Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Windmill Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest > Windmill Farm Campsite Reviews

Windmill Farm Campsite
Dale
Haverfordwest
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA62 3QX
Tel: 01646 636428
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 8 Reviews
                9/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 11 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mikeymustard 1 review from this member

 June '21, the UK held its breath as the government ummed & aahed about whether it was going to ease the covid restrictions, and we - similarly - dithered about whether to take our tent to Wales!

Due to everyone else apparently making the same choice and sites with 11 nights available in short supply, we cast our net a little further than planned and found Windmill Farm.

It turned out to be the perfect mix of what's described as 'back to basics' but with electric hook ups (very important for us oldies-ish these days). Oh, and not a yurt or glamper in sight!

Despite having difficulty booking elsewhere, we had the field mostly to ourselves, I guess the length of stay was the issue.

The field, despite some terracing up one side with EHU points and a few permanently sited "touring" caravans dotted about, had not been messed with so was nice and natural.

The pitch itself was level, and enormous - our 5 man fitted with space all round!

The windmill of its name is at the bottom of the field; a beautiful stone-built structure which, unfortunately has no sails, but was home to a pair of swallows that ceaselessly hunted through the field about six inches off the ground.

And then there was the view: uninterrupted across Milford Haven waterway to the refinery. I'm not being sarcastic here by the way, the refinery is the most scenic industrial complex I've ever seen! By day it's an artist's impression of a Martian city or an early Star Trek set, and by night you could be looking at the Manhattan skyline!

Site facilities were few but clean: three unisex toilets and a shower (takes 50p but lasted ages), and quite a walk from our lofty position at the top of the field.

The owners were friendly, and while stressing that they were there if needed, left us in peace to get on with it, which is how we like it

Out of season price for two adults in a big tent and hookup was 20 per night, which even with the shower costing extra is, I think, good value.

The site is about a mile from Dale, the best part of which is the car park. It also has a cafe (with so so coffee), a pub, toilets, and not much else. The beach is nothing to write home about, but there are plenty of places to sit and eat an ice cream from the little shop. It's walkable as long as you don't mind the narrow lane, but the climb from the road back up to the farm is a killer, especially after a pint or two at The Griffin!

If you don't mind a bit of a walk and want a more secluded beach, there's West Dale Bay, which is probably a half hours walk from the site or 10 minutes from Dale car park.

A short trip away is Marloes, a very pretty beach (and massive at low tide) with a really nice cafe at the top that has a spectacular view, interesting food and the best coffee in the area.

If you don't fancy a beach, drive through Marloes village (picking up a hot pasty at the cafe/post office) and at the end of this road is Martin's Haven. From here you can pick up a boat trip to one of the islands, but also climb up onto the headland and walk all the way around. The views are amazing - one way you look straight out to sea, and the other way across St Brides Bay to Newgale, Solva and St David's.

We've not camped so far down before, the furthest previously being Little Haven, and you're a little bit far from "civilisation" (ie a supermarket). It's about equidistant from Haverfordwest and Milford - a half hour's drive on a good day when the traffic and tractors (and the Welsh miles) are favouring you.

So if you like peace and quiet, a uniquely beautiful view ( I'd give it 10/10 for the view alone) and absolutely no yurts, Windmill Farm is definitely for you.

If, on the other hand, your idea of a campsite is regimented pitches where everyone has built their own private domain out of wind breaks, or you're a glamper (for whom there is a special part of hell reserved), then move on, nothing to see here, look, just beat it will ya? 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: G Ryall 5 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at this site many times and highly recommend it if you want lovely scenery and peace and quiet

Well kept facilities with the added bonus of friendly owners

Short walk takes you into Dale a pretty little seaside village. All for 22 per night

We will be back. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: 07scottk 5 reviews from this member

 I love Windmill Farm. I stayed in May 2017 whilst on foot walking the coast path and June 2018 with our campervan. A superb location with extensive views overlooking Milford Haven, though could be a little exposed owing to high position on the hill. Steep access road.

Facilities are basic but clean, with a toilet and shower. Pitches for vans are terraced and levelled and grass beautifully mown around the edges of the field, leaving the centre as a lovely grass meadow.

A fifteen minute walk into Dale and its pub and cafe. Also easy access to both St. Ann's Head, a circular walk, and to Marloes beaches. The tidal bridge also gives access either side of high tide to the shores on the north coast of Milford Haven.

Windmill Farm was empty both times. I hope to see this site keep going with the same character and simplicity. It's a little gem. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: [rgmw]largie 4 reviews from this member

 Two of us went backpacking part of the Pembrokeshire coastpath from Milford Haven to Dale. This was a most excellent site for us. We camped up in the lee of the Windmill itself with cracking views over the harbour, only 7. 50 for both of us. Two toilets and 1 shower. All nice and clean.

First week in July it was empty.

As might be expected it was VERY dark and I had a very happy few minutes star gazing from my bag.

About 15 minutes walk into Dale for tea. We had Cod & chips and 2 pints each in the Griffin which came to around 42 between us so not the cheapest meal out but well cooked & delicious. Be aware they stop serving meals at 08:30 on Saturday which almost caught us out. Cafe in the village was open for breakfast ;- full English 4. 99.

Would happily stay here again if in the area and for the one night passing through I couldn't fault it.

Cheers

Dave 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rocket1 1 review from this member

 A very peaceful site with great views. I would recommend this and definitely visit again. The small village of Dale is a 15 min walk away with an excellent view of the sea front and a award winning restaurant, the griffin inn. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Siriol 2 reviews from this member

 The views from this site are truly lovely and the owners who run it couldn't be more helpful. There is a small toilet block with a shower and toilets (bring 50ps but that gives you ages in the shower) If you want a proper old fashioned campsite in one of the most beautiful parts of Pembrokeshire this is for you! Camping is around the edge of the field so you won't be cramped. There are tent pitches and hook ups. There is a lovely safe pebble beach just below the site that is great for canoeing, swimming and bbqing and is an easy walk down the drive plus it's a fantastic birdwatching area. Dale is a 2 minute drive away and watching the boats come and go whilst enjoying a glass of something on 'the wall' outside The Griffin pub is a must! Great food too! Our children love this place. Simple pleasures that remind you of times gone by. Be prepared to spend hours crabbing on the pontoon in Dale. Happy days! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: LIZ20557 11 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this campsite as I was at a sailing event in Dale. It is the closest site to the village, taking about 15 minutes to walk. But it is very dark at night, take a torch or 2! Booking was easy with the owners, they were in no rush to collect our money, leaving it till the day before we left. The site is on a slope, but van pitches are generally flat, having been tiered. Tents pitches are on the slope.

The site is at the top of the hill, so views are fantastic. But the hill is very steep, we found it difficult to push a buggy up hill! This is only a small CS so there are very few extras, there is EHU and a toilet and shower. No play area for children but you are near the beach. The showers and toilets were clean but basic. Take 50p pieces for the electric shower.

We chose the site for the location as we didn't want to move the van once we were there, so it suited our purpose. There is a pay and display car park in the village if you drive down.

We had meals at the restaurant in the sailing club and drinks in the local pub. Friends ate in the pub and were very impressed with the food. If Best to take your provisions as it is a long way back to Haverfordwest to tesco for shopping, the 10 miles take quite a long time. I think that you could buy milk in the local cafe. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rachieb 17 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this campsite for 2 weekends ,my husband had a sailing event in Dale.

It is such a pretty part of Pembs.The site is up on a hill,so very open and can get very windy / cold.

But great for a getting away from it all break,very scenic.

Very basic site,1 shower (50p for 7 minutes)2 toilets / basins

1 fridge with ice compartment.

Fab for walking the coastal path or watersports etc

Nice meals at the Griffin pub in the village.

There is also a cafe,shop,Yacht Club etc.

The beach isn't sandy, but many sandy beaches nearby.

Nearest big shopping town is Haverfordwest approx 10 miles away,with large Tesco and many other shops plus hospital etc.

Lovely owners of the site,we will definitely be back next summer. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Windmill Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Windmill Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Windmill Farm Campsite dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Haverfordwest      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, West Sussex 09/10 to 10/10
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Ardingly Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2726 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement