Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Le Vaurette

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Limousin > Monceaux Sur Dordogne > Camping Le Vaurette Reviews

Camping Le Vaurette
Lieu Dit Vaurette
Monceaux Sur Dordogne
Limousin   (Browse area)
19400
Tel: 0033 0555280967
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120
Open: 01/05/2021 to 30/09/2021
           01/05/2022 to 30/09/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 4 Reviews
                9/10 from 4 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Thechief 4 reviews from this member

 We arrived on this site on 17th August and stayed until 26th August. Our party is two adults and four children (13, 11, 9 and 5).

This is our second visit to Le Vaurette in three years. It was chosen because of its fabulous position on the banks of the Dordogne with great river access.

We had a great time here yet again. The site was relatively quiet - most of the clientele is either dutch or french and I think most of the french had already gone home to get ready for going back to school and similar with the dutch. I would say that the site was about a third occupied when we first arrived and very quickly thinned out to about a quarter occupied.

The pitches are all open with little pegs or signs to mark them. Some appear to be smallish and some bigger. As we had visited before (and we have quite a large outfit) I emailed ahead and reserved a plot I knew was larger. This was duly allocated but we were offered any that were free on our arrival. Note that some of the pitches are sloped and some are in between trees really very close to the river.

The staff here are really friendly. They all speak good English (which I guess is their third language after French and Dutch) and didn't mind my poor attempts at french.

As well as the fabulous stretch of river (great for canoeing, swimming, riding the rapids on a li-lo etc) there is an excellent heated pool (where we spent lots of time) a tennis court, football pitch, boule pitches, table tennis tables and a good playground for littler ones. All the leisure facilities are well kept.

The loos and the showers are a little dark and could probably do with updating, but they were clean and there was always lots of hot water for getting clean. There are washing machines (4 euro per jeton) and dryers (also 4 euro). The washing up facilities are also very good and my only quibble would be that on our last night there was no hot water for washing pots (it was half past nine at night though in fairness).

Whilst staying here we hired a couple of canoes from a place up stream and canoed 14km down stream. A great day out. Also we visited Gouffre de Padirac and Rocamador (again another great day out). The rest of the time we just played in the river and the swimming pool.

Overall we love this site. It is clean, safe and there's lots to do for all of us. We will be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Caravan George 8 reviews from this member

 We returned again to this site on our way back from Spain as we love this place! Direct access to the Dordogne which is great fun on an inflatable. A very well managed site with 2 quiet bars serving food, small shop stocked with essentials, ample clean showers and a great swimming pool. The Dutch/French staff are very helpful and friendly and remembered us from two years ago. Argentat is a nearby town with shops and restaurants with a medieval feel. Nearly all Dutch campers on this site but have not found this a problem as most are very considerate. One note there is NO music aloud on this site. Will return time and time again. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pjh57 3 reviews from this member

 This is a beautiful, quiet site on the banks of the River Dordogne, with many pitches that have direct access to the river for swimming, fishing and canoeing. The reception ladies are very friendly, and kindly gave us a bottle of wine on our arrival. The swimming pool is at the top of the site, with a bar and restaurant alongside and has great views of the rest of the campsite and the forest on the opposite bank of the Dordogne. The wash, shower and toilet blocks are clean and tidy, and while we were there they were cleaned daily by a very pleasant English lady. The shop was reasonably well stocked and open in the morning for baguettes and again in the late afternoon. Wifi tokens are available at 2 euros per day. As well as the bar by the pool there is a bar& terrace near the reception and shop - with great views over the river. Here there are four table tennis tables, boule courts and kids play equipment.

There is a canoe company (Gabares) nearby, ten minutes walk from the site, hiring canoes to Beaulieu sur Dordogne at about 16 euros a person, with a 5% discount for customers staying at La Vaurette.

Further afield Beaulieu is a lovely little town, with shops and restaurants, boat trips, and a park and swimming pool on the riverbank.

If you are looking for a relaxing break in stunning river scenery this site is definitely worth a look. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Geistman 1 review from this member

 We have been returning to this beautiful site virtually every other year over a period of 30 years. The owners and their family members always provide a warm welcome and the site is very clean and well looked after (two sanitaires). These days there is plenty of shade from lovely specimen trees - they were just saplings in 1977!

The 'emplacements' mostly have electric hook ups and there are plenty of freshwater taps. They are big enough to accommodate a caravan, awning and a tent for older kids. They are all grassy and the places down by the river are great for campers having a lovely view and shade from the trees. The site is quiet at night except for pleasant noise of the river.

The site slopes gently down to the River Dordogne that provides opportunities for fly fishing. It is shallow enough to be safe for children to play in at the edge and an adult can easily wade across. The bank provides a shady cool place to sit and read out of the heat of the summer sun. Many people take an inflatable dinghy to paddle up and down while the more adventurous can canoe down the river for several miles through lovely countryside. Canoes can be hired a mile or so up the road.

There is a takeaway cafe and a bar and in high season a larger bar and lounge is opened. There is a swimming pool, tennis court, boules and a football field also a children's' play area with swings slides etc. Bread can be ordered at the little camp shop that also stocks Gaz, some food and other essentials. Organised games take place for both children and adults (tennis tournament). The area is great for nature lovers with rambles through wooded countryside and the chance to see eagles soaring above the valley.

The old town of Argentat is a few miles up the valley road, a very pleasant drive, especially if you have a convertible,or cycle ride, alongside the river. Argentat has shops and supermarkets as well as several good restaurants.

I can thoroughly recommend this site especially for young families and those with sports minded young teenagers. Older people will appreciate the scenery and the relaxation. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Le Vaurette child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Le Vaurette have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Le Vaurette?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Le Vaurette dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Monceaux Sur Dordogne      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Limousin

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4047 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement