Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Le Grand Fraigneau Camping

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > Site Reviews

Le Grand Fraigneau Camping
Menomblet
Vendee
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
85700
Tel: 0033 251516821
    Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 6
Open: 15th April - 30th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 9 Reviews
                9/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Vendee_05 1 review from this member

We have visited this site last year and this year for a week each time, on our journey from Spain where we live to the UK for the Summer. We really enjoy it here, the owners Paul & Debbie are there if you need them, giving us plenty of privacy which is what we like. We stay in the sited touring caravan they offer on site, which is large and very well equipped. The peacefulness of the location is perfect for us, frogs croaking on the pond and swallows swooping down in the field are just some of the ways the site gives you the feeling of total relaxation. The facilities are excellent, clean and we agree with another reviewer's comment that the shower is the best we've ever seen on a caravan site! We are planning to return again next year, and highly recommend it.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dreamline 3 reviews from this member

Well there isn't a lot you can add to whats been already said and due to an admin blunder we had the whole place to ourselfes. We used the sat nav and so glad we had it as we where diverted twice, what should have been 4hrs, in total took 6 and reaching Montournis we ended having to ring paul who kindley put us on the right road(so simple if your sat nav lets you put in post codes). The whole 2 weeks where extreamly relaxing and we could have still been there now, yes we to had the frog, the owl and the heard of cows who went through there rituals prior to settling down for the night. Paul and Debbie always on hand and have plans to make it even better, great facilities for this type of site (better than some of the larger ones)we have been on, just to repeat whats gone before lovely chilled out site hope to return one day.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Steveaudi 4 reviews from this member

Stayed at Le Grand Fraigneau for a week to chill out and basically do nothing. If you can't chill out here then you can't chill out anywhere! I know people have said that the site is hard to find, but all I did was put the postcode from the letter sent by Debbie into my satnav and it took me right to the gates. They owners are two of the friendliest people you could wish to meet. When we arrived, they asked us if we had the converter lead for our hook-up cable and when I said I didn't even know I needed one, off he went and lent me one for the week. As we had had such a long drive down from Manchester, we didn't drive much in the local area, but did go on a couple of walks down the local lanes. Lovely! The shower room is spotlessly clean and has the best shower cubicle we have had on any site. It is a long walk to the local shop so you really need a car to get back up the hill. If you want a bar and music till midnight go elsewhere. If you want peace and quiet you won't beat Le Grand Fraigneau.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Adrian06 26 reviews from this member

Just what we'd hoped for! A real find, peace, quiet and tranquillity. A very rural area with quiet roads and easy access to the many surrounding attractions. The site is a large flat field with open outlook, 10A hook-up, good shower and WC. Don't go here if you want a bar/club house etc. The facilities for some leisure activities are there, but the emphasis is on a real CL type site, with as much or as little input from Paul and Debbie who are available 24/7. We concur others - a real gem!

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Briggs183 1 review from this member

We had a fantastic week, rather spoiled as we had the whole place to ourselves. We rented the caravan on site which was first class with a huge awning with a family sized table inside.

This is a very rural area and yes it did take some finding as the local major will not let Paul & Debbie the owners, put up a sign. Why, who knows (it is france)but do have a good look on google maps of the exact location before you go.

We did a lot of cycling on very quiet roads, one very relaxing area to explore and the more you look the more you will find. Paul & Debbie could not have been more helpful. I really miss the corus of the frogs croaking away joined by the crickets and the local owl at night. We have grown up children but you may find that older children would not find much to occupy themselves on this site; youngsters would be fine.

A day visit to the Ilse de Rae by La rochelle well recommended with golden beaches deserted when we were there.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Oxter 61 reviews from this member

At the risk of repeating the other endorsements in the only 2 reviews so far, this is a cracking find and I'm sure as it becomes better known it will become a firm favourite with UKCS folks and other CL type lovers. (although it has better facilities than a lot of 3* sites in france). There are no direction signs to help you find it so look carefully at that map! I will come back with written directions. Debbie and Paul the friendly helpful owners make you very welcome.

The scenery from the site and all around is wonderful and this is a haven. Best shower I've seen on any site, and the whole place is immaculate and the grass neat.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rosiesmum 2 reviews from this member

Rural Camping a la Ferme CL style campsite with lovely hot shower washroom. Large level pitches, surrounded by beautiful countryside and wildlife/birds etc. 1km from Montournais and basic shops - between La Chataigneraie, Pouzauges and Bressuire for Supermarkets and lots of local activities.

Play area and fenced conservation pond on site. Above ground pool in summer months - site open all year.

Friendly helpful owners - see website for full details. Had excellent holiday here and will return!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Happypre65 8 reviews from this member

We stayed for a few nights, this site as others have quoted, is very quite, safe, with outstanding toilet and shower facilities, but is hard to locate, even with satnav, the owners are not allowed a sign at the end of the road,

Make sure you come in from montournais, as the roads are very narrow, from the town, turn right up the hill until you come to a bend this is where you need to go straight on. It looks like it goes into a yard, campsite on left through the gates, you will not see this from the road,

Pitches are not marked out so loads of room for children to play ball etc,

1 km to shop,

Very laid back site with no one checking on you,

I would say if you are not very mobile you will need transport as the hill is very long on the way back to the site,

Hosts are very good,

If you had a car and caravan this would be a good place for visits out, as there are lots of places to explore in this area, so it is a hidden gem.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rowandstu 2 reviews from this member

This site is a gem. Quiet country camping with beautiful views, loads of space and beautiful views and facilities. The owners are the best bit being very friendly, incredibly helpful and English.

We camped with 3 kids under 8. We had a puncture on the way and missed our ferry and the owners offered to stay up till any time to let us in. We then had the place to ourselves including pool and fruit trees. Kids loved it.

Paul is also a car mechanic and auto electrician so was able to fix our temperamental water pump and advise where to get a new tyre.

Toilet is pristine shower is also a pristine shower unit with jet sprays, there's also a vanity unit and loads of space.

There are bike routes near by, a cheap local outdoor pool with slides, a fishing lake and a new indoor play centre the owners found and printed out details when it was rainy for a morning.

If you love quiet, safe camping, this site can't be beaten - and at less than half the price of bigger, less attractive places.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Pays de la Loire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3515 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019