Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Castel Les Bois Du Bardelet

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Poilly Lez Gien > Castel Les Bois Du Bardelet Reviews

Castel Les Bois Du Bardelet
Route De Bourges
Poilly Lez Gien
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
45500
Tel: +33 02 38 67 47 39
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 245
Open: 14/04 To 06/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 11 Reviews
                7/10 from 11 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: HOSPITALWORKER 19 reviews from this member

Lovely location but the facilities are outdated. Shop very poorly stocked and only open for a couple of hours in the morning. Restaurant has very limited menu.

Toilets and showers very clean but need modernising.

Lovely large pitch which was very private.

Have visited better sites costing the same.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ryanpeter9 1 review from this member

Just spent 10 days here. Very very impressed. Two heated swimming pools very nice and good sizes. There is a charge for everything else including tennis. Table tennis, canoeing, crazy golf. You can pay €45 for the whole family for seven days which gives you 7 days use of everything. Pitches are good size and a lot are secluded. Not as well kept than a caravan club site. A bit bumpy and not cut to the same standard but ok for France. Gien is just a couple of miles down the road. Quite quiet but nice to wander around and plenty of supermarkets around. Shop on site smallish but everything you need. We did have a 'posh' pitch with your own toilet/shower etc on our pitch which was great but quite expensive. Beautifully clean and modern as practically brand new. Overall had a great time and would recommend to anyone!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kiaboy 7 reviews from this member

When we booked this site I sent an email to ask for a pitch which was not under trees and next to our friends, the request was confirmed by the site and our booking had been 'amended' to accommodate our request. When we arrived for our 2 weeks stay, we were originally allocated pitches away from each other and not big enough to accommodate caravan and awning, we complained and showed the receptionist our email confirmation, he immediately called his boss who gave him permission to re site us both, we confirmed we were not bothered about 'facilities' as we have all needed in the caravan. He drove us round the site in his buggy to another location which we chose which was well away from the mainstream, but when started erecting our awnings, we noticed a huge ants nest, so the girls went back to reception, meanwhile we started to move the caravans to another location, when the receptionist returned with the girls he offered us a better pitch and gave us free use of the newly installed private sanitary facilities. As already mentioned the site offers reduced facilities during low season, bread needs to be ordered the day before and paid for. Grass was not cut during our stay, and the pitches were 'rutted' showing when it is wet the ground must be very soft. Would stay here again, everyone we had contact with was really friendly and helpful. We would certainly return here again, but one observation is do not accept the first pitch offered, as they will try and 'heard' everyone near to the shop and shower block. The pitches in this area IMHO should only be offered to motor homes. And the road to and from the site is narrow and have no passing places, so scored low in this section

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Basque5 2 reviews from this member

We arrived here on a Saturday and broke down in the car park the site arranged for a tractor to tow our unit to our pitch and were very helpful. The site was well laid out but I would have concern for the safety of young children as there are unsupervised fishing pond and pools. Out of high season the toilet block is confusingly signed with ladies toilets in the gents, but they are kept clean. There is a restaurant and take away food service and bar but we did not use them

Unfortunately a Renault Floride Caravelle rally arrived at the same time as us with 55 cars and 150 people. That night all 55 cars arrived back on the site between 12. 30 am and 1. 30 am and all drove past our pitch to their pitches or cabins. Doors were slammed, engines revved and people shouted to each other resulting in us not getting to sleep until 4. 30. At 7. 00 am we were awoken by the revving of engines, slamming of car doors, sounding of car horns, and people shouting to each other before the cars left between 7 And 10. 00. Cars were repaired on pitches until after dark when work continued by torchlight. This continued all week with no consideration for any person outside of the rally

On the last Saturday the 55 cars entered the site again in the early hours until 1. 30am. On Sunday morning the cars were loaded on to trailers from 7am with much revving and banging about, some cars taking up to 8 attempts to load. I complained to one of the officials of the rally who laughed. This was the worst weeks holiday we have experienced in 35 years of caravanning abroad. Access to the site is down a long narrow lane and opposing units could have great difficulty in passing in places, one of the units would have to reverse. The site staff received complaints about the rally but did nothing to help the situation, therefore I have downgraded the site accordingly. I would advise that before booking any site you check that this rally will not be there

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: David p80 2 reviews from this member

Some lovely semi-shaded pitches (see comment at end though!).

Enjoyable stay; very good facilities on-site although we used the swimming pool mainly, and the take-away once. (The restaurant looked good, and there's a fishing lake and a canoeing lake, and clubs for children (of the activity kind, not wooden)). The on-site shop covers basics for food (fresh bread and croissants each morning), washing, etc, and also newspapers only a few days old.

Facilities were kept clean; slightly strange in that a toilet block labelled 'men' had mainly cubicles labelled 'women' in. There seemed few men's toilets for such a large site, but to be fair the site was quite busy but I never had to queue for the loo. Washing machine useful.

One gripe: we arrived and said we didn't need electricity, they offered choice of two pitches both small 6x10m and with no shade, and very close to chalets, saying these were the only ones without electricity. We made a little fuss, and they suddenly found they had loads of 10x10m pitches with electric points (which we didn't use) with shade - and several similar ones near the one we chose were empty the whole week we were there. Lesson - ask to see pitches before confirming, and mention you will write a review.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Thetaylors 9 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 4 nights. Used Camping Cheques and yet again had no problems. We were greeted at reception in a friendly and polite manner. All the staff spoke good English, so no worries for any non-French speakers, not that it bothered us as we both have adequate French.

We were asked what type of pitch we wanted - quiet we said. We were offered a choice of several and were shown to them by a very pleasant Belgian lady. In the middle of each group of 4 were the EHUs, taps and drains for grey water - very convenient.

The site was blissfully quiet.

The ablution facilities could have done with a little updating but were, importantly, always clean.

The other facilities on site were superb, especially the indoor pool and jacuzzi. It is a very attractive site with plenty of well tended flower beds, and a couple of small lakes.

As it was low season the site was almost empty and the availability of some facilities was restricted. This would not be the case in high season.

The nearby town of Gien is a typical French town and has most of the shops you need. Cross the old bridge and turn left, follow the river and you come to Auchan supermarket. Stay on the new bypass and on the northern side of the town is a huge LeClerc.

We visited the chateau at Sully, very interesting with some spectacular rooms. Also seen were the chateau & garden at La Bussiere, with it's museum fo fishing. Spent a pleasant few minutes chatting to the Comtesse de Chasselay about the operation of a 19th C water pump. Don't miss the spectacular aqueduct at Briare, it crosses a road, the Loire and another canal.

A word of warning. There were major roadworks on the main road south from Gien. Don't follow sat nav - follow the signs to the site, they take you on a safer route for turning into the minor road to the site.

Would we go back - definitely, and for a longer stay.

No kids so can't comment on their facilities.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Costlyspy 4 reviews from this member

A nice site in the Loire Valley, my family and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves making full use of both the indoor and outdoor pools. The local town of Gien has a small shopping area with larger supermarkets on the outskirts; it's worth noting that the French have long lunch breaks (12:00 to 14:00ish) and arriving during these times you could find little open.

As I've already mentioned the site has indoor and outdoor pools which are both heated and a small jacuzzi. There is a small bar/restaurant, take away serving pizzas, chips etc, two small lakes on site which one is for kayaking and the other for fishing. There is crazy golf, table tennis, tennis courts and a kids club, so the site has plenty to do.

Most of the pitches are large in size with choices of hard standing or grass, although the pitches allocated to us were overgrown with the trees in our opinion resulting in a lot of shade, as for drainage these pitches lacked and in fact with heavy rain would start to flood.

There are two facility blocks with showers and toilets, both were spotless no matter what time of the day; the staff were all friendly and helpful and even with the poor weather we enjoyed ourselves.

We would definitely return to this site.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: HelenT5 2 reviews from this member

There was not a great deal to see around the area, the local towns and villages are like ghost towns with no activity from the locals.

Les Bois de bardelet in Loire (east) we stayed here for 4 nights. This was great, I wish we had stayed here longer. All the services we needed were on sight, the shop was well stocked, staff spoke good english, facilities were clean. The indoor and outdoor pools were great. This sight I would definitely go back to. Big thumbs up!

My best advice is if you have children take walky talkies - they work a treat.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 21Happycamper21 2 reviews from this member

Nice large site with beautiful pool. We spent a lot of time in the pool which was frequented by all as there wasn't too much to do in the area apart from visit the Loire river and nearby town of Gien (very nice). Large flat pitches which gave us ample space all with electricity. The lake looked a bit sad due to lots of weed and algae.

There were a few young people on the site one night that caused quite a bit of noise and disturbance, once reported to the staff they were asked to leave. Good to know that complaints were acted upon quickly.

Good little take away and shop (a bit pricey). Toilets and showers were a bit ropey, need updating and a good clean. Nice little park for children but quite near the lake.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bouncer32 2 reviews from this member

This site was very relaxing. The reception staff were helpful and showed us to our pitch on a bike. The pitch was level and ground easy to use pegs on, but watch out for ants' nests! The pitches are a reasonable size and divided by hedges, giving a good break between you and neighbours. Many people get a delux pitch which is infact two pitches. There is a EHU post and tap for every 3-6 pitches. There is plenty of open space for children(and parents) to play ball games on. There is a small outdoor pool complex, good for young kids only. There are 2 indoor pools, one excellent one for toddlers and a more adult one with sauna. These indoor pools cost extra. There is a bar and restaurant on site but quiet and quite pricy. There is an excellent take away that most people seemed to use once or twice. Pick carefully as some items are delicious and inexpensive such as mixed salads approx 3-4 euros, whereas others were expensive and disappointing, such as pizzas, 10-11 euros.

There is a lake with a make shift beach and a couple of canoes but when we were there you couldn't see the water for thick algea and weed.

There is a small shop with basics and fresh bread and pain au chocolat but as expected quite expensive, 7 euros plus for local wine.

There are few toilets and showers resulting in queues, especially when there are a lot of tents on site. Also these could have been kept a bit cleaner.

Whilst we were there, there was also an organised party of young children.School/youth club trip?.That took up a group of around 6-8 pitches. They were no bother but the noise level was obviously higher when they were around.

The town of Gien is nearby 10 minutes drive, and is worth wandering around, resting on banks of Loire. The largest supermarket nearby is also here, open 7 days and during lunch, Auchan. Go over old bridge then turn left and follow river, you can't miss it.

There is a small chateau at Sully sur Loire about half an hour away that is worth seeing. Also a trip to the famous wine village of Sancerre is worth a visit, but buy wine out of city centre at caves, just as nice and a lot cheaper!

In summary a pleasant site, especially for young families and those wanting a more relaxed atmosphere.

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Loire Valley

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4347 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019