Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping De Trologot

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Brittany > Saint Pol De Leon > Camping De Trologot > Reviews

Camping De Trologot
Greve De Man
Saint Pol De Leon
Brittany   (Browse area)
29250
Tel: 0033 (0)2 98 69 06 26
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/05/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 10 Reviews
                8/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ironned 57 reviews from this member

 Just a one nighter on our tour of Brittany and because of this the manager had allocated us one of the 'ferry' pitches thinking we wanted an early departure.

These are at the front of the site 'aire style' but still have access to the facilities.

We wanted something a bit more relaxing, and he happily showed us some alternatives - the main site has large, level grass pitches surrounded by hedges and with some trees for shade.

The road along the front of the site divides if from the little beach and then winds slowly up to the town so isn't busy. You can easily walk or cycle to the peninsular where there is more of a beach or further along to a small port area with a couple of restaurants.

There's also a pedestrian path signed to take you into the centre of St Pol but we didn't get to that this time. It's a nice site with a little bar which does snacks and various specials - an oyster stall arrived on the night we were there.

The pool, bar and play area are all close together which makes it ideal for families. The pool is very nice - much warmer than I expected on a cool and windy day with warm shoulder jets and a jacuzzi area.

Sanitaires were also clean and modern, although there was the old fashioned soap on a stick and a communal loo roll on the wall which I found odd!

It's a nice spot for walking and cycling; I pedalled down towards the bridge that takes you to Morlaix, along the coast and then through farmland.

There are other, bigger sites nearby but for €25 (with EHU) in high season and with a nice atmosphere this is probably the one we'd come back to. 


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Bmorris 2 reviews from this member

 Myself and partner only needed 1 night as we were getting the ferry from roscoff the next morning.

The owner spoke great English and had a pitch with electricity ready for our late arrival that evening.

The pitch was a good size for our ford transit custom and would easily of fit our large awning if we were to put it up. Shower block was clean and the water was nice and hot.


A couple of places to eat only a 5 minute walk down the road. We ate in one of the restaurants and had a great sea view. The site is 15 mins from the ferry terminal.

Price for the night was 21 euros.

We would definitely use this site again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 107 reviews from this member

 This is a regular stopover for us before we get the ferry home from Roscoff. My review from 2018 still stands and the site is still an excellent option for us.

One thing to note however, that we hadn’t realised before, is that reception closes from 12-2pm for lunch and you cannot check-in during that time. In past years this hasn’t been a problem as we’ve always arrived after 2pm; however this year, we arrived just after 12 and had a long and frustrating wait for reception to open again.

When we started to cause congestion the owner came out and opened the barrier for us slightly early, however we will remember in future not to arrive before 2pm as the entrance area to the site doesn’t have much room and a car and caravan waiting to get in can cause some congestion issues! 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 107 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 2 nights before we got the ferry home from Roscoff in July. The site was really great for this purpose. Check in was efficient and the staff very friendly. The pitch we were allocated was plenty big for our caravan and car and if we had wanted to put up an awning there would have been room for that too. Water points for filling the aquaroll are few and far between and when we finally found one, it was of the push button variety and the water came out in a trickle so it was a very uncomfortable 10 minutes stooping down and holding the button until the aquaroll was full.

The toilet and shower block were clean and functional although there were no toilet seats and the toilet paper is in one large dispenser outside the toilets, so you have to remember to pull some and take it into the cubicle with you. Unfortunately, this dispenser was often empty, particularly in the evenings, so best to carry your own with you!

There was a pool on site which we didn’t use but it looked popular and a snack bar which looked nice. On one of the evenings we were there they had a fantastic Irish folk group playing in the bar which was nice.

The area itself is a bit weird. The site is right on the coast but when the tide is out it is right out, further than you can see, and the seabed that is revealed is very rocky and seaweedy and smells bad. When the tide is in, it looks lovely!

You can walk round the coast from the site but you need to be careful as there are sections of the road without footpaths and the cars fly round quite fast. Some of the roads around the site and also in St Pol are very narrow and are often closed for fetes and other events so using a sat nav is a very bad idea.

We used the directions on the caravan club website and they were spot on to get us to the site with the caravan in tow even though it seemed like a very long way round looking on the map. However, the next day, we discovered why the Caravan Club recommend this route.

Other routes to the site were hair raising enough with just the car and if we had tried them with the caravan we would have been stuck as some have sharp hairpin bends, steep hills and very narrow sections. One piece of advice. If you are towing to the port at Roscoff, do not, under any circumstances, exit the site and turn left.

It might look on the map like that is the shortest route but there is no way you would get a large caravan round the first hairpin. To get to the port, use the caravan club directions to the site but in reverse. It is a longer route but at least you will get there in one piece!

St Pol is a nice enough town with a couple of good supermarkets with petrol stations. We were really only there for one full day so we went into Roscoff for the morning which is about 15 minutes away and it was a fabulous town with lots of nice touristy shops and restaurants. In the afternoon we went to the beach at Dossen which was about a 20 minute drive away but the beach was much nicer than the horrible ones near the campsite.

The campsite barrier opens in the mornings at 7am so it is great for getting the early morning ferry from Roscoff.

All in all, we really enjoyed our two nights here and would not hesitate to stay again as a stopover on our way to or from the ferry. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Raf290 5 reviews from this member

 Under new management, Edward and Valerie are the new owners and this is their first season. Already a few changes for the better have taken place.

The pool is now heated and open and there is a new snack bar. Also a kiddies pool and play area with bouncy castle. We really like this site, it's close to the beach and there are a variety of walks and cycle rides.

Close to St Pol centre with a Leclerc and a Super you nearby. Only a few minutes from Roscoff ferry. Mporlaix is 20 minutes by car-worth a visit and also has a big Geant on outskirts for a big going home shop.

The facilities are clean and well maintained with separate gender toilets and showers. The only fault is that the toilets have no seats or paper, although there is now tissue to wipe hands.

Maybe this will improve in time, but this is no different to many other French sites. Will recommend if only for a short stay either coming from or going to the ferry. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Berriow 53 reviews from this member

 We were there again in late September 2016 and were surprised how many people and how many nationalities were there - it was bustling and didn't have a dead feel at all. It all seemed better than we remembered from a few years ago. Yes the site hedges needed cutting and the grass pitches were a bit worn - but they will see to those things over the winter.

Madame in the office was as welcoming as ever - 'Shall l I show you to a pitch or do you know your way around?' She is happy to accept a camping cheque or an ACSI card in low season, or just plain money. When she saw me sitting on the bench outside the office using the free wi fi there she said straightaway to come inside. A nice lady. And of course at this time of year she always has sacks of the local pink onions for sale. She runs the site well and keeps it clean.

Ferries come and go at ever varying times and a site like this takes that sort of thing in its stride. If you are arriving at 2130 let madame know. If you want to be out and away early for the 0800 sailing then do the same, and if you want to stay until mid afternoon because you are booked on a 1630 sailing then she will accommodate that too. It's a very convenient first and last stop for Roscoff, but definitely also worth spending a few days in the area before you rush on your way. A recommended site, but many people know that already. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Montyturbo 7 reviews from this member

 First impressions – well-laid out site with roomy pitches, which you get shown round by semi-English speaking reception staff, and then make your choice.

Only one slight draw-back; no toilet paper and no toilet seats. A tad chill first thing in the morning! Apart from this, it’s location on the sea front with sandy beaches and proximity to St Pol (also with good pedestrian path) make up for the cold porcelain.

Not very busy whilst we were there – 2nd two weeks of June, but could well be noisy in high season, as it appears to be a favourite over-night stop for Roscoff ferry traffic. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tim and Cary 60 reviews from this member

 We caught 08.30hrs Monday August 2012 ferry from Roscoff at the end of our summer hols. We had considered staying at the port car park but in the end as we had a 3 night to spare after our main stay at Camping Du Letty we decided to stay at Camping Trologot at St Pol de Leon. The site is on a quiet minor road overlooking the sea. Although we enjoyed visiting the nearby town of St Pol it is important NOT to tow through the town either enroute to the campsite or from there to the ferry.

I would highly recommend Camping Trologot for either overnighting travelling to or from the ferry at Roscoff. The campsite is situated next to a rocky beach but well protected by high hedges. A big bonus for those catching the early morning ferry from Roscoff is that it has a late arrival/early departure area OUTSIDE the barrier with EHUs. There is room for about 8 caravans or tents in this area which is protected by sea breezes by high hedges.

The site had a small bar attached to the reception block. The lady owner and her husband spoke quite good English and were both very helpful. There was a wide range of tourist information leaflets in the reception area.

There was a small outdoor swimming pool and a children's playground with equipment, both near to reception. We did not try the pool as the weather was a bit cool and windy for outdoor swimming or sunbathing when we were there! A bonus was that the site took Caravan Cheques from the early date of 20 August and so we were able to use 3 of the 7 Cmp Cheques included in our CC booking and stay for a bargain 15€ per night, including EHU.

On our first full day we enjoyed exploring the nearby town of St Pol de Leon. On the way we drove along we drove to Islet de St Anne which is situated only a mile from the campsite. This narrow isthmus has a wide road with many parking spaces along the centre and a sandy beach on its northern edge. There is a watersports activity centre at the seaward end of the isthmus.

Another campsite Ar Kleguer stands on a promontory close to the landward end of the isthmus and the pitches must have good sea views although they appear to be rather exposed. Camping Ar Kleguer has a second camping area on the other side of the coast road. Ar Kleguer is only a few hundred metres from Camping Trologot but appears to be a much larger site with additional facilities.

We then drove on into the centre of St Pol itself. The town stands high on a plateau overlooking the coast and has a number of interesting historical buildings. We explored the 13th, former, Cathedral which has beautiful ancient stained glass windows depicting Biblical scenes. We, also, visited the Kreisker Chapel with its 78 metre high tower. Although we were tempted to ascend the tower with its renowned views over the surrounding coast and surrounding countryside we decided that, unfortunately, the 169 steps and my arthritic knee were probably not a good combination! In addition to a good range of small shops. There are 2 large supermarkets and branches of Lidl and Aldi on the outskirts of the town. We were able to stock up with our favourite French tipple Breton cidre.

On the Saturday evening we returned to the Islet de St Anne. Near to the landward end there is a pleasant grassed area with picnic tables and benches. This park has rocky promontory at its seaward end which gives good views over the bay and many surrounding islets. As it was by then very windy we found a sheltered picnic table and enjoyed a picnic tea.

We spent the Sunday prior to our ferry departure checking our towing route to the ferry port at Roscoff. After doing this we drove to the nearby town of Roscoff. A little further around the coast from the Ferry Port Roscoff is a charming town. It has a lovely old harbour full of pleasure craft and overlooked by a historic lighthouse. There are a number of picturesque streets of historic buildings lined with a wide range of interesting shops and restaurants aimed at the many tourists. We then drove further south west along the coast for a picnic lunch.

In the afternoon we drove to the nearby town of Carantec. We visited the Penn-al-Lann peninsula which gives lovely views over the tiny, picturesque Ile Louet with its whitewashed keeper’s cottage and lighthouse and the adjacent island fort of Chateau du Taureau. We then drove through the town to other side of the bay and to the beginning of the tidal causeway to the Ile Callot. Unfortunately the state of the tide meant that the causeway was flooded and we were unable to visit.

We then returned to Camping Trologot to prepare for our departure the next day. Having stayed on the main site for 2 nights we arranged with the owners to move to the 'outer' area for our last night and after hooking up the caravan we move to this area. We shared this area with a group of “mature” male bikers who were camping there and, also, planning to catch the early ferry. Unfortunately there was insufficient room for us to remain hitched-up for an easier departure the next morning.

One can see the ferries in the ferry port from outside the campsite entrance. The site is only c30 minutes’ drive from the port even allowing for the longer towing-friendly route. On the morning of our departure we re-hitched the caravan in the dark of the early morning and left the site at c07. 30hrs. Ironically by then the barrier was open so we could have stayed on our original pitch. However, we would have probably worried all night about missing the boat because we could not get through the barrier!

I would recommend this site unreservedly for either as a night halt or for a longer stay. For any motorhomers reading this there is a municipal motorhome 'aire' on sea front about a mile before the above campsites. I hope this is of help fellow campers and caravanners sailing to/from Roscoff. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Berriow 53 reviews from this member

 We have often stayed here for one night in early September waiting for the morning ferry from Roscoff on our way home when our usual Municipal site in the area has closed. Maybe Trologot is better in July or August when the season is in full swing, but this site always seems a bit sad in September -even though the toilet block remains clean and well kept, the pool and cafe/ bar/shop have closed, and of course the weather is past its best!

The pitching areas are flat and grassy and well sheltered from the wind by high hedges, though we have found that these hedges make towing in and out an awkward zig zag.

It's not the easiest site to find, or even to find your way out again when you are leaving in a rush for the early morning ferry. And you certainly don't want to tow through the town centre which is narrow.

It's right by the sea but the beaches aren't the most tempting you've ever seen. I think you'd be disappointed if you booked it for your main holiday but it's certainly OK for a short stay as there's lots to see in the area, which most British tourists miss as they tend to rush off or on the ferry. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Julie s 11 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Camping De Trologot for one night at the beginning of our summer holidays. We had arrived into Roscoff port and as it was early evening we were looking for somewhere to spend the night.

The area at the port where cars and caravans are allowed to park overnight was looking quite full and so we headed for this site as it was listed as being only 3 miles from Roscoff in the Caravan Club Overseas Campsite Guide which we had with us.

On arrival at the site we found the owners to be friendly, and as the site was quiet despite it being the middle of July we were told we could go onto either the main part of the site or onto the little short stay field at the front of the site.

We chose the short stay field as there was a lovely view of the sea and the ships sailing into the port.

We used the shower block and thought that it was very clean and well kept. There is also a nice small pool area.

Across the road from the site there is a beach although after visiting it my children described it as quite rocky. The nearby little town of St Pol De Leon was lovely.

If you are looking for a family beach holiday in France then I probably would not recommend Camping De Trologot but if you are looking for a nice overnight stop en route to or from the ferry then this site is ideal. 



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Camping De Trologot child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Does Camping De Trologot have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping De Trologot?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Camping De Trologot dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Saint Pol De Leon      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Brittany

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


40332 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement