Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Les Embruns

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Brittany > Clohars Carnoet > Camping Les Embruns Reviews

Camping Les Embruns
Le Pouldu
2 Rue Du Philosophe Alain
Clohars Carnoet
Brittany   (Browse area)
29360
Tel: 0033 298 399 107  or  00667451835
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: Mars To End Of September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 17 Reviews
                9/10 from 17 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 48 reviews from this member

My previous review of this site from June 2015 still stands. We love this site and will return to it many times in the future I am sure.

However, one thing to note if you are considering staying here, that we hadn't noted in our previous 2 stays, is the sloping nature of many of the pitches. Both of our previous stays here were on the same pitch which, although it sloped slightly from front to back was nice and level side to side, so positioning the caravan was not a problem. However, this time our allocated pitch sloped from front to back and from side to side and dropped away considerably in the rear corner, making it absolutely impossible to position the caravan, even with levelling ramps, and once we got it level from side to side, we had to lower the jockey wheel so far that one of the rear corner steadies was still a foot from the ground when it was fully extended!

Thankfully, the lady at reception was very good and when we explained the problem we were having trying to level the caravan, she gave us a choice of 3 other pitches, all of which sloped a bit but which would have been perfectly manageable. The one we chose in the end was great and even better than the one we had on our two previous stays but if you are thinking of booking here and you have a caravan, it would be worth contacting the site and stressing that you need a reasonably level pitch as on closer inspection this year, we now see that many of the pitches are very sloping which is something we had not noticed before. Either way, you will definitely need levelling ramps.

Additionally, another thing we had not noted before, as our previous pitches were in the front part of the campsite, is the basketball court. At the back of the site there is a large basketball court with wire fencing all around. I have no problem with children, they are on holiday and have a right to some fun, however, about 10-15 teenagers hung out on this basketball court late into the evening. We were not right beside it so it didn't bother us much, but another British family we met were really upset by the noise coming from the court after 10pm. Noise during the day is one thing and perfectly to be expected, but beware that the basketball court does seem to be an evening congregating space for teenagers, many of whom seem to belong to the privately owned mobile homes on the site and therefore know each other well from regular visits.

However, none of this puts us off the site and we still think this is our favourite campsite.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Trevorpriest 4 reviews from this member

This is the second time we have visited which speaks for itself. The site is ideally situated for anyone who enjoys walking as the coastal walks are truly stunning. The site itself has spacious pitches mostly with electric, water, and waste water facilities.

The toilet block has very spacious showers space with plenty of hot water. Cleaning was carried out regularly.

Bread is available from two shops only 50mtrs from the site. Grocery comes from about 6km away with from 2 large supermarkets. There are several restaurants locally or a visit to Quimperly or Concareau for something special.

Site staff are very helpful and friendly.

We will go again.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 11 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Ditsy79 7 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a fortnight's stay at this fabulous campsite - two adults and a 3-year old child.

We had pre-booked a pitch for our large 8-man tent plus extension - all pitches are at least 10m x 10m so there was plenty of space for us. All pitches have their own electric hook-up point and tap, which makes life easier. The pitches are separated by hedges, which maintains privacy from neighbours. There was a nice mix of nationalities on the campsite - French, Dutch, Belgian, German, British etc.

The campsite is extremely well-kept, with beautiful floral displays everywhere. It is obvious that the owners of the campsite and their team take a lot of pride in keeping the campsite clean and well-maintained.

There is a heated 'indoor' pool, with a roof that can be opened in the warm weather - the pool was new this year, and is lovely. We went out of the main season, so it was never very busy, but apparently there is an 'adults only' swimming session for an hour each morning in peak season. There are a couple of open-air children's splash pools, which are unheated but warm up quickly in the sun. There are two water-slides, which are on at specific times in the day.

There was a small playground for children with a couple of small climbing frames, some swings and see-saws, plus a couple of bouncy castles in high season.

You can play mini-golf for free (only 6 holes though), and there is a games rooms with free Wi-Fi. There is also a multi-sports pitch, where children can play football and basketball etc.

The campsite has a very peaceful nature reserve/farm in its grounds, with shetland ponies, miniature donkeys, goats, chickens and ducks. It is a lovely part of the campsite to wander around, and the animals appeared to be very well looked-after.

There is a small orchard in the campsite, which provided a nice shady area in the heat - it seemed to be popular with the campers who were walking their dogs.

The campsite has opened the 'Ocean Villa' this year, which has a library and a kitchen that can be rented. There is a bar with terrace, which was open for a couple of nights during our stay - a lovely place to relax with a glass of wine or a beer.

The toilet and shower facilities were more than adequate in number, and cleaned several times a day. The shower cubicles are huge, and perfect for parents with children as there is a lot of room for changing etc. There are facilities for bathing infants in both shower blocks, with two baby baths in each block - we didn't use these, but again they looked immaculate.

There is a laundry room with several washing machines and dryers - 5 euros for a wash, including detergent, which I think is about the standard price for laundry facilities in France. There are also several laundry sinks in each block.

We loved the location of the campsite - there is a small shop across the road which sells the basics, and several boulangeries to buy bread and croissants each morning. There are larger supermarkets 10 minutes drive away. There are a couple of nice restaurants within walking distance of the campsite, and several bars on the road down to the beach.

The nearest beach was lovely, a nice bay - great for swimming as there were no big waves. There are also lots of other beaches in the local area - Bellangenet was lovely and sandy. You can walk the coastal paths to discover beaches not accessible by road - such as La Roche Percee with its wonderful rocky arch.

All in all, this campsite was awesome and far exceeded our expectations. There is nothing flashy about Les Embruns but it is by far the best campsite we have stayed on in France. A very peaceful and relaxing part of the world, and we hope to return next year.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 48 reviews from this member

We stayed at Camping Les Embruns for 10 nights at the end of June 2015. We were allocated a lovely large pitch however, we had told the site in advance that we had a large awning. Many of the other pitches are a bit smaller and whilst being adequate, might feel a little cramped with a large caravan and awning plus all the usual camping paraphernalia.

The site itself is beautiful, more like camping in a garden surrounded by flowers and shrubs rather than in a standard campsite. The toilet block nearest us was immaculate and had the largest shower cubicles I have ever seen on a campsite. All the usual facilities such as laundry, dishwashing etc are all well maintained and plentiful.

The site has a medium sized rectangular pool with a retractable roof which was closed in cooler weather. The pool was nicely heated and we enjoyed using it in the late afternoon when it was relatively empty. There was another small outdoor pool which was really just for the water slide but we never used it so I can't comment.

The site is directly across the road from a small supermarket selling a few basics which was fine to get your morning croissants etc and a few soft drinks and fruit etc but not a big range. The nearest biggish supermarket we found was about 15 minutes drive away in the town of Guidel and it has everything you could want, including cheap petrol and a very good Sunday morning market.

The site is within a 5 minutes walk of the sea with a range of different coves. Some of these were quite seaweedy and even the biggest cove with the least seaweed was still quite weedy. We were lucky to have amazing weather when we were there and really wanted to swim in the sea so we drove 15 minutes to Guidel Plage which had amazing long golden sandy beaches with no seaweed! There were also some lovely beachfront restaurants in Guidel Plage and loads of free parking so we preferred to go there to the beach rather than the local ones.

My husband and I love walking and we made good use of the Brittany coastal path which you can pick up just down the road from the campsite and you can walk in both directions. To the left you can only go a short distance before hitting the river but if you go to the right you can walk all the way round to Doelan which was a very picturesque fishing village.

Apart from walking and the beach there isn't much to do in the immediate area but we did a couple of nice day trips to Concarneau and Quimperle. We didn't do too much when we were there as we really just wanted to relax and this site was ideal - peaceful and quiet.

We are planning to return again in June 2016 as we enjoyed the peacefulness of the area and the opportunities for walking. We had amazing weather in 2015 but I am a realist and I know that this was unusual for the time of year. I would imagine that in poor weather, the area will be a bit like Cornwall in bad weather but with much less to do!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Karen Richard89 13 reviews from this member

This was our 2nd year for 1 week at Les Embruns. This is a great site in all respects, not in your face but really nice for kids and well maintained facilities. Great walks to coves in either direction along the coast, and the 'town beach' is 400m down the road from the site entrance. It's Brittany, so the weather is king! But why on earth do they close after Wk 3 in September - it was fuller then last year than when we visited in August this year! Thoroughly recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Joe90jr 2 reviews from this member

Les Embruns, Le Pouldu, Brittany, located at the top of the village a couple of hundred meters from the sandy beeches. We were here a week at the end of August 2015. They accept Acsi and camping cheques etc from third week of August.

The staff are all fantastic and their English and willingness to use it far outstrips our French!

This 'peaceful' site has two pools with three slide, the indoor is heated to a very nice warm temperature, there are sun lounges and chairs for free use. It gets busy in the main part of the day during peek holidays as you would expect but when we arrived around 4pm it was fine.

There are two toilet blocks and two shower blocks which are both unisex, located in the middle and end of the main area. The showers are free and have mixer/ push button taps which also include a sink and plenty of space in each cubical. There is toilet paper and hand soap provided.

While we were there for entertainment they have a football pitch with posts, table tennis and nice grassy areas to walk with some animals (donkeys and goats) to pet.

The grass pitches vary in size, we have a two birth with 260 awning and Jetta, just fitting on the pitch however across the way it looks at least half as big again. The site intermingles static vans with touring. The access road is just a car width and this can make setting up the van tricky, but we have a motor mover. Without one you can easily push the van in to the flat pitches. If there is space they allow you to choose a pitch which would make access easier and some allow you to drive right through your pitch (in one side and out the other). There is lots of shade provided by many trees (including apple trees).

Our pitch (and it looks like most do) had water, grey water disposal, electricity and TV point which was nice. I believe it is 16amp. We have a small (normal) sky dish and we have picked up Freesat without a lot effort and strong signal.

Free 30 min a day wifi is available at one of the 'club' house each day by getting a code issued from reception. Wifi is available across the site for 20 euros a week (appears fairly standard).

Would we stay again? Possibly not as there is another few sites nearby (within walking distance) and one looks slightly nice, wider greener spaces (le grands sables. ) for the same price. Then again we rarely return, others have been here a number of years :-)

There is aircraft noise starting September as I think there is a military base nearby, none of which bothered us.

The site is secure with barriers that get locked at a set time at night, there is parking outside the barriers if you want to return late. Don't forget your code as you will not be able to walk in :-)

We needed to have the electricity reset a couple of times, this was done before we had time to return from reception, amazing!

Some of those we spoke to have been here for a number of years, it certainly ticks a number of boxes.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Teekayk 5 reviews from this member

We stayed here in the first 2 weeks of August in our tent, 2 adults and our 8 year old son.

The site was fantastic and definitely the best we have stayed at so far. We had a comfort pitch, which has electric, tap and drain. It was just big enough for our large tent, car, trailer and space for table and chairs.

All pitches are separated with hedges etc, and the whole site is beautifully planted out with trees and flowers, and kept clean and tidy.

All the facilities are spotless and we never had any issues with queuing for anything. There is a small playground with bouncy castles, a few mini golf holes, a nature space with ducks and donkeys, a small library and a games room. My husband enjoyed a massage at the health suite and the restaurant right next door at the front of the campsite was fine too, providing pizza, salads, chicken, steak and mussels. They also did some items to takeaway. There is a small shop round the corner for basics. The bakery just 100m down the road does lovely cakes too.

The swimming pool was great as it is covered and heated for rainy days and the water slides were perfect for my 8 year old. All the area was clean and well kept with plenty of loungers. We paid extra for Internet. The signal was ok most of the time. Only 2 devices could use the Internet for the one fee, and only one device could be used at any one time.

Le Pouldu is a small sleepy village with generally not too much going on except the market on Wednesday morning and a smaller one on Sunday nights in high season. There was a circus there one night while we were there. The best beach was the one opposite the Girapark as it was less seaweedy. This was about an easy 10 minute walk from the campsite ( walk down to the sea and further along the road to the right ).

We visited Pont Aven, Concarneau, Quimperle ( there is a large LeClerc here ). We visited Lorient to go to Ile de Groix. There was a huge Celtic festival on at Lorient which was well worth a visit. Our visit to Ile de Groix didn't go as planned because we didn't give ourselves enough time due to lack of planning on our part. You need a full day and it takes 45 mins to get there on the ferry from Lorient, which does not run as frequently as I had anticipated.

The site was fantastic and I would have no hesitation in recommending it. The area is very pleasant and I expect to return sometime.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Big Roy 4 reviews from this member

We had a week here, it's an immaculate site, with flowers and shrubs everywhere, the pitches are separated by hedges and although not big, adequate.

There is a pool which we did not use so can't comment and a small shop just outside the gate which sold fresh bread, there is also a restaurant which was good and value for money.

The toilet blocks were immaculate with push button showers.

The staff on reception were very helpful especially Gwen who couldn't do enough for us.

The beach in Pouldu is a ten minute walk and is superb although no dogs.

Lots of places to eat and drink, There's an Intermarche at Moelan Sur Mer and a vet

This is a beautiful part of Brittany with lots of places to visit and reminded me very much of Cornwall but with better weather

I would highly recommend this site but if you are travelling from Calais I would advise to stop overnight half way, as it is quite a drive

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alphonso De Lard 23 reviews from this member

We had 13 nights on this site, and one night on the Brittany Ferry to Roscoff from Plymoouth. The site is only 2. 5 hours from the port, and makes an ideal campsite for those not wanting to travel too far into France. As with Ghislaine's review below, we were highly impressed with Les Embruns. It's a beautiful site, really well looked after, with top notch facilities. We had a Grand Confort pitch, which wasn't massive, our car was squeezed onto the pitch along the road, (only negative of the whole stay, more of that later), but we had plenty of room for van and full awning. The showers were spotlessly clean, push button, but the temperature could be altered, and the push lasted plenty of time. The swimming pool was fantastic, sometimes busy, sometimes not. Our junior camper enjoyed the slides but the outside pools were a little chilly! The indoor pool was clean, and warm. Loads to do on site, ping pong, animations, games room, park, petanque etc. We bought the wifi so we could use it on the pitch, worked fine mostly, but was hit and miss a couple of times. Free wifi is available in the games room. The site had a mixture of custom, quite a few English and French, but also Spanish, Irish, Dutch and German. Pitches are a mixture of tents, caravans and chalets.

Concarneau, Pont Aven, Port Louis (interest Citadel here) and Quimperle are all within easy reach and are well worth a visit. In fact, I was impressed with the whole area. South Brittany is beautiful, hardly any litter - anywhere, nice properties, rivers galore, lovely beaches, estuaries, it's a lovely geographic area well worth a visit. There's a lovely beach at Kerfanny, as well as giving us plenty of somewhat immature laughs! There is a local Abbey, we visited but just walked around the grounds rather than paying an entrance fee - was worth the walk as we saw a kingfisher by the estuary, I was so chuffed, never spotted one before, and managed to get a couple of poor photos of it. Some of the best things in life are free! Speaking of free, there was an excellent firework display over Pouldu port, not sure what they were celebrating, but presume it's an annual thing - keep a look out next August. Must have been an hour of excellent fireworks, if not longer, over the estuary. Fantastic.

Shopping. There's an Intermarche at Moelan Sur Mer and a Carrefour at Clohars Carnoet. We preferred the slightly larger Intermarche, (the butcher in here is an absolute star - go seek him out). There's a small shop just by the site that sells most basics, as well as fresh bread and croissants. Although the almond croissants from the bakers next to the cafe on the road towards the beach, are delicious! We found the bread from this shop slightly nicer than from the site shop too. We ate at the site restaurant a couple of nights, good pizza and reasonably priced. Found a lovely Italian restaurant in Guidel, really good choice on the menu, grilled meats, fish, moules and pizza/pasta dishes. Desserts were outstanding! The local markets are well worth a visit, although it does seem to be the same stall holders traveling around each one.

The one negative was the car parking on the pitch. (106). A young lad accidentally rode his bike straight into the corner of our car, causing very slight damage. Other pitches had plenty more room, but our car was, although on our pitch, right next to one of the main thoroughfares of the camp site. If we return to this site, I would probably ask not to be pitched here again, or to ask for a bigger pitch so we can park further from the road. Fortunately, not too much damage was done, and I decided to drop it, but he's left his mark on the car, which spoiled a day or two of the holiday for me.

We would definitely stay at Les Embruns again if we return to this part of France, it's a lovely well cared for site, suitable for couples and families. Bonjournee.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fionna 6 reviews from this member

This was a super site, our first one abroad to visit, so how lucky were we in finding this gem of a place ? We travelled via the tunnel, which took 35 mins then it was a long old journey from Calais to Le Pouldu, with 7, yes 7, stops, we took 12 hours ! But driving on the french roads is far less stressful than uk roads and the countryside is idyllic, so as much as we were extremely tired on our arrival, we still enjoyed the journey.

As late as it was when we got to Les Embruns, we were shown to our pitch A14, right next to the swimming pool. Superb, . Settled in lovely. The pitch was surrounded by hedges and tall trees and flowers, EHU was exactly the same as we use in uk, so no need for adaptors, the water connection to the tap was a pushfit one, the water pressure brilliant. All this on the one pitch, although they do have pitches with basic amenities too. Was a little surprised when I went to have a look at the toilet/showers. Couldn't seem to identify Male and Female. And why was that ?. Because, they were combined. I was gobsmacked to say the least at first, thought I was going to have to take Immodium for the whole 2 weeks hahahah, but what the heck, they were superbly clean, spotless and fragrant smelling. Never once was there an embarrasing problem using them and the showers were huge, we tended to go together in one to enable more availability to other people, they too were spotless.

The swimming pool has 2 water slides, a small children pool and an indoor proper pool. My only gripe here would be that the notices say. No diving. All children to be accompanied by an adult. This was not adhered to and found it difficult to enjoy a quiet swim. Perhaps if they allocated a couple of hours early in the morning for adult only swims, then the kids could enjoy the rest of the time.

Staff are so helpful, from Gwen the owner to Murray the security guard. The site is very environmentally aware, the plants are well looked after and play a large part in making it a welcoming place to be.

There is a small restaurant on the corner of the road you turn into for Les Embruns, we had a couple of meals there, but they don't seem to let you sit there and just have a drink as they prefer to keep their tables for customers buying meals. A shop just across from the restaurant which you can buy your daily baguettes and croissants mmmm mmmm, the main road through the town leads to a couple of beautiful beaches, whereby you pass another couple of eateries and pubs. Also a market on this road each Monday evening, they block the road off, approx 40 stalls.

Lovely places to visit are : Port Aven, 20 minutes away, Port Doelan, 10 minutes away then Concarnau, approx 40 mins away, a beautiful walled town with quaint shops, good parking just outside the walls on the front.

Back to the site, you can get a ticket from reception for 30 mins of free wifi which you use in the games room, we didn't realise this until after we paid 33 euros for 2 weeks of wifi, but we could only get on this in our awning, and that was hit and miss most times. We didn't use our tv as we didn't have satellite with us, but I do believe you could hire one from the reception. Also you could hire irons and hoovers, but don't forget your euro plug. Which we did ! The washing machines by the games room were ok, but couldn't manage to get the machine to open up to pour my softener in, so that was a little annoying, but hey, does it matter ?.

All in all, if your looking for a lovely site to stay on, you would be hard pressed to find one as good as this one.

Gwen and her staff are very accomodating, help with anything you want. Nothing too much trouble, even opened the gates for us at 4. 15 in the morning so we could be on our way home.

Lots of tents and motorhomes ànd statics at this site, with all nationalities. We made some firm friends there. Loved this holiday so much thinking about returning there next year as there is still more places to visit. Sorry to go on and on, but I think you get the gest. It was a brilliant place.

Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Clohars Carnoet      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Brittany

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5785 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019