Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of La Grande Tortue

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Cande Sur Beuvron > La Grande Tortue > Reviews

La Grande Tortue
3 Route De Pontlevoy
Cande Sur Beuvron
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
41120
Tel: 0033 02 54 44 15 20
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 169
Open: 01/04/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 14 Reviews
                9/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <10 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lidds0 50 reviews from this member

 We received a warm welcome at this medium-sized site; the lady on reception was friendly and helpful. We were given lots of information about the site then urged to walk around and choose our own pitch.

Pitches are of a good size and marked out by shrubs or hedging. Some have private kitchen and bathroom facilities, at a supplement (we paid 23 euros a night on ACSI for a standard pitch and were quoted 38 for one with own facilities).

There are 3 sanitary blocks, 2 of which are new this year in timbered portacabin type structures. The shower cubicles are a bit tight and could do with more hooks or a shelf but they were clean and plentiful and the showers hot (temperature adjustable) and powerful. The new units include a good laundry room.

There's a shop and a restaurant on site, both open until 11pm which is pretty amazing. They also do meals to go and 5 euros buys a large portion of the best frites we've ever tasted (a great accompaniment to our evening meal).

There's a covered pool and a small outdoor pool and splashed for kids, all open until 9pm daily. We weren't so keen on the regimented rows of sunbeds.

There's a 5-a-side pitch, great climbing apparatus and a playground, so this site is very child-friendly.

There are quite a few cabins on site but all empty when we were there (in May). Some pitches are interspersed with the cabin plots, which wouldn't be my choice, however the majority of the site comprises touring pitches.

We were told at reception that every cabin and most of the pitches were booked out for the Whit holiday (28th and 29th May) so we decided to make tracks after just one night, but this is a site where we could happily have stayed for longer. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Cc7979 22 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 14 nights, first time in France with our caravan. It is fair to say that overall the site exceeded my expectations. It is a nice location about 7 miles from Blois which is a wonderful town and well worth a visit. I was a little worried that Loire wouldn't have enough activities for my three children, all under 8, but I was wrong. Chambord is a great day out with lots of interactive activities for the kids. Tickets were also very cheap from site reception. We also went to Montrichard twice, which had a beach on the river Cher with kayaks to hire that my kids loved.

Facilities on site were very good. The swimming pool was a big hit with additional splash park and waterslide. If your kids are a bit older they might prefer more slides. Play park included bouncy castle and trampolines which again were popular.

Ate in the restaurant twice. Food was good, but expensive. I suppose guests are a captive audience! Good range of cocktails and beers, but again expensive. The shop was ok, but better range and price at Intermarche and Casino about 3/4 miles away.

We opted for a super pitch with en-suite facilities as when I originally booked we had a tent not a caravan. This was a real luxury and can definitely recommend. It was also good value for money at an average of £42 per night. This was the end of August so prices do tend to be better in France, but even so still good. Pitch was a good size but not much grass - a common problem at the end of season in France.

I can't comment on shower blocks as we had the en-suite. They did look a little tired (but clean) on the odd occasion we used the WC, but again can't provide a definitive view.

There as also a really nice mix of nationalities on site, with Dutch, Danish, French, English and even Slovenian near by during our stay.

Overall, I definitely recommend this site and the area for a family with children under 10. Lots of activities, good value and not too far a drive from Calais. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wherenext 39 reviews from this member

 Site is easy to find and well signposted from the road approaching Cande sur Beuvron (from Chaumont direction). Otherwise if coming from Blois, continue through Cande and turn left at the sharp bend just after the village. Site in 30 yards on left.

Good points were:

Very friendly and accommodating staff

Excellent play area for children

Excellent pool area

Didn't eat at restaurant but others I spoke to were very satisfied.

Pitches were mainly big enough for most outfits

16 amp CEE connection

Some pitches have their own sanitary facilities and you can also hire Bivouacs

Plenty of shade if you wanted it

Great location for cycling or canoeing along the Loire and for sightseeing the chateaux

Bad points were:

Not really a bad point but the sanitary blocks weren't the best. They were just OK and I didn't like a couple of them not having a hand sink to wash your hands after going to the toilet so some people washed them in the dish washing area. Not hygienic.

There are quite a number of chalets on site and these were intermingled with the touring area. Don't like this mix as the chalets can be hired for the weekend and you get same sex parties going on with quite a bit of late night noise.

Some of the pitches next to the woods on the south side of the site don't get any sun so beware.

The site takes ACSI so that is a bonus and the wifi connection was fair but you have to pay for it. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sentrygy 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from two weeks at this campsite. We were lucky enough to have a private sanitary block which came with toilet/shower/sink and fridge with freezer drawer. This was very handy especially when it rained. The on-site facilities were excellent. The pool was clean and had a removable roof. There were also water slides and kids pools plus sun loungers although the number of these was limited. The shop and restaurant were adjacent to the pool and were in the main reasonably priced for an on-site service. The children's park was well maintained and surrounded by a wooden fence for safety. There was also a large inflatable castle and football/basketball court. The only down side was the pitches were very stony with some resembling flint and very sharp. I was concerned these may have cut the ground sheet. We managed to clear most of them prior to erecting our tent. The site was centrally located for the towns of Blois and Amboise both of which had lots of historical places to visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: ClaireMike21 40 reviews from this member

 Liked this site, acis ran into July, thought we only had one night on it but they had published the dates in the book wrong and as they were running camping cheques for another week the acis ran too. Check in very easy and they gave us a pitch we were very happy with. The campsite maybe called on the larger side but didn't feel like that, seemed to have a lovely layout. The showers etc very good and clean. The shop was well stocked, the kids play area looked fab, big bouncy castle, big trampoline etc, some kind mascot I think it's a cat or tiger called Lenny that was for the kids club. The pools, busy when we went in the afternoon so no sunbed, a nice big normal pool and a fancy kids pool with a separate water slide. The bar and resteraunt were pool side. , a nice layout. Had a good meal and great service, a good selection of food and there was also a takeaway. The best thing was the beautiful cycle/ walking path along the river for 3 miles to the chateau. It's completely flat and very pretty running all the way along, a really easy ride and would be fab for dog walking. The village is very small with a pretty bridge in the centre. Would recommend if you want to potter on a bike or walk to the chateau as a good location for this. Ps you pass the municipal on the walk which looked ok but at acis rate this place was fab value. I'm sure young kids would really like this site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: COMPASS CAMPERS 3 reviews from this member

 A great base for cycling as there are numerous well signposted and interesting cycle tracks starting from the village. Excellent croissants available from the shop on site and the takeaway pizza was also good. The play area was amazing and the swimming pool was good, Indeed all the facilities at the site were good and the staff were friendly and fun, however at 29 euros a night with an additional daily charge for wifi we felt it was somewhat overpriced. The downside to the visit was the large number of mosquitoes. Even my husband got bitten and they normally avoid him in favour of me. Inspect repellent is a must. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Starsearcher 7 reviews from this member

 An easy to review site.

Staff, very helpful and friendly

Pitches, large and shaded. Very quiet

Pool, large very warm and loads of facilities for children

Restaurant and takeaway, good quality and reasonable price

Bar, good but expensive.

In all, a first class site in all respects and highly recommended 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: I8blades 54 reviews from this member

 Arrived quite late in the day but it wasn't a problem for the friendly staff on reception.

The pitch allocated was quite big and well shaded.

The indoor pool was very warm even tough it wasn't fantastic outside.

The food in the restaurant was very good value and good quality as well and the bar was good too.

There was what looked like a very good children's park probably one of the best we have seen on a campsite.

A short walk takes into the village where there is a bar, restaurant, a couple of shops. Its very sleepy!

We didn't go far from the site, staying just a couple of nights on our way to the Dordogne.

Very nice site. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Filandrecats 1 review from this member

 We arrived late August without booking we were made very welcome and they were happy to accept our Camping Cheques. This is an absolutely fantastic site. Our first allocated pitch was occupied but we were quickly given a choice of 3. The pitch was huge with shed loads of space for caravan, awning and car, although under trees we could always find a patch of sunshine although we had hot weather and sought the shade. Toilet facilities were excellent and always spotlessly clean although I didnít see anyone cleaning them! There was a good laundry room. Beautiful indoor pool and great paddling pool and water park for small children. Small shop, good basic restaurant and take away, with excellent food at a reasonable price. The location was rural and the site had a lovely peaceful feel to it we stayed for 10 days and there was an abundance of things to do in the surrounding area. We were lucky enough to catch the last evening of the historical pageant in Amboise, I thoroughly recommend this. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Helcro11 6 reviews from this member

 Booked in advance for 4 nights, on arrival we were allocated a pitch but assured we could change it if preferred a different one which we did as wanted less shade. Very helpful staff happy to help in any way. Great facilities, clean showers, hot water never busy and pool area was lovely with undercover pool that we used after going cycling each day. Great cycle routes from campsite long or short routes to choose from. Small bar and restaurant, did not use so cannot comment but people who used it look happy! Wifi 3 euros a day, total cover so accessed from the van which was great. A little on the pricey side at 25 euros for 2 plus caravan and electric low season, but if you used all facilities worth while. 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is La Grande Tortue child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does La Grande Tortue have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to La Grande Tortue?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is La Grande Tortue dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cande Sur Beuvron      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Loire Valley

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


41066 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Play our
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win an amazing 12V and 240V 21.5" Full HD Smart WiFi TV with Satellite Decoder worth £399 provided by outdoor superstore Towsure!

Play Here


Advertisement