beach on a lake, great for kids of all ages as it has shallow & deep areas for swimming. Also pedalos to hire. Nice walking around & great playgrounds. We also visited Laon & Reims. There's lots of war memorials around as well.

We had a lovely relaxing time & I would definitely recommend this campsite. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Chrisandsandra 50 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for one night when travelling through France.

What a lovely campsite. We were worried it might be a bit 'naff' due t the Wild West theme but were very pleasantly surprised.

The site tales ACSI Camping Card out of season which made it good value.

The staff were friendly and helpful, showing us to a good level pitch (Black Bull) with electric near the entrance among the covered waggons. The showers/loos were a bit of a walk away on a slight hill (a bit of a problem for me as I am slightly disabled) but it was fine for one night. If we return I'd ask to be nearer. The facilities were clean and there was hot water even though the site was busy due to it being a French holiday.

We ate a good meal at what we thought was a reasonable price in the restaurant. There was also a bar and bread could be ordered at reception.

The site also has a swimming pool (indoor) and a go cart track though we didn't use them. There was also a small children's play area.

Would highly recommend this site as a stop over on the way south and would happily use it again. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cidleydidley 2 reviews from this member

 What a wonderful place!

We found this place by accident in the summer of 2015 and decided to stay over for a few days on our way home this summer (Aug 2016).

It's spotlessly clean and very clearly loved by its owners and staff.

There are tepees, wagons, gypsy caravans, wooden houses besides the lakes and plenty of pitches for whatever you are touring with. The attention to detail is incredible, even the new loo/shower block has a wooden swing on the porch. It's all fab.

My kids (11 and 8) love the place. And why wouldn't they? It's super cute, has a pool (now completely covered), trampolines, sandy volleyball court, Karts (3 Euro for 30 mins), playground and lakes for fishing. My little fisherman caught a fish as big as a dinner plate!

The bar and restaurant are great, super food and very reasonable prices. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, we communicated in bits of French and English.

Only about 2 hours from the ports makes this a fabulous place to head for. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Ajh2001 9 reviews from this member

 For our first foray into France we chose to glamp in a Cowboy wagon rather than drive with our trailer tent. The cowboy wagon was small but perfectly formed. Sleeps 5 in triple bunk and a double, with en suite shower room and small kitchenette. All cooking utensils, bedding and towels were included so we just needed to bring clothes and food.

It was only fractionally more expensive to stay in the cowboy wagon than to take our own tent!

The site itself was larger than at first seemed as it was terraced and spread out in lots of small areas with lots of greenery. The Western themed buildings housed the reception, bar/restaurant and swimming pool. They have camping pitches, cowboy wagons, teepees and log cabins. Onsite there is a restaurant/bar which was good value and delicious but not a huge menu. A small shop with a few souvenirs and also food basics. You can order breakfast/bread.

The pool is now covered by a large western style log cabin, but was very cold - however they were installing new heating while we were there. It's a decent sized pool for a small campsite but quite shallow.

We tried the fishing but had no beginners luck! So fed the ducks instead!

The staff were friendly but don't speak a huge amount - some better than others. They were amused but helpful with our attempts at French.

The site is very rural, in a forestry area, probably good walking country, but it was very wet while we were there (same time as when the River Seine burst it's banks!) but though wet most pitches were pretty well drained. The only pitch we noticed that had water collecting was sorted as soon as the tent on there left.

We didn't use the camping facilities - but the toilet/bathroom facilities were spotless (in spite of the rain!). I think there was a tap on each pitch.

It was easy to drive to and find using sat nav. We would go there again, but hopefully in better weather. At a couple of hours from Calais it could also be a useful stoppover. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DBoss 1 review from this member

 A reservation was made,via their own website,about a month in advance.Very easy to do and a swift reply was made in my,basic,French.

Arrived on a very hot Saturday,at about 5-ish,while my 'bike was being oggled at (I build custom and chop 'bikes-this one being a Moto Guzzi!).I tried my French and then was pointed to Agnes who sorted things out,smoothly,in a mix of French and broken English.No problems at all!We were shown to our own,private pitch (quite large-big enough for two caravans,etc!)only twenty feet from one of the lakes.We had our own water supply and electricity to hand,as well.The shower block was only a matter of less than a minute away.Again,our pitch was only about a two minute walk to the bar/restaurant area.

That evening a Moules et Frites festival was on hand (only 16Euros for the two of us:A Kilo each,with fries,bread and a bottle of Sauvignon.Amazing!)The bar specialises in Belgian Abbaye beers,etc.Just what I like.But don't be suprised by the prices:A cheap 'Tongerlo' is 2.50 Euros for 33cl,while an 11.3% Trappiste set me back 5 Euros for 25cl!But,hey,this is a campsite,and they are specialist Belgian beers.Also,that evening,the release of the 'Big Trout' into the lakes:Great for the fishermen among you!Entertainment was an impromptu display of horseriding by Michel and his friend.Amusingly different!

The next day (by the way,the weather was fantastic all week:mid to high 80's with the odd nod into the 90's)we had a quick snack made for us (lasagne) as it was Sunday and had forgot to go to the shops!Then,a bit later,Agnes prepared a barbecue for us to take away and use on one of the portable BBQs avaialble.

Ok,then.The site is wonderfully relaxed,quiet and with areas of solitude.Six lakes to fish from (a huge past-time looking at the amount of locals that come with their whole families!):Three are trout while the others are 'white' fish.All are set next to each other as Michel created the site from nothing,40 years ago.Away to the side (secluded from other tent dwellers) are the Tipi reservations.Great for kids of all ages!Also,hidden away,but not too far from the bar,is the Gypsey Caravan you can hire.Areas are set aside for those who have tents or need a flat area for their caravan.Walking around is very pleasant among the trees and next to the lakes.Also,it's not far to walk off into the little village of Suzy and to see no shops,etc.How nice!Country side walks are very easy as well.

The shower block could have done with being looked after a bit more but was far from being the 'acceptable English' edition!The water is solar and the shower was never cold.A real,nice layout inside,actually.

The site is definitely aimed at those who want to have solitude,nature or,even,families:A strange mix,I know,but it works.Probably because of the predominance of French using the site-very laid back,children totally respectful,etc,etc!

Oh,yes,the rabbits.Many of them are on site and wander around free as nature intended.Perfect!But,to some,the droppings may be a put off.But,this is nature and that's why we like to camp.Isn't it?

Suzy sits just on the edge of the St Gobain Forest and,to the south (about 7 Kms),is Anizy-le-Chateau,where you can find the butcher,baker,a small DIY shop and a Carrefour and Intermarche.What more do you need?

All in all,a wonderful,small,quiet,interesting,peaceful site that is miles away from the hustle and bustle of English life.Come here if you want to see how the French enjoy their breaks,how they enjoy life and pass this onto thier neighbour:Maybe with just a nod,a 'Bonjour!',a 'Bon soir!' or,even,as our long term caravan dweller neighbour (who stays all year round with his wife and two lovely dogs!)lent us a table and two chairs for the week and,on giving them back,gave us a bottle of Champagne!How guilty did we feel.

We must thank Michel for creating this site and for Agnes and Sebastien to carry this tradition.As Sebastien said,to us,'. C'est paradis!' 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Les Etangs Du Moulin child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Les Etangs Du Moulin have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Les Etangs Du Moulin?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Les Etangs Du Moulin dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Suzy      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


652 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement