Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Start Bay Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Start Bay Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Stokenham
Kingsbrigde
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ7 2SE
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 103
Open: 16/03 To 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 16 Reviews
                9/10 from 16 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Biffandpip 1 review from this member

Stayed for 2 days in motor home. Staff very friendly and helpful. Lovely location however roads very narrow especially in motorhome. Site is beautiful lovely location lovely walk into Start bay highly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Percy on tour 49 reviews from this member

Start Bay boasts all the full C&MC facilities, maintained to the usual high standard and with friendly and helpful staff. It is laid out on terraces in a steep valley that has the advantage of shielding campers from high winds, but also from good TV reception. We only managed to pick up ITV channels - although you can buy an aerial extension from the campsite shop for £20 which will enable you to plug into the signal booster available on the ehu pillars.

A few minutes away are the beaches at Torcross and Slapton Sands (which if you want to avoid paying the steep parking charges can be cycled to more or less on the flat - a rarity in this part of Devon). Supermarkets, shops and filling stations are available in nearby Kingsbridge and Dartmouth. Meanwhile, Ashby's general store on the road to Kingsbridge also stocks a wide range of caravan and motorhome accessories, consumables and spare parts.

Unfortunately, the A379 in this part of Devon is quite narrow and winding, which makes touring further afield time-consuming. It is also why it is important to follow the site's direction instructions in order to avoid taking satnav routes that are unsuitable for towing. However, if you prefer you can let someone else do the driving and catch the regular Service 3 bus outside the campsite that serves the towns and beaches nearby.

All told, a delightful place to stay - especially when the sun is shining and the beach is beckoning.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Vashka 14 reviews from this member

Second time visiting this campsite and really like everything about it. The wardens are really friendly and helpful, the location is great, facilities all good and the sun even shone!

We just stayed for one night over the Easter weekend but wished we could have stayed longer. Easy walk to Torcross and then you can either walk along the beach (if the tides out) or along the coastal path to a lovely pub called the Cricket Inn at Beesands. We didn't eat there but the food looked great. We decided to eat at the Start Bay Inn after seeing all the good reviews but wasn't that impressed to be honest.

As we visited over bank holiday, the bus service wasn't particularly good but think it's a good location to stay and get the bus to Dartmouth.

Will definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lbarkas 77 reviews from this member

Just returned home after a week's stay - our fourth in 25 years as it is always so memorable. This time it was very busy despite the schools having just started back, so mainly retired couples like us. We did many of the same things as previous years but tried some different eateries. Did the walk from the site taking in Stokenham, Beeson, Beesands, Torcross, stopping for tasty fishy lunch at Brittania@Beesands. We had been advised to book since it is only a small open-fronted 'shack' with about 20 covers, beside the beach, though they also do takeaway service.

Salcombe is still as delightful. We usually drive to East Portlemouth, park up (limited free spaces), walk down the hill to take the passenger ferry across the estuary (£1. 60 pp each way). Another good fishy lunch at The Crab Shed where I enjoyed my moules frites.

On an earlier stay, we drove to Dartmouth (used the P&R at £5 per vehicle), then caught the river taxi upstream to Dittisham where there are a couple of places to eat - a pub and a cafe/restaurant. We used the latter and enjoyed an al fresco fishy meal with a bottle of white. Beautiful location once again.

The walking in the area is delightful, particularly along the coastal path, but some rocky climbs in places. We have a couple of publications with descriptive routes or there are downloadable routes available from the Internet. Lovely clean beaches if that is your thing, with the privately owned Blackpool Sands (charge payable) about 5 miles away in a stunning location (note - dogs not allowed). The main downside to experiencing this area and all it has to offer is accessibility since there are many narrow lanes, high hedgerows to be negotiated with care. Arrival/departure for the site can be tricky from the A38 south of Exeter, via Dartington, Totnes and Kingsbridge, as we had found on previous stays but this year we travelled on a Sunday in the hope of meeting fewer large commercial vehicles, plus there is a reduced bus service (double deckers too). We left just before 7am and it was fine, meeting little traffic, so our early start paid off.

The site is of the usual high CC standard - friendly wardens, spotless facilities, neat and tidy grounds. Arriving at midday, we were thankfully able to choose a hardstanding pitch, but the grassed, sloping area behind us did cause a few problems after rain for some. Wifi was quite good considering the full occupancy for most of our week. TV is poor so the aerial socket on the power bollard is useful.

Not sure that we shall revisit again since we now prefer less busy locations, stress-free motoring, fewer people, but over the years the South Hams area of Devon has left us with some very happy memories.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jonnmedds 68 reviews from this member

A lovely site in a great location which was up to the usual Caravan Club standards.

As has been mentioned, the route recommended by the club is a little narrow in places and could scare those who are less confident, though if you take it slow it's ok. All other routes to the site are a lot worse.

We were greeted by friendly wardens and chose a lovely grass pitch in the centre of the site. All grass pitches are on a slope are also a little unlevel side to side, so you may needs levelling blocks. There is a little noise from the road, but it's not too bad.

Toilets and showers were always clean. The on site shop also sold the basics. For a bigger shop there is a Morrisons and Tesco 20mins away in Kingsbridge.

Location is good, just 15 min walk from the beach. Kingsbridge, Dartmouth and Salcombe are a short drive away.

In all a lovely site, though not cheap.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Beattie08 22 reviews from this member

Three nights here, on Devon/Cornwall tour.

Nicely laid out, clean tidy site. On the A379, so could be a little noisy on the top pitches. We had pitch 43 at the bottom of site, was quiet enough for us.

Friendly helpful wardens. Reception selling the essentials, plus bits and bobs (cards, maps etc)

Well stocked information room.

No 3 bus into Dartmouth. Scenic ride plus a nice town to mooch about.

Plenty of walking from the site too. Torcross only 10-15 mins walk, mostly footpath, small section along road (behind the white line!) The Start Bay Inn, pleasant pub with good food, beer. Small shop post office in Torcross.

10 mins walk via footpath to Stokeham village. Ate in The Tradesman Arms and The Church Inn. Preferred TCI, Good atmosphere, excellent food, beer. The night we were in a Jazz band was playing!

Circular walk via Stokenham, Beeson, Beesands and Torcross.

Cricket Inn at Beesands well worth a try. Friendly with good food.

Stunning rocks on seaside walk back to Torcross ( if the tide is out)

Enjoyed our stay, will return when next in Devon.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mistrelyn 12 reviews from this member

Better late than never they say so finally getting around to leaving feedback on our May tour.

We came to this site from Chew Valley and stayed for 4 nights from 31st May.

Lovely site and staff in a lovely spot. We have come to favour Devon over Cornwall and this site and area is now one of the reasons. We tend to just tour around stopping off here and there and this area is ideal for that.

The small shop in Torcross is fine for the day to day supplies and there is Stokely farm shop and restaurant next to the site that is very good.

There is a nice enough walk for the dogs either via the corn field footpath to the village of Stokenham or turn right up the hill and go that way around to the village and back through the field. You can call in for a pint as well!

Will definitely be back

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tparkes 4 reviews from this member

Lovely site and very friendly, helpful wardens. Quite narrow lanes as previously described but patience and good manners get you through in the end. Well worth a trip to this site as very close to Dartmouth, Kingsbridge and Salcombe. Dartmouth was our favourite though and I can highly recommend the Jubilee Pass for a variety of boat trips which can be combined with steam train trip to Paignton or a round robin via Totnes. Lots of trips on offer and at £32 for a five day pass this represents excellent value for money. I know it might be a lot for families with children but for us as a couple it was great. The campsite itself is on two levels and you may need some bricks or levelling blocks to get your van level. The loos and showers were usual good quality Caravan Club facilities. There is a fish and chip van which calls on a Tuesday and an artisan bread van calls every morning at 10 a. M but was usually sold out by about 5 past! There is a lovely farm shop about 5 mins walk from the campsite with good quality meat, bread, veg etc. Nice children's play area. All in all a very good site and would love to return!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Si_app 5 reviews from this member

Fabulous friendly peaceful little site with first class modern facilities. Modern quality kids playground. Lovely 1/4 mile dog walk off the lead via a cornfield to 2 pubs in lovely village, the best being the beautiful thatched dog friendly Tradesman's Arms. 1 mile walk mostly via road to the dog friendly pebble beach at Torbay with again a couple of nice places to eat and relax but not much else. No seaside tat, just beautiful coastline. Nearest civilisation from site 10 min drive to very nice Kingsbridge for supplies and a spot of crab fishing. Can't wait to go back again next year, best site I've ever stayed at. Lot's of narrow lanes with minimal passing places all around this area so patience and skill required but well worth it. Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: CarpenterClan 15 reviews from this member

Our first visit to this lovely site, narrow roads on the approach so don’t use sat nav, use the instructions the club give. We sited our caravan not too far from the shower block, the pitches there seemed quite short, our single axle caravan just fitted between the road and the fence, a larger caravan would struggle. We had to go the wrong way down the little site road when leaving with the caravan because there wasn’t enough space to turn out with other caravans there.

Not a massive site, one toilet/shower block, usual good standard of cleanliness. Plenty of showers and toilets. Friendly wardens, very helpful. Very small play area for children up the one end. Quiet site, the road running along side the site wasn’t a problem. We had limited phone reception and couldn’t get a radio station.

There is a nice little walk to the little village of Stokenham where there are two pubs which are very popular. We only went in the one as they had more room, we have two large dogs, the other pub was a lot smaller, they both allow dogs inside and both have outside seating areas. Food was delicious. There is only the public footpath to walk the dogs, no large area of grass.

Easy walk down to Torcross where there is a small grocery shop a butcher, a takeaway and a pub, dogs not allowed in that pub. The beach is mainly pebbles, when the tide is out you can walk to Beesands along the beach. Half an hour drive to Dartmouth for big supermarkets and boat trips etc.

Nice farm shop next to the site, they have a café, but they are not cheap. The site is well positioned to tour the area, will go again, can recommend.

Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2050 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019