Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Trumpet Inn

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Ledbury > Trumpet Inn Reviews

Trumpet Inn
Trumpet Crossroads
Trumpet
Ledbury
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR8 2RA
Tel: 01531 670277
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 10
Open: 22/03 To 30/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 15 Reviews
                7/10 from 15 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Stan on tour 48 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a one night stopover whilst in the area. The site and pub represent excellent value for money.

The facilities are adequate for a very small site, both clean and well maintained with EHU.

We had a lovely and very reasonably priced meal in the the pub, good hearty traditional pub grub.

My only gripe is the location, the site is on a busy crossroads and whilst you can't see the traffic you can hear it. Apart from the pub there isn't anywhere to walk to either.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ROBH56 6 reviews from this member

Having visited the site last October I would agree they needed wholesale changes regarding the camping side of the pub.

We arrived with our friends to a friendly welcome on the Friday afternoon and paid £30 for two nights stay with hook up.

We were very pleased to see that the toilet / shower / washing up facility had been completely renovated with the walls clad in white plastic and the ceilings etc fully painted. The grass was the ideal length and there were eight units in the field which is spacious. We ate in the pub Saturday evening and had two great courses of food at very reasonable prices, the new owners who only took over six weeks ago are definitely making good changes and it shows. A visit to Leominster is a must with it's antique shops etc and the Hop Pocket craft village close by. Take the main road to Leominster and turn right onto the Worcester road and probably three miles up on the left hand side. Very different feel to the usual craftie type places. We only live in Cheltenham and it's the ideal weekend run. Give the Trumpet a go, the only downside is the main road is a little noisy at times. I really hope they make a success of the pub and campsite because they have already made great improvements.

The field has a gate which makes it so safe for children.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MAT912E 7 reviews from this member

This was the second time we have visited the Trumpet Inn caravan site as it is easy for us to get to after school on a Friday. Close to the lovely town of Ledbury, where the shops are mostly independent which makes a real change, the pub seems to have changed hands and so no longer offers a discount on meals etc to campers, but the food is still excellent quality. The site nightly rate has gone up to £15, though when we booked (April) it was £12.

Sadly, the site seems to be just an afterthought now - no-one cleaned the shower/toilets whilst we stayed and there were only 2 overflowing dustbins for the whole site. Clearly some animal, cats or foxes, got into it in the night so it was strewn all over. My wife collected it up twice, but after that we gave up. No-one from the pub came near.

The elsan point is housed in a locked shed, and we had to knock the landlord up at 10am on Sunday to use it. It was filthy and really unpleasant - not what you expect these days.

Having said all that, we were away with friends and our kids had a great time - running about with space to play safely. The weather was stunning, and that makes all the difference too!

I wouldn't be surprised if this site bites the dust soon, which is a great shame as it is a smashing peaceful spot - just neglected.

The site next door (Pixley Fields?) is clearly no longer used and is overgrown and in a poor state, which is also a great shame.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chris tolley 1 review from this member

Location very good We use our bus passes to visit Ledbury and Hereford - the buses stop out the site

The were was lots of room and the grassed area was well kept

We were unhappy with the condition of the toilet and shower area which was very mucky in the two days there no toilet paper at all the whole are needed re decorating

No elsan disposal was available had to use the loo which is very bad We are later told by another camper that he thought maybe it was in a locked area!

No refuse area displayed or found! 1 other camper had left bags of rubbish in black bags which animals had got into. This is such a shame as the pub was good it appeared that the site was ' unloved ' What a shame

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Airedale344 1 review from this member

We stayed at this site for one night the first weekend of opening!

The site was good although the toilet and shower block left a lot to be desired. Glad we had our own on board!

The food at the Trumpet Inn is excellent value for money and freshly cooked, definitely worth dining here!

Was hoping to be able to walk into Ledbury but as there were no footpaths we decided to drive instead!

(I cannot comment on child friendliness as we don't have any)! It's a shame you can't take your dog into the bar area of the pub, but as there is a resident dog snooping about - it's probably best that you can't!

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Andrewjc 3 reviews from this member

A nice site, but one shower and one toilet for both sexes for the entire site is not enough (although I must admit I didn't have to queue -- perhaps a lot of the vans had their own). And the shower cubicle had a lot of mould in it. The pub looked very pleasant, too -- it had a good atmosphere. It's by a main road, but I didn't find it noisy. The electric hook-up worked well. They were very friendly when I booked by phone at the last minute, and very efficient when I checked in. And it's a very beautiful area, handy for paragliding at the Malverns.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andyo 5 reviews from this member

Stayed May Bank Holiday weekend with 2 tents. Site was full, but with only 10 pitches it was not over crowded.

Arrived late on Friday night, and had pre-booked dinner, which is advisable as the pub was busy.

Pub had organised a beer festival with bands, pig roast etc for the Saturday, which was nice. Major complaint is the price of the beer! £3.40 for a pint of fosters!

Food good value though

Site has 10 pitches with electric, good level site, only disadvantage the ground has channels of stone (may be for drainage), but when one side of your tent is over these you will need heavy duty rock pegs to get any depth!

It has 1 toilet and shower, which we thought would be a problem, but never had to queue. Inside the toilet block is a wash up area. Only compliant was the toilet and shower area didnít look as though it was cleaned during our stay.

Some road noise, but nothing too much to spoil our sleep

Pub garden could perhaps benefit from a childrenís play area, just to keep the young ones interested, but only a minor point.

Good location for Ledbury, Hereford and Malvern, plenty of walks locally, and Eastnor Castle is well worth a visit, but check as itís not open every weekend

Overall excellent value for money, would go back, but lets hope the pub reduce the cost of the drinks!

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Gingerwinstydog 8 reviews from this member

Great pub with lovely food.

Owner was extremely helpful.

There's a small unisex toilet block, which was adequate whilst we were there but no sure how this would be if the site was full. There's 1 toilet and 1 shower.

Unfortunately the site is right next to a road junction so we were kept awake by traffic noise. We have a camper van with an elevating canvas roof so this doesn't block out any noise. (but maybe it is us that aren't used to noise, as we do live in the middle of nowhere!). Because of this we decided to move on sooner than we had intended. However, if you don't mind this I think it is a good little site.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TRT1968 7 reviews from this member

The welcome was good, the site was clean and grassy, though with one or two spots hard to peg-in due to buried stones.

Being located next to a public house had it's pluses and minuses, though. There was a free wifi point to use, and the food served there was excellent, but there was some noise at night (not as much as you might expect, though!)

We spent five nights here, and there were plenty of local attractions to keep us busy. The location at a crossroads meant that there was always a new direction to try out every day, and the campsite was sufficiently far enough away from the road to dull the traffic noise.

There was the pub car park between the campers and the nearest road. The site was fenced in adequately, and gated.

The showers were clean, and the washing up facilities were good, with plenty of hot water at no extra charge. There were electrical hookups available, which worked well.

The campsite was on the smaller side, which was nice.

I would recommend this site as good value and a great location.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nplarge 1 review from this member

Stayed for two nights on school hols with our two kids, good size pitches, good value as rates cheap. Down side toilets were not cleaned during our stay, bit groggy. Male and females have only one toilet / shower to share. Had to beat the stinging nettles down to get to the electric hook up, felt someone needs to oversee the site

Pub was good, food great and staff very good friendly and met other guests in motor homes who were regulars and very friendly, enjoyed great night chatting with them

Noisy road lorries all day

Folk on next door site use the limited toilet

Could be better as great location and just needs little attention to the campsite

Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ledbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Herefordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans Ė plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3509 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019