Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Belton Old Rectory

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Rutland > Oakham > Belton Old Rectory > Reviews

CLOSED: Belton Old Rectory
4 New Rd
Belton In Rutland
Oakham
Rutland   (Browse area)



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 18 Reviews
                8/10 from 18 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: X25sjh 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here this past weekend, 1-3 July.

The campsite is lovely & quiet, we got given a hard standing near the apple trees.

The grass is well kept in both the upper & the rally field at the bottom.

The single Shower is next to the house and is ok - Hot enough and water pressure is good. Can get VERY busy when there are lots of DOE about. The toilets are attached to the pot washing facilities next to what I think was an old cow shed. And after a dozen or so DOE girls had been in, the floor was wet & muddy. With the Children congregating around the sink, it felt a bit awkward walking through them to go to the loo.

It would be so much better if the showers & toilets were together in the same block but separate from the pot washing but it was cheap enough for 2 nights @ £34 incl electric & 2 small dogs.

I would go for something a little more expensive next time I think 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ajg1956 1 review from this member

 Stayed on site for a week as we needed a break after my wife had been working full time on the election. Hadn't stayed in this area before. The site turning is a bit tight but it shouldn't be a problem for confident drivers. Spent a lot of time on site just chilling out and walking the dog. The birds and the horses in the field behind when you here them you kmow you are in the country side. Facilities were a bit basic but acceptable two toilets and 1 shower £1 (for charity) + washing up area all kept nice and clean. The site does slope but not too much. The grass was in good condition and not too long. From the pitches to the shower which is located on the side of the house and is a bit of a walk up hill (probably 75 yards from field)the toilets 1/3 this distance. Make sure to take a torch with you for night time use. The area not far from Leicester/Melton Mowbrey and don't forget Rutland water. Also worth a visit is Foxton Locks a staircase of locks for narrow boats.

All in all we had a good week and will go again.

Site could do with another shower but if you are a committed camper you will get bye. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Harrit123 2 reviews from this member

 The site is in a field adjacent to the old rectory, however entering the drive we found the entrance very tight requiring us to reverse into the road opposite.

We were showed to the hard standing pitch which was level, but the grass where we erected the awning was on a steepish slope, so much so that we had difficulty erecting it.

We found the site to be very quiet and enjoyed the bird song, we also completed 2 local walks and a walk around Rutland water (17 miles), which is a short drive away.

In the village there is the local pub The Sun, I recommend this is a voided as it's very tired, the Horse and Jockey in Manton is well worth a visit as it has a good range of real ales and food.

On the down side, the single shower is quite a walk and isn't worth a pound each, we found it to be dirty. The toilets are basic and these too could do with a clean. We ended up using our on board shower.

All in all, the site is secluded and quiet, but because there is so much choice in the area we wouldn't come back. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: imnogeek 8 reviews from this member

 Had a lovely weekend at this site, as there were 40+ Duke of Edinburgh participants in the bottom field we were offered a caravan pitch in the orchard which had plenty of space to try our recently aquired Corado4 + canopy. There is a slight slope but nothing for concern.

The toilets were clean and well stocked and the shower was clean to, costing £1 in honesty box. They would be a bit of a trek if you are in the bottom field.

There can be some road noise from the A47 half mile away dependant on wind direction, there was an incredible dawn chorus complemented by two horses galloping up and down the next field.

Belton in Rutland is a very pretty village with lots of history. It is also situated on the Leicestershire Round long distance walk. The village pub is very a friendly proper local, real fire, real ale and a garden out the back. Oakham is a short drive away for a beautiful market town with lots of independent businesses.

Overall a rural campsite with friendly staff which I would definitely use again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Seahorse 6 reviews from this member

 The site is reached via the rectory driveway and the turn into it is a tight squeeze for larger vehicles. Sat nav took us right to the address, but we struggled to see the small sign as it was covered by ivy. It would be helpful to have a more prominent/visible sign.

From reception we were greeted and shown to our pitch. We had a grass pitch as the hard standings were all taken. Bit of a slope-i would advise you to have levellers. Plenty of space between units and ehu within easy reach. Site itself was very peaceful with plenty of birdsong, though you could still hear distant road noise. At night it was nice and dark, good for stargazing.

We couldn't get TV reception, didn't really mind that, but we were a little disappointed to find we couldn't even get a radio signal.

We tried the local pub, a short walk into Belton but can't comment on their meals, as the night we were there they weren't serving food.

The toilets are at the top of the site, a bit of an uphill trudge. Sadly, we felt the toilets let this site down badly being dated, cold and, when I visited, dirty. There was no light once the door was shut, the sinks were so small there was hardly room to wash your hands and I couldn't coax more than a trickle of hot water from the tap. There wasn't even a mirror. It put me off so much, I didn't even bother with the shower, preferring to use our own in the van.

It cost us £20 for the night which felt overpriced considering the facilities.

Overall, if you want 'out of the way' and are happy with basic facilities or have you own, this sight is fine, but if, like us, you prefer a little more comfort and good value, I would go elsewhere. 


Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Landy-Trax 15 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a lovely weekend spent at this beautiful little site. Very quiet & secluded, a perfect weekend get away.

The loos were spotless & as already mentioned plenty of loo roll & a clean hand towel in place. We didn't use the shower so can't comment on that. A lovely little site if you want a peaceful weekend of doing very little. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Maxmax19 4 reviews from this member

 My opinion of this campsite is that it is indeed a little gem! Its quiet & secluded, just as you'd expect by its Countryside location. The campsite is within the Rectory grounds & consists of a field for tents along with another area dedicated to caravans/campervans offering 5 hardstandings which are situated within an apple orchard & the grass is well maintained plus all the plots have an EHU plus water. The facilities are a short walk from the field.

Point to note. Take a torch as its pitch black at night. No light pollution. There are however security lights which guide you as you approach the buildings. There is a shower but I cannot comment as I had no call to use it, but the toilets & washing up area was kept very clean.

I spent a lovely weekend here with my two Dogs. So if you want peace & quiet along with plenty of Countryside to explore on foot, cycle or car then this is the place to go. Idyllic!

There is a pub in the village, only minutes away but no shop within walking distance.

I'd also like to thank Richard & his wife for the apples. Delicious.

I highly recommend this campsite.  


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Franmel 1 review from this member

 A little gem of a site tucked away in a quiet but pretty village a few miles from Rutland water. Beautifully kept grass and hard standings with electric and water. A very wet weekend but the sheltered situation of the site kept us protected from the elements. Basic loos but clean and well maintained with a fresh hand towel each day and no shortage of loo roll. The shower is near the house with an honesty box for £1which goes to charity! Friendly and attentive owners who also take B and B at the house.

Plan was to cycle round Rutland water but it was a little too far from the site to cycle for us and we didn't pack the cycle rack so had to take the car and walk! Lots of things to see and do in a 10 mile radius even on a wet bank holiday. We will definitely stay again and take the bike rack next time! P. S. Didn't try the village pub, looked a bit scruffy from outside for such a pretty village. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Creasey-jones 4 reviews from this member

 This is a gorgeous little site. The owners, who are very friendly, take great pride in the cleanliness of the facilities and the presentation of the field where the pitches are located. The pitches are well laid out, mainly hardstanding with plenty of space between each one. There are two very clean toilets each with its own sink. Outside there is a pot washing area, drinking water point, waste disposal and the cdp. The shower is located next to the house and also has a toilet available in the same room. The shower is an extra £1 per use with an honesty box located just outside. There was no wifi when we were there.

Approaching the site up the hill the entrance is the second one which is very easily missed as the cs sign is covered by the foilage. There is an ideal place to turn around at the top of the hill as we found out, and to be honest it may be the better way to get onto the driveway as it may be a little tight when turning in from downhill.

The village is lovely and peaceful with a pub which is very popular. No shop in the village but youíre not too far from oakham, which is well worth a visit. While there the grainstore brewery/pub which is located next to the railway station is certainly a place to go if you like your real ales and is also dog friendly. It also sells what looked like lovely food at very reasonable prices. We didnít eat this visit but most certainly will do on our return trip.

There are many nice walks directly from the site, with rutland water being just a short drive away. There is plenty to do, lots of nice places to visit with not too much of a drive. Would recommend this site whether you fancy just chilling out, walking, cycling or day trips. 


Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!


All Sites in Rutland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2905 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement