Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Bourn Golf And Country Club Certificated Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Site Reviews

Bourn Golf And Country Club Certificated Site
Toft Road
Bourn
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
CB23 2TT
Tel: 01954 718057
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 12 Reviews
                6/10 from 12 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Samstevenson 10 reviews from this member

Very disappointed. On arrival no pitch available despite booking in April. Eventually a pitch was found for our tent with hook up but this was through a 4 way splitter which they had to rush out and buy! The man who dealt with us was extremely apologetic and desperately embarrassed at the lack of pitch.

No washing up facilities so some campers washed up their dirty pots in the wash basins which was quite disgusting.

Only 2 toilets and showers all combined as 2 washrooms which are not adequate for the number of campers they allow on. One became blocked on our second night.

The road noise was terrible and woke us up at 5. 30! Finally bought earplugs because it was unbearable.

Having said all this, it was a good location for Cambridge but I would definitely look elsewhere to camp when we return.

Was very surprised it had passed as certified by Caravan and Camping Club.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DEANO3528 11 reviews from this member

Just back from 8 nights at this C&CC listed site with a group of 5 'vans. All had EHU but I was a bit perturbed by the three-way extension sockets plugged into at least two of the twin socket posts (4 in total I believe).

Plus points: Close to Cambridge and Duxford IWM. Wednesday nights in the clubhouse there is a meal deal of six choices for 6 a meal. Good food, large portions, great service. Beer was a bit steep at around 4 quid a pint, I thought - but hey, it's the holidays!

Swimming pool costs a fiver.

Shower rooms were clean and tidy.

Clean water available from behind the fitness studio through a wooden gate and the Sluice was also in there.

There is a pub in Bourn - The Willow Tree. Good food apparently, although I didn't try it as I am not a fan of Gastro-pubs or their prices.

Now the Minus points:

Top of the list comes the Sluice which was blocked for the entire time we were there, despite management being told about it, at least once every day. Unacceptable, especially as the waste was leaking out the back of the pipes into the field behind.

While there had been an attempt at making hard-standings, it wasn't very well executed with lumps of rubble sticking up all over, or just laying about the place. Drainage was also an issue considering there had been little rain before we arrived and yet the hard-standing grass area's were very soggy and not drying out the whole time we were there.

But most unbearable of all had to be the noise from the road. It was like a racetrack for most of the day, starting around 7am and only quietening down after 10pm-ish. I think every vehicle that came past was a local and therefore knew of the dangers of the two entrances either side of the road, but they all drove at stupid miles an hour! Would I visit again? Most definitely not, I'm afraid. There appears too little commitment to make the site just that little bit better. In fact what finished it for me was getting back from Duxford on the Friday afternoon to find what had been a hole in the hedge onto another field beside the campsite, where everyone tended to walk through for a stroll or to take the dog for a walk had been turned into a nice path. They spent quite some time apparently, pulling out stumps and laying down wood chippings. Nothing wrong with that I hear you say? Well no, but they then erected a sign telling campers they were not allowed entry. I thought it just a pity they couldn't have been as quick sorting the sluice as they were to put up a 'you're not allowed' sign!

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Oldgazza 25 reviews from this member

Excellent little site, showers and toilets adequate and clean, good value 15 per night with hookup. Golf at guest rates on main course 17. 50. Very friendly, clubhouse serves good food and ale at reasonable prices. Enjoyed the site and the golf, always on the lookout for little sites like this with golf nearby. Didn't visit surrounding area so can't comment on local facilities. Will return as often in this area. Good little site.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jake1 1 review from this member

Just spent 3 nights here nice little campsite 2 unisex toilet and showers could be a problem if full No security you can drive straight onto site which I find a big problem. Golf and leisure centre across road. Wanted 6 each to use swimming pool you can use toilets and shower here though. Staff really friendly food good nice to sit outside bar nice views, If you like golf this is perfect, lovely course at a good price per round. Would stay again but need to do something with Security

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Suzie2poos 9 reviews from this member

Just returned from a lovely 6 night stay at Bourn Golf and Leisure. I was impressed to find that Bourn have obviously read and taken note of reviews posted here and on other sites. The toilets are clean and to reduce queues they are no longer labelled male and female but are now unisex. The key system with 10 deposit has been abandoned and the toilets are open 24 hours a day, towel hooks have also been provided near to the showers. Queues for the loos can be a problem if a family are showering however there are toilets available in both the health club and the restaurant.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and food in the golf club restaurant is lovely. We made use of the swimming pool and sauna which was a fantastic bonus at such a cheap camp site! There are two fields available for campers, one is on a slope so difficult to find a flat area to pitch up but because the site was quite quiet this did not cause any problem.

The location of Bourn is great within easy reach of Cambridge, we walked the Wimpole Way into the city which took a couple of hours through pleasant countryside. There is a supermarket nearby in Cambourne and a bus stops right outside the golf club.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Reevie 1 review from this member

A lovely peaceful site with only a few electric hook ups but plenty of camping spaces.

A bit confusing when first arriving as the building where the site is states Par5 reception which imply that the reception is in that building, but in fact it is over in the main golf and leisure club building across the road. I think they actually loose money because of this, we saw at least two units arrive late and were gone early in the morning.

The toilet block was not the best. The cleaner should look up from time to time to clear the cobwebs and spiders from the ceiling in the showers/toilet area.

Staff very friendly and the bar area in the golf club very comfortable and welcoming.

We will make sure we take swimming and gym stuff with us for our next visit.

Yes we will go back because of the relaxed ambiance.

Wimpole Hall only about 5 minutes away, well worth a visit. Cambridge only about 5 mins away again well worth a visit. Fowlmere RSPB, free entry and a very nice walk.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TheHebdens 2 reviews from this member

We had 2 nights here.

The good bits were that the staff & facilities in the actual golf club - bar, restaurant & swimming pool were excellent.

Not so good bits.

The lack of cleanliness of the shower & toilet facilities. There were big black cobwebs in the shower & hanging from the ceiling. The mop they used to 'clean' the floor was black and rotten.

There's a sign to say 'Please dry yourself down in the shower cubicle before walking across the floor' this is fair enough, if there was a hook to hang your towel anywhere near the shower cubicle. The only hooks are across the room and I would not put my towel on the floor after seeing the mop!

The lock is dodgy on the main door. Whilst I was in the shower, somebody had gone out and locked the door. I had a key but this did not work from the inside, so I was locked in for about 20 minutes. Another lady camper tried to use her key from the outside to open the door but it would not work for her either. Eventually, after many, many tries, it did work and I was released.

Someone had used the drinking water tap to wash out their toilet cassette as there was toilet paper strewn all over the floor around the drinking area section, which had dried so it had been there a few days by the looks of it. This area could do with being checked/cleaned a bit more often.

Swimming - you can only swim with children 2-3pm. It's 3. 80 per child and 5 per adult. Would have been better to have a bit longer in the pool, especially as it was empty before & after the 1 hour children's session.

Nearby - We hoped to visit the USA war memorial that looked interesting but we had a dog with us so could not. We walked along the river in Cambridge instead, which was lovely.

Would we stay at this site again? Probably not due to the cleanliness issue. I have emailed them to let them know so I'd be interested to hear if anyone goes there and sees an improvement.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Caspete 10 reviews from this member

We opted for this site as it stated there was hard standings, as the weather has been so wet we thought this was a good idea. When we arrived we found that this was not the case, just grass pitches. We did get stuck, luckily a kind passing golfer helped out.

The site was quite, with some road noise.

As stated before on other reviews there is only 1 shower & toilet with a frosted glass door so no privacy on the shower.

Husband enjoyed the golf course & staff were friendly & food was good in the club house.

Was not far to drive to park & ride to visit Cambridge.

Overall not a bad site would be good to have more private showers & hard standing.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Jackie_110 10 reviews from this member

I will start with the pitches. Only a couple of level pitches unless you want to pitch on the car park. The pitches are only a few yards from the road, it is a quite road but you do feel very exposed. The hedge has been planted but it could be some years before it gets to a good size. The grass on the pitches had not been mowed but the grass around the area was to golf course standard.

The toilet/shower room. The toilet/shower room was very spacious with one toilet cubical with a locking door. In the same room was a shower with a glass door, so no privacy from anyone wanting the toilet. With no lock on the t/s room door it was difficult to shower without other campers using

The toilet and they didn't seem to have a cleaner.

The campsite is next to the dance/exercise/gym room so early morning we had a steady stream of cars parking and then booming music and exercise instructions blasting out and to make things worse they moved out side to continue at full volume.

There is a small pond just a few yards from the pitches and with the road so close(with no gate) this site is not suitable for young children.

There is a 10 deposit for the key to the building where the toilets/shower room is however there was a large notice on the door that said 'do not lock' so couldn't see the point of paying 10 for a key we didn't need.

The best bits. It is in a nice part of the country and we did find some nice walks including one round Bourn. It is within easy reach of major roads so is easy to get around the area and Cambridge it's self is just a short drive. There is a very well stocked shop with every thing you could need also a very nice Indian restaurant in Bourn.

There is a pool and a cafe in the main golf club(across the road from the campsite) but when we went for a swim at 8pm it was shut.

This site is ok if you just need a quick stop over but not much more.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mark laidler 3 reviews from this member

We were the only tent on site, 3 touring caravans on field next door, very hilly field flattest area at the top of the field. Toilets & shower in part of the dance studio 10 deposit for key, clean & tidy, my concern would be if there were more than half a dozen tents there are only one toilet & shower per male & female facilities, no pot wash area either. Apart from this a very quiet site. We didn't use any of the clubhouse facilities. If in the area would us this site again, as long as there were not too many people on the site.

Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1214 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019