Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - La Grande Tortue

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Cande Sur Beuvron > La Grande Tortue Reviews

La Grande Tortue
3 Route De Pontlevoy
Cande Sur Beuvron
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
41120
Tel: 0033 02 54 44 15 20
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 169
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 13 Reviews
                9/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 10 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cc7979 8 reviews from this member

Stayed for 14 nights, first time in France with our caravan. It is fair to say that overall the site exceeded my expectations. It is a nice location about 7 miles from Blois which is a wonderful town and well worth a visit. I was a little worried that Loire wouldn't have enough activities for my three children, all under 8, but I was wrong. Chambord is a great day out with lots of interactive activities for the kids. Tickets were also very cheap from site reception. We also went to Montrichard twice, which had a beach on the river Cher with kayaks to hire that my kids loved.

Facilities on site were very good. The swimming pool was a big hit with additional splash park and waterslide. If your kids are a bit older they might prefer more slides. Play park included bouncy castle and trampolines which again were popular.

Ate in the restaurant twice. Food was good, but expensive. I suppose guests are a captive audience! Good range of cocktails and beers, but again expensive. The shop was ok, but better range and price at Intermarche and Casino about 3/4 miles away.

We opted for a super pitch with en-suite facilities as when I originally booked we had a tent not a caravan. This was a real luxury and can definitely recommend. It was also good value for money at an average of £42 per night. This was the end of August so prices do tend to be better in France, but even so still good. Pitch was a good size but not much grass - a common problem at the end of season in France.

I can't comment on shower blocks as we had the en-suite. They did look a little tired (but clean) on the odd occasion we used the WC, but again can't provide a definitive view.

There as also a really nice mix of nationalities on site, with Dutch, Danish, French, English and even Slovenian near by during our stay.

Overall, I definitely recommend this site and the area for a family with children under 10. Lots of activities, good value and not too far a drive from Calais.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wherenext 32 reviews from this member

Site is easy to find and well signposted from the road approaching Cande sur Beuvron (from Chaumont direction). Otherwise if coming from Blois, continue through Cande and turn left at the sharp bend just after the village. Site in 30 yards on left.

Good points were:

Very friendly and accommodating staff

Excellent play area for children

Excellent pool area

Didn't eat at restaurant but others I spoke to were very satisfied.

Pitches were mainly big enough for most outfits

16 amp CEE connection

Some pitches have their own sanitary facilities and you can also hire Bivouacs

Plenty of shade if you wanted it

Great location for cycling or canoeing along the Loire and for sightseeing the chateaux

Bad points were:

Not really a bad point but the sanitary blocks weren't the best. They were just OK and I didn't like a couple of them not having a hand sink to wash your hands after going to the toilet so some people washed them in the dish washing area. Not hygienic.

There are quite a number of chalets on site and these were intermingled with the touring area. Don't like this mix as the chalets can be hired for the weekend and you get same sex parties going on with quite a bit of late night noise.

Some of the pitches next to the woods on the south side of the site don't get any sun so beware.

The site takes ACSI so that is a bonus and the wifi connection was fair but you have to pay for it.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sentrygy 1 review from this member

We have just returned from two weeks at this campsite. We were lucky enough to have a private sanitary block which came with toilet/shower/sink and fridge with freezer drawer. This was very handy especially when it rained. The on-site facilities were excellent. The pool was clean and had a removable roof. There were also water slides and kids pools plus sun loungers although the number of these was limited. The shop and restaurant were adjacent to the pool and were in the main reasonably priced for an on-site service. The children's park was well maintained and surrounded by a wooden fence for safety. There was also a large inflatable castle and football/basketball court. The only down side was the pitches were very stony with some resembling flint and very sharp. I was concerned these may have cut the ground sheet. We managed to clear most of them prior to erecting our tent. The site was centrally located for the towns of Blois and Amboise both of which had lots of historical places to visit.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: ClaireMike21 40 reviews from this member

Liked this site, acis ran into July, thought we only had one night on it but they had published the dates in the book wrong and as they were running camping cheques for another week the acis ran too. Check in very easy and they gave us a pitch we were very happy with. The campsite maybe called on the larger side but didn't feel like that, seemed to have a lovely layout. The showers etc very good and clean. The shop was well stocked, the kids play area looked fab, big bouncy castle, big trampoline etc, some kind mascot I think it's a cat or tiger called Lenny that was for the kids club. The pools, busy when we went in the afternoon so no sunbed, a nice big normal pool and a fancy kids pool with a separate water slide. The bar and resteraunt were pool side. , a nice layout. Had a good meal and great service, a good selection of food and there was also a takeaway. The best thing was the beautiful cycle/ walking path along the river for 3 miles to the chateau. It's completely flat and very pretty running all the way along, a really easy ride and would be fab for dog walking. The village is very small with a pretty bridge in the centre. Would recommend if you want to potter on a bike or walk to the chateau as a good location for this. Ps you pass the municipal on the walk which looked ok but at acis rate this place was fab value. I'm sure young kids would really like this site.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: COMPASS CAMPERS 3 reviews from this member

A great base for cycling as there are numerous well signposted and interesting cycle tracks starting from the village. Excellent croissants available from the shop on site and the takeaway pizza was also good. The play area was amazing and the swimming pool was good, Indeed all the facilities at the site were good and the staff were friendly and fun, however at 29 euros a night with an additional daily charge for wifi we felt it was somewhat overpriced. The downside to the visit was the large number of mosquitoes. Even my husband got bitten and they normally avoid him in favour of me. Inspect repellent is a must.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Starsearcher 7 reviews from this member

An easy to review site.

Staff, very helpful and friendly

Pitches, large and shaded. Very quiet

Pool, large very warm and loads of facilities for children

Restaurant and takeaway, good quality and reasonable price

Bar, good but expensive.

In all, a first class site in all respects and highly recommended

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: I8blades 48 reviews from this member

Arrived quite late in the day but it wasn't a problem for the friendly staff on reception.

The pitch allocated was quite big and well shaded.

The indoor pool was very warm even tough it wasn't fantastic outside.

The food in the restaurant was very good value and good quality as well and the bar was good too.

There was what looked like a very good children's park probably one of the best we have seen on a campsite.

A short walk takes into the village where there is a bar, restaurant, a couple of shops. Its very sleepy!

We didn't go far from the site, staying just a couple of nights on our way to the Dordogne.

Very nice site.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Filandrecats 1 review from this member

We arrived late August without booking we were made very welcome and they were happy to accept our Camping Cheques. This is an absolutely fantastic site. Our first allocated pitch was occupied but we were quickly given a choice of 3. The pitch was huge with shed loads of space for caravan, awning and car, although under trees we could always find a patch of sunshine although we had hot weather and sought the shade. Toilet facilities were excellent and always spotlessly clean although I didnít see anyone cleaning them! There was a good laundry room. Beautiful indoor pool and great paddling pool and water park for small children. Small shop, good basic restaurant and take away, with excellent food at a reasonable price. The location was rural and the site had a lovely peaceful feel to it we stayed for 10 days and there was an abundance of things to do in the surrounding area. We were lucky enough to catch the last evening of the historical pageant in Amboise, I thoroughly recommend this.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Helcro11 6 reviews from this member

Booked in advance for 4 nights, on arrival we were allocated a pitch but assured we could change it if preferred a different one which we did as wanted less shade. Very helpful staff happy to help in any way. Great facilities, clean showers, hot water never busy and pool area was lovely with undercover pool that we used after going cycling each day. Great cycle routes from campsite long or short routes to choose from. Small bar and restaurant, did not use so cannot comment but people who used it look happy! Wifi 3 euros a day, total cover so accessed from the van which was great. A little on the pricey side at 25 euros for 2 plus caravan and electric low season, but if you used all facilities worth while.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Motorhometrips 22 reviews from this member

I chose this site because it was close to the Chateaux au Velo cycle network. It is a large site with all the facilities that you would expect, the pitch was spacious and it did have a dedicated motorhome disposal site(big plus) and water was available on site. The sanitary facilities were excellent together with dish washing etc. Bread is available on site and there is a restaurant which we did not try. The receptionist was really helpful and sold me at a discounted price the silver card for Camping Cheques and at 15 euros a night, using this scheme represents excellent value. (though in high season expect to pay a lot more)She also continued to explain in French which I liked despite the fact that she spoke excellent English.

A visit to the chateau at Chaumont is a must, it has, what I would describe as a mini Chelsea flower show each year & discounted tickets are available at the site. You will not be disappointed. Whilst writing about Chaumont, there is a cracking municipal site on the banks of the Loire. Ok it is not all singing and dancing but it has electric hookups, a MH disposal point, clean showers and toilets and it cost me, if I recall less than 12 euros (cash only)In September in the low season we virtually had the site to ourselves, very peaceful.

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Loire Valley

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4786 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019