Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Thorncross Farm Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Isle Of Wight > Brighstone > Thorncross Farm Certificated Site > Reviews

Thorncross Farm Certificated Site
Thorncross
Brighstone
Isle Of Wight   (Browse area)
PO30 4PN
Tel: 01983 740291
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 CCC Only
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 7 Reviews
                9/10 from 7 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jj12si 2 reviews from this member

 Easy access from Military Road, avoiding the twisty narrow approach lanes.

Beautiful location, lovely views.

Nicely spaced level pitches, arranged round the edge of a huge area. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lady Mozart 1 review from this member

 We stayed on this site for a fortnight in September 2011 and loved it so much, we returned for another ten nights this year. Thorncross Farm site is absolutely beautiful and we would not hesitate to recommend it. The owner and his son are so welcoming and really lovely people and keep the site immaculate. We pitched on plot number 8, which has beautiful views of the rolling hills and a lovely sunrise in the morning. The pitch is easy to set up and has its own water supply and picnic bench. A ten minute walk takes you to the top of the cliff tops, where the views are spectacular. There is a bench at the top of the hill, which is the perfect place to sit and share a glass of wine and watch the sun set. Within a short stroll is Mr Russell’s fishing lake, which is a lovely addition and has a very serene and restful feel. We were lucky on both occasions to have some late September sunshine, so were able to sit outside and watch the Swallows circling, before taking their long flight to Africa. There were also wheatears, buzzards and little owls plus all the wading birds on the lake. The Isle of Wight is beautiful with so much to see. The scenery at West Wight is outstanding. We also loved Bonchurch – don’t miss the little Church dating back to 1170, the Spyglass Inn in Ventnor for a spectacular sea view and lobster. Osborne House, Godshill…. Niton…… the list is endless, but don’t take our word for it go and see it for yourself and don’t hesitate to stay at Thorncross Farm. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Johnabacus 23 reviews from this member

 A lovely well kept site only let down by lack of toilet facilities. The grass is well lawned. We were travelling round the island so only stayed one night.

At £11 per night with EHU it was reasonable. The owner came round in his car to collect the Fee otherwise I wouldn't have known where to go as there was no information on how to book in.

There is a nice quiet lane just outside which was ideal for us to go for a walk with our dogs.

Probably not a site for long stays but if you are touring round and just want an overnight stop it fits the bill. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rexel 17 reviews from this member

 A beautifully kept site in a glorious setting. It's very popular and gets a lot of repeat custom. The countryside scenery is pure chocolate box stuff and the nearby cliff walks are amazing although you will need a head for heights.

Many of the pitches have electric hook up and there are plenty of water taps. A couple of the pitches are a little on the small side and the site got quite full while we were there (certainly a fair few more than the allowed 5 vans for a CS). But for a location like that at £11 per night, you make allowances.

The village of Brighstone is about half an hours walk away. Some nice pubs, a village stores and a newsagents.

Compton Bay is a short drive away and the nearer Brook Bay allows dogs during the season. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: MOURANT 1 review from this member

 A Site with outstanding views,very clean and well kept. Grass is cut and clippings cleaned up, no grass clippings to walk into your caravan. Local stores and pub at Brighstone just a mile awa. Nice sea views from the cliff just a short walk away. My wife and I enjoy our holiday at Thorncross Farm, we like the wild life wonderful views and walks. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Freda 1 8 reviews from this member

 We are local to IOW and visited this site to get used to our new van. Initially went for 2 days but extended stay to 4 because we liked it so much. Went home for car so husband could continue to go to work!

A really beautiful site that is kept immaculately by the owners of the farm. Surrounded by countryside down a quiet track. Very peaceful with lovely walks on doorstep. Easy access to cliff path with spectacular views. The owners also offer a lovely fishing lake.

Each pitch has own water and most have hook ups. But no other facilities so own essential.

Brighstone about a mile away with serves most requirements. Some lovely pubs in surrounding area.

Owners most delightful people! Very friendly without being intrusive.

Overall it is exactly what we like and we will be returning soon to enjoy the peace and tranquillity. If you want action, clubs, bars, playgrounds this is not the place to be. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Colin c 1 review from this member

 This was our first visit to this site which we found to be outstanding. Situated on the quieter and much prettier side of the Island this site is perfect in every way. It is located on an old farm with beautiful and interesting outbuildings. The grounds are immaculate, level and well-maintained.
A short walk will take you to the cliff tops where you will witness uninterrupted and breathtaking views of the sea and unspoilt farmland. The owner, Mr Russell and his son are the most accommodating and friendliest people you could ever hope to meet.

We have booked a second visit to this site as we know we will not be disappointed.  



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Thorncross Farm Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Thorncross Farm Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Thorncross Farm Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brighstone      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Wight

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3294 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement