Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Les Embruns

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Brittany > Site Reviews

Camping Les Embruns
Le Pouldu
2 Rue Du Philosophe Alain
Clohars Carnoet
Brittany   (Browse area)
29360   See Map
Tel: 0033 298 399 107  or  00667451835
    Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: Mars To End Of September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 17 Reviews
                9/10 from 17 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (14) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Seaside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 39 reviews from this member

My previous review of this site from June 2015 still stands. We love this site and will return to it many times in the future I am sure.

However, one thing to note if you are considering staying here, that we hadn't noted in our previous 2 stays, is the sloping nature of many of the pitches. Both of our previous stays here were on the same pitch which, although it sloped slightly from front to back was nice and level side to side, so positioning the caravan was not a problem. However, this time our allocated pitch sloped from front to back and from side to side and dropped away considerably in the rear corner, making it absolutely impossible to position the caravan, even with levelling ramps, and once we got it level from side to side, we had to lower the jockey wheel so far that one of the rear corner steadies was still a foot from the ground when it was fully extended!

Thankfully, the lady at reception was very good and when we explained the problem we were having trying to level the caravan, she gave us a choice of 3 other pitches, all of which sloped a bit but which would have been perfectly manageable. The one we chose in the end was great and even better than the one we had on our two previous stays but if you are thinking of booking here and you have a caravan, it would be worth contacting the site and stressing that you need a reasonably level pitch as on closer inspection this year, we now see that many of the pitches are very sloping which is something we had not noticed before. Either way, you will definitely need levelling ramps.

Additionally, another thing we had not noted before, as our previous pitches were in the front part of the campsite, is the basketball court. At the back of the site there is a large basketball court with wire fencing all around. I have no problem with children, they are on holiday and have a right to some fun, however, about 10-15 teenagers hung out on this basketball court late into the evening. We were not right beside it so it didn't bother us much, but another British family we met were really upset by the noise coming from the court after 10pm. Noise during the day is one thing and perfectly to be expected, but beware that the basketball court does seem to be an evening congregating space for teenagers, many of whom seem to belong to the privately owned mobile homes on the site and therefore know each other well from regular visits.

However, none of this puts us off the site and we still think this is our favourite campsite.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Trevorpriest 4 reviews from this member

This is the second time we have visited which speaks for itself. The site is ideally situated for anyone who enjoys walking as the coastal walks are truly stunning. The site itself has spacious pitches mostly with electric, water, and waste water facilities.

The toilet block has very spacious showers space with plenty of hot water. Cleaning was carried out regularly.

Bread is available from two shops only 50mtrs from the site. Grocery comes from about 6km away with from 2 large supermarkets. There are several restaurants locally or a visit to Quimperly or Concareau for something special.

Site staff are very helpful and friendly.

We will go again.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ditsy79 6 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a fortnight's stay at this fabulous campsite - two adults and a 3-year old child.

We had pre-booked a pitch for our large 8-man tent plus extension - all pitches are at least 10m x 10m so there was plenty of space for us. All pitches have their own electric hook-up point and tap, which makes life easier. The pitches are separated by hedges, which maintains privacy from neighbours. There was a nice mix of nationalities on the campsite - French, Dutch, Belgian, German, British etc.

The campsite is extremely well-kept, with beautiful floral displays everywhere. It is obvious that the owners of the campsite and their team take a lot of pride in keeping the campsite clean and well-maintained.

There is a heated 'indoor' pool, with a roof that can be opened in the warm weather - the pool was new this year, and is lovely. We went out of the main season, so it was never very busy, but apparently there is an 'adults only' swimming session for an hour each morning in peak season. There are a couple of open-air children's splash pools, which are unheated but warm up quickly in the sun. There are two water-slides, which are on at specific times in the day.

There was a small playground for children with a couple of small climbing frames, some swings and see-saws, plus a couple of bouncy castles in high season.

You can play mini-golf for free (only 6 holes though), and there is a games rooms with free Wi-Fi. There is also a multi-sports pitch, where children can play football and basketball etc.

The campsite has a very peaceful nature reserve/farm in its grounds, with shetland ponies, miniature donkeys, goats, chickens and ducks. It is a lovely part of the campsite to wander around, and the animals appeared to be very well looked-after.

There is a small orchard in the campsite, which provided a nice shady area in the heat - it seemed to be popular with the campers who were walking their dogs.

The campsite has opened the 'Ocean Villa' this year, which has a library and a kitchen that can be rented. There is a bar with terrace, which was open for a couple of nights during our stay - a lovely place to relax with a glass of wine or a beer.

The toilet and shower facilities were more than adequate in number, and cleaned several times a day. The shower cubicles are huge, and perfect for parents with children as there is a lot of room for changing etc. There are facilities for bathing infants in both shower blocks, with two baby baths in each block - we didn't use these, but again they looked immaculate.

There is a laundry room with several washing machines and dryers - 5 euros for a wash, including detergent, which I think is about the standard price for laundry facilities in France. There are also several laundry sinks in each block.

We loved the location of the campsite - there is a small shop across the road which sells the basics, and several boulangeries to buy bread and croissants each morning. There are larger supermarkets 10 minutes drive away. There are a couple of nice restaurants within walking distance of the campsite, and several bars on the road down to the beach.

The nearest beach was lovely, a nice bay - great for swimming as there were no big waves. There are also lots of other beaches in the local area - Bellangenet was lovely and sandy. You can walk the coastal paths to discover beaches not accessible by road - such as La Roche Percee with its wonderful rocky arch.

All in all, this campsite was awesome and far exceeded our expectations. There is nothing flashy about Les Embruns but it is by far the best campsite we have stayed on in France. A very peaceful and relaxing part of the world, and we hope to return next year.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 39 reviews from this member

We stayed at Camping Les Embruns for 10 nights at the end of June 2015. We were allocated a lovely large pitch however, we had told the site in advance that we had a large awning. Many of the other pitches are a bit smaller and whilst being adequate, might feel a little cramped with a large caravan and awning plus all the usual camping paraphernalia.

The site itself is beautiful, more like camping in a garden surrounded by flowers and shrubs rather than in a standard campsite. The toilet block nearest us was immaculate and had the largest shower cubicles I have ever seen on a campsite. All the usual facilities such as laundry, dishwashing etc are all well maintained and plentiful.

The site has a medium sized rectangular pool with a retractable roof which was closed in cooler weather. The pool was nicely heated and we enjoyed using it in the late afternoon when it was relatively empty. There was another small outdoor pool which was really just for the water slide but we never used it so I can't comment.

The site is directly across the road from a small supermarket selling a few basics which was fine to get your morning croissants etc and a few soft drinks and fruit etc but not a big range. The nearest biggish supermarket we found was about 15 minutes drive away in the town of Guidel and it has everything you could want, including cheap petrol and a very good Sunday morning market.

The site is within a 5 minutes walk of the sea with a range of different coves. Some of these were quite seaweedy and even the biggest cove with the least seaweed was still quite weedy. We were lucky to have amazing weather when we were there and really wanted to swim in the sea so we drove 15 minutes to Guidel Plage which had amazing long golden sandy beaches with no seaweed! There were also some lovely beachfront restaurants in Guidel Plage and loads of free parking so we preferred to go there to the beach rather than the local ones.

My husband and I love walking and we made good use of the Brittany coastal path which you can pick up just down the road from the campsite and you can walk in both directions. To the left you can only go a short distance before hitting the river but if you go to the right you can walk all the way round to Doelan which was a very picturesque fishing village.

Apart from walking and the beach there isn't much to do in the immediate area but we did a couple of nice day trips to Concarneau and Quimperle. We didn't do too much when we were there as we really just wanted to relax and this site was ideal - peaceful and quiet.

We are planning to return again in June 2016 as we enjoyed the peacefulness of the area and the opportunities for walking. We had amazing weather in 2015 but I am a realist and I know that this was unusual for the time of year. I would imagine that in poor weather, the area will be a bit like Cornwall in bad weather but with much less to do!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Karen Richard89 13 reviews from this member

This was our 2nd year for 1 week at Les Embruns. This is a great site in all respects, not in your face but really nice for kids and well maintained facilities. Great walks to coves in either direction along the coast, and the 'town beach' is 400m down the road from the site entrance. It's Brittany, so the weather is king! But why on earth do they close after Wk 3 in September - it was fuller then last year than when we visited in August this year! Thoroughly recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Joe90jr 2 reviews from this member

Les Embruns, Le Pouldu, Brittany, located at the top of the village a couple of hundred meters from the sandy beeches. We were here a week at the end of August 2015. They accept Acsi and camping cheques etc from third week of August.

The staff are all fantastic and their English and willingness to use it far outstrips our French!

This 'peaceful' site has two pools with three slide, the indoor is heated to a very nice warm temperature, there are sun lounges and chairs for free use. It gets busy in the main part of the day during peek holidays as you would expect but when we arrived around 4pm it was fine.

There are two toilet blocks and two shower blocks which are both unisex, located in the middle and end of the main area. The showers are free and have mixer/ push button taps which also include a sink and plenty of space in each cubical. There is toilet paper and hand soap provided.

While we were there for entertainment they have a football pitch with posts, table tennis and nice grassy areas to walk with some animals (donkeys and goats) to pet.

The grass pitches vary in size, we have a two birth with 260 awning and Jetta, just fitting on the pitch however across the way it looks at least half as big again. The site intermingles static vans with touring. The access road is just a car width and this can make setting up the van tricky, but we have a motor mover. Without one you can easily push the van in to the flat pitches. If there is space they allow you to choose a pitch which would make access easier and some allow you to drive right through your pitch (in one side and out the other). There is lots of shade provided by many trees (including apple trees).

Our pitch (and it looks like most do) had water, grey water disposal, electricity and TV point which was nice. I believe it is 16amp. We have a small (normal) sky dish and we have picked up Freesat without a lot effort and strong signal.

Free 30 min a day wifi is available at one of the 'club' house each day by getting a code issued from reception. Wifi is available across the site for 20 euros a week (appears fairly standard).

Would we stay again? Possibly not as there is another few sites nearby (within walking distance) and one looks slightly nice, wider greener spaces (le grands sables. ) for the same price. Then again we rarely return, others have been here a number of years :-)

There is aircraft noise starting September as I think there is a military base nearby, none of which bothered us.

The site is secure with barriers that get locked at a set time at night, there is parking outside the barriers if you want to return late. Don't forget your code as you will not be able to walk in :-)

We needed to have the electricity reset a couple of times, this was done before we had time to return from reception, amazing!

Some of those we spoke to have been here for a number of years, it certainly ticks a number of boxes.

Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Brittany   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Atera STRADA DL 2 Tilting Bike Carrier worth 457.50 Win a 7 night holiday at Lee Valley Campsite, near London!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 16th to 19th August, E Yorks
World's biggest tribute band festival. Family friendly. Discounted tickets and a chance to win some ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5932 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0859