Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping La Cote Sauvage

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Poitou-Charentes > Ile De Re > Camping La Cote Sauvage > Reviews

Camping La Cote Sauvage
Rue De La Foret
St Clement Des Baleines
Ile De Re
Poitou-Charentes   (Browse area)
17590
Tel: 0033 08 20 32 07 51
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 8 Reviews
                8/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Sabrinadeans 1 review from this member

 Very basic but we liked that about it. So much more relaxed than a busier camp site we also stopped at near by.

The toilets and showers were clean and tidy. Staff really friendly and spoke English.

They were very helpful. Bikes available to hire on site 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: SGThomas 116 reviews from this member

 We are wrinklies and chose this site on the basis of reviews and the fact that it took Camping Cheques. However it was less than we had hoped. It only just lived up to its 2 star rating.

The pitches varied in size and privacy but were all on a very sandy soil. Heavy netting had been laid at some time in the past but was in need of repair. ( our very light trailer tent sank down in some soft spots)

The shower block had variable water temperature, mostly tepid and then occasionally hot.

There are good cycle paths but we found, even in low season, it to be absolute mayhem on them.

We loved Les Portes en re and there is a lovely market there, as well as in Ars en re

The major supermarkets with cheap petrol are to be found at St Martin, about 10 km away.

The beach, accessible from the camp is good clean and basic.

The clientele are mainly French families and good company.

WiFi is extortionate at 5 euros per hour.

Would we return? Probably not as there are many other sites in the area (L'Ocean for example)

P. S. The 'Rose de large' sold in the local village shop at 1. 60 euros is excellent 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jan Rixon 2 reviews from this member

 We arrived early evening and was welcomed by the receptionist who spoke good english. We decided to stay in one of their ready pitched tents. It had 2 bedrooms and was well equipped. Good shower/toilet block. The site has a very good location next to a nice beach but as this was the end of the season nothing was open. There were only a couple of bars, both closed, and a very expensive restaurant in the village. We decided to move to Martin de Rei, the main town which has a municipal site in the centre of town and some very good sites just out of town but within walking distance. I am sure the site would be lovely during the busy season. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Johnemmatravel 1 review from this member

 When we arrived at this campsite we had prebooked a semi shaded pitch a few months before. We were given a few choices of pitch ranging from either a steep bank or no shade whatsoever. Being not particularly impressed we asked about other pitches and were told that all the ones that were empty that we thought were okay were taken. Not being ones to back down we asked for our money back. The manager was summoned and surprise surprise we were offered a decent pitch that had suddenly come free!

Once the initial drama was over the campsite was nice. Basic and French I would describe it. The shower block was okay and the showers were too hot if anything as you are unable to change the temperature of the water. Occasionally we had to wait to use the showers but its not a problem. The campsite is huge but the way its laid out you could think its much smaller. It would benefit from a camp kitchen for kids meals but other than that it has most things. The kids playground is basic for such a big campsite.

Past 9pm at night the campsite is really quiet which is good and we didn't hear much rowdy behaviour at all which was good.

The beach that backs onto the campsite is not the best as it has thick black seaweed. I'm not sure if its a permenant feature but it stops you going in the water. If you travel a couple of Km's up the coast the beach is good but you have to share it with the rest of the Island!

Overall we had a good time and would visit the campsite again as we know which pitches are good and the ones not so good. Overall good value for the area. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Telboyofpeckham 2 reviews from this member

 We really liked the sound of this based on the other reviews. We were going to stay for 5 days but ended up staying way longer because we just loved this campsite.

If you like to walk about with just soft sand beneath your bare feet then this is the place. Our pitch was within 50 metres of a lovely long sandy beach. Also there is a pine forest to walk around next to the campsite. Great for dogs (ours was welcomed).

Facilities were top notch & kept very clean, staff super helpful & friendly. We noticed that the site was very, very quiet but we went at the end of the season. Easy to hear the crickets & the roll of the surf. Fresh bread stall every day on site was a real bonus. It's also got good Eco credentials.

Pitches were not of the regimented type which made it feel more relaxed with plenty of choice. Most of them have electricity & water. Lots of nice mature pine trees. We loved ours (124) sheltered by pine bushes but with no power.

There are also static tents & yurts if you don't have your own camping kit.

Note that the entrance closes between 11:30 at night until 7:30 in the morning which is great as it stops people driving about at night. We did have to spend one night in the car park because we did not read the sign on the gate. Our fault but worth noting.

Ile de Re is a gem too. Quite an upmarket island but not snobby.

Highlights of the islands; the beaches, very family orientated, local food (oysters & seafood a speciality), food markets, lovely towns, great cycling, surfing / windsurfing / kite surfing, lots laid on during the summer season, easy to drive around, La Rochelle is a great day out (park the van for free near the bridge & take the bus return for three Euros). Everyone is in holiday mood so very friendly.

Considerations - Take bikes (it's got a brilliant cycle route system); costs 16 Euros to cross the bridge from La Rochelle; can be a bit pricy to eat out (but we found that in all of France); can get very hot during mid day. Gets much quieter after the end of August but still hot & sunny. May be a better time to go if you want it really quiet. You may not want to come back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 5MuddyFeet 3 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site, we arrived on 23rd August once the French summer season had just ended.

Weather was great with sunny days most days and the odd day of wind and overnight rain. Isle de Re is a beautiful island and we spent most of our time on bikes (+ 3 kids) and used the car only a few times.

The site is really well located on the island on the best end and perfectly located for Ars en Re, the lighthouse, beaches and Les Portes. The campsite is in a pine forest and therefore has excellent pitches and a really laid back feel.

Price good and facilities were exactly what we wanted and we used the pizzs van a few times. No advance booking allowed and it is possible it may get fairly crowded in the high season.

Excellent campsite, great holiday would recommend it to anyone ! 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bashers 4 reviews from this member

 Great campsite with plenty to offer on the northern tip of ile de re just 10 minute bike ride to Ars-en-Re. Great service, clean toilets and showers and the beach is only yards away. Plenty of choice of pitches from open grass to covered, shady and secluded pitches. Pizza van on site every evening in the summer but a short walk to the village for supplies if you need them. Playground on site. Horse riding down the road great for the kids and only a few euros.

Booked 4 nights, stayed for 8 and would definitely go again. Out of four weeks touring France, this was the best. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Kelper 93 reviews from this member

 Good, friendly site. Pine trees and sand. Right next to an excellent beach.

Adequate services blocks. All well maintained.

Superb area for cycling, with multiple routes and itineraries. Some of the towns can get crowded, especially in the evenings. Restaurants may need queuing to get into. And not cheap. But good food! And lots of seafood based dishes, as you'd expect.

Quiet site and very informal. Great to escape from it all. 



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Camping La Cote Sauvage child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping La Cote Sauvage?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Camping La Cote Sauvage dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ile De Re      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Poitou-Charentes

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


48985 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement