Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Le Montagnou

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Midi - Pyrenees > Le Trein D Ustou > Camping Le Montagnou > Reviews

Camping Le Montagnou
Route De Guzet
Le Trein D Ustou
Midi - Pyrenees   (Browse area)
09140
Tel: 0033 561669497
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/03/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 17 Reviews
                9/10 from 17 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <10 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Barsar 56 reviews from this member

 We decided to stay at this site after reading the positive reviews on this very web site

Sadly, the days of personal pizza deliveries to your tent are a thing of the past.

We arrived to be greeted at the barrier by the owner who looked in a state of panic. I feared the site might be full. We later realised that he was not expecting anyone and spoke no English. So we started with some basic schoolboy stuff and were soon joined by one of the residents of the mobile homes. He was French and spoke very good English. He was able to provide us with lots of useful local information. If he hadnít have been there we would have struggled.

We arrived on 10th May. Very much the low season so didnít not expect all the facilities to be up and running. The pool was open and the ladies toilets and showers were open. The laundry was closed, as was the snack bar. It was not possible to order bread or any baked goods and the nearest small supermarket and boulangerie were 6 miles away in Seix.

We had planned to stay 10 nights but left after 6 due to the fact that the place is so isolated and we were the only people on site. (The owner of the static left shortly after we arrived).

On the positive side the site is well located for a range of beautiful walks. The tourist office in Seix has about 30 walk leaflets from which to choose and they cost 75 cents. The lady there was very helpful.

The pitches vary from about 90 sq m to 120 sq m. Being the only outfit on site we had our pick and had more than enough room for the caravan, awning and 3 cars.

The toilet block is dated but clean. In May the heating was not switched on so it was a bit chilly in there.

To sum up, the site might have a much better feel in July and August but in May, for us it felt a bit depressing. We like peace and tranquillity and a site that isnít packed but this was too quiet.

Bear in mind that my ratings are based upon my experience in May. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Lantouy 1 review from this member

 We had a lovely stay at this small campsite. The surrounding countryside is stunning and if you enjoy walking whether that's short strolls or major hikes, you are in for a treat. This is a remote area so if you want to go shopping down the High Street, forget it. Having said that, unless you're very fussy, you can get most things reasonably localy. The campsite itself is in a beautiful location by a very lovely river. Everything was spotlessly clean and the owners could not have been more helpful. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Adiewalker 1 review from this member

 PERFECT PEACE! Tucked way down in the Midi Pyrenees this is a little slice of heaven on earth, the site itself nestles in the foothills of the mountains and is edged by a mountain river along one side. From here there is an abundance of mountain trails for all fitness levels - from a gentle 20 minute stroll along the riverbank to the next tiny village for a leisurely beer in the sun or a more demanding 4500 feet 'walk' up to the peaks at Gusto there is something for everyone.

The site itself is immaculately clean with the two French owners working tirelessly to make sure every aspect of your stay goes well. The two toilet and shower blocks are cleaned at least twice every day and were always spotless, the pool area was also kept immaculate and this made for some welcome relief from the heat. There is a fridge, washing machine and tumble drier available for guests to use, but sadly no freezer.

The pitches are a really good size with plenty of additional space. The electric hook-up points all have the european round 2 pin sockets so make sure you take the appropriate fittings with you, (we used a standard 3 pin plug with adapter).

The owners are extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble - from advice on the local area to delivering fresh home baked pizza from their kitchen right to our tent - fantastic.

They have created a communal decking area near the pool which was perfect for an ice cold beer in the sun to a relaxing coffee in the evenings, this area also hosted an 'open' night once a week with the owners inviting everyone to a bbq or paella evening.

A grasp of the French language would help as this is very rural and un-commercialised. Plenty of forward planning will help as there is so much to do, but not on your doorstep.

All in all a fantastic place to stay and we will definitely be going back. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: EssexGirl 5 reviews from this member

 Really lovely, shady site, with good-sized flat pitches under trees, all near to the toilet/shower block. We had booked two pitches side by side and that's what we got. The whole site was spotlessly clean (including the gents loos) and there was almost always hot water for the the showers. There were plenty of washing-up sinks, laundry sinks, and two washing machines and a tumble drier. It is very quiet: when we were there everyone had piped down by half ten and there was almost no noise (even from the nearby road) until well after seven.

The (French) owners are very keen to help and they work their socks off; they take bread orders by about 6pm and the bread is there for you at 8. 30 the next morning - including great croissants from the baker in nearby Seix. About once a week a barbecue/paella evening is held; it costs about a tenner a head and the food is very good and the atmosphere very friendly and convivial. On other evenings, simple (but filling) meals can be ordered from the little bar. The pool is very clean (but men and boys need speedos not loose trunks). We also swam in the icy little river which rushes past the site; the strong current and the temperature put it out of bounds for small kids but our pack was aged 11 and up and they had a marvellous time. It was great to lie on your back out of the current and contemplate the last of the snow high up on the surrounding mountains, from which at least some of the river water must have come.

The local area is stunning. The nearby village is very pretty, and Aulus-les-Bains to the east and Seix to the west are both very lovey - Seix is much bigger with more shops and cafes and a fromagerie which is well worth a visit. There are lots of dazzlingly beautiful local walks, including one up to the Cascade des Arcs from Aulus, which is pretty hard uphill for people who live in flat bits of England, but easily do-able if you allow four hours plus for the actual walk and some hanging about admiring the falls. Kayaking and riding are also available locally for the adventurous. It takes about an hour and a half whichever way you go to get to Tarascon, which is near to various caves containing prehistoric art - Niaux, Bedheilac and so on. You need to book a few days ahead for Niaux, where the art is stunning. Bedheilac wins for outstanding geology, and you can just turn up on spec. There is also canyoning available in Niaux which (according to those who went) was well-run and packed with the usual dare-devil stuff.

All in all, a lovely area, and a lovely campsite with lovely staff. Please excuse the superlatives but this was probably the best campsite I have ever stayed at. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jo6073569 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 3 nights over a weekend and wished we'd stayed longer.

When we arrived it became apparent that the staff were very new and very french - different to what we expected with it being an english owned campsite. As it turned out they had left 3 days before we arrived, not that we had been told. It has been taken over by a french couple who were very eager to please. The lady owner (?) in particular was so keen to tell us every local walk, and make sure we were having a good time (every evening!).

On arrival we were told to choose our pitch wherever and tell them where we'd pitched. As it turned out the site was almost empty except for a couple of other English campers. Very tranquil. This sort of approach sums up the campsite feel really - casual, friendly, simple.

This is a small campsite (40 pitches I think), with clean facilities (with toilet seats!), hot water, soap and nice extras like a fridge for communal use, washing machine/tumble drier and a 'family' room stuffed with British books. Pitches flat, with electric hook up/water very close to all pitches. That is about it though. Don't expect lots and lots of frills (or the cost that goes with them!).

Its a pretty shady site, with lots of trees, nestled in the valley between two mountain ridges. Its right next to a little river for paddling, and the little town you can walk to has a little bar and pizza shop. A short drive (10 mins?) to the ridiculously pretty local town of Seix gives you a bakery, convenience store, tourist information and a weekly market.

We did a lot of walking while we were there which were beautiful. The french owner lady seemed to know every part of the local area and was very useful. The tourist information can give you a map. They also have a couple of folders at the campsite with lots of walks detailed.

The only negative issue some people had was that they had either paid all or part of their booking to the previous owners which caused some problems on checking out. We never experienced those problems as we hadn't paid in advance though. There were also inevitable teething problems around them not knowing how to use the computer or having a card machine, although I expect they have that sorted now. Also no snack bar or hammocks as advertised when were were there.

But we can't wait to go back. Perfect. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nick@90 12 reviews from this member

 We couldn't have had a warmer welcome from the owners and nothing was too much trouble (not that we WERE much trouble. I hope!). The site is clean, spacious and well maintained with hot and cold running chickens and the best utility block I saw in any of our French camp sites. They even had SEATS on the toilets! A rare treat in France.

The village is tiny but only a hop skip & jump away, and there's a decent enough hotel bar there. Lovely views and walks from the camp site itself; even lovelier a short drive away.

GO to this camp site. They don't get a lot better. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Pinkking 3 reviews from this member

 We really enjoyed our stay in the mountains at Le Montagnou. Very comfortable and well equipped accommodation (mobile home), friendly hosts, great facilities, beautiful location and clear air!

We would highly recommend this to anyone wishing to get away from the madding crowd and commune with nature in the Pyrenees.

This year the Tour de France will be going right past the site.

Top marks from Chris and Helen 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Janetblann 1 review from this member

 A warm welcome awaits here from Nicola and Richard. Richard lent us an electrical connection which saved the day. Nothing was too much trouble. Fresh bread was delivered daily. We stayed here to watch Le Tour de France and received helpful advice on where was best to spectate from. There is a hotel/restaurant in the small village which served an excellent evening meal for 18 euros. Lovely walks from the site. Good standard of toilet block and facilities. Ideal for exploring this area of the Pyrennes. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Heather Dell 1 review from this member

 We spent 5 nights here in September with our two labradors. We had a warm and friendly welcome from the English owners who live on site with their two children and dogs.It is a small site in a peaceful valley in the lower slopes of the Pyrenees, on the edge of the village of Trein d'Oustou. Access is easy and level from the valley road. Pitches are spacious, level and amongst trees and shrubs. Electric hookup is available. The 2 toilet blocks are immaculate, with separate male, female and disabled facilities.Laundry facilities are attached to one.

A family room has games, library and book swap shelves. By the river which borders the site there is a picnic, games and hammock area. A snack bar offers eat in or takeaway meals. When closed, the owners will cook to order.

We had excellent chips, pizza and morning croissants delivered cheerfully to our door.We could have ordered bread, but caught up with the local boulangerie van in a nearby village and bought baguettes and scrumptious patisserie.

The walking is excellent from the site. Riverside meadows for miles and forested hillsides. The dogs loved it and could run off the lead as the sheep and cattle are in the high pastures until mid October. They swum in the river and we paddled, accompanied by a dipper. Eagles flew overhead at times. From the village more walks lead to the river and hills, or along quiet lanes and through pretty villages. Scenic drives abound, including high mountain passes.

There is a restaurant 5 minutes walk away, and a general shop in the nearby village of St Lizier, where we stocked up on salad, fruit, cheese etc.

It is a lovely site, for relaxing, walking or exploring.Great for dogs. Children would love the river. Very helpful and friendly owners.Recommended! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Steve McCartney 1 review from this member

 My partner and I stayed at this campsite for 1 week, and absolutely loved it. We originally stayed in a small tent for the first 3 nights, but then decided to upgrade to one of their luxury fixed tents for the last 4 nights (we had been staying in the small tent for a week and a half already in other campsites around France and fancied some luxury!).

Firstly, the surroundings of this campsite are amazing - right in the middle of the pyrenees surrounded by trees, streams and mountains. The pitches are of a very good size, with electric hook up at every one. The facilities were good - always enough hot water and very clean. Nicola and Richard were very helpful and friendly, coming round to take bread orders which are delivered every morning; helping us find good walks to go on in the area (they have a large folder filled with the details of walks in the area which they are happy to let people look through).

The luxury tents are brilliant. With a full double bed in one room, two singles in another, and a pullout sofa in the living area it could easily fit 4-6 people in and is very very good value for money. Then there is a dining table, a fridge, and a very good gas hob inside. You also get your very own veranda outside the front of the tent which is perfect to eat on and relax after the walks.

There is also a beautiful stream at the bottom of the campsite, and a few hammocks hung between some fir trees next to it which I couldn't leave without praising!

After a 3 week holiday staying in various campsites around France, this was by far the best campsite we found, and I would recommend it to anyone going to the area without hesitation. 


Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Camping Le Montagnou child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Le Montagnou?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Camping Le Montagnou dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Le Trein D Ustou      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Midi - Pyrenees

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3780 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement