Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Les Champs Blancs

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Languedoc Roussillon > Site Reviews

Les Champs Blancs
Route De Rochelongue
Agde
Languedoc Roussillon   (Browse area)
34300
Tel: 0033 (0) 4 67 94 23 42
    Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 336
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 8 Reviews
                7/10 from 8 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pursuit 1 review from this member

We are a party of 4 caravans and this was our second visit to this site and it fulfilled our needs and would use again.

We booked direct and as we booked early (November 2014) we could pick the pitches we wanted. We booked one's with our own sanitary units which are great and have a washing up sink on the side. As we stayed there in 2014 we picked the same pitches after looking around the site as they suited our needs and positioning for the 4 families.

The entrance to the site is little tight with a caravan but nothing that we haven't encountered in the UK. It is barrier controlled so when you arrive you have to park up on the side not blocking the entrance and walk to reception to book in. The reception was very friendly and efficient and english speaking. You have to leave a deposit for your site wrist bands which give you access to the swimming pool and keys to your sanitary unit. You can also buy wifi if required.

The pitches vary in size and are very hard so you'll need steel nail type pegs and a good hammer. There are also small stones around which you might have to move off. It was easier to motor mover our caravans onto the pitches from the road next to your pitch as there was no room to manoeuvre, but this wasn't a problem. Other pitches around the site have a little more room to manoeuvre. We picked the pitches as they were in a little cul-de-sac so we would not get lots of passing traffic and a little safer for the kids.

The sanitary units are a real bonus and would highly recommend having one on your pitch but you will have to book early as they book up very quickly. We didn't then need to use the site washing facilities so can't comment on them. There is a small launderette next to reception which we used and did the job.

We used the on site restaurant for our first and last days meals. It is a little pricey but the food was delicious. They have a steak night and a mussels night which you have to book for. The bar area is clean with TV screens showing sport or music with a stage at one end and the small shop at the other. They serve bar snacks and the shop has the usual items you might need in a hurry. We only used the bar area during the day as the evening entertainment wasn't our thing. There is a small playground near reception and at the back of the swimming pool there are tennis courts, football area and table tennis tables. It gets busy down there with the youngsters but they all seem interested in playing football.

The pool area can get busy and sun beds can be sparse as other reviews have said but the life guards got onto this quickly and we did not have to wait long for some. There is a new slide and tube fitted this year which took a day our so to be properly managed by the guards. The problem was the tube was not managed at first and so people waiting to go down the tube were not giving enough time for people going down the tube to exit or move out of the way and so were hitting each other. As I said before this was sorted out and anyone seen or reported not abiding by the rules was asked to leave. The life guards have to be praised on keeping the place safe.

Right next door to the site is a big Hyper you and has everything you will need. It can be heard from the site at times during the evening and night as other reviews have reported, but it didn't bother us. There are plenty of pharmacies around if you need them and a hospital 5 mins away.

The beach and town of Cap D Agde is a good 30min walk or 10min bike ride from the site. We did both which we found ok with kids ranging from 6 to 11. Cap D Agde is a resort town with a fair, nightclub, restaurants etc which we used for a few evenings eating out. The harbour a little further on is a lovely place to eat.

All in all if you're looking for a good base with local amenities, are not bothered by some noise at times and like to go out and about it a great place to stay.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Coquelicot 9 reviews from this member

We have stayed at this site several times over the past few years and like to return here primarily because of the individual sanitary units on some of the pitches. These have a shower, toilet and wash hand basin and an outside sink for washing up, all with plenty of hot water. On our last visit we arrived just after the site had opened. Although the pool was open, the shop, restaurant and bar were all closed although one of the owners indicated these would probably be open in a couple of weeks. The site was very quiet and virtually empty while we were there this time although we have stayed in August when it was full. Overall this is a lovely site with good amenities and a good location for visiting Agde and the surrounding area. The hypermarket being so close by is very convenient and there were no boy racers in April. However you can hear some road noise. The staff/owners are very friendly and helpful and speak excellent English. The site was clean and tidy. The pitches are a good size but access to some was tricky with our twin axle van even with a motor mover. The pitches are mostly hard and like a crushed gravel. They are all separated by hedge boundaries and there are plenty of trees for shade. The electric hook up was at least 10 amp and the wi-fi connection was good and cost around 18 euros for a week for up to 2 devices (although not at the same time). The laundrette was small and the washing machines cost 6 euros a time but already include washing powder and fabric conditioner in their cycle. I noticed an iron and ironing board were available in the laundry and a tumble dryer. We have 2 dogs and although there is no designated dog exercise area within the site we could walk them around the site on the lead.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MonW 2 reviews from this member

We have just come back from a lovely family holiday to Agde staying at Camping le Champs Blancs. Over all we had a great holiday but I do feel there are some points that I wanted to raise about this site.

Firstly - the pool complex is lovely. Very clean and good size pools and slides with lifeguards so absolutely great for the kids. The only problem was the ridiculous reserving of sunbeds (which was so bad that there was a queue of people waiting for the pool to open every morning who just went in and reserved every sunbed before going back to their pitch!). However, the campsite did start to clamp down on this towards the end of our two week break.

I have to agree with the previous review about the state of the ground the pitches are on. There were so many really large stones on our pitch we just had to leave a lot of them there which damaged our groundsheet - I've never seen a pitch like that!

We were unlucky in that we did not manage to get a pitch with private sanitary facilities for the time we were there and it does seem as though the campsite has forgotten about the people who do not have these facilities as the group shower and toilet blocks are simply not adequate. On several occasions we had to take cold showers in the early evening - a time when everybody wants to have a shower. The other block of showers which had hot water had enormous queues - again this is not something which I have encountered before. I also feel that the toilets were not cleaned often enough.

As the previous review states - there was no entertainment available for the many guests on the site who were not French so there was no point in going to the bar in the evenings.

We did not notice a problem of large groups of a single sex (we experienced this in Spain so understand the issue) but we did hear the boy racers in the carpark of the Hyper you beeping their horns into the small hours - which was not ideal but outside the campsite's control.

The mini-farm which came to the campsite on a Wednesday mornings was FANTASTIC - the kids loved it (although the queues for the pony rides were a bit fraught).

We had also hoped to walk into Agde town from the Campsite but only did this once as there is only one exit from the campsite which is the wrong side making it a very long way (there clearly was an exit at the other end but this has sadly been closed).

Overall we had a fantastic holiday and it wasn't spoiled at all by the campsite but it could have been improved by more cleanliness and hot water and a bit more welcoming to other nationalities.

Having stayed at Camping Neptune down the road a couple of years ago, if I was coming back to this area again I would return to Neptune but I don't think I would return to Champs Blancs as it is just not up to scratch I'm afraid.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bailey6 3 reviews from this member

This is our first and last visit to this camp site, as with other reviews there are positive and many negative points, the biggest positive was the private sanitary units, this saved the queues that were evident every morning and evening at the main toilet blocks, they were clean enough but full of cobwebs a extra minute on the very brief cleaning regime would have solved this. But the cleaners wanted to get in and out asap after the pitch was vacated.

The shop area is small but ok, basic stuff like bread milk, beer, wine juice etc was available

The pool complex is again ok, lifeguards watch and patrol, slightly over zealous but I suppose better to be cautious rather than lacks.

The site itself needs some TLC, broken up paths, untended pitches and cotton buds left on the path after 5days were evident, no maintenance was evident whilst I was there.

The Agde area is fantastic, several different types of beaches, from small coves to larger expanses, all serviced by very good cycle paths connecting all different parts of the city.

There is a Super you two minutes from the site just across the very busy D612( maybe wrong number but definitely a D road) this was a MAJOR problem for the site. It was a constant 24hr 7days a week drone, with the car park of the SuperU a base for the boy racers to do doughnuts and beep in tune to each other EVERY SINGLE NIGHT at Apx 3 or 4 am. This dreadful din was only enhanced by the single sexed groups of nightclubbers returning to the site at 5am after the clubs have closed was a total spoiler for the site. There is no policy of no single sexed groups as in every other campsite I have been on. And when challenged, the manager says he has to make money!. The security failed to keep the site quiet even after we discussed the problems three times with the reception/mgr

I personally feel like a young 45yr old and understand that younger people than I like a good club but please respect the other campers. With three kids, by the end of my holiday, I was feeling intimidated with the amount of GROUPS frequenting the pool area.

The pitches are varying in size, for our tent they were very small, and very hard. If you do go, please make sure you take lots and lots of rock pegs, a big hammer and a big brush to sweep away the rocks that make up the so called grassy pitched( I'm used to no grass on french pitches) but these were exceptionally rocky.

Teenager entertainment was nil. A poor football area and an even poorer tennis court was they're only escape.

With reference to the entertainment If you want total immersion into french camping this is great, no english was spoken during the evening entertainments or pool activities, if you want to join in or enjoy with any activities you will need fluent french.

This is a very french site, it may suit some, but if you want a mix of british/european this is not the site for you.

It has so much potential, but is by far failing to meet it.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DapperBlade 1 review from this member

This was our second visit to this site and we had a fantastic time on both occasions (going again in 2013!). Two things in particular make this an outstanding site in our opinion - the private sanitation facilities and the pool area. The private sanitation is much more than just a private toilet - it means that you don't have to trail off to wash your dirty pots with everybody else and you have mains electric which makes modern day camping much more civilised. The pool area is really clean and has lots of different areas to base yourself. The only downside is that despite them having lots of sunbeds, grossly selfish people still come out when the pool opens and put their towels down and then spend little time at the pool. It would be good if the site owners could police this in some way - although I appreciate this is not easy.

Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wongabena 4 reviews from this member

We can endorse the previous report which is a fair and accurate description of the facilities, apart from the toilets which were really filthy when we were there. We were using camping cheques and believe that is why we were given a lower grade of emplacement (ie without private shower facilities. ) Staff were helpful but a little laid-back, double booking ourselves and another couple to the same pitch. Could have been annoying after a long day's drive but not wanting to fall out with the other couple I used my caravan mover as it was the only way to get into another similarly tight 'cheaper' pitch. Agde is pretty buttttt like Sete the roads are a nightmare. There are that many 'speed bumps' that you'll never want to go more than 20 mph. Awful for passengers. And Sete itself is really scruffy. Avoid it! You have been warned.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gemmie82 1 review from this member

We really enjoyed this site, we stayed on a pitch with private facilities which are made up of a shower, toilet, wash basin and an external sink for dish washing. The pitch was a little stony but once we moved a few out of the way we were fine. The swimming pool area is nice, good size and plenty of space. We didn't use the shower blocks so unable to comment but they appeared to be cleaned several times a day. We found the site to be fairly quiet, and we weren't bothered by any road noise, however we were in the centre of the site. We would go back.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Guyata 1 review from this member

Visited Les Champs Blancs in August 2009 after seeing brochure and pool complex. Plenty of shade and pretty planting but, , , ALL the pitches are covered in hardcore/stones - ok for caravans but disastrous for large tent with sewn in ground sheet - had to buy floor mats to be able to walk round tent bare foot and rock pegs to anchor the tent. Insufficient communal toilets and showers/washing areas mean queues morning and evening. There are pitches with their own showers etc but still large number without. Busy road is noisy at night and local disco music can be heard until 6. 30am some nights. Pool complex was good and local area is well worth visiting - so we made the best of the situation. Massive Hypermarket five minutes away and plenty of beaches in a variety of pretty resorts close-by. Worst 4 star campsite we've been on in ten years - be warned - Much better sites for the same price in nearby resorts.


Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -    All Sites in Languedoc Roussillon   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2666 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0879