Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cinderhill Farm Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > South Yorkshire > Barnsley > Cinderhill Farm Certificated Site > Reviews

Cinderhill Farm Certificated Site
Cawthorne
Barnsley
South Yorkshire   (Browse area)
S75 4JA
Tel: 01226 790318
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 CCC Only
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 8 Reviews
                8/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tina C 1 review from this member

 WE have just returned from three nights at Cinderhill Farm and we have to say, we enjoyed every minute. Compared to many sites, it has to be said it is basic and probably more geared up for caravans or more organised people than us, but we didn't go for the facilities, we went for the peace and quiet. It is certainly a beautiful spot with Cawthorne village within walking distance.

A friendly, family run, working dairy farm, with more or less one toilet and a tap. It was certainly peaceful and quiet (you get used to the tractors in the middle of the night), lots of space and lots of walks to be done. We met a couple who go there most weekends in the summer - they live only a few miles away - but love the tranquillity, that must be a good advert!

This was old fashioned camping at its best - a brilliant find! 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Wd60 4 reviews from this member

 What an absolute gem!

Very very basic, and finding level ground may prove tricky, but nothing that cannot be solved with wedges.

There is a water tap, and a CDP which you may need to have pointed out to you as it is not immediately obvious.

A very peaceful site, and surrounded by wonderful countryside which we explored as much as possible in the short time we were there.

We ate at the Spencer Arms in the nearby village of Cawthorne, and visited the village church which is only open for a few hours on a Sunday.

I have no hesitation in recommending this site if you want a quiet, no-frills, back to basics CS, and we will definitely return very soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lurcher Mac 50 reviews from this member

 Cinderhill Farm is a basic certificated site (members only). There isn't a toilet, it seems that previous reviewers have been using the CDP as a toilet! This is the outside toilet near the house but I wouldn't fancy sitting on it, as it is the CDP.

There are two areas for camping, one is in front of the house or there is a large field at the side of the house. Both are fairly flat so finding a level pitch isn't a problem and they are surrounded by hedging. There are public footpaths surrounding the farm and our dog enjoyed long walks along them.

Cawthorne has a pub (The Spencer Arms) it serves food as does Beatson House Restaurant, unfortunately we didn't get chance to visit either due to prior arrangements. There is also a small village shop which has a limited range due to its' size. Cannon Hall country house/museum is in Cawthorne and is worth a visit and open air concerts are held at Cannon Hall Farm during the summer months.

We had an enjoyable stay at Cinderhill Farm and would happily return, if we were in the area again. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ChelseaCole 1 review from this member

 I really enjoyed the stream next to me. We had no problem I loved it !We heard the animals though it was peaceful I absolutely loved the stream nearby it was great I really enjoyed it. I would recommend this to anybody. Cinder hill farm is really nice even though there may be no answer as long as you do it its great :D 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lauren1990 1 review from this member

 Ideal for those who want get back to basics. The farm has a toilet, rubbish bins and a water tap.

The village itself is quite mellow with 2 pubs 1 is called the spencers arms which serves food as well, it is rather pricey so personally I prefer the cawthorne club which was recommended by the farm owner who advised us if we told them he had sent us somebody would sign us in.

The club was brilliant the people were friendly and the drinks are well priced and has 2 flat screen tv's, snooker table and games machine.

All in all definitely worth a weekend trip 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Joella 1 review from this member

 This was a lovely place to stay. Totally back to basics with an outside loo and a tap, but all we needed for a one night stay. It is a working dairy farm and the farmer is lovely. We could wander around as we wished and look at the animals.

The village of Cawthorne is lovely with a few nice pubs and a lovely village tea shop. This opened at 9.30am on a Sunday to serve breakfast. Fully recommend for a relaxing break. 6.00 per night for a tent pitch. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JuliaMumford 2 reviews from this member

 This was our very first camping trip! I went along with my 7 year old daughter to experiment with our new tent. When we arrived we were not sure we were at the right place as there were no tents or caravans in sight.

The huge farmhouse is lived in by a lovely retired farmer and he has a gorgeous dog called 'Mutt'. He was welcoming, and told us to pitch the tent anywhere we liked. We pitched in the small field in front of the house next to the stream. It was extremely peaceful. The facilities were very basic and we only used the tap. We could not find the outside toilet, so we ended up taking a trip to the local pub (any excuse!).

Cawthorne has a fantastic farm park with lots of animals and my daughter loved it. We also spent time in the town of Barnsley and experienced the market.

We only stayed for two nights and we had a camper van arrive on the 2nd night so I felt a little bit more secure - but all in all it was a good experience. 


Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hulltrucker 14 reviews from this member

 This is a very small site on a working dairy farm / B&B. When I rang to enquire the owner went through the facilities as follows 'we have a water tap, a bin and an outside loo for chemical disposal' - so pretty basic then! The camping field sits next to a pretty stream with a public footpath running through it and looks over some beautiful countryside.
The fees reflected the basic facilities, but I very much enjoyed my stay here (despite the odd mooing of a cow in the night and the usual dairy farm smell!) The owner was friendly and helpful and one of the farm hands helped to tow me out of the field as it had become muddy in heavy overnight rain. I cannot pretend this would be for everyone, but if you enjoy getting back to basics, beautiful countryside and good on site fishing look no further! 



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Cinderhill Farm Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Cinderhill Farm Certificated Site dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Barnsley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in South Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7035 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement