Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Les Cochards

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Saint Aignan > Camping Les Cochards Reviews

Camping Les Cochards
1 Rue De Camping
Seigy
Saint Aignan
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
41110
Tel: 0033 (0)2 54 75 15 59
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 140
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 7 Reviews
                9/10 from 7 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Becboz 23 reviews from this member

We had a one night stop here on our way down south & we wished we could have stayed longer. It was easy to find with good access for our large tourer. The receptionist was very friendly & spoke English. As it was near the end of season we had a good choice of pitches of which there were some good sized ones both with shade or open. The toilet block that was open was mixed but that is no problem to us. It was clean bright & tidy. We went into St Aignan for an early drink & meal & it was very quaint. Bread & croissants could be ordered at reception even at the end of the season. It is in a lovely spot by the river. We used a Camping cheque for payment so good value. A very pleasant overnight stay.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rennavarac 6 reviews from this member

Visiting Camping Les Cochards this year it is hard to realise the site was flooded 15 months ago. The toilet blocks are spic and span and the pitches unaffected from their immersion.

The site is a 20 minute stroll from Saint Aignan which can be seen from the site down the river Cher. The town has a market on Saturday and numerous restaurants. Try Au Bigoudennin rue Paul Boncour for a large and tasty gallet followed by a tasty crep.

The local wine is Touraine and both banks of the Cher have many vignerons to chose from.

Nearby are two royal chateaux: Chambord and Cheverny. Chambord is huge, but Cheverny is more homely; perhaps because the same family, the Huraults have lived their, on and off, for six centuries. The off period was during the French Revolution.

Very close by is Zoo de Parc Beauval with its famous panda family.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stephen15 5 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 5 nights on our way home after 14 nights in the Dordogne. We found it to be a lovely site to chill out after the buzz of the Dordogne region. It is well centred to visit many of the local chateau. Twice weekly there is a free ferry service from the site to the local town. Reception also have free discounts to many local attractions. The site was very French with around 90 per cent French campers but everyone, and in particular the staff, were very friendly. The bar had entertainment most nights ranging from a children's clown to bingo but all was quiet from around 10 o'clock onwards. We had asked on booking for a riverside pitch and that is what we got. The view from our tent was of the river Cher with be the pretty town of St Aignan a few hundred yards downstream. It was without doubt the most picturesque view of any pitch. If you book make sure to ask for a riverside pitch as some of the other pitches were under trees and appeared to be in constant shade. This was a lovely family site with a very relaxing ambience and we would certainly use it again.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BeauFrance 5 reviews from this member

This is a modest sized site set in a peaceful location right beside a river.

The site is very near to the lovely village of Saint Aignan-Sur-Cher.

The site shop is well stocked and the person on reception was polite and friendly.

The toilets and showers were adequate but a little tired and rather annoyingly the light switch for the showers was on the outside in a passage way between the showers and toilets and was on a timer which was set to too short a time interval which meant we had to leave our showers and walk to the light switch to switch the lights back on and then finish our shower! I guess you should only shower during the day.

Our pitch was very large and could easily accommodate a large family tent.

When we were there we had a peaceful nights sleep but that was partly due to the fact that the site was almost empty. The site is really very tired and could do with updating. Recommended as a stop over, but not for longer stays.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ced1 9 reviews from this member

We stayed at this lovely site on the banks of the river Cher for one week towards the end of July. Although it was the height of the season there was still plenty of room. The pitch we were given was pretty much perfect- by the river, spacious with ideal amounts of both sunlight and shade and a fantastic view downstream to the pretty town of St Aignan.

This is a former municipal site that has been under private ownership since 2000. All the staff we met were friendly, welcoming and helpful. The layout is very similar to other municipal sites by the river in this area with open pitches of varying size set out mainly under the trees. Some of the facilities were more modern than others but all were kept spotlessly clean and there was always plenty of hot water. There is a small swimming pool which our children (12 & 9) really enjoyed, a bouncy castle, go-karts and mini-golf as well as a shop, a bar/restaurant and a pizza takeaway. The site runs an entertainments programme (live music, meals, clown shows, loto evenings, etc) but this was in no way obtrusive if you didn’t want to join in. Next door to the site there is a “base nautique” where you can hire windsurfers or canoes for a paddle up and down the river- great fun.

Three mornings a week, it is possible to take a free boat from the campsite into St Aignan. This proved a useful and enjoyable way to get to the market on the Saturday. If you are staying here you can also get discounts on the entrance fee to many of the tourist sites in the area – we were given a list of these when we first checked in and then it was simply a case of asking for vouchers at the reception.

While we were staying here we visited the chateaux of Beauregard, Cheverny and Chambord (all well worth a visit) and also spent a day at the fantastic zoo in Beauval with its amazing bird of prey display.

In all, I cannot recommend this site enough, especially if you are looking for that delicate balance between peace and enough to keep the kids happy. We will definitely be coming back the next time we visit this part of the Loire.

Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: David Klyne 220 reviews from this member

To find site:- The campsite is on the south bank of the River Cher and has direct access off the D17 about a kilometre east of St Aignan.

Camping les Cochards has the look and feel of a large municipal campsite located on the banks of the River Cher and not far from the attractive town of St Aignan. This site is open until mid October so handy for those taking late holidays. The couple that run the site seem very pleasant, Madam speaks very good English. There are around 125 touring pitches which are on grass and quite generous in size and well shaded. In some places you might need a long lead to reach the electric points which are rated as 5 amps and have continental connectors. Best to check for reverse polarity. Water points are dotted around the campsite but a fair way from some pitches. There are several toilet blocks around the site which whilst not being the most modern are of a good standard with seated toilets and paper provided. There is a small swimming pool. Children are quite well catered for with play equipment, pitch and putt golf and a large playing field across the access road to the site. In the main season the site does snacks and takeaway rather than having a full sit down restaurant. Next to reception is a small shop selling essential and next to that a TV room. The site has WiFi available at reasonable prices and although listed as being available at reception a good signal can be picked within about 100 metres further out. The site accepts Camping Cheques in the low season.

The small town of St Aignan is only a short distance from the campsite. There are lots of opportunities to explore the valleys of the Cher and Loire and all their associations with history. If you are interested in waterways there are canals in the area to be explored. For shopping there is a Super you a couple of miles from the site on the outskirts of St Aignan.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Leannekelly 2 reviews from this member

This is a beautiful campsite on the River Cher, just a minute from St.Aignan. We were there from the middle of August for one week and things were starting to wind down for the season. The pitches are shaded and a good size, there were four toilet and shower blocks, small outdoor pool, shop, bar and restaurant and entertainment most nights. The evening entertainment was not too noisy and finished by 10.30pm most evenings. Very friendly owners and the lady spoke very good english. The campsite is well situated for lots of nice places to visit. There is a fantastic zoo in St.Aignan, lots of chateaux around and the town is well serviced with a market on Sat morning and supermarkets etc. The shop at the campsite has bread and croissants that you can order for breakfast and they are fabulous. They also offer the use of a free boat service three mornings a week into town for the campers and discounts on various attractions around. There is a lovely sandy beach on the river in the town, with parking, and although the pool is small it was very clean and good fun. The showers and toilets are cleaned 3 times a day and were very good with lots of hot water and there are plenty of laundry tubs and dishwashing facilities. There is also a boat/canoe hire facility next to the campsite. I would highly recommend this site as a base to explore the Loire and have some relaxing days in a lovely setting.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Saint Aignan      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Loire Valley

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5609 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019