Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Start Bay Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Kingsbridge > Start Bay Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Start Bay Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Stokenham
Kingsbridge
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ7 2SE
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 103
Open: 16/03/2022 to 05/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 20 Reviews
                9/10 from 20 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sandra 1 review from this member

 Only stayed 1 night will definitely be coming back. Very clean and Tidy site.

Well maintained and the reception stocks most things that are needed.

Nice easy walk into Slapton Sands. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: LozzaS5 31 reviews from this member

 Fabulous nice size Campsite

Older CAMC Partially sloping site

Not the quietest site even though few children.

Facilities clean and enough of everything.

Close to superb farm shop and micro brewery with bar and food.

Short walk to pebbly beach-great for a swim

Site wifi and mobile signal average to poor

Mix of hardstandings and grass sO arrive early for any hope of good pitch but most good

Good mix of shade and open across terrace site.

Wardens very friendly and helpful

Drive to site either awful or difficult. But worth it. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kate w 58 reviews from this member

 We spent 5 nights here just after they had opened following covid 19 lockdown restrictions. Access to shower block was by the band hanging on a hook outside on entry and was working well despite the site being full.

Pitches were spotless, the majority are flat hardstandings, ours was a grass pitch on a slight slope, I am glad we didn't arrive slightly later in the day or we wouldn't have been able to pitch as the only other ones left were on a real slope.

The wardens suggested in future it might be a good idea to phone a few days in advance as they could have saved us a flat pitch as they are not informed what unit you have, despite it definitely saying trailer tent when I booked.

The site is next to a road but noise wasn't a problem. It is nicely sheltered.

The walk down to Slapton Sands is on a footpath next to the road and takes about 20 minutes. There is a farm shop a few minutes walk from site.

Dartmouth, Salcombe, Kingsbridge, Brixham are all worth a walk around, the steam boat trip on the river from Dartmouth was lovely. We drove further afield to babbacombe model village, a lovely couple of hours and the walk along the seafront with a pastie was very nice too.

The harbour area in Paignton was pretty but the rest of the town did nothing for me and we just did a drive by of Torquay.

Buckfast Abbey was nice, we ate our lunch in their gardens and took a wander round inside, entry is free, though donations are welcome and they have a nice gift shop. Wee took a drive across Dartmoor to see the ponies and to Burgh island for a walk to the top and a sit on the beach.

Not the holiday in the Dordogne I had planned for this summer but a very nice alternative holiday in the UK all the same. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Njones 26 reviews from this member

 First visit to a C&MC club site and met our expectations. Friendly welcome (big opening day post-Covid-19 campsite closures).

Good facilities. Easy walk or cycle down to Torcross / Slapton.

Some road noise from our pitch. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Biffandpip 9 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 2 days in motor home. Staff very friendly and helpful. Lovely location however roads very narrow especially in motorhome.

Site is beautiful lovely location lovely walk into Start bay highly recommend this site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Percy on tour 49 reviews from this member

 Start Bay boasts all the full C&MC facilities, maintained to the usual high standard and with friendly and helpful staff. It is laid out on terraces in a steep valley that has the advantage of shielding campers from high winds, but also from good TV reception. We only managed to pick up ITV channels - although you can buy an aerial extension from the campsite shop for 20 which will enable you to plug into the signal booster available on the ehu pillars.

A few minutes away are the beaches at Torcross and Slapton Sands (which if you want to avoid paying the steep parking charges can be cycled to more or less on the flat - a rarity in this part of Devon). Supermarkets, shops and filling stations are available in nearby Kingsbridge and Dartmouth. Meanwhile, Ashby's general store on the road to Kingsbridge also stocks a wide range of caravan and motorhome accessories, consumables and spare parts.

Unfortunately, the A379 in this part of Devon is quite narrow and winding, which makes touring further afield time-consuming. It is also why it is important to follow the site's direction instructions in order to avoid taking satnav routes that are unsuitable for towing. However, if you prefer you can let someone else do the driving and catch the regular Service 3 bus outside the campsite that serves the towns and beaches nearby.

All told, a delightful place to stay - especially when the sun is shining and the beach is beckoning. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Vashka 16 reviews from this member

 Second time visiting this campsite and really like everything about it. The wardens are really friendly and helpful, the location is great, facilities all good and the sun even shone!

We just stayed for one night over the Easter weekend but wished we could have stayed longer. Easy walk to Torcross and then you can either walk along the beach (if the tides out) or along the coastal path to a lovely pub called the Cricket Inn at Beesands. We didn't eat there but the food looked great. We decided to eat at the Start Bay Inn after seeing all the good reviews but wasn't that impressed to be honest.

As we visited over bank holiday, the bus service wasn't particularly good but think it's a good location to stay and get the bus to Dartmouth.

Will definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Lbarkas 85 reviews from this member

 Just returned home after a week's stay - our fourth in 25 years as it is always so memorable. This time it was very busy despite the schools having just started back, so mainly retired couples like us. We did many of the same things as previous years but tried some different eateries. Did the walk from the site taking in Stokenham, Beeson, Beesands, Torcross, stopping for tasty fishy lunch at Brittania@Beesands. We had been advised to book since it is only a small open-fronted 'shack' with about 20 covers, beside the beach, though they also do takeaway service.

Salcombe is still as delightful. We usually drive to East Portlemouth, park up (limited free spaces), walk down the hill to take the passenger ferry across the estuary (1. 60 pp each way). Another good fishy lunch at The Crab Shed where I enjoyed my moules frites.

On an earlier stay, we drove to Dartmouth (used the P&R at 5 per vehicle), then caught the river taxi upstream to Dittisham where there are a couple of places to eat - a pub and a cafe/restaurant. We used the latter and enjoyed an al fresco fishy meal with a bottle of white. Beautiful location once again.

The walking in the area is delightful, particularly along the coastal path, but some rocky climbs in places. We have a couple of publications with descriptive routes or there are downloadable routes available from the Internet. Lovely clean beaches if that is your thing, with the privately owned Blackpool Sands (charge payable) about 5 miles away in a stunning location (note - dogs not allowed). The main downside to experiencing this area and all it has to offer is accessibility since there are many narrow lanes, high hedgerows to be negotiated with care. Arrival/departure for the site can be tricky from the A38 south of Exeter, via Dartington, Totnes and Kingsbridge, as we had found on previous stays but this year we travelled on a Sunday in the hope of meeting fewer large commercial vehicles, plus there is a reduced bus service (double deckers too). We left just before 7am and it was fine, meeting little traffic, so our early start paid off.

The site is of the usual high CC standard - friendly wardens, spotless facilities, neat and tidy grounds. Arriving at midday, we were thankfully able to choose a hardstanding pitch, but the grassed, sloping area behind us did cause a few problems after rain for some. Wifi was quite good considering the full occupancy for most of our week. TV is poor so the aerial socket on the power bollard is useful.

Not sure that we shall revisit again since we now prefer less busy locations, stress-free motoring, fewer people, but over the years the South Hams area of Devon has left us with some very happy memories. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jonnmedds 72 reviews from this member

 A lovely site in a great location which was up to the usual Caravan Club standards.

As has been mentioned, the route recommended by the club is a little narrow in places and could scare those who are less confident, though if you take it slow it's ok. All other routes to the site are a lot worse.

We were greeted by friendly wardens and chose a lovely grass pitch in the centre of the site. All grass pitches are on a slope are also a little unlevel side to side, so you may needs levelling blocks. There is a little noise from the road, but it's not too bad.

Toilets and showers were always clean. The on site shop also sold the basics. For a bigger shop there is a Morrisons and Tesco 20mins away in Kingsbridge.

Location is good, just 15 min walk from the beach. Kingsbridge, Dartmouth and Salcombe are a short drive away.

In all a lovely site, though not cheap. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Beattie08 23 reviews from this member

 Three nights here, on Devon/Cornwall tour.

Nicely laid out, clean tidy site. On the A379, so could be a little noisy on the top pitches. We had pitch 43 at the bottom of site, was quiet enough for us.

Friendly helpful wardens. Reception selling the essentials, plus bits and bobs (cards, maps etc)

Well stocked information room.

No 3 bus into Dartmouth. Scenic ride plus a nice town to mooch about.

Plenty of walking from the site too. Torcross only 10-15 mins walk, mostly footpath, small section along road (behind the white line!) The Start Bay Inn, pleasant pub with good food, beer. Small shop post office in Torcross.

10 mins walk via footpath to Stokeham village. Ate in The Tradesman Arms and The Church Inn. Preferred TCI, Good atmosphere, excellent food, beer. The night we were in a Jazz band was playing!

Circular walk via Stokenham, Beeson, Beesands and Torcross.

Cricket Inn at Beesands well worth a try. Friendly with good food.

Stunning rocks on seaside walk back to Torcross ( if the tide is out)

Enjoyed our stay, will return when next in Devon. 


Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Start Bay Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Start Bay Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kingsbridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3137 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement