Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Strangers Home Pub And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Essex > Bradfield > The Strangers Home Pub And Campsite Reviews

The Strangers Home Pub And Campsite
The Street
Bradfield
Essex   (Browse area)
CO11 2US
Tel: 01255 870304
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 35
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 39 Reviews
                8/10 from 39 Reviews

Photos (13)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Kensingtongreen 61 reviews from this member

 At £25 pn for a couple with electricity, this was a good stop for us on our way to Suffolk and Norfolk.

There is not much in the village or locally - you are a bit isolated unless you are prepared to drive. The Sunday lunch in the pub was really excellent in terms of quality and value.

The owners were very helpful and friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed the visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hendrix 5 reviews from this member

 Good air and large field for woofits. May be good for caravans but in a tent nil pois for us because we're not used to queuing for toilets or showers, and toilets did not flush.

The bins were overflowing and cold water for washing up and showers.

The village of Mistley was lovely met some great locals. Bus service was good. We would not visit this site again which is a shame.

We were really looking forward to this visit but left feeling very disappointed and this is a very tactful review. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jeffgame 26 reviews from this member

 Fairly small, busy site behind pub, for caravans and tents. Well kept site with nice friendly atmosphere.

Many families with children. Showers and toilets were adequate and well maintained, but no electric razor points. Dog friendly. Local walks through the woods or down to the estuary.

Good tv signal. Bus stop outside, hourly service to Maningtree and Colchester.

We ate in the pub, the menu was a bit limited, but the food was lovely and reasonably priced. Only roasts on Sunday.

We would be happy to come back. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Ronni54 32 reviews from this member

 The site is level and well maintained and was quiet on the Sunday when we stayed before getting the ferry to Holland but very busy and quite noisy on the Saturday when we returned, probably due to the weather and the Football!

The site did quieten down at a reasonable time. The facilities were clean and nicely presented. We didn't eat at the pub as it was fully booked for Sunday lunch but there are plenty of eating places in Manningtree.

This site is ideally placed for the Harwich ferry and we would use it again. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: T0tleybrook 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from the campsite after the May Bank Holiday weekend. Fairly easy to find, signposted from strategic areas. Entry via an access code to lift the vehicle barrier.

Small site for both caravans and tents. Electric pitches, water point, washing up area, washing machine available. Lots of young families, with children running freely, riding bikes, and playing ball games.

There is small playground attached to the on site pub, and another bigger one for the local community a short walk away from the campground. Toilets and showers were clean, but over the busy Bank Holiday weekend, ran out of toilet paper.

Some loud and happy campers singing and playing music in the evening, but everything died down by 11pm. Had a meal in the pub, which was lovely and decently priced. Friendly owners.

There is a village shop nearby, and for more variety, Tesco Express about 3 miles away. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stokes11 15 reviews from this member

 Wow what a difference a year makes this site was run down and unwelcoming.

But now with new owners and a lot of money spent, complete turnaround very clean grass cut and trimmed regular, showers clean and tidy and pub on site very clean and tidy with a good selection of beers and food we all enjoyed, heard reports of the owner being rude and unwelcoming but each to there own as I found him pleasant, chatty, and very helpful.

£25 a night was ok but for a small site maybe a fiver to much but for a weekend stay we were happy. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Countrylemon 12 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site. We chose this owing to recent good reviews and it didn't disappoint. Spacious flat site and we could choose where we pitched. The showers and loos were clean and maintained, nice washing up facilities, plenty of hot water.

Although behind a pub there was no noise from the pub although one group of 3 tents/caravans insisted on playing music through the day, though not too loud. The owners have done caravanning themselves and don't mind what time you leave on your departure day, which is a plus, it means you can have your full weekend there. There is a small kids play area behind the pub, but one minutes walk down the road there is Bradfield Recreation Ground which has a fantastic kids play area, for both little ones and older kids. Had a go on the zip wire myself. !

The local area is amazing if you're looking for stunning countryside. We walked along the river Stour to Wrabness, saw 'A House for Essex' by Grayson Perry and called in for goodies at Wrabness Community Shop. Returned via part of the Essex Way.

It's close to Flatford Mill NT which is a must do if you're in the area, more walking and hired a rowing boat.

We will be returning, there is plenty more to do in the area. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Toyboy 1 review from this member

 This is a great site well run with excellent facilities set on a flat field with shaded plots or all day sunshine.

Well positioned for Flatford Mill, Dedham Vale, Manningtree, Mistley and beyond.

Good for cycling, walking and generally exploring.

I feel that providing a bus timetable would benefit since a bus stops directly outside and perhaps a map detailing local footpaths as this is a truly beautiful part of the country to explore.

Easy to find as it is behind The Strangers Home Pub that we will use on our next visit. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kallithea 5 reviews from this member

 This is a quiet comfortable site set behind the Strangerís Home Inn. The field is level, well drained, and the pitches are of a good size. We had a motorhome, awning room, and a car pitched alongside with plenty of space. The toilet block/shower was kept clean and the water was as hot as you wanted. Thereís not much in the village of Bradfield but nearby Manningtree has a good selection of shops and restaurants. For me the cycling was good with nice routes to Harwich and Clacton and there are nearby walks along the Stour estuary.

From what I have heard the site had been run down but the new owners have been there about eight weeks and have transformed the place. I would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: F750kar 1 review from this member

 Paid a visit to this campsite last weekend as heard its under new ownership. WOW! what a change. Pub is being totally refurbished, as are mens and womens toilet/ shower blocks. Was very impressed with the new owners, very friendly and great atmosphere. Have booked for the mayday bank holiday weekend. Pub grand opening is on the Saturday. We're really looking forward to a great weekend in a beautiful part of the country. 


Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Strangers Home Pub And Campsite child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Strangers Home Pub And Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Strangers Home Pub And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bradfield      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Essex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5722 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement